A trailer and a few friends do Loskop

Mooi man Groenste  :thumleft: jy moet nou net n agter-ste-voor guard vir die trailer op sit anners gaat jy jou kis gate in roost :mwink:  :ricky:

Groenie said:
The trailer tracks fairly straight, and I have treid emergency braking on tar only, with and without load - no problem. But on dirt......big question. This trip was just to test the feasibility of the concept.

It looks like it passed with flying colours. I wonder how it would react over a little jump??

Thanks, Have fun testing. :thumleft:

Groenie, wat de heng het met jou koplig gebeur?

Daai kontrapsie wat jy nou daar op het lyk woes my tjom  :peepwall:  :imaposer:  :imaposer:

Sunday morning the other okes woke up early and I slept late. I think I was tired from walking around too much. Farken lastige sy-stappie.......

The people coming to ogle the trailer woke me up eventually and we waited for GSJeri to join us before setting off to find petrol and oil.....

P1090273_sm.jpg

P1090272_sm.jpg

After a quick reg-makertjie, we set off again, doing the same route back coz the roads are so bleddy nice. It was a great day in the sun and spring was upon us.

P1090276_sm.jpg

We didn't take many pics on the way back, but did visit Genl.Hertzog's grave.

P1090278_sm.jpg

P1090286_sm.jpg

I like these flowers

P1090289_sm.jpg

Being the excellent sniffer-outer-of-shebeens that he is, Zonk found us a place to have a cold one.

P1090292_sm.jpg

Where Arrie met some of his old friends from the farm days

P1090294_sm.jpg

Proof that the trailer can do off-road

P1090296_sm.jpg

And then we set off home.

Over all I am very satisfied with the performance of the trailer. Once you get used to the effects it has on the bike's handling, you almost forget that it's there. I also found it seems to stabilise the bike a at slower speeds, there being 3 wheels to provide inertia. It was quite noticeable on my way to work on Monday without the trailer. So now I can build version 2, which will be a lot better.

Thanx to my riding partners!

Leon, yes it seems a lot more stable in sand, but I haven't done any real deep sand yet.

Mike, it mounts to the rear axle. If you have a hollow axle, like the off-road bikes, no problem, but I had to make a new axle for my bike. Your swingarm will maybe not be up to the extra torsional loads the trailer imposes on the bike. It tries to keep the bike upright.

Dankie Groenie, die trip was "bejander" lekker en ek dink die KLR moet maar terug kom van Vicky die Viking af. :laughing4: