Bezuidenhout's Pass Solo on a Voge300 Rally

On Friday and Saturday I did just short of 1,000km on my Voge300 Rally, which Skinny and Jolandi promtly named "Moemfie" :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:
We did our annual 4-Ways Ride this last weekend and you will have to keep an eye out for the Tankgirls newsletter. One of us was riding the KOVE 450!
I however was on my Moemfie and I am exrtremely happy with this bike. Yes, for R68,500 you are going to find some limitations, but that is expected, but i can certainly live with them.
The Turkana Mad Mules were perfect and I was extremely happy with them. In my almost 1,000km I did not have one single issue with anything, not with with the bike or the equimpent or the gear....nada..... boggerol!

I did a video of me going down Bezuidenhoudt's Pass and the pass is pretty rough! I took it very easy as I was alone and did not want to **** this up as it is extremely remote there! Sorry for the noise of the branches hitting the GoPro, I know, it is super annoying! I posted the whole video as one thing without cutting anything, so you can see the whole thing form the top to the bottom gate.

Lekker!!

Very tough pass - great riding (y)

The idea was to ride from Secunda (the starting point of this year's 4-Ways Ride) to Van Reenen on Friday, and then back to Secunda on Saturday. We only found out our destinations on Thursday night, so no real planning, but that is the idea. As I grew up in the Eastern Free State, I know the area well and had some ideas to make the ride interesting.

I headed from Secunda to Standerton, then some dirt from Standerton to Vrede. From Vrede I took dirt to Warden. From Warden I took the tar road to Bethlehem, but turned off towards Kestell. Had a quick look around where we used to live in Kestell when I was young. Then took the very nice S22 dirt road towards Golden Gate. Rode through Golden Gate for a quick beer in Clarens. Then headed to Harrismith to have a look at the houses where I grew up. Met up with an old school friend and drank a lot of Rum! Good day on the bike!

I love the old church buildings in the Freestate towns, so you will see a few of them!

First stop was in Charl Cilliers
1710830193206.jpeg

Then I headed to Standerton.
1710830229978.jpeg

I really do like the look of the Voge300 Rally and the Turkana Mad Mule 10L bags fits the bike perfectly!
1710830292596.jpeg

I then hit the first dirt of the trip between Standerton and Vrede. The kosmos is starting to come out and it was nice ot be riding in cool weather. It was cool, cloudy and pretty windy. It was a nice departure from the heat in Pretoria!
1710830392152.jpeg

Vrede's church
1710830411684.jpeg

This farmer between Vrede and Warden obviously got gatvol of people getting stuck on his hill! I can see this little hill being an issue for large trucks when it has been raining!
1710830503788.jpeg

Warden's massive church buidling
1710830535166.jpeg

Kestell has to have one of the most well known old sandstone churches in South Africa. There was a funeral on the go, so I did not want to stay too long and take pics.
1710830598487.jpeg

Then it was on the the S22 between Kestell and Golden Gate, this is one of my favourite dirt roads!
1710830641048.jpeg

1710830654341.jpeg

1710830664851.jpeg

Had a nice beer at the Clarens Brewery where loads of people came over to chat about my trip and the little Voge300. None of them could believe when I told them that this bike is only R68,500 out of the box!!
1710830755643.jpeg

Then it was back through Golden Gate towards Harrismith for the night.
1710830796875.jpeg

(y)

On Friday and Saturday I did just short of 1,000km on my Voge300 Rally, which Skinny and Jolandi promtly named "Moemfie" :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:
We did our annual 4-Ways Ride this last weekend and you will have to keep an eye out for the Tankgirls newsletter. One of us was riding the KOVE 450!
I however was on my Moemfie and I am exrtremely happy with this bike. Yes, for R68,500 you are going to find some limitations, but that is expected, but i can certainly live with them.
The Turkana Mad Mules were perfect and I was extremely happy with them. In my almost 1,000km I did not have one single issue with anything, not with with the bike or the equimpent or the gear....nada..... boggerol!

I did a video of me going down Bezuidenhoudt's Pass and the pass is pretty rough! I took it very easy as I was alone and did not want to **** this up as it is extremely remote there! Sorry for the noise of the branches hitting the GoPro, I know, it is super annoying! I posted the whole video as one thing without cutting anything, so you can see the whole thing form the top to the bottom gate.

Lekker!!

I admire solo "expeditions".... the first +- 8 min of the video seems the rough "bad" part , how would you rate that section for ascending Bez-pass ?

Going up will be harder than going down the pass. You will need momentum (and keep it) to get up and it is very loose rocks, so there will be a lot of rear wheel spinnig. I was comfortable going down as I did not need momentum and if it got really bad, I could just walk the bike down the tough parts. Light bike helps tremendously!

There is a group going up Bez Pass this weekend, and in the group there are 2 x KTM500's, 1 x Husky701, 1 x Yamaha660Z, 1 x DR650 and 2 x 300 Enduro bikes. They will be fine with these bikes in a group as there are many hands to help.

The pass is rough, but doable in both directions. What the video does not show clearly is the steepness, the drop-off heights and the off-camber parts.

I left Harrismith Saturday morning, it was a beautiful day, already nice and warm but Platberg was still covered in clouds. The wind was pumping though! It was going to be a hot day!
My plan was to head out to the Kaalvoet Vrou Monument just past Kerkenberg, then head down Bezuidenhoudt's Pass. I would then pass through Geluksburg and up Tintwa Pass (Middledale Pass). From there I would head to Van Reenen via Swinburne and Montrose. The plan was to then ride down De Beer's Pass and up Normandien Pass to Memel, but I have done those roads a few times before and I was in the mood for something else. I then decided on dirt roads from Van Reenen to Memel, some of which I have done before and a few new ones. It was already 16:00 when I got to Memel, and I then just slabbed it back to Secunda from Memel going via Vrede and Standerton again. I got to Secunda at 18:20, long after everyone else! We then hit the Rum and the Braai to top off a great 2 days of riding and sharing stories of our unique adventure!

Kerkenberg church in Harrismith
1710836915727.jpeg

The actual Kerkenberg covered in clouds, they would dissappear very soon!
1710836987073.jpeg

Quick stop at the Kaalvoet Vrou, the wind was pumping up here!!!
1710837020338.jpeg

1710837032007.jpeg

1710837046000.jpeg

Then on to Bezuidenhoudt's Pass, the road to the top of the pass gets progressively worse the closer you get to the top. There is one last little uphill before you reach the top, I had a small topple over on this hill as I put my foot down, but the ground was further away that what I anticipated :ROFLMAO: . No harm done, and again ..... light bikes for the WIN!!! I did not take any pics on Bez Pass because I decided to take the whole video in one go.
1710837280301.jpeg

1710837296258.jpeg

Had a nice lunch in Van Reenen and then headed to Memel via Tandjiesberg
1710837337749.jpeg

No more pics I am afraid.....

I do have quite a bit of video footage, and I will try and get a video done of the whole 2 days, but I will wait until the Tankgirls Newletter and Video comes out as Skinny will use my pics and video and I do not want to spoil it.

I will also give a bit of feedback on the Voge300 later (y) (y)

Thanks for the report.
Keeping eyes peeled for the bike report.
It is growing on me.
What was you fuel consumption like on the trip?

Nice video @KnopKop

It's a lekker pass and in the wet becomes another challenge. I'll try find some videos of us going up.

Nice video @KnopKop

It's a lekker pass and in the wet becomes another challenge. I'll try find some videos of us going up.

Yes, in the wet it is a whole different ball game, specially the lower part on the KZN side, that mud can be treacherous!

In January 2016, Jolandi and I tried going up Bezuidenhoudt's Pass in the rain. (We had done Bastervoetslaan Pad in the rain a week or so before). But it was a no-go with the mud on Bez Pass. We were on a XT660Z and a X-Challenge...

1710846937534.png

Here is the link to that ride report if anyone is interested:
https://wilddog.net.za/threads/knop...-the-eastern-cape-beware-lots-of-pics.187478/

Let me get into the details of the Voge300 on this trip.

I have now had the bike for just over 1,500km of which 960km was done in two days (Friday and Saturday). In these two days I have ridden the bike in pretty much every terrain that you will encounter on a Dual Sport Adventure Ride. The terrain that I covered ranged from:

• Extremely good tar (N3, N5)
  • Very good tar roads (R546, R50, R57, R74)
  • Good tar roads with some patches (R714, R712)
  • Twisty Tar Roads (Golden Gate)
  • Bad tar roads (Tintwa Pass)
  • ****** tar roads that does not know if it wants to be tar or gravel (R722 Verkykerskop to Memel)
  • Extremely good gravel highways
  • Looser, rocky dirt roads
  • Badly corrugated dirt roads
  • Bad dirt roads with big holes and missing pieces
  • Dirt tracks wide enough for cars to pass each other slowly
  • Twee Spoor (clean and overgrown)
  • Single Track (clean and overgrown)
  • ****** road like Bezuidenhoudt’s Pass
  • Very strong side winds.

So, as you can see I did pretty much all the possible surfaces in these two days, apart from:
  • Thick Sand
  • Thick and slippery mud
  • Deep, long and sketchy water crossings
  • Snow / Ice
  • I did not ride in any rain, so no wet roads

I spent a total of 15h 41m in the saddle during these two days and I was loaded with 2 x 10L Soft Luggage Saddle Bags, a tent/mattrass/sleeping bag on the rear luggage rack and a small tank bag and here are my thoughts:

I love this little bike, it does everything that I want it to do and I have had zero mechanical issues with it. I could cruise at 100 to 110kph all day long. On good dirt, I could do the same. At this speed the bike runs at about 7,000 to 7,500rpm. Red line is at 10,000rpm, so there is still a bit left in the rev range.

Power is obviously low, and I come off a 1090AdvR, so I notice the lack of power! But slowing things down makes the whole ride different and you need to change your mind about the ride that you are doing. Yes, I did miss sitting at 160kph on the long tar stretches, but I did not miss the 230kg going down Bez Pass, so everything is a compromise. I probably weigh 115kg with all my kit and camelback and the bike was loaded with gear, so this also plays a role in the power numbers. But I can live with it.

Wind protection is good for me (I am 1.78m tall) and because I am only going at 110kph, wind is not such an issue for me. The 20mm bar-raisers and the wider footpegs that I fitted helps with standing, and standing is comfortable. I also had no issue getting on and off the bike like a normal person, and not like I always used to do on all my other bikes, by climbing onto the foot-peg while the bike is on the side stand. The bike is the perfect height for me.

The built-in USB port is great and I could run my phone plugged in all the time while riding. Unlike some other USB Ports, this port actually charges your phone and does not merely keep it at the current level of charge. Would have been nice to have a clock on the dash as well.

The seat is OK, but any seat will chew your *** when you sit on it for 8 hours. Again, I can live with it.

Fuel consumption, well I do not care and I do not record or check it, but I assume it will be about 23 to 25km/L or thereabouts. There is no Fuel Guage, so you need to keep track of the trip meter to know your range. I filled up when I got to between 150 and 180km’s on the Trip Meter. The bike has a 12L tank, so you should be able to get 250km per tank. I will still test this with a small Jerrycan on the back and ride till I run out of fuel.

One place where you cannot get top quality components at this price point is suspension and it is what it is. The rear I find is actually not all that bad, but a little on the soft side and it will bottom out when you get some airtime. The rear is nonadjustable, but you can set the pre-load. I might increase the pre-load a bit when I do another trip, just to see if it makes any difference. The front suspension is where I feel this bike is lacking. I certainly found the limits of the front shocks. It is not that they are too soft or spongy, I actually found them the most difficult on faster speeds on dirt roads when you hit a hole or ditch or something at speed. It feels like there is no give at all and you feel the hits in your hands and all the way up your arms. Also corrugations are even more kak than usual! The forks are also nonadjustable. Not sure what can be done about this.

I found the front brakes to be decent enough for this bike, but found the rear brake very weak and I had to step on it full blast to get any bite out of it. This was not such an issue as I was not going all that fast, but I would like better bite out of the rear brakes. Maybe they just need a bit of adjusting.

Tyres were absolutely fine for a trip like this, no issues at all. I ran 1.5bar in the front and 1.7bar in the rear.

So, the only negatives I can think of is:
  • Front Suspension
  • Rear Brake
  • No Fuel Guage
  • Clock on the Dash

The positives far outnumber these few negatives, and this bike really inspires confidence and I had an absolute blast riding it!

Great report and bike review too 👍🏻