Collective RR - Namibia Tour June 2021 with Specialized Adventures

Got to the watering hole at the falls and Jacques ( George) with a rubber arm came to tell me I’ve lost my riding partner 😳
But thankfully I could hear the moans and groaning from above the sound of the falls so knew he would live . He got a habit of letting the world know he got something sore!!!
I take my hat off to Henni, vok 5 days of ohhh and aaaaghs must have sounded like a brothel, 😂 but knowing him so well, better it happened where it did and not where unimog wasn’t present.
We drove for 36 hrs home and I swear he told Andrew and me every hour how good Henni driving is . Henni you a hero !
Not all of us were pilots so that yellow thing on the handle bars was just a hindrance, and getting completely lost Johan and I took a bit more of a adrenaline rush finding camp , especially after a old lion kill blocked the road .
And again looking for the crater Kobus chased me down and pointed me towards a different star 😂
Even found a bit of shade and found proof that Bart was there 🙏 stompies in braai.

• A7D380E4-68CF-4343-B0F6-FA5F847FD1B7.jpeg
    A7D380E4-68CF-4343-B0F6-FA5F847FD1B7.jpeg
    35.4 KB
  • DA9C5D87-D81E-4A43-92B3-D425DB7FA740.jpeg
    DA9C5D87-D81E-4A43-92B3-D425DB7FA740.jpeg
    39.3 KB
  • 04C84004-2F48-4A2C-9C21-5D4929B0443E.jpeg
    04C84004-2F48-4A2C-9C21-5D4929B0443E.jpeg
    37.9 KB
Hardy de Kock said:
My take on the different bikes used on this trip after some general comments

Honda XR650L - My opinion will sound bias, so let's leave it there.

Oh go on! For goodness sake, you can't leave that hanging there! Biased or not, fire away! :biggrin:

Hardy de Kock said:
- WR450 - I think these bikes surprised everyone - In the dunes, riverbeds, and in the mountains they did exactly what was expected of them. I believe that that is the difference between the 500 and the WR. You just know the Yamie will not have issues. Kamanya rode Jaco's WR in the riverbed at Van Zyl's Camp and called it a missile when he stopped. I highly rate the WR's with a 14-47 sprocket set up

Jaco's one was geared wrong. It was very difficult to ride slow technical. In the open stuff it came into its own.

Kamanya said:
Hardy de Kock said:
- WR450 - I think these bikes surprised everyone - In the dunes, riverbeds, and in the mountains they did exactly what was expected of them. I believe that that is the difference between the 500 and the WR. You just know the Yamie will not have issues. Kamanya rode Jaco's WR in the riverbed at Van Zyl's Camp and called it a missile when he stopped. I highly rate the WR's with a 14-47 sprocket set up

Jaco's one was geared wrong. It was very difficult to ride slow technical. In the open stuff it came into its own.

Rider maybe?? :pot:

Hardy de Kock said:
Kamanya said:
Hardy de Kock said:

Nope, Jaco fell off on both attempts at Heartbreak Hill. He's an excellent rider. Current 1st gear on that bike at idle is about 15kph.

Kamanya said:
Hardy de Kock said:
Kamanya said:
Hardy de Kock said:

Not bad for someone who broke his foot 4 weeks ago

Nope, Jaco fell off on both attempts at Heartbreak Hill. He's an excellent rider. Current 1st gear on that bike at idle is about 15kph.

Kamanya said:
Hardy de Kock said:
Kamanya said:
Hardy de Kock said:

You would fall off to if 18 other ugly fuckers watched you intensely waiting for you to come off...I think ETS mentioned that he was converted then and now fully believes in the power of prayer after Jaco came unstuck the 2nd time  :imaposer:

Kamanya said:
Hardy de Kock said:
My take on the different bikes used on this trip after some general comments

Honda XR650L - My opinion will sound bias, so let's leave it there.

Oh go on! For goodness sake, you can't leave that hanging there! Biased or not, fire away! :biggrin:

I rode one of the XR650Ls on this trip. Throughout the trip we did plenty of bike swapping, I thus had the opportunity to ride for short stretches with the 701, KTM 500 (2 different ones) and a WR450.  When I do a trip like this again I would choose the XR650 a hundred times over. It is super comfortable (my backside and kidneys thanks me), it got over all the obstacles with ease.  Even through the thickest riverbeds I sat down comfortably cruising at 70-90kmph where others had to stand up the entire 20km+ stretches.  I'm very short so my feet can't touch the ground when sitting on the bike. Where this is usually a big no-no, it worked out perfectly for me as I had no choice but to stay on the pegs over technical terrain.

The bike also gave zero mechanical problems despite being very unloved by previous owners (I bought it shortly before the trip) and zero punctures.  And if something were to go wrong mechanically chances are we would have been able to fix it with wire and duct tape.

hartebees said:
Rickus taking the 701’s clutch apart. It was fried like nothing I’ve seen before. One of the plates had completely disintegrated.

The pic below refers, note the cardboard with all the screws from the sidecover: exactly there where they have to go back in!  :thumleft:
That's better than "proper" for those who dunno this, for there are various lengths bolts used.
First time I met Rickus so I didn't know the man.... but leave him be, someone like this may even work on my bike  :lol8:

Hardy de Kock said:
- KTM 500 - Their owners love them, and if you consider the power they produce, you have to expect the one or two mechanical trade offs they have. You could not get Twister, Bart or ETS of those 500's even if Samantha Fox was tanning nude at the lodge in Puros.

Hardy jong, eerste keer dat ek jou, Twister asook ETS ontmoet - en ja, dit was aangenaam en gaaf ens, maar lyk vir my jy het dalk effens n verkeerde indruk van my gekry.
Ek wil nie voorpraat vir Pieter en Kobus nie, maar ek dink jy praat snot  :lol8:
Maar, toegegee, dis n vrek lekker bike!  :thumleft:

hartebees said:
The 300L made the trip with no problems. From not wanting to ride it all at Epupa, Werner turned around and at the end he admitted that he was very glad he could ride it for the rest of the trip. I rode it down the step at Van Zyls and I'm quite sure it was the easiest bike to ride in that technical terrain. It also has more than enough grunt to get on top of the sand. Man, that bike impressed me.

I think it impressed all of us!
Mostly Werner though I think, as the days went on his grin became wider & wider  :p
From problem-solver to rider to fan eh? Well done maat, en ek hoop jou 701 kom weer soos nuut!  :thumleft:
But, the 300's owner Rob, say what you want about our pommiechommie, impressed more than the bike - for he handed it to Werner without ever even blinking!
I still owe you a few beers my man, which we'll do when next we meet!  :thumright:

• Rickus.jpg
    Rickus.jpg
    36.8 KB
BuRP said:
hartebees said:
Rickus taking the 701’s clutch apart. It was fried like nothing I’ve seen before. One of the plates had completely disintegrated.

The pic below refers, note the cardboard with all the screws from the sidecover: exactly there where they have to go back in!  :thumleft:
That's better than "proper" for those who dunno this, for there are various lengths bolts used.
First time I met Rickus so I didn't know the man.... but leave him be, someone like this may even work on my bike  :lol8:

Hardy de Kock said:
- KTM 500 - Their owners love them, and if you consider the power they produce, you have to expect the one or two mechanical trade offs they have. You could not get Twister, Bart or ETS of those 500's even if Samantha Fox was tanning nude at the lodge in Puros.

Hardy jong, eerste keer dat ek jou, Twister asook ETS ontmoet - en ja, dit was aangenaam en gaaf ens, maar lyk vir my jy het dalk effens n verkeerde indruk van my gekry.
Ek wil nie voorpraat vir Pieter en Kobus nie, maar ek dink jy praat snot  :lol8:
Maar, toegegee, dis n vrek lekker bike!  :thumleft:

hartebees said:
The 300L made the trip with no problems. From not wanting to ride it all at Epupa, Werner turned around and at the end he admitted that he was very glad he could ride it for the rest of the trip. I rode it down the step at Van Zyls and I'm quite sure it was the easiest bike to ride in that technical terrain. It also has more than enough grunt to get on top of the sand. Man, that bike impressed me.

I think it impressed all of us!
Mostly Werner though I think, as the days went on his grin became wider & wider  :p
From problem-solver to rider to fan eh? Well done maat, en ek hoop jou 701 kom weer soos nuut!  :thumleft:
But, the 300's owner Rob, say what you want about our pommiechommie, impressed more than the bike - for he handed it to Werner without ever even blinking!
I still owe you a few beers my man, which we'll do when next we meet!  :thumright:

Jy meen vir Samantha sal jy dalk afklim en opklim?

Rickus said:
Kamanya said:
Hardy de Kock said:
Kamanya said:
Hardy de Kock said:

You would fall off to if 18 other ugly fuckers watched you intensely waiting for you to come off...I think ETS mentioned that he was converted then and now fully believes in the power of prayer after Jaco came unstuck the 2nd time  :imaposer:

Haha! The gearing was a bit taller than standard and it caught me out on Heartbreak Hill. I'm used to riding a KTM 350 for enduro and with that you can go up anything in 2nd. So at the bottom of Heartbreak Hill I clicked into second. This was the first real uphill I had to do on the bike. As I slowed down towards the top to pick a line the bike stalled while still moving forward and it caught me by complete surprise.

I went back down to try again as I had to redeem myself.

I made the same mistake however and was in second gear again, and just near the last lip my rear got kicked sideways. Needless to say I was quite embarrassed at that point - I cocked up twice on a hill that really should pose no problem for a dirt bike. Only later I realised that with that gearing 1st gear is the gear for technical climbs.

For your enjoyment:

[youtube]https://youtu.be/vOxTuRU1xAk[/youtube]

The road to Epupa.

The morning was a relaxed open road affair, but once after the Dorsland Trekker memorial

The trail followed the old paths next to the river rather than the brand new road that was built. They’re a lot of fun and very scenic.

Not long down these paths, Hardy and I crossed a really big river bed with seriously deep sand. People up ahead were frantically motioning for us to get to them, whilst behind us, there were some who were seriously struggling in the very deep sand.

When we got to Rob, it didn’t look good. He’d been barrelling along and in the dust, hit a root, shot slightly off track and plunged over the bank. He was white as a sheet and struggling to breathe. A quick once over and we were reasonably sure he’d not broken his collarbone, but it was also pretty reasonable to assume he’d not be sneezing or laughing for a while to come. His ribs on his left side were complaining bitterly.

Werner on his new 701 not 50 meters from us cooked his clutch properly. It seems that all was not well with the bike before he even started on the trip and that deep sand put an end to anything further to do with the clutch.

The drama wasn’t complete though, in trying to help up Rob into the Cruiser, Rob accidentally stood on Hardy’s newly repaired foot with all its fancy titanium bits in it. The nett result was Hardy’s titanium bits had been given a good rearaingment and put paid to any hopes that Hardy would have for riding on this trip.

We loaded Hardy’s 525 off, then Werners bike into the cruiser with Werner then taking Robs 300 to Epupa.

I had no riding gear on the bakkie and could only squeeze my head into Robs helmet for the ride.

I paid for not having all the gear… a stone nearly took my left toenail off. That was flipping sore and irritating.

Rob meanwhile had a most unpleasant trip to Epupa and once there was given some really strong drugs to know him out

Once everyone was accounted for, some of us set to work with maintenance. I replaced the steering head bearings and cleaned a leaky fork seal on the 525. Hardy had a kit with him. I suspect that they were on their way out anyway but the 4 days on the back of the cruiser tied down in one spot did the rest.

Here’s an extremely rare shot of ETS getting his hands dirty.

Supper came soon enough and was the normal feast of an affair

War stories of the day… and swelling foot.

From Epupa to Van Zyls camp is 145km. The first 70 takes an hour…. The next 70 take 7 hours. It is the true start to the trip.

It was decided to casevac Rob out, but at the last minute he insisted he stay and chose to ride in the Unimog. He would regularly come to both regret and enjoy that decision of the next few days.

Last minute checks

My steed for the day. I too have one of these. I think they are fabulous bikes.

Ignoble end to the 701

Much anticipation!...

The Constantia end of the camp with river frontage

Happy to be on the bike

A prank. Someone had put garlic butter in my helmet.

Hardy: Be careful and have fun
Group thinking: Sounds like I’m going to die today

First of 5…

Lunch

#4 I think

The road to van Zyls is arguably harder than the actual pass. In summer it’s a blistering affair. Even still, I had had long chats to all about the importance of hydration; excluding coffee, cool drinks and beer, one has to be consuming at least 5 litres of water a day. In my opinion, it is a critical safety feature of riding in the desert. Many admitted that at home, 1 litre was probably more than what they had a day and were a bit incredulous that I was suggesting 5. After a few days though, many were commenting on just how much they were taking on.

Heartbreak hill

Videos of the day and hill

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XVi07ofZ-4k

Reward for the day

Then once at camp, Andre’s WR had a serious problem. His wheel had been misaligned and the chain had eaten the aluminium sprocket. There were no spare sprockets available. It was a trip ending problem for the big man.

Then Werners 701’s sprocket started to get eyed. Hmmmm…

It had the requisite 6 bolt pattern but would it fit?

The bolts did fit perfectly, but the internal diameter for the sprocket carrier didn’t. The sprocket was too small for the carrier. The next bit was a bit of fun. There were at least 4 engineers used in consultation to solve the puzzle. Andre has zero mechanical ability so could only stand back and hope like hell we knew what we were doing.

After a bit of debate about options, Bart, Adriaan and myself got hacking into the sprocket with a grinder. The result was better than factory!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m-rMVwg_ZE4

A good day all things considered.

Day 6, fifth riding day

Epupa Falls to van Zyl's camp

In the morning Rob proved to be feeling better (here's to celebrate a drug overdose! :p ), to such an extent even that he'd rather not be repatriated home but rather be carted around in the Unimog for the rest of the trip! :thumleft:
Wether Hennie was glad with that I dunno, but it was so done - and, this saved us all some inconvenience too.

Werner had decided to give Rob's 300 a try and would ride it - bakgattios! :thumleft:
And yes, for the entire remainder of the trip he could not be pried off the thing anymore.... I know, I actually tried on the very last day :p
In hindsight - always the clearest! - this was somewhat logical because the day ahead, although very short in distance, included the more-technical stuff, rocks mainly, we had not encountered yet. Had Werner done this day on his 701 he'd still know about it I reckon, and the lighter & nimbler 300 made it a lot easier for him. When I asked him at the end of the day he said something alike also, makes sense.

Right, so us lot had a plan: ride to van Zyl's camp over the road first, some 70km's, then a rocky track with Heartbreak Hill to the camp, another 70km's odd.
According to Hardy's briefing (or was that a warning?) the first 70 kays would take 1 hour, and the next 70 kays would take us 7 hours!
Really?
Well, at the time I seemed to remember some pics with large reddish rocks strewn on an allegedly steep hill from Noneking's RR, so this had to be it then, some Roof of Africa stuff in the mix!
I'll see and cross that bridge when I would get there was my take, but some worried faces were seen amoung the group.
Van Zyl's Camp was a community endeavor Hardy told us, and 'hopefully' there will be water!
Well, that was a new one for us, thus far we'd have had just about everything everywhere during our stopover places - we would see!

Off we went via the road, easy enough of course.
It veered off away from the Cunene river and we would not see it again, a pity as the vistas from above were gorgeous.
Then the road became a bit more like a Jeep-track, with here and there some rocky stuff so, lekker riding. At some stage there was a rocky uphill so I trundled up it - but let me explain.
I'm no riding god and prefer to sit, I only get up when I really need to. On rocky stuff this means I gooi n anker uit here and there, some call these paddapote... and with some use of the latter I just got up that hill.
Halfway up though I saw the complete collective of my riding buddies assembled at the top staring down at me, silently holding their breaths.... really? :eek:
Turns out that incline is 'the' Heartbreak Hill, to be honest completely different than what I had expected, and downright manageable (again, for someone not trying to 'style' it up!) - nothing like what I seemed to remember, which looked like proper Roof stuff!

The others followed, and kudos to Jaco who styled it up, fell over, went down to try again but did a repeat - a pity boet, we all know you can!
Hardy in the cruiser followed - also styling it by letting that V8 idle the car up whilst he himself hung out sideways of the door! :p
Sorry Jaco, got a few pics of you but not of Hardy 'letting it all hang out' ;)
If someone has this please post them?

On to van Zyl's camp then, so we did.
Some sand also in the mix, and at the campsite we played a bit in the sand river the camp was located at/on/in.
No water anywhere, I've been seen trying a lot of taps - but all were bonedry! :(
So, no shower tonight, and for those needing the throne a boskak was on the cards - fine enough, and space aplenty :thumleft:

The Team arrived a bit later as expected, because the vehicles took another, and longer, route to this camp for obvious reasons.
Except for the normal routine (stretcher, mattress, kitbag, change and chairs) some rather innovative spannering unfolded also.

It was early still, and Andre's WR450 had an aluminium rear sprocket which by now was so badly worn that a few spikes (the remnants of the original teeth) had broken off already!
Sand is no sprocket's friend, but an aluminium one is chewed superfast (and NOT an option for this trip, let this be said!).
Andre's bike had to get another sprocket on or his riding was over, simple as that!
We did not have a spare though, so this complicates matters a little.... where's the nearest shop, and can they airdrop it today? :eek:
But... thanks Werner, his 701 on the cruiser had a fine sprocket on so we tried that :thumleft:

This sprocket proved almost perfect, even the boltholes were a perfect fit - but for the ID, which was a bit too small.
The Yammie's hub has a small proud ridge around which the sprocket fits, and this ridge was not to be damaged by simply 'clamping' the sprocket on. We also did not have some material to 'fill' the offset so we had to adapt - increase! - the sprocket's inner diameter hole.
Easier said then done, but with a decent file I can do a lot.
So I asked for files: Sorry, we don't have files :(
But, we have a battery-operated grinder, with some spare batteries and various discs including a flapper-disk! :thumleft:
Amazing what comes out of those vehicles eh?
So the old and the new sprocket were bolted together and next this lot was wedged in a tree's V where it locked properly, and so the inner hole was matched to the proper, larger diameter.
This worked above expectation well, and we got the inner hole absolutely perfect to size, we actually tapped the sprocket onto the hub! :thumleft: :thumleft:
Thus Andre ended up with a 'new' bike so he could carry on ripping as per his usual, great! :p

In these somewhat primitive surroundings a super dinner was dished up, with a fresh salad even ..... try to do that when you're on your own?
Bullybeef may come first, and yeah,  that's edible too ;)
A large fire - wood aplenty there - kept us glued around it until we hit our sacks.

• IMG_9013.jpg
    IMG_9013.jpg
    187.6 KB
  • IMG_9016.jpg
    IMG_9016.jpg
    80.3 KB
  • IMG_9015.jpg
    IMG_9015.jpg
    161.7 KB
  • IMG_9014.jpg
    IMG_9014.jpg
    171.2 KB
  • IMG_9010.jpg
    IMG_9010.jpg
    186.2 KB
  • IMG_9009.jpg
    IMG_9009.jpg
    198.2 KB
  • IMG_9006.jpg
    IMG_9006.jpg
    207.2 KB
  • IMG_9005.jpg
    IMG_9005.jpg
    146 KB
  • IMG_9004.jpg
    IMG_9004.jpg
    152.1 KB
  • IMG_9002.jpg
    IMG_9002.jpg
    173.6 KB
... more pics.

I checked Kobus' sprocket and this poor thing had also seen much better days - and keep in mind a lot is coming still!

• IMG_0949.jpg
    IMG_0949.jpg
    112.1 KB
  • IMG_0950.jpg
    IMG_0950.jpg
    127.3 KB
  • IMG_0951.jpg
    IMG_0951.jpg
    162.9 KB
  • IMG_0953.jpg
    IMG_0953.jpg
    101.8 KB
  • Kobussesprocket.jpg
    Kobussesprocket.jpg
    90 KB
Kamanya said:
Reward for the day

Thanks for reminding me Andrew, and yes, here I slipped up  :-[

From Heartbreak Hill onwards Hardy told us there's a little settlement with a dog that will jaag and bite you, and this dog belongs to a woman. The good news was that the woman sells beer, cold even, so all dead easy to find right?
My reflex was to offer a select few a cold beer and shot off!
Yes, there was some sort of settlement coming up but I didn't see any dog, neither a woman selling beer nor an outlet perhaps doing so.... so I asked a man next to the road where 'BEER' is, gesticulating 'drinking' whilst asking him.
He waved me on, pointed 'further', so I rode on.
'On' though was out of the settlement into the wilderness, and I carried on in the hope to locate a cold one!

Later I heard there IS some building in which the prized cold ones hide, and the pic above shows that.
Sorry chaps, I missed out on a well-needed cold beer (it is really warm there!) and you missed out on my promised treat  :(
To be corrected when we meet again!  :thumleft:

My absolute best moment of the trip- Top of Van Zyls

• VAN ZYLSPAS.PNG
    VAN ZYLSPAS.PNG
    1 MB