EC Slumdog BASH Katberg

NIMMO

Slumdog BASH 2018-11-15

Ajax – correct and add on please – you know the area  :thumleft:

On the Wednesday before the BASH I was still contemplating wearing winter clothes, it was COLD.

After getting some info on what to see and where to go (Thanks Jaco) I set of for Hogsback early Friday morning.  Ajax and I had spoken and we might just run into each other along the way.

IMG_6500 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6492 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Schoombee

IMG_6498 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6497 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6496 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Water is life – the green snake that is a river runs from Schoombee to Cradock.

IMG_6505 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Notice the old sluice

IMG_6508 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Cradock was HOT

Just for you Jaco – beautiful.  :thumleft:

IMG_6514 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6515 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Just outside of Cradock I took the Commandodrif road and passed the dam with the same name.

IMG_6518 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6521 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Seems like all over the Eastern Cape farmers were moving sheep.  I stopped a couple of times.
Baboons EVERYWHERE – big ass ones, even if you stopped they just went about their business.
To be fair the roads were very, very hard and I pitied my tyres.

In Tarka I filled up and went looking for Piet Retief’s horses.

IMG_6525 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6526 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6527 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Unique EC cape warning signs :deal: :pot:

IMG_6531 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6532 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6533 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6534 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Along the way I ran into Ajax and Marius and Johannette.

Katberg (9) by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Katberg (13) by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Was nice having company.

Katberg (18) by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6537 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6540 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6541 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr
Katberg (46) by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Katberg (49) by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Notice the homeland type roads.

IMG_6543 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6546 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6548 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Katberg (60) by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Katberg (76) by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6550 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Katberg (84) by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6551 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Katberg (91) by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6552 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6555 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6558 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Katberg was a bit rough at the top but the rest was OK

IMG_6560 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Katberg (101) by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6568 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6580 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Check out the contours

IMG_6578 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6583 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Katberg (147) by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

We went via Mitchell’s pass – everyone talked about it but to be honest it was a proper normal gravel road and was in very good nick.  -  From what I heard it was in a very bad state some time back.
We made Hogsback and met up with some of the Greyhounds at what Edgy described as “luxury” accommodations – glad we booked elsewhere.
I had this little pilgrim town in mind with shopfronts etc. – far from it – trees and everything was swallowed up by the surrounding trees etc.  Was not at all as I had envisioned it.
We stayed at the edge and it was clean and affordable.  :thumleft:

IMG_6585 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6594 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6596 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

After a nice dinner we set a time for breakfast and made for bed – we were bushed.

Saturday morning most of the Greyhoud gang was having breakfast at the Edge and watching poor souls run their Saturday park run – something that has started all over SA.

IMG_6600 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6602 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6603 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6609 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6610 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

The idea was to take a not so well known route to Katberg – we however missed the turnoff and went through Alice and Fort Beaufort.  By now it was a scorcher.

Katberg (289) by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

We made Katberg Estate at noon and I could not wait to get out of my kit.  For some reason myself and two guys were not staying at the Hotel and in one of the director’s house.  What scenery and what a great place.

IMG_6616 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6619 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6624 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6626 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Ajax and co went for a loop – I will add the photos – but I did not go with.  Cudos to Marius for doing Katberg back up with pillion.  Apparently the pas was busy – not like the day before.

Katberg (450) by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

The Estate is a hidden gem, let the pictures speak for themselves.

IMG_6628 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6629 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

This used to be an asylum way back when – I would have faked it to be a patient here.  :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin:

IMG_6631 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

As this used to be an asylum you must admire the irony here: :pot:
Some of the guys attending the BASH could have been themselves to get in back then

IMG_6630 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6634 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6636 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Who was the “slim” oke with the white cap Saturday night during the rugby. :peepwall:

IMG_6648 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Lunch was a wenner – thx.

During the afternoon the crowd grew and everyone explored the surrounds.

One broken ankle and one couple if I have my facts straight over the edge of the pass – other than that no incidents.
Prize giving was at 7pm and my riding partners drew and won the weekend at the Estate – congrats. :thumleft:

Katberg back down again  :biggrin: :imaposer:

The dinner was delicious – the food was brilliant.
The rugby delivered, if only just and we made for bed
I awoke on Sunday with my two roommates already having HI tea  (note the fine china)    :imaposer: :imaposer: :imaposer:  – I enjoyed their stories (Jaco help) – bloke on the right did South America over a four year period and had some great stories and the one on the left was also a seasoned traveller.  Both had a LUST for life  :thumleft:

IMG_6651 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6652 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

JMOL said:
Thanks for a nice RR Nimmo.

It brings back a lot of good memories.  We have already booked the hotel for next year.

Yep - you were right about those 2 oldies  :deal: :peepwall: :ricky: 

David (73 years old) on the left, rides like an hooligan and did Southern Africa a few times and they nearly locked him up in Namibia the other day  But his negotiating skills are out of the world  :lol8:

Owen on the right did South America as you said and he lost his bike as he couldn't get it to the next country (not so sure about the correctness of this).  He also did Africa on his own - think he went as far as Germany.

They told me that they lived like kings in that house and they enjoyed your company.

Sunday Ajax had the lead and to be honest I just followed his dust.  Jaco did point us in the general direction and he knew the area so it was nice not navigating for a change.

Katberg (499) by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

At some point we went through a reserve and I remembered thinking the clay would be a handful if it was wet.  Later I would hear Ajax had had a spell there some time ago.

Katberg (510) by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Katberg (511) by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

The farms here were well away from any towns and the roads in emergencies would take forever to get here.

IMG_6669 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Katberg (545) by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6671 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Lucky him, but it must have been a hell of a shot.

IMG_6674 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6675 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6677 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

We made Tarka and Johannette was not feeling up to go via Uiehoekpas – They would go via Cradock and I would take the road I had planned to Steynsburg and then home.
Tarkastad had ZERO fuel.  :-\

They were still able to make Cradock but I was stranded.  :pot:
After a couple of calls they found a friend who farmed 20odd km out on the road I wanted to take and he would sort me out.  When he heard I planned on going that way he informed me the roads were now locked.  :eek7:

I was stranded in more ways than one.  Ajax and co went on and I would wait for the “tanker”.

I was wondering if I would have to spend the night there.

The “tanker” arrived – I am sure this is illegal but hell I was glad to get fuel.  R310 – EMPTY.

IMG_6678 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_6680 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Due to the road being closed – locked, I went via Hofmeyer and then onto Schoombee.
By now it was HOT HOT HOT

The small towns were all falling apart – as much as I complain about Colesberg we are nothing like Hofmeyer, Taka, Fort Beaufort etc.

I made Colesberg early afternoon – bushed and happy.

Thanks Jaco & Milly for a great venue and your hospitality.  :thumleft: :thumleft:
Ajax and co thx for letting me tag along.

Dankie vir die lekke RR Nimmo. :thumleft: :thumleft:

Thanks for a nice RR Nimmo.

It brings back a lot of good memories.  We have already booked the hotel for next year.

Yep - you were right about those 2 oldies  :deal: :peepwall: :ricky: 

David (73 years old) on the left, rides like an hooligan and did Southern Africa a few times and they nearly locked him up in Namibia the other day  But his negotiating skills are out of the world  :lol8:

Owen on the right did South America as you said and he lost his bike as he couldn't get it to the next country (not so sure about the correctness of this).  He also did Africa on his own - think he went as far as Germany.

They told me that they lived like kings in that house and they enjoyed your company.

David (73 years old) on the left, rides like an hooligan and did Southern Africa a few times and they nearly locked him up in Namibia the other day

Waarvoor wou hulle hom toesluit? :eek:

ChrisL - DUSTRIDERS said:
David (73 years old) on the left, rides like an hooligan and did Southern Africa a few times and they nearly locked him up in Namibia the other day

Broot bek en iets oor n gesteelde bril  :imaposer: :imaposer: :imaposer:

ChrisL - DUSTRIDERS said:

Hulle het by 'n roadblock gekom (net suid van Windhoek) en toe vra die spietkop vir hom of sy lisensie disc 'n copy is.

Hy se toe ja en dis waar die moeilikheid begin het.

Volgens hom het hy besef hier is groot fout toe die ou die vangwa bel.  Die kom toe daar aan met groot gejuig en hy dring toe daarop aan om die Big Chief te sien.  Na 'n lang gesukkel en die kant toe en daai kant toe laat die Big Chief (wat 'n vrou is), hom gaan met 'n "Verbal Warning".

Yo Jean ,.....dit is n deeglike RR....dit is van die mooiste dele in die E/C...ek het selfs vergeet van die goed wat jy in die RR post :biggrin:
Om jou reg te help met die pas wat "gesluit" is, die naam is Uiehoek pas.  Ek gaan binnekort met n boltcutter kyk of hy gesluit is,  dit is n openbare pad daai,  so geen asshole mag dit sluit NIE.  Bygesê,  daar is n asshole met 2 "chips" op elke skouer wat op daai pad bly :dousing:

Dankie vir die saamry Nimmo,  ons moet weer so maak  :thumleft:

Dki ook Jaco ,  jy mag maar MEER  sulke "events" organize in n jaar.....aasssbbblll :laughing4:

Dankie Jean - great RR! (Al kan ek jou nogsteeds nie op enige iets anders as 'n HP2 sien nie! Mooi Katoom daai nietemin.  ;) )

Brakenjan said:
Dankie Jean - great RR! (Al kan ek jou nogsteeds nie op enige iets anders as 'n HP2 sien nie! Mooi Katoom daai nietemin.  ;) )

My magtig - leef jy nog?  :imaposer: :imaposer: :imaposer:
Daai Reedsdale trip was een van die lekkerste speel paaie, sal dit lank nog onthou - mis vir Howard elke keer as ek aan daai trip dink.
Thx David -  :thumleft: