Drakensberg/Sani trip

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LanceSA

Race Dog
Reaction score
Bike
KTM 390 Adventure
We were having a conference at the Drakensberg Sun so I had to choose between flying in to Durban and driving to the Drak Sun or a solo ride from East London. Duh, no brainer. So at 11:00 on the 22nd April, just after one of the biggest cold fronts to hit the country I left for the Berg.

Now if you can get past the sheep, dogs, goats, cows and horses and the taxiâ??s, trucks, busses and manic drivers donâ??t get you, riding thru the Transkei is a scenic experience of note. Stopped for lunch and fuel in Umtata and on to Kokstad. Seems to me every 2nd home in Kokstad is a B&B yet their pricing still high!

That night I started playing with the gps and working out alternate routes â?? big mistake.
Plotted a route to Himeville and then a â??short cutâ?? to Drak Sun.

Well after Himeville I hit the dirt. The first 20km was freshly graded and like riding on marbles. I was on a program and running late but the riding was magnificent and the views breath taking.

Eventually I ducked back to the tar but ended up being 2 hours late and in some trouble. Took the easy route out and blamed the gps but not everyone believed meâ?¦..

Attachments

• start.JPG
    start.JPG
    99.2 KB
  • gravel rd after Himeville.JPG
    gravel rd after Himeville.JPG
    84.4 KB
  • view 1.JPG
    view 1.JPG
    75 KB
  • view 2.JPG
    view 2.JPG
    87.3 KB