EC Hogs 2021

Flowers

Riders: Mwendo, Flowers, RobertTheGerman(RTG) and Hugh101. Serial cancellation dogs were cancelled and not invited.
Day 1
After Coronas killed Hogs 2020 we tried again in 2021. We met at  Shell N2 Strand. Tar to Suurbraak then dirt via Gysmanshoek pass onto vanwyksdorp. Here we encountered our 1st bike troubles as RTGs bikd started hooting flashing and cutting out. Hugh101s trusted 1150 started revving to almost red line in excitement. Fortunately a kind soul in a blue bakkie stopped and "vroeteled with Hugh and his engine" and the 1150 calmed down. Over Rooiberg pass & At Calitzdorp RTG inspected his trusted German 800 horse with yhe help of Hugh101 and Google a loose battery cable was fixed. We then continued on the Oudemuragie pad behind Oudtshoorn through de Rust(beer stop as wine was limited to 5man ksnne)to overnight at MeijersRust. A braai & early to bed. After 478km.
7fbfc743f1e7592de1b284b0783a97d5.jpg
691c2b123a38e6feab671f5d740cd9f9.jpg
87eda341379ab486af957e56455eba8f.jpg
025b26fd88f3fb0bf126e21b6b412f61.jpg

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Day 2
De Rust Uniondale Baviaanskloof to Orange Elephant Addo.
Eventful day started in Uniondale with the sparkling personality Mwendo buying expensive sparkling water for his backpack. Baviaanskloof is adventure bike heaven. 2 twats on GSs riding abreast and a sexually frustrated tannie from Gauteng in a Ford bakkie trying her best to prevent us overtaking did little to dampen our enthusiasm. A quick burger at the place on the left after Baviaanskloof and on to Orange Elephant for a pleasant evening with the Castings of Turd fellow.
2f62c023fef1ce51c2954e90ff17d0b8.jpg
113e464f08cfcb3897b6cd2bdc9daa4a.jpg
a2a93d563701d847dfa1f001cdb4df35.jpg
171c3f8f869522350004e9567559109f.jpg
cc2512e06ae054fd602d4b0226526e84.jpg
7409a9ee0585c912fa50b7e7cd0f9db8.jpg
26b4086c45821566bb82f7eb29fd90f7.jpg
aa062fb78ddd8d81a93f8da58b0408d7.jpg

Day 3 from Addo to Mountain Shadows.
Fortunately our navigation experts were not so experts and we skipped the planned start through Addo. Mwendo made up taking us through some stunning back roads for windmill fans. Amazingly the mighty 701 dwarfed the windmills see pics). The small tank on 701 necessitated frequent fuel stops. EC is a mixture of hope and despair. Some tidy towns like Bedford and Lady Grey and domd real filthy shitholes like Queenstown or whatever its called now ( the Queen must be very pleased). The highlights of the day were Catberg pass ( not for beginners) and some wonderful backroads and tweespoors. Sadly due to work crisis commitments Mwendo had to leave us in Queenstown. With our lead navigation expert gone we were but 3 lost souls. By some miracle we made it to our home for 3 nights the lovely Mountain Shadows. Where we were greeted by full moon. There was also a party of adventure bike riders from KZN. Nice friendly bunch.
facea708c2fb35c2ec770d3ee6c06280.jpg
44bc75e8cddc2d2d3a44ec404ba4c513.jpg
4e8136c97cde69cc1827530dba62786c.jpg
95826365baf1e2b27df048818315f4bc.jpg
b7eecc4f3a1515a44fe32281659eb8bb.jpg
8a4d19565991c0616b0145c90ac0740f.jpg
971c2cf17bd17652f4e58ef522b4e0d2.jpg
0011aa67907b6026891fba333c1b0d6a.jpg

Day 4
Scheduled rest day.
After 3 +450km days we had scheduled a rest day. So we did a quick ride to Rhodes, Naudes Neck back through Rhodes to Berkley East and home to Mountain Shadows for s 200km rest day.
d6ad2ed7be4ef50fcfc87ef555ce11a3.jpg
ac9ce9f16230685f15a31e60df221e3f.jpg
0d048e55937f6e775a3c7e1ee352e413.jpg
34c380a0a86bd0e72b29346133963b5c.jpg
e6999c512a2bae93fce90e027529d7c3.jpg
66be553577b6beda05edacd3788edd69.jpg

Day 5
Bastervoet pass Tiffendale and Lundeans Nek all in  day.
Sounds impressive but not really.
After Hugh101 let his pig have zzz short rest we bailed out of Bastervoet just as it was getting really interesting. Turned around and headed to Lundeans nek. On the way without our navigator we saw a sign to Tiffendale. So off we went. Various warnings were ignored. Great riding up up up we go until in the middle of a mountain pass there are more tyres on the road than you will find at your local Tyre Wheel & Tyre. Back Down we go in search of Lundeans nek. We were not disappointed what a beautiful pass and ride there.
Adventure bike heaven.
4b4571911713100261c5c410d55fab58.jpg
af704088603fc24e551adaee384ccdb8.jpg
6959e9b920f3811ed9be64ff5fb81ef6.jpg
0361237ea993fd14e9ae8eb546a76526.jpg
34cdb744449eccdd237441a788cf119b.jpg
48144ac81e2db5bfc7e65ca7d2292d11.jpg
e1e3875fd955ceec8e58551bb58f8593.jpg
9a086fbef2be00b1a791defd2a687c39.jpg
de15fc4537ee3f4e5e86d7f8411b25d4.jpg

Day 6
Escape the rain....well that was the plan. Mountain Shadows to Graaf Reneit. Via Hofmeyer etc.
We fled the heavy rain forecast for Rhodes and surrounding area.
RTG bikes battery cable snapped in a large pothole 12km outside Hofmeyer in a mini thunderstorm. With the hrlp of Hugh101 and me watching he made a connection and on we went. So great open roads with not a soul around. Adventure bike heaven. Sadly day 6 saw Hugh101 having some minor clutch problems but we all made it safe to Camdeboo cottages and Coldstream for a decent bottle of wine and pizza's. Another memorable day with RTG and Hugh101
d1f919bf7a6fb43ce8b16d5097af727c.jpg
d2a705473180a151bb52f39fa8141a91.jpg
335019c1e6f6e4919cc56e9ff7ea6a5f.jpg
5b381a5733904b0fda380bf121a48cbc.jpg
61424fae7a77bd6773b2832ac79a1bc5.jpg
5351b108cab4e61222c5fb968ab73d46.jpg

:ricky: :thumleft:
Beautiful Pic of the Church GR.

Day 7
Graaf Reneit rest day.
The local bike shop fixed RTGs battery problems for a minor cash payment. So we took the opportunity to visit some museums. Starting with the car museum owned by the pet food factory owners. At last dog shit is being put to good use. Well worth  a visit. We tried to get cultured and visit the Dominees House museum. Interesting but we still not cultured.
Upload cap reached  :-(
More photos next month

Flowers said:
Day 2
De Rust Uniondale Baviaanskloof to Orange Elephant Addo.
Eventful day started in Uniondale with the sparkling personality Mwendo buying expensive sparkling water for his backpack. Baviaanskloof is adventure bike heaven. 2 twats on GSs riding abreast and a sexually frustrated tannie from Gauteng in a Ford bakkie trying her best to prevent us overtaking did little to dampen our enthusiasm. A quick burger at the place on the left after Baviaanskloof and on to Orange Elephant for a pleasant evening with the Castings of Turd fellow.
2f62c023fef1ce51c2954e90ff17d0b8.jpg
113e464f08cfcb3897b6cd2bdc9daa4a.jpg
a2a93d563701d847dfa1f001cdb4df35.jpg
171c3f8f869522350004e9567559109f.jpg
cc2512e06ae054fd602d4b0226526e84.jpg
7409a9ee0585c912fa50b7e7cd0f9db8.jpg
26b4086c45821566bb82f7eb29fd90f7.jpg
aa062fb78ddd8d81a93f8da58b0408d7.jpg

No pics of the elephant with the turd,  kak place  :biggrin: [member=15964]elandsrider[/member] ....

:pot:

So a new month means I can post a few more pics. Really enjoyed Graaf Reneit then it was just 2 as @hugh101 tarred it to Barrydale with his dodgy clutch. Except for the 1000 locusts that tried to commit suicide on my helmet and me a great days riding via Steytlerville Willomore and more to just past Klaarstroom.
6903793b7355d7d69298f8f2fa2a775d.jpg
609b0eb146b2329165055e9ba88a6db0.jpg
0e3a338a167e024db46661ffbff0a074.jpg
badc7285bc1e4c8fc1384883ce69e2a2.jpg
794cb1235066a0c1d2b171d0481d9e51.jpg
3fe913c2312813c784fe4ee647f4af58.jpg
f9dff0a9f9c8965b2411d90cf1c47dab.jpg
a4d05146edd2b507cef35a1c51724b11.jpg
4a0e77bf9a17551c1333f6da5b154431.jpg

After a great night of on a beautiful working ostrich farm we moved on to our last night in Prince Albert with a quick day trip in and out of Gamkaskloof. Never experienced that road so quiet except for a few crazy cyclists.
8a973abd1baffb4e36b76d9f6bc4c3f9.jpg
c4dcc1ae90afa4a04a31811f771c64e2.jpg
ce9c0d83c80305cad981308095012290.jpg
a65e3940262042809b018fb27c042bd5.jpg
6a46f16415da3c0ce0d91ab1e76c49da.jpg
e4f20d5d7c4e6cbcf8e1bfb362ff8f93.jpg
38904d8f9b094a797410ec10c1cbc07b.jpg
c0abf74e6b4733b0a339b2e98a3a973d.jpg
05fdd1dae25e2f78604f57f335cea01c.jpg

Great meal and service at the hotel. Highly recommended. Then the road home over Swartberg pass Calitzdorp Rooiberg pass ladysmith Montague and home.
34ae86d6ae4d5a05037443e865af1802.jpg
bcfc14d295e35874775508f50e26ed92.jpg
7412aab50f191d4666e2767ce5f1e767.jpg
ec15c8b9824022ac0433f7f37ff626ae.jpg
aa3131b627b5fa2e0ccc603736f25273.jpg