BACK IN THE USSR- GERMANY TO VLADIVOSTOK ON 2 X DAKARS

It is days like this one wants to forget.

Or buy a 4x4 with a heater......

More info at "a Day to Forget" at the link below:

https://pikipiki2.co.za/?p=1282

• Tajikistan tunnels of hell.jpg
    Tajikistan tunnels of hell.jpg
    39 KB
I have ridden from Johannesburg to Parys, does that count?

A new post "Afgahans walking" has been made.

Unfortunately internet is often dial up therefore we cannot post here as well.

To view this posting:

https://pikipiki2.co.za/?p=1156

Best regards

Harry and Linda

• Afghanistan.jpg
    Afghanistan.jpg
    101.2 KB
We ride along the Pamir Highway; built by the Soviet Military between 1931 and 1934 to transport troops and provisions to remote outposts of the Soviet empire. We also branch off to follow Afghanistan’s Wakhan Corridor; a narrow strip of land that juts STRATEGICALLY eastwards, between Tajikistan & Pakistan, to touch China.

To read more:

https://pikipiki2.co.za/?p=1375

• Pamier.jpg
    Pamier.jpg
    494 KB
cracklin said:
We ride along the Pamir Highway; built by the Soviet Military between 1931 and 1934 to transport troops and provisions to remote outposts of the Soviet empire. We also branch off to follow Afghanistan’s Wakhan Corridor; a narrow strip of land that juts STRATEGICALLY eastwards, between Tajikistan & Pakistan, to touch China.

To read more:

www.pikipiki2.co.za

Amazing photo and report.

I do hope this report gets onto this forum in it's entirety.  I want to see it in the Roll of Honour section.  Hats off to the two of you, for your courage, sense of humour and optimism that carries you forward. Brilliant stuff!

Wow, what a read! BIG respect for you guys doing this ride.  :thumleft:

Deep in the Pamir Mountain range lies the town of Murghab, a harsh frontier type town in an unforgiving environment. A 19th century military outpost, Murghab is over 3,500 meters above sea level, making this town the highest in the entire ex-Soviet Union. It is part of our route which we cannot avoid as it is the only passage through this region.

To read more on the Murghab Horse Festival:

https://pikipiki2.co.za/?p=1512

• 17 b.jpg
    17 b.jpg
    91 KB
  • 6 The horses and participants start to arrive from the hills.jpg
    6 The horses and participants start to arrive from the hills.jpg
    113.4 KB
  • 21 Every village has its crooner.jpg
    21 Every village has its crooner.jpg
    99.1 KB
Murghab makes one realise  how we take things for granted.

The people of Murghab are up to their necks in hardship!

The village of Murghab is snow-bound and cut-off from the rest of the world for four months of the year.
Snow lies a meter deep and temperatures drop as low as -45 degrees Celsius.
There are no trees. They collect shrub and dung for fuel and use mud bricks to build small, stocky homes.

To read more:

https://pikipiki2.co.za/?p=1499

(Murghab horse festival-behind the scenes)

• 03-c-P1000834-...-a-grandfather-and-his-two-grandsons-on-an-old-ural-....jpg
    03-c-P1000834-...-a-grandfather-and-his-two-grandsons-on-an-old-ural-....jpg
    87.8 KB
a last few photos from Tajikistan …

To read more:

https://pikipiki2.co.za/?p=1612

Best regards

Harry and Linda

• 07-P1010003-...-or-perhaps-4668m-says-our-GPS-....jpg
    07-P1010003-...-or-perhaps-4668m-says-our-GPS-....jpg
    64.4 KB
We decide to travel right around Lake Issyk- Kol , the second largest Alpine lake in the world. And it is here, on its south shores that we are fortune to have one of those chance encounters that will stay with us for the rest of our lives.

We meet Talgar, a horseback hunter who forms a remarkable bond with a Golden eagle named Tamara. 

To read more:

https://pikipiki2.co.za/?p=1736

Best regards

Harry and Linda

• 2 Have a remarkable bond.jpg
    2 Have a remarkable bond.jpg
    63.3 KB
You guys are an absolute inspiration to us mere mortals.  Thanks for the regular updates.  Good luck with replacing the Dakkie motor and with the rest of your journey.

Hi Harry,

Just caught up on this.

Was telling Nicola about you offering me Chiccory to drink at Pipe Beach in PE when we came out the ocean in the early eighties when the wind was pumping and it was moer cold.
Also about your Escort panel van I so desperately wanted to buy and the night Linda recited a Dutch poem for us at dinner at the Yacht club.

Man. I miss the old days sometimes.

And here you guys are out on the ride of a lifetime.

grizz said:
Hi Harry,

Just caught up on this.

Was telling Nicola about you offering me Chiccory to drink at Pipe Beach in PE when we came out the ocean in the early eighties when the wind was pumping and it was moer cold.
Also about your Escort panel van I so desperately wanted to buy and the night Linda recited a Dutch poem for us at dinner at the Yacht club.

Man. I miss the old days sometimes.

And here you guys are out on the ride of a lifetime.

Hello Grizz and are you still in London?

Miss those days as well. You could go for a surf and then braai on the beach if you felt like it.

Sold the panel van and bought an old VW single port camper. Called Isinyeke (Xhosa for Snail as it carried its house on its back and was dead slow)

It used to crawl along at 20km uphill between 1st and 2nd gears. Loved it though and still miss it.

Life seemed to go at a slower pace then

Best

Harry and Linda

An  Animal Market

Our trip around Lake Issyk-Kol brings us to the old boundary post town of Karakol, and its animal market which runs every Sunday from 6am to 10am.
Locals load their Ladas (and anything else that has wheels) with livestock; a spectacle, particularly if the animal refuses to be forced into a boot or back seat!
Fat tailed sheep (their value measured by the size of their tails) jostle cheek to jowl with goats and other livestock, while next door another area is reserved for used cars and parts. A good price for a Lada would be +- USD 350 while a sheep can be as much as USD 120 depending on age, weight, sex and tail size.
And then there are the “ubiquitous” vodka stands which sell vodka by the double tot and are patronised from 6am onwards.
Nothing like a shot or two of Vodka before serious haggling….

To read more:

https://pikipiki2.co.za/?p=1786

Best regards

Harry and Linda

• 32 or these.jpg
    32 or these.jpg
    111.2 KB
Still loving your updates and awesome photos!! You guys rock!  :thumleft: