7 Days up the Westcoast and to Namibia, or how I got waterskoeter'ed: Completed!

Day 5 - And then we were 7

After a good night's rest we all gathered 'round the coffee kettle to discuss what this day was going to hold for us.

By the way - this is what our camping spot looked like in daytime.
I cannot recommend this place highly enough.
It is very well maintained, very clean and very reasonable.

We all had more than enough to eat and drink, as well as chips, cool drink and bread and the bill for 9 of us was R930.
That included the camping fee.
They've got these 'braaipacks' - 2 nice Chops and two pieces of boerewors for R20.
Bargain.

I took two
ino.gif

DSCF5424.jpg

DSCF5425.jpg

After Biesie's shoulder started feeling a little more sore during the night and considering the state of his bike he decided that it would be best if he could get back home and to a doctor as soon as possible.

That was the sensible thing to do, but we also knew that it wasn't going to be good style to let him ride the 700 odd km home alone.
There was a couple of offers of guys who really wouldn't mind to accompany him home, but in the end Klaing was the one who chose to be his wingman.

The previous day there was about 120 km (if not more) of rough corrugated roads and his long legs (causing him to not be able to stand that easily on the bike) as well as the V-Strom 650's stiffer front suspension made him weary of the possibility of maybe damaging his bike.

Just as a matter of interest - I (and sometimes some of the others) was always going on about this sand and that and this obstacle and that - continuously having loud animated discussions about 'have you seen this' and 'did you feel that'.

All the while Klaing was doing the same with his more road biased tires, low bash plate and stiffer suspension.
To him this was the most natural thing to be able to ride all of it, but just without the 'hoo ha' that the rest of us sometimes had.

DSCF5422.jpg

That is a packet cigarettes - just to show how low the bash plate really is. Look at the tires as well
If he wanted to he could blame his tools, but instead he didn't only went with everywhere, but he probably did better than most.
To be honest - it would be interesting to see what Klaing will be able to do with a KTM 950/990.

So Biesie and Klaing left together for the long stretch home.
It was really sad to see them go, as they have been not only very cool riding buddies, but also very pleasant company.

By the way - Biesie let us know the next day (after being at the doctor) that he had a broken collarbone.
Lucky it was the clutch hand's side, but still - 720km on the N7 into a headwind with a bike with half its fairing and a broken collarbone could not have been fun.
We were very pleased and relieved to get the SMS late afternoon that both Klaing and Biesie made it home safely.

So we were ready and packed when Operator's bike didn't want to start.

We are still not totally sure what caused it, but after about an hour of jumper leads, getting help from the neighbours and trying to run start Ektoknbike got onto it. Gave it a solid kick on the kickstarter and it stood there purring.
;D

We all joked afterwards and said that it was his Sidi's that the bike was afraid of.
It didn't once struggle to start again after that.
;D

So we were on our way.

We (again) found that Topbox wasn't with us and (again) he was on his way to Pella (better roads this time).

This caused us to continuously joke for the remainder of the trip about his compulsion to go to Pella.
Stupid jokes like 'Hey Trev - where are you going?' being answered by someone else with 'To look for his Pella'. Or his roots.
Or his real father.

We were also joking about Ektoknbike being like our dad - 'Hoe ver nog?' 'Hoeveel sand nog ?' 'Wanneer gaan ons eet?' 'Waar's Topbox?' ;D

Seeing that he was the only non afrikaans guy we were joking that he was Ektoknbike's 'aanneemkind' (foster child)

You get the idea ;D ;D

The real reason was way more bland.
In doing an unscheduled exploration of the local sand roads between Klein Pella and Pella the previous night, both his XR and Ektoknbike's KTM was running lower on fuel than what was comfortable (the XR a little more so).

So Topbox decided to go to Pella, where there is a petrol pump, but in the meantime Ektoknbike spoke to the powers that be and found out that Pella didn't have petrol, so there he went after Topbox (again), who was gunning it for Pella (again)

;D ;D

While waiting there at the intersection we had time, so I asked the guys to take an in ride photo of me.
This was the result:

DSCF5427.jpg

DSCF5436.jpg

No officer - that's not me in da piektjur

Not long after that Maverick and Goose arrived on their 950 and XR, so we were heading for Pofadder.

Topbox's bike indeed ran out of petrol and this time it was Operator and the Djebel that came to the rescue.

His bike is very frugal with regards to fuel consumption - that as well as a big tank and normal gravity feed carb makes it easy to a) disconnect the fuel line and b) actually have some spare fuel to take out.

DSCF0225.jpg

DSCF0226.jpg

We arrived at Pofadder shortly after that and for the 1st time in three days had proper signal to phone the loved ones at home, so we did that, filled up and then had a quick breakfast/brunch at the coffee shop at the garage.

She also told us that we basically cleaned her out on her weekly stock of chocolate Steri Stumpies.
Bunch of hardcore bikers we are ::)

I think it was partially from just having been together for a couple of days but probably mostly because of the seriousness of the day prior, but we were laughing and making jokes the whole time. It was good to relax again and let some of that intense emotions out in this way.

It wasn't long before CJ found a old 'voortrekker kappie' on the oxwagon inside the shop. I then got hold of a lekker old hat and we decided we need a picture. On all the old photos of 4 generations ago that I've ever seen the people in the photo was always looking very glum or angry.
So we decided we didn't want to break a tradition.

DSCF5437.jpg

;D ;D ;D

We were still deciding what was going to happen, but the clouds looked like rain. That (as well as the weather forcasts) made us decide to err on the side of caution and not take the road to verneukpan as apparently it could be quite a mission getting in and out when the road is wet.
Again that niggly thing called common sense. :)
We took a combination of a couple of back roads and tar here and there and eventually arrived at Brandvlei via Kenhardt and Kakemas, where we decided to stay the night in the hotel. Sadly I realized afterwards that no one has got any photos of that road between Kenhardt and Kakemas. :(

On the tar stretches it was easier to temporarily let go of sweeper duties and go ahead to stop off for a photo again, so this is random shots on the road.

DSCF5438.jpg

Ektoknbike and Topbox

DSCF5439.jpg

Surf and Operator - again there was a sideways headwind, so Operator tucked in behind Surf

DSCF5441.jpg

CJ

DSCF5442.jpg

Inride photo. Check the smile. We were all still enjoying this

DSCF5443.jpg

At one of the stops Surf saw this bunch of flowers and couldn't resist. Blommekind
Methinks he's been gone from home a little too long... ;D ;D ;D

We had supper here and ended up spending the best part of the night at this spot.
The (in)famous Windpomp Restaurant/Bar

DSCF5446.jpg

Piksteel

The guy who looked after us at the bar's mother owned the Hotel, so he negotiated a good price for us there.
The hotel was about a kilometer from the bar and we didn't want to risk drinking and riding, so while we were making plans to get the bikes safely to the hotel before the drinking started Juandre (the guy working at the bar) offered us his bakkie to cart the merrymakers to the hotel and back.

You don't get that anywhere anymore.

What a nice guy. We had a good time and it was lots of laughter and maybe even more drinks 'till late that night.

The hotel was obviously old, but it was in an excellent condition and very well maintained.
For what we paid and what we got I think it was a bargain.

This was how they stored the bikes - on the stoep locked behind bars.
I would say without a doubt - this hotel is bike friendly ;D
DSCF0253.jpg

A couple of shots of the evening - not much happened today in terms of adventure riding, but we saw some dirt roads, some cool places, met some very cool people and in general just had a blast.

And sometimes that is all you need from a day. ;D

Besides - the next day we ended up shifting our boundaries again, but let me not get ahead of myself.
;D ;D

DSCF5449.jpg

;D ;D

DSCF5451.jpg

This is Jeandre - the guy who lent us his bakkie

And this was us being silly with the bakkie:

DSCF0233.jpg

Ready ?

DSCF0237.jpg

Gooooooooooooooooooo!!!!

DSCF0238.jpg

Excuse me sir but you was going to fast. What ? Kom hier jou bliksem!

;D ;D ;D

DSCF0247.jpg

You could see it was going to get late here.
But to be honest, after the day before and all that happened - this was a good day.
Just unwinding and enjoying a no strings attached night with friends (old and newly made)

All things considered this was a good night and it was still an excellent trip.

Great RR, pics, scenery, camaraderie, wheelies, flowers and all (just not the off, sorry about that!) – West Coast is calling for December :)

in between trying to organise the gloves for my mates

" do'nt worry about looking in the bags , the diamonds are in his bum "

i missed one of the steps at customs, so i raced back for the stamp
one personal escort across the Orange in an alu boat with a 40  :eek:

its amazing what this boat can do, an adrenalin rush of note

DSCF9125.jpg

DSCF9126.jpg

DSCF9129.jpg

topbox said:
" do'nt worry about looking in the bags , the diamonds are in his bum "

Forgot about that.

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

With friends like these...

'Hoe ver nog?' 'Hoeveel sand nog ?' 'Wanneer gaan ons eet?' 'Waar's Topbox?' ;D

Bwaaaaaahahahahaha!

Awesome report dudes!  :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft: Jammer oor die yammie  :'(

Ek lek my lippe af vir al daai plekke  :drif:

Eisbein sorry - maar ek like die waterskooter song  :biggrin:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wK-RihafQec&feature=related

Good friends, good terrain, good memories.  This is the way to roll.

Looks like a nice trip you guys did!!!!!
Thanx for the report and pics :thumleft:

In Namibia we switched to the Tafel steering damper  :ricky:

DSCF9134.jpg

while others continued to crook with the Scotts  :patch:

DSCF9142.jpg

DSCF9140.jpg

DSCF9138.jpg

and the riding was still awesome

DSCF9132.jpg

But wait theres more

after getting shaken up by the accident, i decided to go ahead to let the others know what happened and beat the fading light.

everybody spoke of Pelle, meaning Klein Pelle.
off i headed to Pelle, the fading light was soon gone and i was alone

without a whole i nearly died story, lets just say it got interesting
a night sand ride with the XR's candle strength headlight

This is the road i was on, and actually the better part of it

DSCF9163.jpg

and this is how dark it was

DSCF9164.jpg

My one fall of the trip and nobody saw it, FFS if i have to take my own pics then so be it  ::)

DSCF9167.jpg

DSCF9165.jpg

to count as a fall there needs to be separation
i know there was separation 'cos when that bike hit the ground i was already running  :xxbah:

nevertherless i got to Pelle without further incident, a 30km trip, 22km's on that sand road

not long Ektoknbike arrived looking for me.  :3some:
and so back to Klein Pelle, a detour in all of 80kms, this caused further fuel problems the next day