DRAZILVILLE - Another Dop en Tjop Ride

Gerard

Teelhond
Global Moderator
BMW R1150GS
Fourteen bikes collected along the route from PE to Nanaga, Alicedale, Riebeeck East, with a loop around to Drazilville where we had our lekker Veldbraai. Knuckelhead then took us on a nice scenic ride back towards Alicedale and from there home.

A full days ride and another successful day in Africa. Thanks to you all for another enjoyable ride.

Its late and I'm to tired to do an RR now, but here is a teaser so long. The rest can post there piccies so long, if you ready.

• 100_2012.JPG
    100_2012.JPG
    364.4 KB
As per usual we met at the Engen garage and nice surprise when a good few non-Dogs joined the ride. From their talk it seems they are ardent Harley riders, who also have big DS bikes. For some of them it would be their first time on dirt and hats off.

At Nanaga we picked up a few more guys and headed for Alicedale and the mandatory coffee.

It would be a no rush day with some Newbies and slow riders in the group. Gathering at the turn-off to Burchell's

View from somewhere up the pass. It was a beatiful day to be on the bike.

• 100_1981.JPG
    100_1981.JPG
    347.4 KB
  • 100_1982.JPG
    100_1982.JPG
    360.4 KB
  • 100_1983.JPG
    100_1983.JPG
    320.2 KB
  • 100_1989.JPG
    100_1989.JPG
    296.2 KB
Gooing style up Burchell's. Nice little pass to warm up for the day.

• 100_1984.JPG
    100_1984.JPG
    320.9 KB
  • 100_1985.JPG
    100_1985.JPG
    313.4 KB
  • 100_1986.JPG
    100_1986.JPG
    318 KB
  • 100_1988.JPG
    100_1988.JPG
    325.2 KB
  • 100_1990.JPG
    100_1990.JPG
    354.7 KB
Some more views. We do live in a beautiful country

• 100_1991.JPG
    100_1991.JPG
    283.5 KB
  • 100_1992.JPG
    100_1992.JPG
    304.7 KB
Coming down the pass we got a little mud. There are of course different ways of doing this. Check the GSA with double spots  :eek7: That could scare the shits out oncoming traffic

• 100_1994.JPG
    100_1994.JPG
    380.4 KB
  • 100_1997.JPG
    100_1997.JPG
    412.7 KB
  • 100_1998.JPG
    100_1998.JPG
    406.3 KB
  • 100_1999.JPG
    100_1999.JPG
    407.2 KB
  • 100_2001.JPG
    100_2001.JPG
    396.1 KB
Our Guide for the day, who had the route on GPS, could not make it and no-one else thought to down load it. We did miss a turn-off or two but eventually found our way going through some game farms and seeing good few bucks... and some wart hogs.

At the Fish River crossing we gathered again. Nice to see the group of bikes togetrher like this.

• 100_2007.JPG
    100_2007.JPG
    384.6 KB
  • 100_2004.JPG
    100_2004.JPG
    302.6 KB
  • 100_2006.JPG
    100_2006.JPG
    282.8 KB
  • 100_2003.JPG
    100_2003.JPG
    321.4 KB
  • 100_2005.JPG
    100_2005.JPG
    305.4 KB
Drazilville is an old abandoned ruin of a town. Our ride for the day was inspired by a previous RR. There's just something about braaing in the veld that makes it different. We had a really lekker kuier here.

Knuckelhead then took us on a nice little scenic ride home, with lost of mud crossings through this beautiful little kloof. I know I took a few pics but it seemed to have gotten lost in the Blue Nowhere

• 100_2008.JPG
    100_2008.JPG
    453.2 KB
  • 100_2009.JPG
    100_2009.JPG
    348.7 KB
  • 100_2010.JPG
    100_2010.JPG
    415.7 KB
  • 100_2011.JPG
    100_2011.JPG
    384.5 KB
  • 100_2012.JPG
    100_2012.JPG
    364.4 KB
Did my buddy Kevin find you guys,he's a Harley rider that prefers his GSA and loves gadgets on his bike?
Looks like all had fun. :thumleft: :thumleft:

DRAZIL said:
Did my buddy Kevin find you guys,he's a Harley rider that prefers his GSA and loves gadgets on his bike?

Yep, there was five of them. Loved his bike with those ghetto blasters. Everywhere we stopped we rocked. Forgot to take a pic. Nice bunch of guys and think we will see them again.

Jupiter ek like daai ULTRA DOG sagte luggage van jou!!!! :biggrin:

Sub. Dit is werklik n mooi land waarin ons bevooreg is om te bly en die Oos kaap bly n geheime juweel.
Dankie Jup!

jupiter said:
DRAZIL said:

Yep, there was five of them. Loved his bike with those ghetto blasters. Everywhere we stopped we rocked. Forgot to take a pic. Nice bunch of guys and think we will see them again.

Wait until you go through Shamwari with Dire Straights hitting the airways  ::)
it feels like the movie with Malon Brando"Apocalypse Now"

Thanks guys.One of the episodes of Wallace and Grommit was entitled "A grand day out." They should have been with us.
Only thing niggled me all day was constantly re - tying down my lunch bag on the back. The back end of a F650 is a lousy platform for loose tying Gotta stop stuffing around and get a top box. Not posting any of my pics 'cos they're not all that special and truth to tell I don't know how to do it.

My contribution of foto's from a different angle! ;)

Will keep the writing as little as possible!

01 - At the turnoff, just outside Alicedale
02 - Knucklehead
03 - a Nice View
04 - Assisting JBiker on saving him alot of trouble and time!
05 - The Long Road to Drazileville! ;)
06 - Water under the Bridge
07 - Climbing through the fence to start the Braai (Check the SwannieBraai - Very Nice little Braai - Next time I will remember more news paper)  
08 - Swanniebraai in action
09 - The rest of the guys meet on Jupiter's Rooster!!
10 - And that Ice cold ones with a lekka chat with the guys!

• 10.JPG
    10.JPG
    151.7 KB
  • 09.JPG
    09.JPG
    143.5 KB
  • 08.JPG
    08.JPG
    174.1 KB
  • 07.JPG
    07.JPG