EC - Bastervoet [neerslaan] pad! Do not give up your dreams!!

SwannieBraai

AJS (all models)
Janes Barnard & Pieter Labuschagne from Hoopstad who were part of our Lesotho trip in 2008 organized this awesome trip to the beautiful EC!

We were 15 men in total consisting of 3 wilddogs,  the rest still to join!

The partakers and their rides:

Janes Barnard from Hoopstad – KTM 950
JanesBarnard.jpg

Pieter Labuschagne from Hoopstad – KTM 950

PieterLabuschagne.jpg

Oom Mike Kapp ( 70) from Hoopstad – Honda Varadero
OomMikeKapp.jpg

Anton Kapp from Hoopstad – KTM 990
AntonKapp.jpg

Edward Graham from Hoopstad – KTM 990
EdwardGraham.jpg

Adrian Storm from GP – KTM 990
AdrianStorm.jpg

Vicus Grobler from GP- KTM 950
VicusGrobler.jpg

Anton Dreyer from GP -1200GS
AntonDreyer.jpg

Hugo vd Westhuizen from GP – 1200GSA
HugovdWesthuizen.jpg

Hendre Wasserman from GP – Aka Rietrot – KTM 990
Rietrot.jpg

Hennie and Herman from Brandfort – 1200GS each
HennieHerman.jpg

Renier Van Tonder from Hennenman – 1200GSA
ReniervTonder.jpg

Willem & Biela (16) from Ventersburg -  1200GSA
BielaWillem.jpg

Day 1

We all met up from our different venues at the Shell 1-stop outside Bloem at 9h00 on Thursday morn, 29 Jan. The plan was to do gravel all the way to Lundeans  neck where we will sleepover at a friend of Janes, Chris Isted.
20090129110.jpg

20090129116.jpg

We all were hungry and had a nice breakfast at Steers, got to know each other a bit better, checked out each other’s scoots and then set off.
20090129103.jpg

However due to the lekke rain pouring down we hit the tar to Dewetsdorp where we hoped it would be  dryer to take the gravel.

We rode in the rain all the way to Dewetsdorp, and then it changed from there. Had a quick tyre check session  and then hit the gravel with engines roaring. The KaTaMs leading with Janes and Pieter riding next to each other at rather high speeds with the rest of the pack following hard.
20090129119.jpg

20090129118.jpg

20090129124.jpg

First stop is where? Do you recognize it you old bash-dogs out there?
20090129129.jpg

20090129132.jpg

Caledon flowing strong after good rains . . .  hmmm reliving the bash . .  boy it was great!
20090129131.jpg

20090129136.jpg

20090129139.jpg

20090129142.jpg

Stop at Zastron to get some goodies for the evening braai, then off via Sterkspruit to Lundeans.
20090129156.jpg

20090129157.jpg

Beautiful scenery from start to finish!
20090129164.jpg

20090129186.jpg

20090129191.jpg

20090129193.jpg

20090129199.jpg

20090129204.jpg

[
20090129214.jpg

20090129210.jpg

P1298989.jpg

P1299005.jpg

P1299012.jpg

Arrived at Chris & Catherine Isted’s farm, an exceptionally scenic and beautiful place, surrounded by the breathtaking mountains and nature
P1299012.jpg

P1299020.jpg

They have this awesome cottage , restored and decorated with love, taste and care!
P1299021.jpg

P1299047.jpg

P1299048.jpg

P1299049.jpg

P1299050.jpg

Renier taking a low posture!
P1299050.jpg

Biela wat lekker “laagle!
P1299053.jpg

View from above!
P1299054-1.jpg

P1299056-1.jpg

Hugo doing it right after a full day’s riding !
P1299045.jpg

Lekker saamkuier die hele aand deur! We had a nice braai with tjops, steak, wors,pap and other goodies, sat around and just enjoyed the calmness and good fellowship of each other. Most went to bed early, tired but fullfilled after a long day of awseome rding and scenery.
P1299022.jpg

Chris, the farmowner, he can be reached on 045 9749900 to book accommodation.
P1299034.jpg

Thanks Chris & Catherine for a wonderful stay, we appreciate your kindness and hospitality.
Thanks Janes, puik gereel!

Day 2 will follow . . . . .

Willem said:
Anton Kapp from Hoopstad – KTM 990
AntonKapp.jpg

Genade Willem, hoe groot is die ou? Hy laat daai 990 lyk soos 'n pit-bike !!!!!

Baie nice report sover, kan nie wag vir die res nie!!!

:thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft:

15 manne, jusso as julle weer gaan ry laat my weet ek sal reserwe wees!

Lekker Willem........  :thumleft:
Om te dink as ek nie die sandmonster se hand geskud het die vorige Sondag nie, was ek en HabaHaba dalk saam op die trip....  :(
Die Hoopstadters is GROOT boerseun.... genoeg mieliepap en steaks.
Dit lyk awesome.....onthou julle hoe dit gelyk het November toe ons Lundean's gaan ry het.....nie so groen nie.
Moet nou nie dat ons te lank wag vir die res nie asb Willem!

If you doing the Bastervoetpad between the Rhodes gravel road and the Ugie tar road....its brilliant!

edgy said:
If you doing the Bastervoetpad between the Rhodes gravel road and the Ugie tar road....its brilliant!

We did it, was excellent, will report later on it. leke leke

Day 2

We all had a great night’s rest (except for those who has not learned to adapt to the snorers yet). Hendre said that not even earlplugs help, they only filter out the 125cc sounds but not the 990 beats, ha ha.

Today we are going down to Rhodes for a brekkie in the hotel and then up to Tiffendell and then we take a “shortcut” to Naudes neck top, past TenAhead, a route that we would discover is not so easy for the big GSA’s, anyway here goes the pics to tell the story itself . . .

The Emoes making their funny sounds . . .
20090130244.jpg

From Chris’s farm the road goes up and down in the most awesome places imaginable, with huge and steep cliffs and “uitspoelings” in the rocks. A very enjoyable road down to Rhodes.
20090130329.jpg

20090130330.jpg

20090130332.jpg

20090130334.jpg

20090130345.jpg

20090130350.jpg

20090130351.jpg

So BTW all the pics taken from me doing pillion while Biela is enjoying himself with the GSA, compliments from Nokia N95.
20090130353.jpg

20090130356.jpg

20090130359.jpg

20090130364.jpg

We had a lekke brekkie here, Piet was our man that tied up with the kitchen personel to rganize some more toast, well done Piet, anders was ons nie so lekker vol nie!!

20090130380.jpg

Then off through the beautiful surroundings to Tiffendell . . .

20090130385.jpg

20090130390.jpg

20090130394.jpg

20090130395.jpg

20090130397.jpg

20090130398.jpg

20090130399.jpg

20090130400.jpg

20090130401.jpg

20090130403.jpg

20090130406.jpg

20090130408.jpg

20090130414.jpg

20090130416.jpg

Up we go!! Not that obvious perhaps but Adrian Storm on his 990 actually popped a wheelie from bottom to top, me thought he was going to flip the thing – experience and respect!
20090130420.jpg

20090130419.jpg

Some concrete for the winter months . . .

20090130412.jpg

20090130428.jpg

20090130435.jpg

20090130439.jpg

20090130440.jpg

Breaking and entering!

20090130445.jpg

20090130449.jpg

Pasop hie kommie honne!
20090130451.jpg

20090130452.jpg

20090130456.jpg

From Tiffendell just a few km you turn in through a gate for the shortcut to Naudesneck top.
What a lekker technical route, rocks galore!
20090130457.jpg

20090130458.jpg

20090130464.jpg

20090130465.jpg

20090130466.jpg

20090130467.jpg

20090130468.jpg

20090130470.jpg

20090130471.jpg

20090130473.jpg

20090130474.jpg

20090130475.jpg

Only one puncture for the whole 4 day trip!
P1309130.jpg

The road got better a bit better. Me on the back of Adrian’s 990 while Biela was gunning the GSA ahead. That was a scary ride for me, who of you have pillioned with an experienced off roader on a 990 before on a rather rocky road??
Not the same as holding the  handles I tell you, this is “broekpiepie” stuff dogs!!

P1309130.jpg

Lekker watercrossings here and there . .
20090130485.jpg

Finally on top,  time for a “familypic” just Hennie & Herman not here, they are allready ahead of us, joined from Rhodes.
20090130490.jpg

P1309138.jpg

20090130497.jpg

This is my last pic of the day, my phone went dead with the fall! When I came down Naudes neck, I was sweeper and was a bit behind so decided to gun it a bit, found out the hard way I was too fast downhill. My ABS was off and when I stepped on the back brake almost to the turn, the back gave way to the right and slid off the incline . . . what else for the GSA to do but to highside me, the  bike flipped and slid into the rocks on right, me about 2m in front of the bike I managed to stand up again after my breath returned. While I was lying there I could here the thunder of the Katooms’ zorses as they all went down the hill on the other side . . me forgotten all alone here, sniff sniff . . . by God’s grace I was fine, left shoulder bruized, nerfaf op my duim want ek het nie gloves aangehad nie ( iets geleer), but no major breakages except the ribbetjies I only felt the  next day, lekke seer.
The GSA’s left spot gone, although I had the conversion on, must have been a rock that took it out. Screen scratched and bent, cyl head cover protector off and cover scratched etc etc, luckily only cosmetics about R17000 worth of damage not included the scratched and dented topbox and pannier. Thinking of leaving the boxes taht way, gives kinda character I think. Insurance will cover . Once again thanks be to my heavenlyDad who protected my life! Got scoot up with much effort, got on and met the others at the intersection a few k’s later.

Then we rode on on nice and winding roads toward Woodcliffe guesthouse where we will stay for the evening.
On the way encountered a padskraper, boy was that not nice, the road filled with marbles the size of golf balls, eish that was a sweaty ride for me, dunno about the others.

Hendre took these pics. Here we are on Woodcliffe, some of the men going for a relaxing swim, the others enjoying some  cold beers, me hurting and stiff, went for a shower then crashed on my bed while Biela was straightening some things on the GSA.

P1309146.jpg

P1309156.jpg

P1309161.jpg

P1309162.jpg

P1309165.jpg

We had the most hearty welcome from Phyll and her mom, the owner of Woodcliffe estate. Go have a look at https://www.woodcliffecavetrails.co.za/. Our hostesses treated us with eats and drinks, Phyll even offered to bandage me if I needed it. She manages the farm all alone, planting vegetables, herding  cattle and a lot of other things too she is involved with. Not even mentioning the great guesthouse and – farm she runs. She and her mom made the loveliest oxtail bredie you can imagine. A full 5 course meal with yummy veggies, just what a hungry ADV rider needs, topped off with Malvapoeding en roomys! Hie ha, thx Phyll, we ate like kings and then were off to these pozies for a lekke cuddle . . . .
P1309174.jpg

See you tomorrow for Day 3 . . . .snore snore . . . .

Few late arrivals to get the taste buds going for Day 3 & 4 . . .
PI5Send1.jpg

PI5Send2.jpg

PI5Send4.jpg

Here is the one of Adrian Storm doing the wheelie uphill near Tiffendell!! RESPECT!!

PI5Send7.jpg

. . . Ill be back . .

Day 3

Saturday we were up early, all except me went to the valley up west to check out some beautiful scnerey,  they called it the “Affodille Toer”, afterwards I was so glad I missed it, seem they had all kind of encounters there . . . .ha ha
20090131499.jpg

20090131500.jpg

20090131501.jpg

20090131502.jpg

20090131507.jpg

Then we were on our way for the “Bastervoetpad” that lay ahead. Me, Oom Mike & Anton Kapp took the “highway” to Maclear and then Elliot, while the bunch took the backroads through the plantations up to Ugie and then via Bastervoetpad to the Mountain Shadow Hotel where we would meet later.

This is the pics that came from their lenses . . .

P1319179.jpg

P1319180.jpg

P1319181.jpg

P1319182.jpg

P1319184.jpg

P1319185.jpg

P1319186.jpg

P1319187.jpg

P1319188.jpg

P1319190.jpg

P1319195.jpg

P1319196.jpg

P1319197.jpg

P1319198.jpg

P1319199.jpg

P1319200.jpg

P1319203.jpg

P1319205.jpg

P1319206.jpg

P1319207.jpg

P1319208.jpg

P1319209.jpg

P1319210.jpg

P1319211.jpg

P1319212.jpg

P1319213.jpg

P1319214.jpg

P1319215.jpg

P1319216.jpg

Skep some asem!!
P1319217.jpg

P1319218.jpg

P1319219.jpg

Hei Anton, jy kan nie nou terugloop nie ou! Of het jy gaan teerpad soek? Ha ha
P1319220.jpg

Specially for the KATOOM fanatics out there! Enjoy!!!
P1319221.jpg

Janes, jy ook, wa ga jy broer? Recce bietjie?
P1319224.jpg

Moedskep meeting! Praat met mekaar manne!
P1319225.jpg

P1319226.jpg

PI5Send1.jpg

PI5Send2.jpg

PI5Send3.jpg

Our fearless leader!
PI5Send4.jpg

PI5Send5.jpg

PI5Send6.jpg

PI5Send7.jpg

PI5Send8.jpg

Back from Bastervoet(neerslaan)pad at the Mountain Shadow hotel for a cold one and a brunch of lekke steak & chips!
20090131525.jpg

20090131529.jpg

20090131538.jpg

20090131537.jpg

20090131535.jpg

P1319228.jpg

P1319229.jpg

P1319230.jpg

P1319233.jpg

P1319234.jpg

P1319235.jpg

P1319232.jpg

P1319238.jpg

After lunch we were off to Elliot to refill and then took dirt through the Otto du Plessis pass, one of the most scenic routes we rode so far. The KTM’s race through the twisties while some of us lurked behind to breathe in the beauty and actually see the surroundings,  what a lovely trip!
20090131539.jpg

20090131540.jpg

Here I swapped with Hendre for a while to feel the Katoom . . .  wrong choice!!!!!!!

I thought the GS was king (on gravel) untill I rode that beast, man that thing stick to gravel like velcro. What an absolute pleasure, I can understand the KTM generation much better now: Guys you ride excellent bikes! I almost rode like you people once on that 990! It takes corners like nothing, I really take my hat off and drom my own point of view want to state that the KTM is in my opinion the king of gravel by far compared to the GS!!1 If you want to ride nice gravel (not the Bastervoet) type and actually want to see nature at a slow and relaxed pace then the GS is the main man otherwise all you adrenalin and testosterone junkies . . . .  dont get a life . . .  get a KATOOM!!!!!

20090131542.jpg

20090131541.jpg

We met up with the Valentinos here, a friend and his 4yo son joined for a quick kuier . . . now if there is a real ADV rider to be , that young dude for sure is! He sits there on his PW50, fully geared and ready, kort kort se hy: “ kom Pappa laat ons nou ry!” ha ha,  thats inspiration man!.
20090131543.jpg

P1319249.jpg

20090131548.jpg

His dad’s scoot . .
20090131547.jpg

“Damn, hierdie PW is te lig vir ‘n ordentlike doughnut, maar wag tot my 990 kom!”
20090131549.jpg

P1319252.jpg

20090131550.jpg

20090131551.jpg

20090131552.jpg

20090131553.jpg

20090131554.jpg

20090131555.jpg

20090131556.jpg

Then we were off to Lady Grey district for our last overnight . . once more an enjoyable trip to the utmost!
20090131557.jpg

20090131558.jpg

20090131559.jpg

20090131560.jpg

At Lammergeier private game reserve, farm of Chris Isted’s brother . .
20090131566.jpg

20090131567.jpg

20090131569.jpg

20090131568.jpg

Huge house, sleeps 16 people, nice bedrooms, all nice, leke ou donkie wat hulle stook vir warm water, hmmmm so great!
P1319262.jpg

P1319265.jpg

Then time to chill, have a chilled one and enjoy the company and funny sayings of tired but fullfilled ADV bikers and boy did we laugh! Daai lang Anton Dreyer met sy droe humorsin en snaakse bygeluide, daai Renier het op ‘n kol so erg gelaag dat hy amper uitgepass het . . . chuckle chuckle . . . toe braai ons ‘n lekke tjop,steak, wors en kuier ‘n hond uit ‘n bos uit!
P1319264.jpg

20090131570.jpg

20090131564.jpg

Daasy, da links, die “funnyman” Anton. . . mind you die ou heel regs met die coke is nie verniet ‘n prokerower nie ( sorry Hugo) hy is net so “funny as hell”, gesoute segoed, seker aangeleer? Na, so gebore!
20090131571.jpg

20090131573.jpg

Josef was ook hier . .
20090131576.jpg

Lekker gekuier, lekker gechow en toe ga slaap ons ( die wat kon, die wat gesnork het) . . .

Day 4 will follow . . . . .  . 

Day 4

We rose at 5 , packed and were ready to leave at 6am.
20090201577.jpg

20090201578.jpg

20090201580.jpg

20090201585.jpg

20090201586.jpg

20090201587.jpg

Here is Lammergeier’s details:
20090201588.jpg

We then took the path towards Joubertspass to Lady Grey about 28km of absolute bliss.
20090201589.jpg

20090201591.jpg

20090201593.jpg

20090201594.jpg

20090201595.jpg

20090201596.jpg

20090201597.jpg

20090201598.jpg

20090201599.jpg

20090201602.jpg

20090201606.jpg

20090201608.jpg

20090201609.jpg

20090201614.jpg

20090201619.jpg

20090201621.jpg

20090201622.jpg

20090201626.jpg

20090201629.jpg

20090201633.jpg

The pass is became very slippery due to loose” gravel klippies” that makes it a nail bite experience. At one stage the uphill is long and steep and then when we came around at this corner . .
20090201639.jpg

. . . there ahead of us lay a very steep downhill, slippery slope, loose gravel allover. It was 1st gear downhill, the front wanna give way many times but Biela kept our beast sturdy and well balanced, well done my seun, jys ‘n yster! I was so hanging on that I didnt even take pictures at the time, no time, no chance! Lady Grey laying silently in the valley below!
20090201642.jpg

Better roads later on . . .

20090201643.jpg

20090201644.jpg

20090201645.jpg

20090201658.jpg

20090201659.jpg

20090201663.jpg

20090201667.jpg

20090201668.jpg

20090201670.jpg

20090201673.jpg

20090201675.jpg

Coming into Lady Grey!
20090201676.jpg

Last fill up before Bloem
20090201681.jpg

Last stop before Bloem, at the Caledonriver
20090201682.jpg

20090201683.jpg

20090201685.jpg

20090201686.jpg

20090201690.jpg

The last pic before we headed off for Bloem, came into Bloem at around 10am, 3 days later. We were tired, sorebut some of the most happy men on the globe. We had an awesome trip with no serious pains. We kuiere lekker, learned, enjoyed each other’s company, drank in the lovely God created nature and were just happy allover.  We said our goodbyes and each headed off in his home’s direction . . . . untill the next one!!! We are waiting and planning . . . . .

EC is great! We will be back!! . .  .

Thanks for the report and the great pictures. Man, those mountains are something else!!  :thumleft:

Very enjoyable report Willem.

That part of the Eastern Cape has to be my most favorite part of SA.

I went over Otto du Plessis pass about a year ago, beautiful, but covered in mist so i could not really see much.

I have vowed to return some time.