EIGHT DAYS OF HEAVEN AND HELL ON EARTH

Joyride

KTM 950 SE
The memories of our Namibia tour this time last year were so strong that we decided to do another tour during the same time as last year. So plans were made, routes plotted, our buddies invited, bikes prepped, accommodation organized and before long it was time to hit the road. My brother and sister in law, each on a 1200GS rode their bikes all the way from Gauteng to join us from day one. Me and Ridealot met them earlier the week (in heavy rain I might add) in Doornbaai on our bikes and escorted them to Cape Town.

calender-1.jpg

DAY 1: Cape Town to Glentana
Day1Part1_0001-1.png

We left Saturday early morning because it was the longest distance we would travel in one day on the eight day tour and we want to do breakfast in Greyton. We rode all the beautiful roads via Stellenbosch, Franschoek, gravel around Theewaterskloofdam and of course took gravel to Greyton. Friends of ours from Bredasdorp didn’t want to wait till we get there and met us in Greyton for breakfast.

From Greyton we traveled in the direction of Riviersonderend and across the N2 towards the Stanford road and then took the tarred road towards Bredasdorp, back onto the Swellendam road and then towards Malgas to cross the Breede river making use of the pontoon.

Breede river at Malgas
IMG_0004.jpg

The shop at Malagas
IMG_0633-1.jpg

River crossing on the pontoon
IMG_0010.jpg

The rest of the day’s trip took us via Witsand, Vermaaklikheid, Jongensfontein and eventually Mosselbay to Glentana.
Day1Part2_0001.png

CBD at Vermaaklikheid
IMG_0014.jpg

Pit stop at the turnoff to Jongensfontein
IMG_0016.jpg

Our home for the night, from where we could hear the waves throughout the night
IMG_0021.jpg

Food is always high on the agenda and on recommendation of our local hosts we ate at The Transkaroo the first evening. That is the old train station in Glentana which is now a restaurant and we were not disappointed. They serve a lamb’s neck that were slowly cooked for eight hours and melts away in the mouth. It is one hell of a big meal though and not for the faint hearted, but incredibly delicious. What a way to end our first day!!

DAY 2: Glentana to Natures Valley via the old George/Knysna (seven passes) road
Day2_0001.png

Soon after we had breakfast in George and took the seven passes road it was clear that this is another kind of beauty that we don’t see every day.
IMG_0024.jpg

IMG_0650.jpg

A pit stop on the seven passes road
IMG_0653.jpg

As we turned left at the T-junction towards Karatara we stopped to take off some clothes because of the rising temperature. It was then that the battery on my brother’s 1200 Adventure decided to abandon us. It was stone dead, and no jumping could even made the engine turn. So BMW on call it was. Only they didn’t have a battery at BMW in George. Luckily I have an old colleague and friend of mine who stays in George and who is also a keen adventure rider. As it happens he have a GSA and took out his bike’s battery and bring it out to us. Al fires up and we only lost about two hours. Thanks to André for saving our trip!

The place of trouble
IMG_0654.jpg

We had to skip “Kom se pad” and decided to pay a visit to The Heads in stead.
IMG_0039.jpg

IMG_0666.jpg

The shadows were getting longer and we pushed on towards Plettenberg Bay where be bought some proviand to have a braai at Natures Valley.

Our accommodation at Natures Valley
IMG_0051.jpg

IMG_0046.jpg

View from the balcony
IMG_2320.jpg

Jislaaik.

Miffed I couldn't go with.

Can't wait for the rest of the RR.

DAY 3: Natures Valley to Patensie via the Joubertina Loop
Dag3_0001.png

Our plan was to travel via Bloukrans pass but the road was closed just outside Nature’s Valley. No words could persuade the guard to let us through and although disappointed we left in good spirit with both us and the guard smiling at our respective efforts to persuade each other. We went back to the Toll Road and visited Storms River Mouth in stead.
IMG_0056.jpg

The views
IMG_0702.jpg

IMG_2328.jpg

IMG_2338.jpg

One of the members in our group remarked that God must have been smiling when he made all those beauty. That remark stayed with me throughout the entire trip because it is so true.

We stayed way too long and had to persuade ourselves to leave and push on to Joubertina. We did the loop from the other side of Joubertina back to Kareedouw. We were not disappointed at all.

IMG_2342.jpg

IMG_0710.jpg

IMG_0103.jpg

IMG_2355.jpg

About ten km’s from the end of the loop my sister in law had an off on very slow speed and after she was on her merry way again I discovered a flat back tire on my bike just as I pulled away.

The roadside repair. I took a back and front spare tube with and we didn’t have to patch the tube.
IMG_0108.jpg

The root of the evil
IMG_2496.jpg

My thoughts on this was: out of five bikes of which four on tubeless tires and the only one on tubed tires would pick up a nail on a 53km stretch – how is that for Murphy’s law.

It was quite late afternoon now and we pushed on to reach Patensie while it was already dark.
IMG_0716.jpg

We stayed in a stunning guest house and had a relaxing evening, enjoying dinner at the Patensie Hotel.

The view of Patensie from the guest house.
IMG_2357.jpg

Murphy never sleeps: only bike without a centrestand too  :biggrin:

Lekker trip.  :thumleft:
I must do the Joubertina loop sometime. Also haven't been to Stormsrivermond for ages as well.

That loop at Joubertina through Kouga is the next best thing to baviaanskloof. Road is just much better. There is a lovely spot called Kouga Wilderness where there is great camping and a house to let as well. Wild leopard stil visit this area frequently. The owner is called Nico Rooibaard and just about everyone in Joubertina knows him.

DAY 4: Patensie to Bakkrans in Baviaanskloof
Dag4_0001.png

The locals recommended Padlangs a few kilometers outside Patensie for breakfast and when we arrived there were a lot of bikes from PE and we know it was the place to be.
IMG_2364.jpg

Some local art
IMG_2362.jpg

Baviaans was the last event that the entire group would do before some had to return home. We all started the day with great anticipation. We were not disappointed.
IMG_0112.jpg

One of many stops to enjoy the view
IMG_2370.jpg

IMG_2366.jpg

IMG_2378.jpg

A cable over a ravine used to carry goods to the other side – amazing that nobody develop this as a business venture to take some crazies over there at a price while hanging upside down
IMG_0727.jpg

IMG_0126.jpg

A few water crossings
IMG_0134.jpg

IMG_2385.jpg

IMG_2386.jpg

IMG_2387.jpg

IMG_2389.jpg

To our disappointment (and relief) Smitskraal was totally dry
IMG_2393.jpg

Bakkrans, where we spent the night
IMG_2396.jpg

IMG_2400.jpg

IMG_0757.jpg

IMG_0778.jpg

I must add that Bakkrans was an unforgettable experience in terms of uniqueness. Sitting at a fire and having a braai in an open cave, sleeping with the sounds of nature so close, hearing the guards of the baboons, that slept on a mountain nearby, signaling to each other constantly during the night and we adding wood frequently to keep the fire going through the night in case a leopard want to visit, is just not an everyday experience. The only well known sounds were some of the companions adding bass notes to the natural night music.

DAY 5: Bakkrans to De Rust via Uniondale and Prince Alfred’s pass
Dag5ALT_0001.png

Today our friends from Bredasdorp would leave us to return home so a group photo before we left was in order.
IMG_0780.jpg

Although the scenery changes rapidly on the way “out” towards Willowmore it is still beautiful. We took a fast gravel road that turned off to Uniondale and get rid of the carbon build up in the bike’s engines after the slow pace of the previous day.

IMG_2420.jpg

IMG_2431.jpg

A late breakfast in Uniondale was also the occasion to said farewell to our friends, Johan and Aletta who had to return home.

We proceeded to Avontuur and took the gravel of Prince Alfred’s pass down into the valley. What a beautiful piece of paradise.
IMG_0788.jpg

IMG_0790.jpg

IMG_2451.jpg

IMG_2450.jpg

We reached Angies G-spot and only had a quick coffee because the bacon was still playing with the dog.
IMG_0797.jpg

IMG_0794.jpg

We looked at the whether forecast and decided to hit the road to De Rust via Deysselsdorp.
IMG_2463.jpg

The owner bid us farewell and promised to look well after the bacon till we meet again.
IMG_0799.jpg

We stayed in a noisy De Rust because of all the heavy vehicles going through non stop during the night. We had to walk to the restaurant as the taxi already retired for the day and saw the much endangered Knysna Bigfoot, waiting silently on us.
IMG_0806.jpg

DAY 6: De Rust to Gamkaskloof (The Hell) via Meiringspoort and Prince Albert
Dag6_0001.png

Ride-a-lot too had to leave early as work was calling so it was the three of us left, my brother, sister in law and me.

Meiringspoort was as breathtaking as ever with heavy clouds hanging over the mountain’s shoulders.
IMG_0822.jpg

The waterfall is always food for the soul.
IMG_0808.jpg

The numerous river crossings with interesting names had me wondered how it arrived at the names. I remember Perskedrif and wondered about the name. The only one making sense was Laaste drif (last crossing) as we left Meiringspoort on Beaufortt West’s side towards the turn off to Prince Albert.

Looking out over Prince Albert Village
IMG_0827.jpg

It was the day before the Olive Festival started in Prince Albert but the town was quiet with no actitviets indicating an upcoming festival.

I found somebody who share may name and surname but we have different occupations.
29042010.jpg

We left for Gamkaskloof (The Hell) after breakfast/lunch at the local hotel.
29042010001.jpg

Swarbergpass
IMG_2482.jpg

Turn off to Gamkas
IMG_2487.jpg

Road to Gamkas.
IMG_0841.jpg

IMG_2489.jpg

The two Beemers entering Gamkas
IMG_2491.jpg

We stayed in Meester’s house as he and the Devil were out of town
IMG_0857.jpg