Darlington dam ride....

Zeff Cowboy

Living the American Dream
So Friday night GS-Holic asks me to go and ride with him the Saturday morning.

I checked the weather forecast and it looked bad. I tried to make some excuses but after a while i gave in. I don't want to be called a "nice weather biker" so i got my rain gear ready.

The Saturday morning i wake up at 07:00 and find the whole PE heavily overcast. Put my rain gear on met GS-Holic at a petrol station.

We started riding and it started raining. We rode along the R75 and took the Jansenville turnoff.. Although there were some rain on the route it was a really nice ride.

We turned off onto gravel and thats where the adventure started. We rode to the dam and i'm really sorry that i did not take any pictures of the dam wall.

The reason was that we were just a little bit lost..

We rode for a long time following the Lake Side Lodge signs.

We made it to the lake side lodge only to be told its closed.

At the Lake Side Lodge.
29092007398Medium.jpg

We asked the woman at the lodge where we could find petrol because both our bikes we quickly running past half tank. She told us roughly where to go, but i didn't trust her directions very much.

We rode off to find Jansenville for petrol.

Some pics of the karroo.. Beautiful.. My cellphone camera don't do justice.
29092007399Medium.jpg

29092007400Medium.jpg

29092007401Medium.jpg

29092007402Medium.jpg

We came up to these gates and i thought jislaaik now we are going to run out of petrol. To our amazement the gate wasn't locked and we went through.
29092007403Medium.jpg

Some more pics of the beautiful Karroo area... we were right next to the Addo Elephant park.
29092007404Medium.jpg

29092007405Medium.jpg

29092007406Medium.jpg

29092007407Medium.jpg

We finally arrived in Jansenville and got the petrol we needed to feel comfortable again.
29092007408Medium.jpg

On or way back to PE we stopped at a road side restaurant for some lunch, biltong, droe wors... nice stuff.

This is what i like about biking. A biker pulled up with a brand new Triumph 1050 Speedtriple. He looked tired from the Dolphin rally in Graaf Reinett and i hinted at him to come and have a beer with us. He came over and we talked for quite a while just about biking... i just love biking...

He pulled of again by revving the bike on the limiter and doing a nice wheely in the road.
29092007409Medium.jpg

29092007410Medium.jpg

Got back to PE at about 15:00 and was very tired.

My tripmeter for the day: 456km

Went over to my friends place and had a braai.

A bonus picture. The PE lights at night.
29092007411Medium.jpg

Really cool stuff Captain,just makes me jelous because i was planning a ride today,but it is pissing down(and i"m hungover)

One or two more

• DSC00778.JPG
    DSC00778.JPG
    152.2 KB
  • DSC00780.JPG
    DSC00780.JPG
    151.5 KB
  • DSC00781.JPG
    DSC00781.JPG
    148.5 KB
  • DSC00782.JPG
    DSC00782.JPG
    149.8 KB
On the way back and later the day at the Scribante Raceway

• DSC00783.JPG
    DSC00783.JPG
    151.2 KB
  • DSC00784.JPG
    DSC00784.JPG
    147.2 KB
who's the short fat bloke in the yellow brooks???

nice report capt....

Nice! :thumleft: Man, I would love to ride in wide open spaces like that... stopping in the middle of nowhere... and just enjoy the solitude. Way cool. 8)