Collective RR - Namibia Tour June 2021 with Specialized Adventures

Day 11, tenth riding day

Palmwag to Aba Huab campsite

Short ride today, some 115 km only.
Fuel is sold next to Palmwag, so on our way out those that had not done so yesterday filled up.

Sand was on the menu today, lots of it - make that LOTS! - as our route would lead through a riverbed.
First some roads, then a regroup, under a tree of course, still quite warm there :p
The river was going to be as dry as a bone, and a chance to see some ellies was on the cards too :thumleft:

Riding to the turnoff we had seen elliedung everywhere, some obviously superfresh stuff even for the most ignorant layman - so even I have been seen to meerkat here & there, to allow me a better view of the bosveld type of surroundings over which an elephant simply must tower above.... but to no avail, we saw nothing.

After the turnoff some lekker open hence fast stuff led us to the, fairly wide too, riverbed.... sand, glorious sand, yayyyy :thumleft: :thumleft:
Look, I'm no sandgod, and part of the reason I decided on my 500 was that I consider myself handier in sand on it rather than on a heavier bike.... but, by this time we'd seen so much of it already that any sand now had become a non-event for me: bring it on, no wait, I liked it now, especially so at speed... Great Stuff it is!
Now the group has some quick chaps in front, and this time & in this terrain I decided to just stick with them.
I did too, here & there even ignoring a dustgap and just diving into the unseen.... and mense, was it fun! ;D

After a quick regroup again we tore off, and somewhere further Rickus (he's quick and handy on his big 950) dove off onto a riverbank into the, fairly open, bush. This was clearly off track so I followed him, curious, the speed suddenly slowish..... and then I found Rickus was scouting for some game. He's a Namibian farmer and well versed with the local scenery, so a good choice to tag on to when doing this kind of riding I reckoned ;)
With half an eye on the gps we did a type of roundabout through the trees and shrubs, and this eventually brought us back to the others in the riverbed, which happened to have stopped again for a regroup.
No, we saw no game but for spoor, there's enough there so we just had bad luck.

Once the others had arrived we continued in the river until our gps led us out, and here we found some buildings including a petrol point - point yeah, 'station' they really can't be called there, the tiny canopy only providing shade for the attendant and the one bike filling up.
It was scorching hot there I remember, and we needed to fill up.... but also knew that a real fancypancy lodge was very close by: Cold Beer!

With a full tank only some 2 kays to the lodge... ... and a real jewel this lodge was!
Tastefully nested against the base of a small rocky ridge, partly built "in" it even, this was a genuine fancy place... which we bikers invaded, dusty outfit & all :eek:
Hardy had lined up a few Rum&Cokes already but I preferred to order a cold beer form the barman... which proved to be a bitofa misnomer however the beer was excellent! ;)

Birdie Nam Nam anyone?
Here you can indulge!
Our lunchpacks included some peanuts&raisins, and once I opened mine the black birds in attendance, glansspreeus glo, became really 'voor op die wa' ..... with just the minimum of persuasion they literally ate out of one's hand: nice!
I know, salt etc, unhealthy and unnatural for them, but there's water enough there, green lawns even!
Kobus et al were downstairs splashing in the pool, allegedly to cool off but my hunch was, and still is, they were there in the hope to attract another type of bird..... :p
Also a largish colourful lizard was in attendance on the floor, brazenly curious rummaging inbetween our upholstyered chairs & couches we were splashed all over, we assumed also looking for some scraps. Andre, I know you and others have some pics of this lil dragon, please post some?

We whiled quite a few hours there, in this almost-alien unexpected luxury with a view of the barren landscape all around - magnificent!
On our way out we viewed some rockpaintings as well as a snake, a rock python - and Andrew could not help himself and draped himself with it ::)
Oh well, it survived him so no harm done.... :D

The camp close by was another communal endeavour (like van Zyls camp is), but at least there was water here, warm showers even! :thumleft:
Hardy has arranged for some cold beers to be sold there too, and just because we could not leave those ladies empty handed we bough a few from them - great!
The crew also magically served a dinner with meat - as per always yeah, but we hadd crossed the veterinary border just after leaving Palmwag in the morning, where - obviously! - all raw meat and biltong etc is disallowed to cross and confiscated!
It may have been me only but I never saw a supermarket or butchery in that riverbed ..... but hey, nobody complained, so excuse me for noticing these little odd details, sorry: that dinner was great! :thumleft: :p

An evening unfolded with a great fire as well as a little hunt to locate a small Owl (name anyone?) in a big tree close by, persistently calling for a mate. If (?) anyone has a photo (it was dark so perhaps not) then post it here please, it apparently is the smallest Owl in Africa.
After this a good night was had.

• IMG_9166.jpg
    IMG_9166.jpg
    111.9 KB
  • IMG_9167.jpg
    IMG_9167.jpg
    118.7 KB
  • IMG_9168.jpg
    IMG_9168.jpg
    76.3 KB
  • IMG_9169.jpg
    IMG_9169.jpg
    110.9 KB
  • IMG_9170.jpg
    IMG_9170.jpg
    91 KB
  • IMG_9171.jpg
    IMG_9171.jpg
    132 KB
  • IMG_9164.jpg
    IMG_9164.jpg
    104.5 KB
.... more pics

• IMG_9182.jpg
    IMG_9182.jpg
    123.2 KB
  • IMG_9181.jpg
    IMG_9181.jpg
    96 KB
  • IMG_9177.jpg
    IMG_9177.jpg
    103.1 KB
  • IMG_9173.jpg
    IMG_9173.jpg
    96.6 KB
  • IMG_9172.jpg
    IMG_9172.jpg
    150.4 KB
Day 12, eleventh riding day

Aba Huab campsite to Brandberg White Lady

We woke up with coffee and a good breakfast, then packed lunch, packed up and left.
As it was Jaco's birthday he had to 'unpack' his bike first (about a roll of toiletpaper wound around it ;D ) before he could leave... shame ouens, he not at all a kak ou by a loooong shot! :p

Today is either the shorter route (178 km) or the long one (235 km) - and, seeing I missed out on the Khowarib Schlucht two days earlier my mind was made up firmly: the full one for me yes please! ;)
The long one was said to be a bit more technical so some others preferred to do the shorter and also easier stint.
And, no matter what route we'd ride, we would see plenty Welwitchias, the 'tweeblaarkannidood' ..... over 1000 years old anyone? :eek:

Just after leaving camp the route led past Burnt Mountain, and this is something else than Brandberg!
The rock seems quite dark compared to the surroundings - see first pic below.

Then on to some eerie rocky landscapes, 'Martian' a somewhat recognizable name - and no, haven't been there yet.
Mountainous too, and somewhere here Divorce Hill was part of the route - what's in a name hmm? :p
Rickus had just left after the two of us had a smokebreak. I then also left but stopped a bit further to catch my breath & a view, and from quite a distance (a photo would not have shown much) I saw him trundling up a narrow path up some hill ahead.
This turned out to be Divorce Hill, a steepish loose rock strewn longish track kind of in the neck of two meeting hills, not overly lastig if one keeps his momentum - but those needing to rest halfway would have their work cut out to get going again, and I heard later that some had done this ;D ::)

On the other side the downwards bit was also not easy as it was more of the same, loose flattish sliding rock throwing the bike around... and suddenly at the bottom there's a sandy riverbed with a shade tree! :thumleft:
Amazing to see also some green bits here, see the pic below!

We waited here for the others to arrive because the routes would split here - which took quite some time!
I hope others have some photos of this bit where some riders either gave their bikes off to be taken up by the support riders, or were helped if not pushed up by them ... shame, hard work in that heat, well done dudes!

After all had arrived and lunch was finished we carried on, in two groups: the carry-on lot and the extra-loop lot.
The loopies had to fill up from Hardy's cruiser because of the extra distance first, but also because Hardy would take the shorter & easier route.... and it was here that Johan was also in it :-[

Johan unfortunately had taken a tumble somewhere - and this in itself was not something new, he had gotten Off & On regularly.
Him getting Off was at various places and for various reasons. I specifically remember seeing him getting up in a large-rock strewn area, really big rocks, some 20 meters (!) off the track in a slight bend, and lord only knows how he got there... what ludicrous speed did he go at it? ::)
But he got up, said he was fine, heaved his 690 from inbetween the bolders and got on with it, with vigor even!
That was Johan, determined to the hilt and a vasbyter of note!
Really, by now everyone knew Johan was the relentless terrier of the group, him going down was for him only a reason to get up and do better if not faster! :thumleft:
His 690 took this treatment reasonably well, and the battlescars were visible yes but it was more cosmetic than serious - the lucky git!

But his luck had ran out this time, he was hurt - and for the first time his spirit was a bit broken, visibly so, not nice :(
That last bit was worrying: the 'get-up-and-go' Johan we all were used to at this point seemed to have gone, replaced by a silent hunched figure on the seat of the cruiser, too quiet... :eek:
But, and this is another feat of this hardy dude, he didn't really complain too much - yes, he was sore, ribs and so on, but if he didn't laugh all was fine for now - really?
Time would tell.... <insert ominous non-smiling smiley here>

But, the show must go on, we're in the middle of nowhere in any case so let's get out!
'Out' was the long way for those fine with some adventurous stuff, so we head off.
Through a vaaaaast plain ringed with mountains in the far distance - this was a crater we were told, and I'm glad I'm not there when it was created: that must have been an event visible from space, violent to the (literal?) core!
Johannes and me stopping at some welwitchias, see photos below... shame, little did we know the real big one's were still to come :p

Then the gps points us off the main road we were on and into the landscape we ride, slowly alternating between sandy and rocky.
This led us to some dunes where we'd dive into a riverbed - bonedry, rockstrewn sandy bits with rocky-only patches, quite a varied terrain where one's speed was limited .... here & there lastig even, but as always interesting and beautiful :thumleft:
This carried on for long, and to be honest I was ready for a change already... but nope, it carried on and on and...

When we took some pics of a really large welwitchia (~15 meter circumference!) Adriaan & Nicolas caught up with us - with the news that Jaco, riding stonelast as always (sweeper), had a puncture on the rear.
He was riding still but at a pedestrian pace obviously, so he'd come slowly.
No kit to fix this amoung them so they were going ahead to try to get radio contact with Hardy so he could come with the tyre fixing kit - and off they rode, made sense.
Johannes and me just looked at each other.... Jaco trundling alone some way back there, here in this dogforsaken hot lone valley where game, and yes, cats too, freely roam?
No way, we will wait for him!
After a while we heard the meek sound of a poerpoering WR450 nearing us, and yay, there's our trusted sweeper ;D
Now this is Jaco: "No, you guys must go, really, I'm fine, Hardy will come so no problem!"
Yea right, scroo you pel, we'll ride along - no, wait, even better, this time I will ride at the back for a change! ::) :p

And so we did!
Jaco at a generous clip of 20 to 23 km/h ;) following the riverbed whilst Johannes & me adventured around, scaling some hills, veering off into interesting-looking parts etc, just to entertain ourselves.
Jaco had entertainment enough by keeping on his bike, he was riding with a floppy after all ::)
I dunno for how long we did what we did, but during a break Jaco said he was out of water, for quite some time already - jisslike, just tell us next time please, we had plenty!
Anyway, then a cruiser comes roaring towards us - Hardly alone, no Johan!

Yes, Hardy arrives with all the goodies to fix that puncture, better still, we change Jaco's rear tyre because it had some crack in it which would pinch a tube in no time!
But, no wait, BUT.... Hardly had no cold beers anywhere, no coolerbox, nada.... :(
In hindsight Hardy, I do have a suggestion for small improvements, like an always-stocked coolerbox on the back that truck of yours...... :p

I fill Jaco's bladder with water whilst the others attend to the puncture, and this goes well.
I suggest I leave now already because I'm the slowest rider, and then Johannes & Jaco can ride on a bit once the bike's fixed.
So I do this, because I suspect the next 40 or so kilometers are all of the same, a bit tricky rocky riverbed in which my speed is somewhat limited....
.... but guess what, after only a little distance I find myself on a vaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaast sandy wide-open plain!
My problem there is I'm not on a 1290 R, my bike's too small :p

I've stopped to take two pics only, way too little for the magnificently long distance of plains, sightly rolling open undulating vlaktes and the area where suddenly some small hills appeared - which turned out to be Aardvark holes, and one can jump these small mounds at speed :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft:
The plain turned into something like the Marienfluss (Martianfluss?) canyon with here and there dotted trees, and the numerous tracks sortof converged here.
My grin on Endless, speed high, plowing the sand, man I was on a roll..... and then suddenly Adriaan jumped from behind a tree into the track with his hand in a speedcop-like 'Stop' sign - fffffuggit pel, I seriously didn't like you at that moment! :p

Him and Nic were behind that tree, in the shade, trying to fix the 990 which had cut out.
It proved to be a swollen and blown battery, so a bummer because we didn't have one.
Perhaps we could jumpstart from Hardy's cruiser once it would arrive?
Hey, hold on a minute, on the cruiser is Werner's 701, with a still-pristine battery in it! :thumleft:
Werner jong, jou bike het wragtig goed van pas gekom :p

Hardy and the other two arrive, and we take the 701's battery.
Hardy then speeds off to pick up Johan a bit further on, by this time accompanied by Johannes who had left for him already.
Injured-earlier Johan had opted to get out and wait, in the middle of lion country I should add (!), to avoid the bone-shaking of the cruiser going back to help us..... I dunno, but that's another tick in the kanniedood attitude of this relentlessly courageous rider!
Whilst Hardy picks up Johan we fit the battery (a purrrrrfect fit!) and set off to re-join the others.

It is late, and it still is quite some distance to the camp.... there's a chance we'll arrive in the dark there!
During a previous trip this is where the cruiser picked up some riders (leaving their bikes there!) because lion were in the area :-[ .... so no place to hang about then!
Us 5 bikes were urged to stay together by Hardy, and so we did.
Quite honestly, for me this was the bestest of best riding I've done during this trip - a little faster than what's my own comfy, but man o man it was great riding! :thumleft:
The very last pic below shows us during our only stop along the way, the camp getting closer but we're not there yet - rolling lands covered in thin silvery grass, with the sun setting.... gorgeous if anything!

We made the camp without incident so all was good, no better even because this was a nice camp indeed.
During our stop I had promised all 5 a beer once we'd arrive, but because 3 were crew only me and Johannes ended up in the bar.
But, this was now the second time I had promised beers, and I bleddie well will get them a beer this time..... so I bought some beers and handed these off to the 3 during their dinner whilst having to say sorry to the others :-[

At the camp Johan was slowly rummaging around, not at all complaining..... jy's n donnerste yster pel, and living proof that respect can be earned :thumleft:
Of course a campfire was enjoyed, and a hot shower also!
Sweet dreams for most I guess, only Johan had to be helped onto his stretcher by Johannes, his ribcage not too willing to cooperate....

• IMG_9184.jpg
    IMG_9184.jpg
    76.5 KB
  • IMG_9185.jpg
    IMG_9185.jpg
    107 KB
  • IMG_9186.jpg
    IMG_9186.jpg
    146.5 KB
  • IMG_9187.jpg
    IMG_9187.jpg
    185.5 KB
  • IMG_9188.jpg
    IMG_9188.jpg
    88.1 KB
  • IMG_9189.jpg
    IMG_9189.jpg
    118.7 KB
  • IMG_9190.jpg
    IMG_9190.jpg
    126.7 KB
.... more pics

• IMG_9192.jpg
    IMG_9192.jpg
    141.4 KB
  • IMG_9197.jpg
    IMG_9197.jpg
    153.9 KB
  • IMG_9196.jpg
    IMG_9196.jpg
    146.9 KB
  • IMG_9195.jpg
    IMG_9195.jpg
    122.4 KB
  • IMG_9193.jpg
    IMG_9193.jpg
    150 KB
  • IMG_9191.jpg
    IMG_9191.jpg
    115.3 KB
  • IMG_9194.jpg
    IMG_9194.jpg
    94.2 KB
.... and even more

• IMG_9203.jpg
    IMG_9203.jpg
    170.5 KB
  • IMG_9204.jpg
    IMG_9204.jpg
    129.8 KB
  • IMG_9202.jpg
    IMG_9202.jpg
    133.7 KB
  • IMG_9201.jpg
    IMG_9201.jpg
    96.1 KB
  • IMG_9200.jpg
    IMG_9200.jpg
    91.1 KB
  • IMG_9199.jpg
    IMG_9199.jpg
    143.2 KB
  • IMG_9198.jpg
    IMG_9198.jpg
    172.8 KB
.... and my last pics.

• IMG_9205.jpg
    IMG_9205.jpg
    110.6 KB
  • IMG_9206.jpg
    IMG_9206.jpg
    107.1 KB
  • IMG_9207.jpg
    IMG_9207.jpg
    95.7 KB
  • IMG_9208.jpg
    IMG_9208.jpg
    82 KB
  • IMG_9209.jpg
    IMG_9209.jpg
    101.6 KB
  • IMG_9210.jpg
    IMG_9210.jpg
    127.2 KB
  • IMG_9211.jpg
    IMG_9211.jpg
    58 KB
Lekker manne. This trip is lifelong memory type stuff  :thumleft:

Sitting next to that 'pub' in Puros, the hectic heat but with ice cold beer, the fresh air mixed with the overwhelming smell of urine, shooting the breeze with fellow riders. With the good and bad combined, that rates as one of my fondest biking memories ever

Day 13, twelfth riding day

From Brandberg White Lady back to Usakos / Windhoek

Johan manages to get up on his feet without any help.... or maybe he's too stubborn to ask? ::)
He seems better than yesterday though, good.
Coffee then!

The last riding day today..... :(
Plus, it's just the normal Namibian dirt highways, bit boring compared to all the fantastic if not challenging riding areas we've been to and have experienced :eek:
Oh well, everything has to come to an end, so on with it!
Still some 170 km's to go :thumleft:

We pack up, have a brekkie and off we are.
Wide and very good quality dirtroads Namibia has, something SA could take as an example 8)
Anyway, it was a shortish uneventful ride, and I discover I didn't take a single photo that day..... makes me wonder now eh? ::)
I did stop here & there though, maybe because I didn't want it to end :-[

Oh, when Usakos was only some what, 15 km's or so I suggested to Werner on Rob's 300 to swap bikes for the remainder.
I was curious to feel the small mountaingoat a little, and also I thought it a good opportunity to let Werner feel the power of a 500 and see if he was up for it or even liked it.... he has a 701 himself after all.
Lo & Behold, summarized I got a stubborn & curt "No way!" from him! :lol8:
Hey Rob, did you actually get your bike back from Werner?
:lol8:
To say that Werner loved that 300 is herewith proven to be an understatement I reckon - I know, I tried to pry him off it, to no avail....
Oh well, so I blast past him - lekker! :p

At Usakos I arrive at the trailers where also some others are.... but immediately head out into town for a coffee!
I find Braham in some coffeeshop where he indulges in a sweet looking icecream - so I order same, with a cappuchino :thumleft:
Hell, a lekker sugar rush, that was a long time ago.... ;)
Anyway, then back to the trailers, and we load up the bikes.

Nic & Adriaan's Lazy Lowder trailer decides to break a hinging bolt there and then, a bummer - but they were able to fix that in a way which should last them to home.
We're off in the minibus which arrives but we're to head first to some Police post in a town further on, to get ourselves a permit to go into Windhoek.
Covid you see, during our absence this area has been locked down, and only permit holders will be let in.
We duly arrive at the Police station and queue up - a queue yes, we're rudely thrown back into civilization, not too nice :(
Anyway, after some to & fro it turns out we don't need anything as we all fall under the minibus driver's permit! :thumleft:
So we're off, and at the Roadblock where we're stopped this turns out to be correct, we are let in without any further ado.

We arrive at Arebbush Lodge again for our last night.
Allocated a bungalow we collect our surplus kit from the room where this was kept, and I (re-)packed my stuff once the Unimog had arrived.
But, those flying out also had to get a Covid-test done!
A nurse arrived around 6 that evening, and we were tortured with a stick up our nose, dogawful...
The collective result arrived at 11 later: all negative..... so my excuse still is, we as a group failed this test so it wasn't only me! :p

Johan was whisked away by his wife, time for a doctor to see what was wrong with the dude!

Anyway, I packed my stuff between 'kitbag going back with Hardy' and my luggage for going home with, and I was ready for dinner.
A good dinner was had at the lodge, never mind that we suddenly were reminded again to wear our masks :(
Some drinks afterwards, and the guys were seen catching up on their wifi-driven screens :p

As said I don't have any pics of this day..... please add yours?

Day 14, going-home day

from Windhoek to home

We all leave Arebbush Lodge in Windhoek in the morning.

Hardy & crew soon leave per their various vehicles as they will have a good distance to go, the first of several days to go until home.
Rickus (the only Namibian remember) collects his bakkie which was in for repairs but zilch had been done (dunno, ask him) .... so he loads his bike and drives home.

Us flyers are collected by the minibus again, also early, and we duly arrive at the largest mainest & meanest airport Namibia has to offer .... which pales in comparison to Lanseria ;)
There we check in first, proudly showing off our negative C19 tests of course, and then we head out for a proper coffee at the only stall for this - outside, a neat caravan with a small wooden deck with tables.
Really excellent coffee though, plus a nice cheerful chap running it :thumleft:

Eventually we board and get safely to Jo'burg, the others to Cape Town.

-----------------------------------------------

Thank you Hardy, Shantal, Hennie, Li-Mari, Jaco, Nicolas, Adriaan and Andrew, for an absolutely a w e s o m e trip!

I admit I expected a lot from it after reading the various RR's with all those photos ..... but got so much more!
An amazing land and even amazingerderder landscapes, vistas I'll not forget, ditto some of the riding.... SUPERB!
Then add your joint care for us, with every single one having stood out at some point, proper meals too, comfortable bedding, zero luggage to schlepp with you on the bike.... marvelous indeed!

But, this all would not have been as enjoyable as it turned out to be due to the fact that all the guys, thrown together by mere pot luck, turned out to be a good jovial, social and pleasant lot - zero prima donnas but just guys together on a tour :thumleft:
Thank you all guys, I had a great trip!

-----------------------------------------------

To those reading here if not drooling - if you ever have had the slightest of longing to also ride where we did..... DO IT!
Time flies, life whizzess past with a moerofa speed, en van uitstel kom net afstel..... go do it, or better still, book this trip!
With htis tour you'll get to experience it with some luxuries as well as backup otherwise at a bare minimum if at all present - read back what we all managed to do?
Some of it simple impossibilities if you're with only a buddy, and then one has problems rather than enjoyment.

I'd do it again in a heartbeat.... no wait, I will do this same trip again, and again with the same Specialized Adventures outfit!
I will find a few likeminded friends and then.....  8) :p

thanks for sharing good pics and reading-top notch bucket list stuff

PalmWag to Aba Huab

For some reason, it felt to me that the trip was winding down. I suppose it was that I and Hardy had driven up together from Windhoek for the 3 days before I got onto the bike and maybe the mind was sort of using that as a calibration for the back end of the trip?

Anyhow, I couldn’t have been more wrong.

The mornings were now pretty much slick and not a lot of effort. Everyone was firmly into the rythim of how getting all packed away and readied for the day,

My honeymoon suite. There was some grumblings about my snoring, but I know for a fact I wasn’t the only one…

Some light banter whilst waiting for breakfast

Freshly squeezed…

A short bit of gravel and then into desolation valley…

It’s not difficult to be lost in thought and still be marvelling at this utterly brilliant riding space…

A regroup before the upcoming festivities…

Which was just many kilometres of this…

Werner did insist on claiming another property in there

The look of a proud owner of another small bit of Namibia

Arty moments

And just more. I don’t know how far in this rivebed we rode, but it sure was fun

Then, rudely, the trail hops out the riverbed and immediately theres a refuel station and a few k’s on against those cliffs there….

An oasis of a cool pool and cold beer…

And wifi

It’s quite a juxtaposition of a place, cool deep shade and hospitality amongst seriously harsh worlds

I met with this chap

There are apparently many of them and this guy wasn’t phased at all. When I let go he wasn’t in any hurry to leave. I guess they’re pretty used to humans. Quite cool.

Hardy has only two main fears in life and 14000elventy7 of them are snakes. I was soooo bummed he’d already left when I’d found this guy, I might have gotten more than even….

And just like that, we were into another round of relax to the setting of the sun in a magnificent camp. I thought it was the best of the lot

Then it really started to get pretty…

And of course…

With ice-cream in the desert nogal!

Some moving pictures of the day

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d57y2RFvjnM

Day 10 Aba Huab to Brandberg

(sadly I don't have many photo's of this day)

Rob had slept in the previous mentioned hotel. For the previous 5 or six nights, he had only been able to sleep sitting up in the Unimog and so the opportunity to be cosseted in a bed and propped up by pillows was too good to be missed, he did show some evidence of his ordeal that was fast turning some lovely shades.

Briefing.

Those who weren’t very comfortable in sand were to take the easier route, whereas those who were up sports were to take the Messum Crater Trail

Ets had very little sprocket left on his bike and it wasn’t going to last the serious sand of the Messum crater trail. Rather than him miss out and take the main road to Brandberg, he was ordered onto the 525. Gentleman that he is, he put up a stern resistance to the idea, but this was the luxury of having a spare bike on the trip. Hardy and I settled into the Cruiser.

We had only just started into what would be a day of enjoyable banter and not 30 minutes into the trip, when we came across Johan who’d shot off a river bank and somehow missed all the boulders. He was fine but seemed to be a little off his game. Not 20 minutes later, he did almost exactly the same, but this time parked his bike in the only tree for about 20 km’s! Again he amazingly escaped injury again.

About 20 minutes after that, his ride ended.

Some days, everything just seems to click, others it’s a snowball. Johan again, crossing an innocuous riverbed, somehow got knocked offline and this time he didn’t get off lightly. Later we’d find out that he’d broken multiple ribs and punctured his diaphragm. Johan is made or pretty tough stuff though as he could still crack a smile as he gingerly got up.

Not anticipating being on a bike this day and with the Werner’s 701 on the back of the cruiser, it was now my turn to try my hand at a 690, but, all my gear was in the Unimog and it had gone around on another route to Brandberg. So there was nothing for it but to pull all Johan’s gear on and hop on. The bike had seemed to come through all this “admin” with just a skew front screen plate trapping the break and speado cables. With a bit of muscle, it was persuaded back to something sort of where it was supposed to be and I was free to go….

Within a k or two, I was nearly bucked off twice? Over hits, it was ricocheting off stuff and my hands were taking a beating? I thought maybe I was imagining things or my rhythm was also off?! I had to stop to see if something wasn’t broken. It turned out that the tires were well over 2 bar, there was no compression wound on on the shock and the forks had both compression and damping clickers wound on hard?

I think Johan’s crashes were a lot to do with this. Johan is the epitome of the vast majority of Adventure riders; an absolute passion for adventuring on a bike but hasn’t done any form of racing, or, for them all the options for fiddling with the things that affect suspension are confusing. It’s not a criticism, it’s a reality and inspiring to me that people just jump on and go and trust the manufacturers. I like the “can do” attitude and sometimes too much fiddling also leads to issues, however, I was sorry I had not tried Johan’s bike earlier and set it up for him. Like many, you don’t know what you don’t know and 99% of the time, it all ends well, everyone none the wiser.

It’s not the first time I’ve jumped on someone bike and thought, “hold on! This can’t be right, surely?” On the first few days from my perch in the cruiser, from the moment we hit the gravel, I could tell some were not having a good time. It’s easy to see those who’s bikes are not behaving but also those who really aren’t comfortable yet. The former leave long squiggly lines, almost like a not quite fully developed tank slapper. The latter don’t read the gravel well and take strange lines.

I had spent time on a few bikes adjusting their suspension based on watching the tracks from the cruiser and speaking to the guys. For example, Andre and Adriaan on the Yamaha 450 and KTM 350 respectively needed the forks dropped through the triple clamps to cure extreme twitchiness.

Werner, once he spent a little time following my lines remarked, “oh, so you don’t need to stay on one side or the other! That middlemanetjie isn’t so bad ;-)”

Anyway, my perch now far more stable, things were stunning again and that 690 does have a great engine…

The trail was pretty much a mix of everything we’d had till then; river beds, steep loose rocky climbs, open jeep tracks

As it wasn’t my bike, I joined the easier route and had a brilliant morning drowning in the huge vistas rolling along with Braham on his 450

We stopped much later in the day at the intersection of our route and where the Crater trail guys would pop out. I had noticed that he seemed a little nervous of the front. In shooting the breeze, I asked if I could take his 450 for a quick squirt. In the softer stuff it did knife a bit and on stopping asked his pressures? He said 1.8 maybe more. I asked to let out a little and to see what he thought of that. I could see that he wasn’t certain of this, but let me do it anyway.

We waited a few more minutes and he headed off. I said I’d stay around for a bit as I could see no one had passed yet.

I wasn’t long before I saw approaching dust clouds. The front runners were in race mode and looked like grinning maniacs when they slip to a stop. As I was just an interested bystander and had no beer to offer, they shot off to complete the stage of their days racing.

I had also heard of the unfolding mess further back with punctures and batteries. I was a bit sorry I’d missed all that drama, but there wasn’t anything I could conceivably do so headed off and before long, also switched to race mode.

There was a crystal/stone shop that I thought I’d stop at. This shop is like many here; a simple table with the wares on offer and a cup and instruction to pay what you think it’s worth leaving the money in the cup. There’s not a soul or even a sign of habitation in sight!

Then, with just 12k’s to go, I was trying to get some handheld video of the track, these are some screen shots of it.

When I came across Braham. That’s him standing next to his bike up a head. Pleasant place to stop to run out of fuel I thought at first.

He was steaming. He had a front puncture. He travelled over 1000k’s with his very hard front tire and then not 40k’s after letting some fool fiddle with his tire pressures, he got a flat. He was way too much a gentleman to say anything but I could see the writing in the word cloud about his head plain as day.

As neither of us had tools and camp was so close, I gave him Johan’s bike and then rode his slowly in. Later it turned out that the rim lock had worn/holed the tube. Firstly, rim locks on an adventure bike are not needed and screw balance up, but also can create issues like this. However, maybe minding my own business sometime is not a bad thing either ;-)

There was much mirth and storytelling from the day. Everyone had had a mission and an adventure.

Kamanya said:
there was no compression wound on on the shock and the forks had both compression and damping clickers wound on hard?

At Epupa Falls I set Johan's bike to "Comfort" (as per the OEM sticker's instruction under the seat) to help him cope better.
'Comfort' is the softest of the 3 options, and I found it was set to 'Normal' (he'd never fiddled with it since he bought it new).
So, all damping-settings were set to 'less'!
I added a few clicks more Rebound damping at the rear though (but still less than the Normal settings) so as to stop the bike kicking up when going over a hump.
Later in the next day, before Heartbreak Hill, Johan told me with a smile the bike was easier to handle now  :thumleft:

However, I also told him that, if he wanted a change, just turn whatever adjuster (he now knew where they were & what they did!) to 'more' or 'less', after all this could (as per demonstrated) be undone in mere seconds.
Maybe he did?

It definitely wasn't an uncooperative pogo stick in Marble Camp, I rode it there after we fixed the fan & coolant problem .....  :dontknow:
Johan, care to comment on this?

Kamanya said:

Thanks for this pic!
This is how I remember langman Andre: towering over the WR making it look like a minibike, whilst he was always fast and at the front  :lol8:

Hardy has only two main fears in life and 14000elventy7 of them are snakes.

:imaposer: :imaposer: :imaposer:  That's funny right there, very Zumaesque  :imaposer:

I know it wasn't just me who had this thought once or twice "it's pretty cool sleeping out here right next to my bike"
24160320e0ea17ab6ead05d2d6c7a4e3.jpg
4aca45d6f946d4b6043e0c0cf8ca0532.jpg
32edf18c7472066a0486f01b58dc1fb3.jpg
d13a2fe624b8f2b69f10c8fddcb9d8c6.jpg

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

Last Day

Brandberg to Windhoek.

There’s a reason it’s called Brandberg; it’s the light that does it. Morning and evening

Johan was going to take the cruiser seat and so wasn’t dressed for riding.

He said he’d slept ok. Either the drugs had been great or he’s a super stoic hard man because he was colouring in nicely…

It was just the normal huge Namibian gravel highways back to where the cars and trailers had been parked at Usakos

Besides the melancholic thoughts rolling over in my head playing back the whole trip, the only notable incident was close to Usakos as I came through a small settlement just before turning onto the tar.

There were 4 or 5 kids standing by the side of the road when one youngster threw a rock at me.  During the trip I’d seen a few make as if they were going to throw something but none did. I slammed on the anchors, whipped the bike about and set off after him. They hadn’t thought this through, it’s wide open ground and I was on an enduro bike. They all took off screaming in all directions, but I zeroed in on the kid I’d seen who was wearing a pink jersey and tracksuit. As I got near, I saw he was a she. She kept trying to run but all I did was surround her so she was just running in circles. She still had a large rock in her hand.

I stopped in front of her, not more than 5 or 10 meters. In her terror, she realised she still had a rock in her hand and quickly put it down, saying over and over again “I’m sorry! I’m sorry! I’m sorry!.”

I held out my hand and told her to come shake my hand. She walked over obviously expecting the worst. I shook her hand gently and said, “Please don’t do that again. It’s not right and someone could get hurt. Are we clear?” she nodded whilst still clearly expecting a klap. I let got her hand and said, “Alls good?” She nodded.

I rode off.

I don’t think she or her friends are going to be throwing stones for a while.

(A note: I did it as a young boy. I hit a truck with a klaylat ball and took out a window. That truck stopped but I was on my bicycle and disappeared in rush of fear into the bush. Kids are going to cause ****. Every time I’ve had a stone thrown at me, I’ve chased them down and once all the way into their house. Another time by Grabouw, I was on my 950 and got an apple thrown at me. I chased that teenager into the forest. He REALLY didn’t expect a big bike to go in there. A good firm talk is normally good enough. I smile at the thought that maybe they might be inspired one day to get a bike of their own as a result of them getting handled well)

This was about 5 k’s from the end

Where everyone reversed the little dance started 12 days ago

Some were leaving from there, but many would go back to Windhoek

Covid’s 3rd wave had hit big time, so we had to spend an hour getting permits to travel

Myself and Rickus spent the next few hours chatting about life, the trip and whatnot whilst watching the Karras regeion slide by

As soon as we’d arrived back in Windhoek, Hardy had arranged for emergency Covid tests for those flying out the next day. The results came back that evening… We’d all failed with flying colours and so were free to fly the next day.

There’s not much to say about the return home other than it was quite shocking to step onto a plane barely removed from a desert trip of a lifetime and then step off the plane into a green cold Cape Winter rain storm.

I met some new friends and had fun again with some old. It would do you well if you read this to make an effort to join Hardy and his merry band of adventure makers, you won’t be sad you did.

Thanks to [member=15711]hardy[/member] and his team for including me in this great adventure! It sure was a highlight and a privilege.

Thanks to the contributors for this no doubt extraordinary report, which is clearly way more than just a report of a ride through Namibia :thumleft: It is surely a trip which I aspire to undertake sometime - I just need to get a more suitable bike, for starters  ;) 

Sheepman said:
Thanks to the contributors for this no doubt extraordinary report, which is clearly way more than just a report of a ride through Namibia :thumleft: It is surely a trip which I aspire to undertake sometime - I just need to get a more suitable bike, for starters  ;)

Any one of those 2 bikes in your avatar is PUURRFECT!