Everybody involved in Sunday the 9th will agree when I say, It was a hair-raising moment when Len came over the starting line at rooftop height!
There are a couple of very important thank-you's I want to convey, and in no order whatsoever:
God: Who I asked the morning at 04:00 to protect every rider, and bring all back home that day without any injuries!
Andy 660: This man changed more tyres yesterday than most of us do in a year! He was out from the start till we brought in the last man! Thanks bro!!
Firecoast: She was again the center of the Amageza, arranging for lost guys to be found, broken bikes to be picked up, and managing all the admin. Thanks FC!
Leftless: Not only did he manage the first 2 hours of the ride from a gyrocopter, acting as position and radio relay for the rest of us, but apon landing, went on to recover bikes stuck in Atlantis, towing them out with his Landy. Shot Kobus!!
Sprocketbek and co: Waited for hours in the 36 degree sun for riders to pass to take pics, and recovered bikes in between as well! Thanks to both of you, you flippen rock!!
Pure-Orange: Who supported the broken bikes and marshaled for the event! Thanks my bru!
g1_: Jeff, buddy! Thanks man. For sitting on the back of my bakkie all day, for shooting in the blistering sun, getting sun-burned and dehydrated! Appreciate it man, really!
Crossed-up and Scrat: Who acted as sweep on their bikes, and had one hell of a time in all the other bikes tracks in the sand. Thanks to both of you! I promise never to ask you to do it again!
Wayneh: The marketing manager of the Amageza! Spent all day with me, in the sun, climbing dunes in search of riders, driving when I had the phone stuck to my one ear and the other on the two-way radio, and shooting from his cool HD cams. Thanks bro!
Nandi Who for the first time in her life was strapped to a seat under a spinning blade and asked to shoot still footage from tree-top height! Thanks Nandi, I'm sure the footage will be awesome!
Len Klopper: Chief Gyrocopter flying instructor at Morningside Airfield, who arranged three Gyrocopters for us for the day at no cost to the Amageza, and flew me out two days before the qualifier to recce the air-route. He also is responsible for shooting the footage from the air with one of the Bigshot Media guys, and a HD cam mounted on the nose-wheel. Thanks Len!
Jean, and the other gyrocopter pilot: Thanks to both of you. Together with Len you guys made it possible to shoot this event from the air.
Morningside Airfield: For hosting us, providing coffee before, and burgers and beer after the qualifier!
All the entrants! Man you okes are a rare breed. You just jump into the unknown, don't you! Thanks for all of you who tried. For those of you who did'nt make it, you know now what to train for, so we could see you soon hey!
If I left anybody out, it's unintentional. Please forgive!