Do I have enough money for a decent 650GS/Dakar

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ThatGuy

Puppy
Reaction score
Bike
AJS (all models)
Good Morning BMWilddogs,

You'll notice the wall of text... if you read through it, and offer input, I would be very grateful. Some of you may have seen my intro post. If you didn't, you missed out on another guy saying hello - a greatly unfortunate situation for you, I know. I'm looking to get a bike so I'm posting around to see what people have to say about the different bikes and whether they'd suit me. Some of the text is a bit of a copypasta from threads in the XT, Transalp and KLR discussion pages.
I'm new to this whole dual purpose business and am looking to get a bike fairly soonish. Ideally I'd like to know what I want and buy it by early to mid December but if I have to wait for something good, then I suppose I'll deal with it.

I would really appreciate some advice. My housemate has an '08 KLR and seems to be pretty stoked with it. He did a fair amount of research and got himself a great deal. He has told me about the KLR clan website which I will have a squiz through when time allows - there's a lot of info to go through and what with this whole 8-5 job thing that I have to go to every day, there isn't as much time as I'd like to go through it all. (I hope that I don't get in trouble for writing this during work time.) Jupiter has me seriously considering a 2000-2004 XT600E and Fuzzy Muzzy and another friend of mine are pulling me in the direction of the Honda Transalp.

Following is a bit about me and the riding.
I'm 1.75m tall and my inseam is 83cm(+-36")
Most of my riding will be commuting - a 60km round trip per day with the occasional mission over a weekend and hopefully a bit of dirt thrown into the mix somewhere. So probably 90%+ on tar.
Reliability is key.