Dodging kangaroos, borders and Sheila’s

I decided the day still had legs and if I could get to Windorah (420km away) before 17:00 I could still get fuel there according to google. I leave Birsdville at 13:20

One of our mechanics was just ahead of me with his Land Cruiser and was sticking Blenners stickers on all the signs in the desert.. I enjoyed the laugh.
294e5657ff21ed29c338eecd29ad96da.jpg

The road is being rserviced and in the middle there is even a toilet setup in the middle of the desert.
ff5278ffc59cf5823d20266168a3b517.jpg

4a0ac798fd6d624dfabb0552721a684f.jpg

ec6a7e9be184ee25be68c93e52363a5c.jpg

I must say for the first time during this trip I was wacking the little T7. I was enjoying the bike. Keeping the chain nice and lubed and the fuel consumption around the worst of the trip ;).
The little Tenere was enjoying the slides out of corners and braking late to carry momentum. I was like a horse wmelling home. I wanted to get to Brisbane. Bike ry was nou nie meer so lekker soos gister in dir woestyn nie.

16:54  I roll into Windorah servo... they have closed early. I have to stay here and I can only get fuel at 07:30 in the morning. All good.
91220abb8f7f52937e930ebb7d273d9b.jpg

efe9a11ba6702fc97be3215cf5bf4957.jpg

I pitch my 5 star tent and have a shower!!! The first in two days.

The owner of the Motel looks just like the guy from The Block on TV. As I think it an add for the Block plays on TV and a snap this shot!!!
1d0318d14a344575a36cadc5da951e23.jpg

Have  mentioned I love Outback Queenland hotels?
020bcd042c4dfc38b3bafe89ee5dda83.jpg

The acronym on the fridge has my attention.

Do you know what it means?

Awesome report BTW!!!!!

Thanks.

BullSmit said:
The acronym on the fridge has my attention.

Do you know what it means?

Awesome report BTW!!!!!

Thanks.

No idea :) The Aussies have some interesting slang acronyms.

Bliksem John, dis 'n great lees! Dankie vir jou moeite.  :thumleft:

Jammer dat jou Aussie-planne nie uitgewerk het nie, maar ek is bly vir SA se part dat jy terug is.  :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft:

Brakenjan said:
Bliksem John, dis 'n great lees! Dankie vir jou moeite.  :thumleft:

Jammer dat jou Aussie-planne nie uitgewerk het nie, maar ek is bly vir SA se part dat jy terug is.  :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft:
Dankie Dawid, my vrou se planne:)

Sien daar het familie bietjie teespoed in die Simpson gehad

Gesin ná dae in woestyn gered
https://maroelamedia.co.za/nuus/wereld/gesin-na-dae-in-woestyn-gered/

tau said:
Dankie Dawid, my vrou se planne:)

Sien daar het familie bietjie teespoed in die Simpson gehad

Gesin ná dae in woestyn gered
https://maroelamedia.co.za/nuus/wereld/gesin-na-dae-in-woestyn-gered/

Dit lyk en klink soos wille wereld daai! Sal graag nog eendag daar 'n draai wil maak.  :thumleft:

Clockwork Orange said:
Bliksem, I enjoyed that RR. Thanks for the effort :thumleft: :thumleft:

Ja wragtag...hierdie een is een van daai wat mens kan voel, leef en droom van

I had a horrible nights sleep in Windorah. I pitched my tent close to a Karen, with a mouth full of F bombs.

So I snore, no I roar. It is something I do not deny and I usually warn people or I sleep further away from people.
This lady started swearing in the middle of the night at every sound in the parking area. She would then start her Mitsubishi Husky van and rev it for 10 second, turn around and continue to drop F bombs as se went back to her caravan. I felt bad at first, but then realised she was swearing at the bloke a couple of sites down the road snoring and not me. At 4 she stood next to my tent swearing again. Now she was camping about 10 meters from me in a caravan, I think she had some kopluis. I woke up like a South African thinking he is in a farm attack. My Afrikaans swear words flew at her with linguistic precision. I felt bad, I didn't want to disturb her, but she was a real mean old lady, I think she scares crows at the local vegetable patch for a living.

I got to the servo at 07:00 and left dodge.

1e70f46e8b54735312688d25937b669e.jpg

Almost got killed by a Volstruis light again for the 20th time on the trip.
79b9a91dbec8a7de7af7fddc3f29a828.jpg

Passed thru this little gem of a town after 600km on the road for the day.
99fdc3c46e180af5da855b31ce7c38ae.jpg

I rolled into Cinchilla as it got dark another big day 924km. Remember this is at 100-110km/h so it takes a while to cover distance.

I I booked into the local show grounds, I was too lazy to pitch my tent and ended up sleeping on the floor of the wyntuin. I phoned Hingsding and we had a long chat, felt like a Bolandse showground. I might have spurged on some cans of rum.

76f9837c6e1e3559ffdea11b81bc6738.jpg

7a28fef3aa0d1cb146bd861fca5cd188.jpg

c4362b6065451823a8d84dd277e8a634.jpg

I got going early and made my way back "home" to BrisVages.

I arrived in the Golc Coast at lunch time.
10 000km later. With very little issue's, well none if that the bike caused, and my underwear in the chain was my only issue the entire trip.
One Dunlop D606
One Mitas E-09
2 x Pirellie MT21 fronts
0 punctures
0 crashes
no near accidents.
af7e7227326de03171d26af5ce1d61c1.jpg

b702337cbba1d749c85b189ed0e18d53.jpg

0443b10f9ea6e1a69daf11953482fa07.jpg

The little Tenere now had 13982km on and I could not fault the bike at all.
f27a73ed105a70cb1d5724c8fb27562f.jpg

adc9aff7a0408902214f8ae0a8c51185.jpg

ab8ecc90973fb6918db0697098ce0bb3.jpg

I unpacked and started washing gear and my bike. She looked brand new in no time. I wanted to get everything sold so that I could get back to South Africa and my family.
2bfe673d7b7053c09bb4296276557547.jpg

Whilst at the carwash I heard a commotion across the road. It was the opening of a new KTM dealer. I found this bike there, tried to get them to allow me to test it, but some oke called Toby wants to ride it to Dakar apparently.

The next two days I wash, polish and clean my Car and bike and all my gear. I go thru all my luggage and stuff. I give away what I cannot sell and I sell what I can.

I advertise and sell my Volvo XC60 in minutes!!!! The T7 was on Gumtree for 30 minutes!!!! Both for a profit after 10 000km on both!!! How lucky can I be.

At this stage my frustration of leaving Australia is getting better, yes the fact that I have not seen my kids for 6 weeks is not great and I am even missing my wife. I go to watch the test between the Springboks and Australia....it was embarrassing. It was so bad the Aussies stopped chirping me after the second half.
7ed1ee1f788e72adb4304e82aaec5008.jpg

f4b636a16419eae00d246f8df16b032f.jpg

6d776c889342302cf9253b89f38576fd.jpg

9d7c9730e4f31b8e790788507acc1c38.jpg

I go to Springbok foods and treat my friends to some boerewors and proper Rum, not the ***** the make in Australia.
cffb6854c8e184c21d6adae464004fd3.jpg

I also get steak and proceed to trigger the firealarm in their house as I flame grill the steak.
114f41c5859ab8626df82bd2d356d202.jpg

4a6e0dff6486370131736fa200080c51.jpg

472c56d56b995dc0be3ac82446639ce3.jpg

ac83ac53ce29db7fb4648f5b57e5a80e.jpg

Brisbane is an amazing City. Well it is more of a big town than a city in most respects. I get on the train and explore the areas I haven't been and those I enjoyed from previous travels. It is such a clean, safe, well laid out place. I am really going to miss it. Also the Aussies and their way of doing things has now after 11 months become "normal " to me. I walk into a cafe and ask for a long black no sugar and not a Americana. A small beer is a pot, a Medium is a scooner .

The T7 was on Gumtree for 30 minutes!!!!

Wat was jou bewoording op die add? Hardly used ridden by old man to shops and back!!? ;) :peepwall: :lol8:

Brisbane is a river city. And with plenty of bridges in the CDB to get from one side to the other. You can walk for kilometers on walkways and paths.

I really enjoy the place and all the local bars and old hotels get my coin for a cold beer.

It was Riverfest the Saturday coming and the Airforce was practicing its run in the city, very impressive when that big Hercules type plane drops down into the river bowl!!!!

8de18379216e01cc584108c0ce551fd8.jpg

Storybridge.
b5ca130704befaf5331d570cf6c423e0.jpg

161907e762dbab4b41aa868cc5315215.jpg

df48234141948d74b5fbd24be86f37ad.jpg

Rental electric scooter
98b4e0071f0ec1b0b9f169ee40956a2d.jpg

dccc1cbd3fcc39861a1c7d80f0fcdc33.jpg

Lekker old bars and buildings.
ff2c4ed3674f64960b0cbce7f7e19aa1.jpg

7f0727e8ade4efbe381bd0d002d3dbf6.jpg

I even went to greet the queen.
f0e9e71e1a1cc72be820030e4034d164.jpg

I rode the electric scooter all the way from those buildings to get to the testing lab to get my covid test done for my flight the next day.

DUSTRIDERS said:
The T7 was on Gumtree for 30 minutes!!!!

Wat was jou bewoording op die add? Hardly used ridden by old man to shops and back!!? ;) :peepwall: :lol8:
Never dropped or abused... :peepwall:

Dankie!!

Goodness 1 year later.

11 November 2020 I landed in Australia and had to do 15 days alone in a hotel room for my quarantine. No windows no walks nothing.