So we went to MOZ, for some sand and DOIS (M)!

Ratel

Here is my report of our trip this past weekend to Mozambique, more specifically Bilene. I am sure Adventurer, Corkscrew and Rieks will post their pics in due course.

For me and Supergirl this would be our first long distance camping, and to Mozambique, trip ;D As the long weekend drew closer the excitement was getting bigger and bigger!

Amazing how much paperwork one needs to cross the border?!? :-\

Corkscrew joined us from Centurion and the plan was to meet Adventurer, Peaches and Cherry in Belfast. As luck would have it we met at the Ultracity between Witbank and Middelburg.

From there we hauled ass to Komatipoort where we overnighted at the "Komati River Chalets". Very comfortable and recommended. We got there just as it was getting dark.

• Sunset just before Komati.jpg
    Sunset just before Komati.jpg
    113.4 KB
  • Meet up at the Ultracity between Witbank and Middelburg.jpg
    Meet up at the Ultracity between Witbank and Middelburg.jpg
    175.8 KB
  • Relaxing around the braai.jpg
    Relaxing around the braai.jpg
    111.2 KB
Only 3 Photo's - WTF  -whre's the rest - c'mon

still waiting...

Slightly bored...

Still waiting. :happy1: :happy1: :happy1:

Friday morning early saw us getting ready to tackle the last leg into Mozambique towards Bilene. We decided to take the dirt road towards Bilene, that saves about 60-70 kms as compared to going tar via Maputo.

Turned out to be a relatively easy road with just enough man size potholes, wash aways, deepish sand, animals, people etc to keep you from falling asleep :eek: ;D

Now if it had rained this would take it to level 5 in no time flat :eek:

• Moz ruins.jpg
    Moz ruins.jpg
    184.7 KB
  • pitstop somewhere in Moz.jpg
    pitstop somewhere in Moz.jpg
    208.7 KB
  • Pitstop somewhere in Moz2.jpg
    Pitstop somewhere in Moz2.jpg
    218.7 KB
  • Early morning preperation for the leg into Mozambique.jpg
    Early morning preperation for the leg into Mozambique.jpg
    229.1 KB
After a little tar we finally made it to Bilene where we had some lunch before we were to take the last 7 Km to Laguna Camp - our camping spot for the weekend.

"What's the last 7 kms like" we asked the booking agent. "Not to worry, I ride it in my Corsa Lite" Yeah right - that's the one with 4 wheel drive, dif lock and raised suspension >:D

Turned out to be quite the sandmonster - especially for heavily laden DS bikes...

• Lunch in Bilene.jpg
    Lunch in Bilene.jpg
    200.2 KB
  • The fun starts....jpg
    The fun starts....jpg
    176.5 KB
  • The fun starts...1.jpg
    The fun starts...1.jpg
    192.4 KB
  • The fun starts...2.jpg
    The fun starts...2.jpg
    171.5 KB
  • Time to take a break.jpg
    Time to take a break.jpg
    247.4 KB
It took us a while but we finally got to the camp and promptly set up camp. Dinner was superb, and not too expensive ;D

• Nearly there.jpg
    Nearly there.jpg
    188.7 KB
  • Camp at Laguna.jpg
    Camp at Laguna.jpg
    158.4 KB
  • dinner, she is served.jpg
    dinner, she is served.jpg
    181.1 KB
The rest of the weekend was spent lazing around and doing as little as possible.

In that kind of heat you must make sure not to dehydrate - we made doubly sure ;D ;D

• River crossing.jpg
    River crossing.jpg
    109.1 KB
  • Cooling off.jpg
    Cooling off.jpg
    134.7 KB
  • Life is schweeet!.jpg
    Life is schweeet!.jpg
    115.2 KB
  • Restaurant at Laguna.jpg
    Restaurant at Laguna.jpg
    136.7 KB
  • View from laguna.jpg
    View from laguna.jpg
    99.8 KB
Next day we decided to get some nice pictures on the beach:

Finished off the day with dinner at Palmeiras, next door (7 kms). Fortunately the owner lent us his Landcruiser ;)

• Peace Brother!.jpg
    Peace Brother!.jpg
    183 KB
  • riding on the beach is stilll allowed.jpg
    riding on the beach is stilll allowed.jpg
    140.1 KB
  • Much easier getting down to the beach than coming back up.jpg
    Much easier getting down to the beach than coming back up.jpg
    141.7 KB
  • Ooops!.jpg
    Ooops!.jpg
    209.1 KB
  • Dinner at Palmeiras.jpg
    Dinner at Palmeiras.jpg
    104.2 KB
Rieks ,who also joined us, had some friends there with another Landcruiser and we jumped at the opportunity to explore around the lake and go to the sea.

There are some massive sand dunes on the way there. One guy tried four times to get back up - you should have seen the relief on his face!!!

• the mother of all sandunes.jpg
    the mother of all sandunes.jpg
    113.9 KB
  • going up.jpg
    going up.jpg
    73 KB
  • Coming down.jpg
    Coming down.jpg
    71.7 KB
  • view from the top.jpg
    view from the top.jpg
    78.9 KB
  • Landcruiser ride.jpg
    Landcruiser ride.jpg
    198.3 KB
Monday Morning arrived all too soon :mad:

Packed up and started the long road home. We left Bilene at about 07:00 and got home at 21:15.

We did not go via Komatipoort but rather through Swaziland as it was probably going to be a nightmare at the Komati border post. All the other border posts were a breeze, walk in , walk out :)

Total kilometers for the trip was 1550 of which 795 was the last day.

Thanks to everyone that made it a memorable experience - we will be back  :thumbsup: :toothy9: :thumbsup:

• Sandmonster again.jpg
    Sandmonster again.jpg
    187.8 KB
  • They lie!!!.jpg
    They lie!!!.jpg
    196.8 KB
  • Waiting in Maputo.jpg
    Waiting in Maputo.jpg
    151.4 KB
  • Swazi border post.jpg
    Swazi border post.jpg
    144.6 KB
  • Gatvol but nearly home.jpg
    Gatvol but nearly home.jpg
    84.5 KB
Awesome..... Well done to all of you...

That sand looks tough!! :D

Moz really still is a great destination to us South of the border types...

Thanks Ratel and crew,some great Pics! 8) 8)

Cheers Bryan

Lekker one Ratel

You got more guts than I care to have - DAT DAMN SAND  ;D

Nice Report, Nice pics, Just NICE  :)

I see SG's bike is on the road again, and she looks as if she had a good time - Well done to you both

Wow.  Look like some intense sand aerobics. 

Thanks for sharing.  It look like you had a big jol.

Great report Ratel. Hats off to you, Supergirl, Rieks and Corkscrew. It was great to ride with you guys and share the wonderful experience that is Africa.

This was also Cherryâ??s first cross-border ride, and the novelty of having her passport stamped 6 times was wonderful to watch, she is very proud of her stamped passport and the fact that she visited 2 countries that border our own, she took great pleasure in learning a bit of Portuguese, camping with her parents, falling off in the sand with her dad, helping him pick it up again, and traveling 750 km back home in 14 hours.
She has always heard about our cross-border experiences after we return, I was concerned that the relative hardships we endure during the trips would put her off, not so, she is already looking forward to the next one.
Peaches en route to Komatipoort.
DSC06784.jpg

Corkscrew
DSC06785.jpg

Ratel, on the lonesome Katoomâ?¦
DSC06786.jpg

Supergirl, the only one to not fall off the entire trip.
DSC06787.jpg

Sorry guys, that thing is not airworthyâ?¦..
DSC06791.jpg

Obligitory Coke Stop.
DSC07082.jpg

They grow plastic bags in Mozambiqueâ?¦
DSC06809.jpg

They even have watchdogs in Bileneâ?¦..
DSC06820.jpg

Corkscrew takes a tumble..
DSC06822.jpg

Me next!
DSC07100.jpg

WHOOHAA!!! Weâ??re here!
DSC06834.jpg

Opposing brands join forces.
DSC06913.jpg

The daily poseâ?¦Ratel and Supergirl.
DSC07121.jpg

The KTM got tired.
DSC06936.jpg

Say no moreâ?¦
DSC06965.jpg

Lorenzoâ??s Spaza Shop, South Africans Welcome.
DSC06979.jpg

This sign speaks for itâ??s self.
DSC06986.jpg

African sunrise.
DSC07149.jpg

Front of Laguna Lodge.
DSC07193.jpg

Rise and shine, Rieks.
DSC07202.jpg

4X4 trip to the beach.
DSC07261.jpg

Check the reflective bling.
DSC07299.jpg

Last pic with my camera, in true WD style, first the pic then the help, thereafter my camera ate dust, completely jammed!
DSC06995.jpg

Swaziland.
DSC07321.jpg

We say our goodbyes here, Rieks and company had lunch at friends in Swaziland.
DSC07322.jpg

Back in SA!
DSC07327.jpg

A very big â??Thank Youâ?? to all that went on this trip, I cannot remember Zeldaâ??s whole familyâ??s names, Rieks, please fill in the blanks.
Also a big â??Thanksâ?? to Louis, owner of Laguna Lodge, and to Mac, for taking all our heavy luggage back to town. It was truly a lekker weekend, it was great to do another trip outside South Africa again, Mozambique, although in bad need of a coat of paint, has very friendly people, lovely beaches and very lekker seafood. A country well worth visiting.

Some nice pics there Adventurer!! Especially the "sunrise" one.

When are we going again ;D ;)