Yamaha Super Tenere 750

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PHJ

Pack Dog
WD Supporter
Reaction score
Bike
KTM 990 Adventure
Hi I am a newbie here and really enjoy the forum and would also like to contribute some of my experiences on a Super Tenere which I just sold on the forum. When I got the bike it had 28000km on the clocks and the wear on the brake pedal and gear shifter confirmed that the mileage should be right. The bike was sold as 100% condition (see foto). So below is my experience. Some guys might think to buy a bike and fix it up. That is great but do not do it to save money. My experience has been to save money buy a new or nearly new bike. I did it because I enjoy tinkering and fixing the bikes. Please I am not an expert and some terminology might be wrong. This is just my experience and hopefully it helps someone or adds to the Tenere story. I think the Super Tenere is a great bike it has soul mainly due to its heritage, the motor that has enough grunt and reasonable off road suspension. Once you get use to it, it really grows on you. 

The following needed attention:
1. I think most Super Tenere have rusty spokes this one not being different.
2. I had the wheels anodized these rims take anodizing well. Some rims although silver have already been anodized(hardened) Normally if one can polish the rim with very fine wet sand paper it has not been anodized and will take the anodizing well. Just check the inside of the rims some corrode quite badly. I was lucky one spot that was cleaned up nicely.
3. The hubs were sandblasted and left as is on recommendation of the wheel build guy. This proved to be a good move and cleaned easily afterwards. New wheel bearing all round.
4. Used stainless steel spokes to replace the normal ones.
5. Enduro tubes and Michelin T63 tyres