Baviaans one nighter.

Paulsky

Chuck and myself have both just got new KTM's and decided that our first trip would be a one night camp in the Baviaans. We didn't plan anything and decided to stop wherever we thought would look like a lekker place without any other people, put up our tents, make a fire, braai some meat and dos. (sort of a Brokeback mountain thing in honour of Heath Ledger)
We ended up stopping at Smitskraal in the kloof (the long river crossing after Rooihoek)
First pic is Rooihoek
Second is Da Machines
Third is the aforementioned river crossing
The rest are the campsite

• ADV Smitskraal 002.jpg
    ADV Smitskraal 002.jpg
    101.9 KB
  • ADV Smitskraal 004.jpg
    ADV Smitskraal 004.jpg
    72.2 KB
  • ADV Smitskraal 003.jpg
    ADV Smitskraal 003.jpg
    99.4 KB
  • ADV Smitskraal 005.jpg
    ADV Smitskraal 005.jpg
    80.3 KB
  • ADV Smitskraal 001.jpg
    ADV Smitskraal 001.jpg
    82.5 KB
A couple of cold Wild Turkey's(we even had ice in the first 3 or so), the temperature never dropped below 36 all evening. Check the cool fire (we carried all the wood in on our bikes and the little saw was for cutting the meat

• ADV Smitskraal 020.jpg
    ADV Smitskraal 020.jpg
    59 KB
  • ADV Smitskraal 021.jpg
    ADV Smitskraal 021.jpg
    42.3 KB
  • ADV Smitskraal 019.jpg
    ADV Smitskraal 019.jpg
    59.3 KB
  • ADV Smitskraal 016.jpg
    ADV Smitskraal 016.jpg
    56.5 KB
  • ADV Smitskraal 014.jpg
    ADV Smitskraal 014.jpg
    62 KB
I'm tired of typing now so just look at the pics.

• ADV Smitskraal 022.jpg
    ADV Smitskraal 022.jpg
    79 KB
  • ADV Smitskraal 023.jpg
    ADV Smitskraal 023.jpg
    48.3 KB
  • ADV Smitskraal 030.jpg
    ADV Smitskraal 030.jpg
    90.7 KB
Nice one P... The right idea as to running in the new baby,always nice to just chill by a river....
Nice Pics!

As my very good friend is wont to say... " O, my swak hart..!"

Why he says this, I do not know... but those pics do bring back memrys.... I first encountered Rooihoek in 1983, and that was from the mountain side, having ridden from the dam.

Nice outing on nice bikes.

Check the 7th pic from the top: 35.7 degC at 10 past 7 at night!!!!

Tried to take some "arty" pics............

• ADV Smitskraal 010.jpg
    ADV Smitskraal 010.jpg
    41.7 KB
  • ADV Smitskraal 011.jpg
    ADV Smitskraal 011.jpg
    63.5 KB
Cool! Nice to see you doing Baviaans on a bike for a change ;)

Yip TR, much more fun on 2 wheels!!!
Dunno when last you,ve done the Baviaans, but the roads are a lot worse since the December floods. Good for us though, keeps some of bakkie, boerewors & bols brandy brigade out of there!!!

Some serious temperatures there!  Nice trip, good pics, thanks!  Oh, bikes not too bad either....

Paulsky, I've done 530 Kilos on my KLR today, my gat is gaar. I give these pics of you one look, then I sommer gooi my kit back on the bike and start riding!

Nice!

530 Km's is to the shop and back for you Gauties isn't it?
just kidding, where did you go today

Nice breakaway  :D :D :D and always a good reason to take out the new wheels ;D