Thaba Nchu Berg Funduro - in the snow!

Michiel

Kawasaki KLR 650
If you drive from Bloemfontein towards Maseru you get to a place called Thaba Nchu about half way.
This I believe was one of the "Tuislande" back in the day and because of this there used to be a casino
otherwise illegal in old SA.

I've hear about the Thaba Nchu Casino since childhood since it was considered by the farming people
a naughty night out to go gamble. Little did I know one day when I was going to be grown-up I would
make my way there to... ride my bike!

Thanks to the organizing of Graham Maclachlan we gathered for some fun in the cold weather of late.
I recently became the proud owner of a little plastic and since then the world looks a lot more interesting.
The video to come will reveal it all but for now here are some pictures.

Another stop somewhere. This was just before we started climbing on to Thaba Nchu Berg.

plasticFS01.jpg

Losper.

plasticFS02.jpg

My good friend John. We decided to get plastics together just like a couple of years ago when we got KLR's.

plasticFS03.jpg

Me and Number 8.  :)

plasticFS04.jpg

This is where the fun started. From the rain and snow the surface of clay became ever so slippery.  :ricky:

plasticFS05.jpg

plasticFS06.jpg

plasticFS07.jpg

We used to paraglide from there.  I miss the mountain.  Never went up the back road, just saw it from the air.

Further up the mountain we lost half of the group since some chose to take the "quad friendly" route.
Here we did some fence crawling.

plasticFS08.jpg

The view back from where we came.

plasticFS09.jpg

More fence crawlers.

plasticFS10.jpg

plasticFS11.jpg

plasticFS12.jpg

At this point I thought we got lost but Graham had things under control. My hands were frozen though.

plasticFS13.jpg

Scrambling about the mountain top. Visibility was at best quite poor. The visor freezing up added to the
impressionist atmosphere. It became so cold our bikes wouldn't idle!

plasticFS14.jpg

plasticFS15.jpg

John's KDX misbehaved a bit and left him with no front brakes. We were forced to take the "easy" way
down and retraced out steps/tracks in the snow.

plasticFS16.jpg

plasticFS17.jpg

Cool pics!  :mwink:

Must have been FREEZING! And there I think my morning commutes are cold! How can this possibly be fun???  :eek:

ahlbebuck said:
Cool pics!  :mwink:

Must have been FREEZING! And there I think my morning commutes are cold! How can this possibly be fun???  :eek:

When the video is up you will understand why it was fun. I, for one, struggled so much I generated enough heat
to melt thaw my frozen fingertips against my body every time we stopped. Looking back at the pictures it
does look a bit dreary but at the time I was having a ball!

Now this is what I call an adventure, gr8!!  :thumleft:

Lekker Michiel!! Ek dag dis koud hier by my maar julle wen loshande. Enige idee wat die temp was?

Is Graham still with us ?? And still in Bloem? I once rode his KDX 200 in the streets of Pellissier when I was still a laaitie. That thing scared the crap out of me and gave me a huge dislike respect for two strokes to this day.

Hando said:
Is Graham still with us ?? And still in Bloem? I once rode his KDX 200 in the streets of Pellissier when I was still a laaitie. That thing scared the crap out of me and gave me a huge dislike respect for two strokes to this day.

Yea, good old Graham is still alive and kicking!

This video is lekker entertaining wish I could be there with you guys stuff memories are made of  :thumleft:

This was one of my "more entertaining" rides.
The rocks was super slippery and our visors kept freezing over. As Michiel said, it was between 0 an -5 degrees and we stuggled with the 2-strokes, at those temperatures the 2-strokes does not wanna ref high. I think the oil on the air-filter starts freezing or some thing similar.
The visebility was also a problem, we had to stick together and stay in a group not bigger than 20 meters. We actually lost a member. Luckely he is highly skilled and we met up with him at the botom of the mountain.   

Lekkerrrrrrrr!  Ek kry nou so koud na daai video en gaan maak sommer koffie!

Oom Pieter :pot: Jy moet my en Johan bietjie laat weet as jul wee so trippie doen,Dit lyk bleddie lekker.
Ons isi ver van bloem af.en die riding buddies is ma min hie by my !

Neti asit so koud is ,ek hoor warm eiers klou glo n moerse hou op so koue seat  :thumleft:

Nice video Michiel.

"Ag man, stop crying like a girl and just ride"  :imaposer:

Looked like a lot of fun. How many were there of you in total?

Gee, I didn't count but the team that went to the top of the mountain must have been at least 10 strong.

Graham is a legend. He is one of those 2SD, Kamanya, GJ kind. Doesn't worry, just ride!  :ricky:

Baie baie nice  :thumleft:

Jou RR's is altyd iets wat ek geniet. Maak my bitter lus vir 2smoke plastic aanskaf  :ricky:

Like julle fence crawling moves  :imaposer: