Thump & Paul's PE to KZN Wilddog Bash trip Day 1 to Day 9 (complete at last)

Hi Thump
It was great meeting you guys at the bash. We did a similar route to you and it must be said that we are extremely fortunate to be able to ride these roads!
Awesome report. Thank you.
OOOPS, forgot I'm on my wifes computer, - LanceSA

Cool RR, Thump!
Was great meeting you and Paul.
Twas a pleasure helping with the brake lever, too!

Day 5 - Thursday 24th Sep

Silverstreams – Underberg – Sani pass – Black Mountain pass - Left at St James – Sehonghong -  Matebeng Pass – Sehabathebe National Park - Ramatseliso’s Gate – Matetiele – Silver streams - 520km.

Woke up to a great day. Blessed to be alive and to be me.

IMG_0281.jpg

Paulspics225.jpg

Silver Fox and Mrs Fox had arrived during the night from Johannesburg.
A great couple we would get to know better the next night.

The route for the day
day5.jpg

After a quick breakfast we packed the bikes with emergency stuff and headed for Sani pass at ±07h30.
There were a few road works on the gravel road leading to the pass. We were stuck behind a few cars for a while. Suddenly the road is black and smooth and I accelerate past the cars as we’re coming out the bend speeding up to get past before the next bend ahead.
Ha!! It wasn’t tar, they had sprayed the road with a water truck, and this had turned the colour from grey to black, but I couldn’t tell the difference with my dusty visor. Luckily all went well and I recovered around the bend and continued towards Sani.

Sani is a mountain pass between the South African Border pass at the bottom and the Lesotho post at the top. It is a winding road with loose rocks and erosion which makes it popular amongst 4 x 4 enthusiasts and DS Bikers.

The road leading up towards Sani Pass.
IMG_0292.jpg

IMG_0295-1.jpg

IMG_0300.jpg

When in dry areas you will be amazed at the beauty you can find if you take the time to look.
This chap was growing out of a crack in the rocks.
IMG_0297-1.jpg

Video of a section of Road

At the RSA border post we met Journeyman and a bunch of mates who were also doing Sani and planned to go through to Katse dam and then on to Johannesburg (Shame).

Paulspics228.jpg

Paulspics227.jpg

IMG_0301-1.jpg

Then Up the pass. The pass was not that bad (although a few people said it’s a lot worse than before) but it was still tricky with the erosion groves and loose rocks.
Paulspics230.jpg

Paulspics234.jpg

You should she how big the peoples eyes get in these taxis
Paulspics244.jpg

Summor

IMG_0304-1.jpg

IMG_0305.jpg

IMG_0308.jpg

On one bend I stopped and waited for Paul who was taking photos, then, as I pulled away the back slipped out. I overcorrected and dropped the bike as my feet had no where to grip on the downward side of the slope. Scratched my brand new brake lever and bent the foot peg on the right hand side.
Also broke my GPS mount but didn’t realise at the time.

Amazing how heavy the KLR is when lying upside down.
I didn’t stop for a pic as the petrol was leaking out the tank.
IMG_0314.jpg

IMG_0312-1.jpg

Fortunately that was my last fall of the trip, although I had quite a few close ones.

Up at the top in the Highest pub in Africa. Awesome views.
Paul
IMG_0316.jpg

Me
IMG_0317.jpg

The other riders on the balcony
IMG_0318.jpg

And the views

IMG_0318.jpg

IMG_0322-1.jpg

Paulspics252.jpg

After a coke, two toasted ham and cheese sarmies and a beer,
IMG_0331.jpg

we headed out up Black mountain Pass.
Here and there we saw the remnants of snow. ( I hear it snowed there on the Monday we rode back to PE)
IMG_0336.jpg

Another section of great scenic road. But unfortunately the drought was very apparent up here.
We road and stopped for pics along the way, leap frogging the group with Journeyman.
IMG_0345-1.jpg

Paulspics256.jpg

Paulspics258.jpg

And riding behind Journeyman

The farming practices here are often ancient as accessibility and fuel are a problem out here.
Despite this there were a large amount of fields plowed and waiting for the rain.
Paulspics259.jpg

Then as we came around a bend we saw them pushing a BMW Funduro to try get it back on the road.
The road surface was very slippery with round stones like ball bearings. As the guy opened up through the corner the bike slipped out from under him. He landed on the road but the bike when down the side slope next to the road stopping about 10m away. Luckily nothing was damaged on either of them.

When we got to St James Junction, the rest of his group were having Refreshments and waiting for the pack.
Paulspics260.jpg

Originally Paul & I were going to turn around here and head back. Possibly find a spot to fish.
But when looking at the map, decided to turn left and head for Ramatseliso’s gate. One map we had showed we could go through the Sehabathebe National Park, although the others showed this was not possible. I was keen to try and although Paul isn’t gay (At least I don’t think so), he said he’s easy, so off we went. Our main concerns were the lack of fuel, and the time limit to the border post which closes at 6PM. Although the road is one of Lesotho’s main roads it is shown as a 4x4 route on some maps so we had no idea of the condition and expected time.

What a great decision, this road goes through some majestic mountain passes and rivers. I must definitely go back one day when it’s greener.

Paulspics264.jpg

IMG_0349.jpg

IMG_0352.jpg

IMG_0357.jpg

IMG_0362.jpg

IMG_0003.jpg

We passed a few guys going the other way who seemed in a great rush.
Maybe they were afraid to be recognised on their KTM’s?
IMG_0358-1.jpg

We looked for a secluded spot to stop for lunch
IMG_0365-2.jpg

Within seconds we had an audience out of know where.
They didn’t beg as we had expected, just greeted politely and stood off to one side hoping for the best.

We left some in the cans and gave to them afterwards making them very happy.
But when I got the camera out for a pic that’s when they really sparkled. Standing proud for the pic and then overjoyed when seeing themselves on the camera. I wish I could send them a hard copy.
IMG_0366.jpg

The road to, through and after  Matebeng Pass got a bit more technical slowing us down a bit but nothing serious. I was starting to get sleepy so the technical bits helped.
They even make bricks by hand out of the rocks.
Paulspics267.jpg

The roads

Paulspics273.jpg

IMG_0006.jpg

IMG_0012.jpg

IMG_0016.jpg

IMG_0017.jpg

IMG_0021.jpg

Started getting concerned when we saw the rain clouds, but they never caused us any bother.
IMG_0019.jpg

IMG_0022.jpg

IMG_0023.jpg

Lot’s of little water crossings but nothing to brag about, the streams were rather dry.

IMG_0024.jpg

At the top of the pass. Click on an image below if you want it enlarged

IMG_0031.jpg

Looking back.
IMG_0033.jpg

Looking forward
IMG_0035.jpg

First Snake of the trip. I normally see quite a few and was wondering if it’s not too cold up here.
Anybody know the type?
IMG_0038.jpg

We got to Sehabathebe and asked around if we could get through the Park to South Africa.
People said no, but did not seem sure. The park entrance only seemed a few km’s away so we decided to ride to the gate and speak to some one there. Alas, no one at the entrance.
IMG_0039.jpg

Do we chance it or do we go to the border post we know about?
Paul gets the bright idea to ask “what is the time?”

“Half past 5” I say. Heck we’ve only got 30 min till the Border closes and it’s 40km away, we have no camping or bedding and not sure on fuel and the sun she’s dropping somewhat. Decision made. We head for the border post without stopping. Nice to have an excuse to open up a bit sometimes.
I still get to take to odd pic while riding.
IMG_0041.jpg

We arrive at the border Post at exactly 6PM but it’s closed.
Now I’ve heard of some guys having hassles at Lesotho BPs before so I’m a bit worried but ask around and get told to look in the building next door where everyone is having their end of day beers.

Eventually I get directed to this little room and inside are 4 dudes with their quarts. I almost feel guilty disturbing them; they’re parking of so lekker. But I get over it quickly and pose my question. All hands point to the poor soul who get’s up reluctantly, but then once outside is very friendly and we go off looking for the border postman in charge. After a tour to the other possible places he might be including his residence we find him in his office. (Last place we expected to find him ha ha. I should have more faith in man)

He unlocks everything, stamps our passports and off we go.
The RSA border post stays open and the staff are very helpful and we’re on our way after hearing stories of how bad the road down is.

They were right, especially in the dark, but we got down OK without incident.
There were a lot of grass fires on both side of the road but nothing too serious.
IMG_0044.jpg

IMG_0045.jpg

We have a bit of excitement on the flat sections as my KLR lights are pretty dim and fat heeg was starting to settle in. came into a few corners a bit fast, but what the heck we came out of them a bit fast to so it cancelled out I guess.

After we filled up at Matatiele I told Paul I’m taking it easy now, not going to go over 80km/h in the dark as the animals like to come out at night and I can’t see so far ahead.

Paul says fine he knows the way he’ll lead. It just happens that when the time comes to turn left I can’t see Paul anymore so I go left and back to camp, arriving at 9h30PM

I make the fire while a few wild dogs members come and introduce themselves and we discuss the day’s events. I cooked the food and have just taken the steaks off the coals when Paul Arrives at 10h30PM. He went straight instead of left and then left instead of right at the next T-Junction.

7h30 to 21h30 / 22h30 was a long day in the saddle.

But I’d do it again in a flash, it was a great route, and it’s great riding with someone who takes all the nocks in his stride, laughs and says, “It’s all part of the adventure”

:ricky: :ricky: :ricky: :ricky:

Day 6 coming soon

Looks like you guys had a lekker trip
Thanks for the RR

Day 6 – Friday 25th Sep

Silverstreams - Matatiele - Ramatseliso’s gate - Quatchasnek - Matatiele - Silver Streams - 384km

The route of the day
Day6.jpg

This was the day we were waiting for, the out ride with the KZN guys. Most of the guys got here during the previous day and were all ready for fun.

We got up nice and early but had to do a few repairs and tighten some bolts, top up the oil, etc.
So we missed the pre-ride talk. We weren’t worried though, we’ll just follow the bunch.

Not even 1km from the campsite we have the first off, slight misjudgement.

IMG_0046.jpg

I won’t mention names because I don’t want to embarrass Seeker, but we stop and help him up and off he goes. Paul and I follow.

Now normally on an outride, when you get to an intersection you stop and wait for those behind to catch up. But at the talk they had explained the route to the tar and so did not worry.

PostBox in the lead saw all the dust to the left and so we all followed him that way.
Turn’s out the dust was a bunch of 4x4 on an outride. Ha ha.

There’s not much cell phone reception but I new John W had planned to go through some farms to the Ramatseliso Gate we had come down the night before. So we head there the long way round.

A video while riding behind Seeker on the stretch to Matatiele.

Fuel for the bikes at Matatiele.
IMG_0052.jpg

Then fuel for us at KFC
IMG_0053.jpg

I watched the bikes while the others went in, going in when Paul came out.
After a long wait I was served, but Postbox was still waiting for his order. They probably saw his ride and thought he’s got no money so why serve him.

But eventually we ate and headed up the pass. It was great seeing it in the day time and while the others escorted a Bakkie up the pass I took the opportunity to do some off road site seeing in between catching up again. Twas great fun, I felt like a little boy with a new toy.

IMG_0054.jpg

IMG_0056.jpg

IMG_0058.jpg

IMG_00622-1.jpg

IMG_0063.jpg

Finally at the top by the SA border side. As we got there we saw the others heading out.
IMG_0072.jpg

The road between SA and Lesotho Border.
IMG_0074.jpg

We took an easy ride in Lesotho to Quacha’s neck enjoying the views.
IMG_0080.jpg

IMG_0082.jpg

IMG_0084.jpg

IMG_0085.jpg

A Video of our fearless leaders, Postbox and seeker

A quick break along the way.
IMG_0091.jpg

And on again. Anurruh great road.
IMG_0096.jpg

IMG_0101.jpg

We left Lesotho at Quatcha’s neck and headed towards Matatiele again.
IMG_0104.jpg

Friendly dudes.
IMG_0106.jpg

After Matatiele we were cruising along when I saw two specks of dust ahead.
I decided I need to find out who they are and caught up with them just in time to see the right hand dust veer into the gutter portion of the road, do a quick recovery and out again. Close shave there Throttle Jockey? The other guy was LanceSA who had stopped to assist a fellow biker with a puncture. They were on there way to catch up with the other Greyhounds from grahamstown.

The lack of sleep was catching up to me and fat heeg was getting her way again, so I stopped at this bridge to wash off and powder my nose.

IMG_0108.jpg

IMG_0111.jpg

Then back to camp.
IMG_0113-1.jpg

Back at camp a few repairs were taking place. My fencing pliers came in handy for a few okes.
IMG_0115.jpg

PostBox and Seeker invited us to share their fire with them, Mr & Mrs Silver Fox and her parents.
IMG_0117-1.jpg

Way too much food, great company, lots of laughter and a great time was had by all.

Afterwards they packed some chicken in tin foil for us as take away.
Was to be our lunch the next day.

JonW said:
Great Ride Report Thump, very good to meet you at the bash.

Will have to meet half-way between Pmb and PE for a beer sometime, maybe the Wild Coast is a good idea?

A very good idea, I still need to explore East of Coffee bay some time.

Wannabe Biker Chick said:
Hi Thump
It was great meeting you guys at the bash. We did a similar route to you and it must be said that we are extremely fortunate to be able to ride these roads!
Awesome report. Thank you.
OOOPS, forgot I'm on my wifes computer, - LanceSA

Tell your wife I say it's a pleasure
:laughing4: :imaposer:

Day 7 – Saturday 26th Sep

Trout fishing at St Bernard’s lake – 180km

This was my dream for the weekend.
Catch some large trout in the trout haven of good ol RSA.

Wooley Bugger was going to arrange a place and come out with us.
I was looking forward to some expertise and to have some one show me the error of my ways.

Alas he had to sort out the equipment for the spit braai (Rotating barbeque for the foreigners out there).
This he could only get in Underberg at 10AM. He promised to meet us out there afterwards.

But he phones around and arranges that we can go fish at St Bernard’s Lake, one of the premier spots around. After explanations of the dam’s layout and best spots to try we head out ready to change our reputation as trout fisherman. He even gave us a selection of flies to try in addition to what we had.
IMG_0123.jpg

IMG_0136.jpg

Paulspics283.jpg

They’re very adamant about catch and release here.
There were 3 sign’s we saw in the space of 200m on the road there.
IMG_0125-1.jpg

But true to form we never even got a bite. :'(
The sun was beating down on the rocks and the wind came up as well making casting a bit more technical.

This also limited the areas we could fish on the dam.

At 11h30 we decided to have an early lunch. That was the best chicken ever. :drif:

After lunch we walked down to the hatchery.
There are definitely trout here. A variety of sizes

IMG_0128.jpg

IMG_0127.jpg

IMG_0132.jpg

Seeing all the fish and how aggressive they are inspired me to try again.
But nurring. No fish and no sign of Wooley Bugger.

Eventually I tire of this and we head back to camp.

WB had also just got back after having plensh hassles with getting all the parts of the spit braai. :xxbah:
So we relaxed for the rest of the afternoon in preparation of the nights festivities.

The other guys had gone up San pass and explored some of the area, so there were a few tired, frustrated and comical tales of the days events.

The evening was a great success with the spit being done by HentieBM applying the sauce to the lamb and JohnST supplying the sauce to HentieBM.

Pics courtesy of WB
1spit.jpg

That was after some emergency repairs when the hose connecting the shaft to the motor broke.
Thumprepairingspit.jpg

A prize giving was held with prizes donated for the event.
More pics and info to be found at
https://wilddog.net.za/forum/index.php?topic=38451.msg750687#msg750687

Afterwards some time spent around the fire getting to know some interesting and some slightly strange dudes & duds.
:3some:

Went to bed at 01h00 after a fun filled evening. Thanks guys.

Day 8 coming soon

Day 8 – Sunday 27th Sep

Silverstreams – Kokstad – Matatiele – Mount Fletcher – Mclear – Ugie - Bastersvoet pass – Barkley Pass – Cofimvaba – Stutterheim -  640km

The route for the day
day8.jpg

Sadly all good things come to an end, but we planned to end it well.
Today we were to start our trip home.
Up at 6AM and packing.
I re-enter a route into the GPS and the charger connection finally give up completely.
So I dim the light to 10% and switch off until we’re packed.

Paul has been carting this 10l Petrol can around so we decide to use it to make sure we get to Matatiele, 123km away. Paul uses some and I use some, Insisting JonW use some to make sure he get’s to Underberg.

We head out towards Matatiele. 40km’s from camp my bike dies. %$#@??? I switch over to reserve and she takes off again. I can’t believe this. We’re 80km from Matatiele and I’m on reserve.

We decide to try Swartberg a little town just off route, but when we get there the petrol station is closed.
The next closest is Franklin. After 16km’s we find the Service station but the have no petrol.

Next closest is kokstad. I’ve already done ±30km’s on reserve and am getting nervous.
We head to Kokstad at ±80km on the Tar road, trying to conserve as much fuel as possible.
Fat heeg was getting her claws in again. Finally we reach Kokstad and fill up with two litres to spare.
I start to think maybe it was just a short blockage and not lack of fuel. Would have made it to Matatiele without doing the extra 60km detour. Oh well, we saw some other scenery on the way.

Then followed some more boring tar road through Mount Fletcher, Maclear and to Ugie where we filled up again.
Just outside Ugie we took a right onto a dirt rode leading to the top of Barkley pass.

Finally I could enjoy again and the scenery started to improve as well.
IMG_0147.jpg

Shortly after this I saw a sign saying Bastervoet pass. Now I’d heard one or two guys mention the pass and JonW also suggested it so when I saw the sign I new. “This is a sign” an Paul, being easy, agreed we should ride this thing. My GPS had packed up by now with the flat battery so we had no idea where we would come out. We just agreed that the worst thing that could happen is we come back down again. It’s always nice to have done a pass from both sides anyway.

As we enter the gate there is a bridge over the stream and willow trees so we stop for lunch.

This is truly a great scenic road to ride, well worth the detour.
IMG_0150.jpg

IMG_0154.jpg

A Video of the start.

And some more pics.

IMG_0157-1.jpg

IMG_0158.jpg

IMG_0160.jpg

IMG_0168.jpg

Paulspics288.jpg

Paulspics292.jpg

Paulspics302.jpg

Paulspics296.jpg

I really got a soft spot for these donkeys on this trip. Check those sad faces.
This is where you all say “ahhh Cuute”  :deal:
IMG_0171.jpg

Then the plaque
IMG_0177.jpg

And the signs at the exit confirm we did the right pass.
IMG_0185-1.jpg

And we‘re headed the right way
IMG_0182.jpg

Barkley pass was also busy burning but was still nice even though it’s tar.

Got a nice video going down but it’s too big to load, you’ll just have to take my word for it.
taking video with one hand definitely improves the fun of a tar  road around mountain passes.

Some pics after the pass looking back.
IMG_0001.jpg

IMG_0002.jpg

And the fires continue towards Elliot.
IMG_0005.jpg

IMG_0006-1.jpg

We head down to Elliot, and then Cala,
IMG_0008.jpg

Then dirt and towards Cofimvaba. The clouds start building up and getting quite dark so we stop and pull on our rain suits.
IMG_0009.jpg

IMG_0010.jpg

Just in time, ±1km afterwards the rain starts but not too hard and we carry on to Cofimvaba.
So no more pics for the day.

But the dirt roads in this area don’t have signs, and without the GPS we miss the turn off. We end up near Tsomo. Tar road to Cofimvaba. When we get there we look at the map again. We should have taken the R352 from Tsomo to Stutterheim, but now we have to find the road from Cofimvaba to the R352.
On impulse I try the GPS and it comes on long enough to show me the road so I switch it off again.

I do this at every intersection from here on and we don’t get lost again.

During this section heading towards the R352 is the first time Paul start getting P!$$ed of with me.
We’ve being on the road for ±9hrs, it’s raining, it’s starting to get dark, there no road signs, this is an unknown underdeveloped area and the road we’re riding is deteriorating rapidly. Luckily I’m too far ahead so it doesn’t matter that he’s P!$$ed off (Besides it’s better than being P!$$ed on)
But then things improve and the scenery is just great and all is well and forgiven.

This is also where I realised I hold my breath during scary moments.
My vision ain’t so hot with the rain mist and bad light.
Every time I after I’ve hit a technical section at speed my visor just mists up on the inside, and I have to open it up and rinse my eye balls. I had to make a concerted effort to breathe while k@kking myself.

The last bit in the dark and mist to Stutterheim was really challenging as my Brights had stopped working during the day and I only had dims. I had a spare lamp but didn’t feel like changing it in the dark and rain.

I tried riding just behind Paul on the right and this worked quite well on the straight sections.

We arrived in Stutterheim at ±19h30, cold, wet and hungry but feeling stoked at the road we’d just come down. We filled up and found a place to stay called the Putters Green.

Very warm with ample hot water.

We just showered, had a cup-o-soup supper and hit the sack by ±9PM. After 10.5 hrs on the road after only 5 hrs sleep the night before it didn’t take too long to fall asleep.

brilliant thump!  are you still a garmin fan btw?  >:D  hmmmm

Day 9 – Monday 28th Sep

Stutterheim – Gubu dam – Double drift game reserve – Ght – PE – 321km

The route for the final day.
day9.jpg

Up at 6AM as we’d ordered breakfast for 7AM.

Our hostess really outdid herself with a great mixed fruit and yogurt followed by mushroom omelette and toast. (with fruit juice and great coffee) 
There were other options as well but this was enough for us.

Packing the bikes.
IMG_0014.jpg

And the rain came down, but that meant no dust.
We took the dirt road to Keiskammahoek
IMG_0016-1.jpg

Twas wet. I’m glad I extended the side stand foot.
IMG_0021-1.jpg

Went passed Gubu dam, which I had wanted to explore and maybe fish but decided against it in the rain. Also Paul was keen to get back by 2PM. (Business calls)
IMG_0017-1.jpg

Then on past the Keskammahoek or Sandile Dam.
My dad had heard of the dam and asked me to check it out if I’m ever in the area, so I turned off and explored briefly taking a few pics.
IMG_0020.jpg

IMG_0022-1.jpg

Coming down to this spot got a bit tricky. Made me worry about getting back out again.
But no worries mate.
IMG_0024-1.jpg

Will be back to not catch fish.
Paulspics303.jpg

Then on to Alice and the road to Double Drift game reserve.
The rain cleared up mostly.
IMG_0029-1.jpg

Backward shot
IMG_0031-1.jpg

And finally at the gate
IMG_0033-1.jpg

The sign says no 2, 3 or 4 wheel motor cycles, but they let us through.

IMG_0032-1.jpg

IMG_0034-1.jpg

The map of the reserve. (we still missed the turn of and had to come back)
IMG_0036.jpg

Came upon this rescue operation. The road was very soft at the sides and this guy had lost it.

Fortunately he was ok, just shaken, not stirred.
IMG_0037.jpg

IMG_0038-1.jpg

Then some Giraffe
IMG_0040.jpg

And the clouds were threatening again.
IMG_0042.jpg

After we realised we had gone too far we turned around and headed back.
Asking around, we found our way back to this board. Pity it did not show anything in the direction we came from originally.

IMG_0043.jpg

We went to the lookout point.
I’m the handsome oke on the left, Paul’s the poor oke on the right.
IMG_0044-1.jpg

IMG_0046-1.jpg

IMG_0047.jpg

Then we continued past this Sh1t spot
IMG_0049.jpg

Across the Great fish river.
IMG_0050.jpg

And on to Grahamstown.

After a quick KFC lunch we slabbed it home at Max KLR speed. Arriving at ±15h30.
What’s an hour and a half between friends?

Arriving at Pauls place to the delight of his wife.
IMG_0368.jpg

The trusty steed at home again.
IMG_0369.jpg

All in all 9 days of great fun and adventure.

Total ±3,335km (70% gravel roads)
3.1GB of photo’s and video’s to sift through.

And a bike in need of some TLC, again.

Thanks Paul, Till the next one.  :ricky: :ricky: :ricky:

Had to leave the phone off for the next two days to catch up with admin and month end Stuff. :deal: :lamer: :peepwall:

Fantastic Ride Report Thump really enjoyed reading about your trip.

Thanks for making the effort to be at our Bash, it was great having you and Paul there. You are a Wild Dog of note, i really dig your positive attitude.

Look forward to seeing you guys again soon and drinking a few  more beers with you.

Lekker Thump, thanks for the effort of sharing this big trip :thumleft:
Lekker trip, and very nice country this one of ours, would like to do a trip up that way some time.