2 Day Trip Through the Cederberg (10&11 December 2012)

BadBadger said:
Awesome ride report guys. Lots of content and pictures (there goes my bandwidth) - thanks for taking the time to share!

@Bring It On - Need to ask about your experience with that tankbag. Looks like you've been using that setup for a while and seem to like it... Have exactly the same bag, but now leave it home for dirt rides. It seems to get in the way when standing and has come loose/unclipped itself on 2 occasions. What am I doing wrong, or have you just gotten used to it?

My apologies if this is derailing the RR, you're welcome to reply via PM too.

Hi there Buddy,

Thanks for the kind remarks & glad you enjoyed sharing the experience with us. Just on my way out for a while. Will PM you later when I get back in. ;) :thumleft:

Dusty Rusty said:
This is a super RR! 

Thanks  for taking all the time to post and share this

Now I just want to jump on my bike and go there!   ;D

Jip ,me too.

We want to go there on coming Tuesday, do you have a GPS file for this route guys?
Who wants to join, we want to do a 1 day trip, 4 bikes here from Grotto.

Swanniebraai said:
Dusty Rusty said:
This is a super RR! 

Thanks  for taking all the time to post and share this

Now I just want to jump on my bike and go there!   ;D

Jip ,me too.

We want to go there on coming Tuesday, do you have a GPS file for this route guys?
Who wants to join, we want to do a 1 day trip, 4 bikes here from Grotto.

Here is the MapSource File (of the "Waypoints, various Route options we looked at & also the exact Trip Log" from my GPS) Hope it'll help you to plan out you route.

This is a really nice part of the WC & will always be one of my all time favorites. Quite a lot of options to choose from out there in that area. Always nice doing a 1 day trip through that way,.....but IMHO it's always a nice option to sleep over there in the Cederberg area...just far too many nice places to ride out there & it just makes it soooo much better & special to spend the night. :thumleft:

• Planned 2 Day Trip (10-11 December 2012) via Cederberg Oasis & Wupertal.gdb
    461.2 KB
En waar presies is hierdie pad?

Ek word skoon jimpel as ek na daai pad kyk,  :drif:

• Cederberg.jpg
    Cederberg.jpg
    238.8 KB
Swanniebraai said:
En waar presies is hierdie pad?

Ek word skoon jimpel as ek na daai pad kyk,  :drif:

I've marked the point from where I took the Photo & the appox point where DougC & Buff were at the time, in this MapSource file below. ;)

• Point from where I took the photo.gdb
    338 bytes
SWAMBO & I are heading out that way tomorrow via Bakkie. Also cannot wait till tomorrow morning. ;D ;D ;D ;D :thumleft:

SuperDavexlv750r said:
Thanks for a great ride together with a even greater bunch of guys. :thumleft: :thumleft:

Glad to see WC Dogs were well mannered and rode like there was no tomorrow. :imaposer: :imaposer:

I am back home after about 4 000km  round trip to Cape Town via the West Coast. Had absolutely no incidences - one or two very close calls but nothing to be concerned about.

I would look forward to riding with you guys anytime again in the future. :thumleft: :thumleft: :ricky: :ricky:

So was jy met die XLV hier Dave?

Bring It On said:
SWAMBO & I are heading out that way tomorrow via Bakkie. Also cannot wait till tomorrow morning. ;D ;D ;D ;D :thumleft:

En hukm nie met die scoot nie?

Swanniebraai said:
Bring It On said:

Colleen was nooit sooooo mal oor die "Gravel Travel" op die Scooter,..... ;) Sy verkies die Bakkie meer :patch: ;D

Also... I've always wanted to do the Pass leading down into Wuppetal with the Bakkie as well,.... so thais way we both get to experince it all over again, in the Cage. :thumleft: ;)

Bring It On said:
Swanniebraai said:
Bring It On said:

Colleen was nooit sooooo mal oor die "Gravel Travel" op die Scooter,..... ;) Sy verkies die Bakkie meer :patch: ;D

Also... I've always wanted to do the Pass leading down into Wuppetal with the Bakkie as well,.... so thais way we both get to experince it all over again, in the Cage. :thumleft: ;)

Wyse en beter plan!  :thumleft:

Perhaps an idea..... is to do an addition to this RR,....seen as though I'll be doing all over again tomorrow,... but this time in the Cage. :lol8: :lol8: :lol8:

Bring It On said:
Perhaps an idea..... is to do an addition to this RR,....seen as though I'll be doing all over again tomorrow,... but this time in the Cage. :lol8: :lol8: :lol8:

You should still see some "marks" Dave and I left there yesterday ;)

Mambat said:
Bring It On said:

:spitcoffee: Hello there ;D ;D ;D The way you guys ride..... I'm sure they will be there for a few more weeks still to come :pot: :imaposer: :imaposer: :imaposer: :imaposer:

I'm sure we won't miss it ;) :thumleft: :thumleft:

Mambat said:
Bring It On said:

These rides are becoming expensive  ::)  ::) another couple of rear tires in their moer  :'( :'(

The other day riding my XT600 to Oasis, as always chasing Mambat and his wingman PSteyn; I was getting some good air over the G-outs going over the pass towards Oasis ;D  

SWAMBO & I just got back now from our 2 Day "Cage Road Trip" of that same route....She really enjoyed it a lot. :thumleft: :thumleft:

Geeeeezzzzzz Dave,.... that sure must've been some Frikking Serious Air-Time you had there,...judging by the marks on the XT's Zorst :imaposer: :imaposer: :imaposer:

Swanniebraai said:
SuperDavexlv750r said:
Thanks for a great ride together with a even greater bunch of guys. :thumleft: :thumleft:

Glad to see WC Dogs were well mannered and rode like there was no tomorrow. :imaposer: :imaposer:

I am back home after about 4 000km  round trip to Cape Town via the West Coast. Had absolutely no incidences - one or two very close calls but nothing to be concerned about.

I would look forward to riding with you guys anytime again in the future. :thumleft: :thumleft: :ricky: :ricky:

So was jy met die XLV hier Dave?

Nee Swannie - net met die XRV750. So daarvan gehou het om die XLV daar te gehad het - Sou in absoluut plesier gewees het. :ricky:

Baie lekker saam gery, pragtige kiekies en mooi wereld daai. Soos die manne sê, baie werk in so RR, dankie.

Guess what peeps  :ricky:

Yebo, I've finally made the VIDEO of our trip   :blob10: :blob3: :blob5: :blob6: :blob7:

Check it out  :ricky:

[flash=720,576]https://www.youtube.com/v/8AfmvS_NPIk[/flash]