Another way to pick up a bike...

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Leon H

Pack Dog
Reaction score
Bike
BMW R1200GS
After checking out and trying out the arse first way of picking up a bike as explained at dicussed in an earler "How it pick up a bike" thread, I just about broke my spine, and I felt like a tool! Perhaps I do not have the same tranny strength as those girls! Seeing as though my Mrs is just getting into adventure bikes, I thought I'd show her the technique I used to teach when I was a riding instructor - I reckon it's easier and looks a bit more stylish than the arse first method!! Also took the opportunity to take some snaps to include here......

1 - Relax: The bike is not going to get any more damaged sitting on the ground. Take a minute to get your breath if you stacked it, and assess the situation.....you'll hurt yourself and probably drop the bike again if you go off half cocked and re-drop it!

IMG_0006.JPG

2 - Turn the key off. If the bike's in gear, leave it in gear, it'll stop it rolling away. If it's facing up or down a hill, drag it around so it is facing across the hill, with the wheels pointing downhill....

IMG_0007.JPG

3 - Stand on the tank / seat side of the bike facing the bike. If you can, turn the handlebars away from the ground.

IMG_0013.JPG

4 - Position both hands under the handle bar end, knees bent and lift. This position gives you the best leverage, and the bike isn't going to roll off as it is in gear. All you have to do is lift straight up. Remember take your time, have a break halfway up if it's getting heavy. If you're like me you can use ya big fat guts to prop the bike up :oops:

IMG_0009.JPG

IMG_0014.JPG