Festive cheer and Gravel travel 2010

Cool story!

Tell me what fabrication you concocted to get Penny to hang out with you? Not that old "I am rich" one again? 

Lightning, she sure is pretty but i'm starting to wonder how bright she is keeping me around for this long? Ah well we all have our issues but i'll tell you, I got a much better deal than she did!!! Shhhh!, don't tell her though... :mwink:

DAY 3 through 6

While in P.E. we had a couple of tasks and events. Firstly we had organised that there would be brand new TKC80’s and 4mm tubes waiting for us at Auto Motorcycles and we needed to get those fitted which was a great relief and would hopefully prevent any more tyre deflation incidents. The balancing of these tyres and tubes proved a lot more difficult and the bike was really, really kak to ride over 115km/h!

Next up was a couple of family meetings and introductions which were great fun and Penny also rode me around Marine drive, the route that the Iron man is run over. We passed Rover off-road club, which we stopped at for a while and saw the chaps styling it up over the MX jumps. 

Touring the suburbs we checked out Collegiate Girls, Penny’s home of learning for her entire school career, which is a larney looking school if I ever saw one. We then wound our way through Millpark, past her various homes as a child and she showed me the good and bad parts of P.E. just to round off my education.

Penny’s Pops’ 70th Birthday celebration was a helluva success, with friends and family, old and new gathering at the Bain Street Grill for a lekker party and chow down. Speeches, laughs and a couple too many glasses of red ensured many grinning faces and careful driving on the way home (in a car).

The last day after having a awesome lunch of ‘Hoagie Burgers’ which Tony, Penny’s dad (He owned the Pizza Inn franchise and was the originator of the Hoagie Burger) made for us, we stopped in at Barney’s for a farewell drink. R16 double brandy and cokes, YES Please! Old friends and laughs always make leaving a place more difficult but we dragged ourselves away at 9:30 in order to pack and prepare

• 101.JPG
    101.JPG
    93 KB
  • 106.JPG
    106.JPG
    55.5 KB
  • 078.JPG
    078.JPG
    127.7 KB
Yes that last evening at Barneys did get messy as the picture quality will prove.

DAY 7

Leaving P.E. we quickly jumped onto the N2 towards Van Stadens Pass and stopped in the valley as I sure most do in order to marvel at that impressive bridge. Pushing on we dropped into the town of Hankey through breathtaking green hills and valleys. Frustrated by my inability to exceed 120km/h safely or comfortably due to the un-balanced front wheel, I just knocked it back to 110, opened my visor and really got into the groove of the area.

Breakfast at Tolbos in Patensie, ‘The gate to the Baviaans Kloof” was a well planned and worthwhile stop. It was just in time to tame the savage beast that lurked within our stomachs but also late enough to see us through the long road to Uniondale. The Baviaans Kloof road is 168 or so Km’s long and while the first half fly’s by in a rush of scenery, wicked roads and numerous water crossings the last 90km is straight, corrugated and besides the short Nuwe Kloof Pass, pretty boring.  

On our trip through the Kloof we came across a friendly chap on his 1150GS stopped over looking the most photographed section of the pass and had a little chat. Hearing a couple more motors’ braaaping’ up the hill we saw 3 bikes arrive and lo and behold, one of them was my old friend Hein Prinsloo from PTA. He was riding a beautiful Repsol KTM 660 Rallye Dakar bike and his two friends Errol and another chap were on a 690 Enduro R and a cool black Africa Twin.

Setting off again we climbed the last summit of the pass together and upon cresting, we saw a Land Cruiser 70 well and truly stuck on the shoulder of the road. They had pulled over to make a couple of calls where the signal was good but the soil wasn’t and they sunk the starboard side of their rig too the axels.

When the driver ushered us on as there was nothing that we could do, riding down the road we saw the first vehicle arriving that could possibly help extract him from his bog, a Land Rover! Oh the shame… It’s like me being rescued by Clinton Pienaar on his GS many years ago. Not Ayoba!

I’m sure many riders have been caught out by that water crossing, no not the stony one, the OTHER one… The one I’m talking about is the concreted section that is probably 30m long and ankle deep. So you enter at a sensible pace and towards the end you think it’s almost over, accelerate and drop down into a knee deep part right at the end.

This ends rather predictably with a tsunami rising up in front of the bike and crashing over both our heads. It was quite funny especially when I heard Pen shrieking from surprise and then bursting into laughter, both of us soaked to the bone.

Arriving in Uniondale with sore ***** and rumbling tummy’s we grabbed a bite and some petrol and then attacked Prince Alfred’s pass down to Knysna. This road has really been overhauled since I rode it last in ‘07 and the mountain pass section is like a billiard table. This allowed me to have more of a look around at the scenery which is nice for a change, instead of just appreciating every crack and rut on the road itself.

I noticed an intermittent  ‘clacking’ sound on our way up the second set of climbs which I stopped twice to try and pin point. I thought it may be wheel bearings, or chain, possibly even the front sprocket, but I could not quite discover the source. Unhappily we rode on, hoping to make it to Knysna and our Back packers, where I could have a better look.

The flatlands were quite soggy and when we were not climbing the sound seemed to disappear so push on and have some fun we did. Potholes filled with water were mostly avoided but at speed when they were scattered across the road like peas, we did crash through more than a couple.  Getting into the groove Penny started to film a bit with the Sony digital camera and the results will be posted on You Tube as soon as I’ve figured out how.

Riding through the town of Knysna the dreaded clack returned I  knew we had a problem that was not going away without help. Booking in to 'Lake Superior’ backpackers I whipped off the rear wheel and had a good look. Bearings sharp, chain cool but the plastic runner/guard was broken at the front of the swing arm which I saw when I was checking the front sprocket.

Not the end of the world, I’ll repair it In Cape Town, but guys, if this happens to you please don’t remove the guard all together as you will chew a hungry sized hole into your swing arm. I ran through the shower and we hit the bar for a frosty or two before dinner.

On our way to Boogies restaurant, in The Knysna river club we were stopped by the cops for having no registration plate. She wanted to see my licence which I had left in my jacket at the Beach house and so we got a ticket for R250. Fair cop, she could have done me much harder! Ah well, we had a marvellous dinner at Boogie’s that I would recommend to all who pass through.

Getting back, we joined up at the bar again and then around 11pm we walked to the Zanzibar club  with Alfonso, the owner/ bar man of the Lake Superior backpackers. The walk there was long but plain sailing, however at 1:45 the stumble home was anything but elegant and took far too long, with a couple of pit stops along the way…

• 112.JPG
    112.JPG
    85.3 KB
  • 113.JPG
    113.JPG
    79.4 KB
  • 117.JPG
    117.JPG
    118.9 KB
  • 128.JPG
    128.JPG
    133.9 KB
  • 137.JPG
    137.JPG
    168.3 KB
Some more pics. The Land Cruiser drivers wife was not a happy kitten, oh no!

• 139.JPG
    139.JPG
    125.3 KB
  • 144.JPG
    144.JPG
    122.8 KB
  • 148.JPG
    148.JPG
    126.9 KB
  • 150.JPG
    150.JPG
    132.5 KB
  • 175.JPG
    175.JPG
    127.3 KB
DAY 8

Leaving the Lake Superior at 11:50 after a scrumptious brekkie and a couple cups of the black stuff, we rode into the bright sunlight with hangovers that would make Mickey Rourke wince.

Now this was the day that I was really looking forward to on the trip, Seven passes to George, Montague pass alongside the Outeniqua and then down to through the Robinson pass to Eight bells and Riversdale, Malgas and finally through Bredasdorp to Napier.

Yup, the alcohol demons vetoed that one and we had to cut the route seriously short due to time. Bloody stupid in hind sight, we could have jolled anywhere so why screw up a great day of riding? Ah, we were on holiday so we didn’t stress too much but not too deep down I was disappointed.

Chilling along the N2 at a sublime 110 to 120kh/h with the whirr of the knobblies lulling us into our happy place, we really noticed the envy that folks in cars had for our simplistic way of travelling. Some just smiled longingly while others really got excited and rather animated showing their approval. Life is good!

Riding into some rain after Mossel Bay we donned our waterproof uppers and pressed on through.
Penny’s suit has an internal waterproof liner so she got damp but I had my Vuka rain suit from Jonway distributors and I was therefore kept as dry as smuggled drugs in an uncomfortably hidden condom.

Having lunch at Riversdale we met up with Penny’s housemates who were travelling in the opposite direction in their Defender 90, and unbeknown to Bonnie, Sven was proposing to her that night, Christmas eve.

Needing to make tracks we bid our farewells and took the R322 towards Witsand and 4 km’s farther turned right towards Askraal, and the Malgas Pont that is pulled by manpower over the Breede river.

On the road from Malgas to Bredasdorp I got a bee in my bonnet and opened MacDonald’s up to let him stretch his legs. 120km/h became 140 and then with him feeling really good on the rough dirt road, 140 became 160 and an indicated 170ish. The balancing issue was still there but on the dirt I didn’t get as concerned because the front wheel is normally bouncing a bit anyway.

We rode straight through Bredasdorp and eagerly approached  Napier which is on the R316, 40 odd km’s north of L’Agulhas, or the Southern most point in Africa.

Now my sister Angela, her husband Craigan and my nephew Calvin run the Sun Touched Inn on the main road in Napier, opposite Gunners Nest. We pulled in, said our hello’s and ordered 2 of the legendary Pizzas that Sun Touched is famous for. Oh and a Napier Ale, which Craigan brews.

Playing some pool, darts and drinking a fair amount was certainly a fitting way to relax and get into the Napier spirit, which is dangerously addictive for most folk. Tomorrow is Christmas so let’s get a good night sleep.

Awesome, thanks for posting. Pen - good to see your boet in a pic, been ages.

More pics from day 8, Knysna to Napier.

• 195.JPG
    195.JPG
    123.3 KB
  • 232.JPG
    232.JPG
    107.1 KB
  • 202.JPG
    202.JPG
    125.8 KB
  • 198.JPG
    198.JPG
    142.7 KB
  • 196.JPG
    196.JPG
    127.9 KB
EATMYKTM, where is the rest of this ride report? You have about another 10 days to talk about AND the trip into Die Hel and those amazing passes! Come now, we're all waiting :drif:  ???

DAY 12

Well Christmas lunch was a huge success with Craigan really excelling in the kitchen and putting on a spread that would bring a tear to Santa’s eye. Good friends and food were the order of the day but the best part was that we were all able to glance over at any stage and revel in the hardcore beauty of MacDonalds, resting not 5 meters from the lunch table.

Two more days of intense relaxation and drinking ensued before we left the little town of Napier in which we did go and see the wonderful little town and surreal beach of Arniston and… not much else!

On the third day of Christmas however we rode down to Cape Aghulas via Struisbaai and then off road to Elim, Stanford, the crazy busy town of Hermanus and over the hill to Betty’s bay. We were booked into the Bayside Beach house and as amazing as the scenery was the ride just couldn’t have been over soon enough.

It was one of those days, you know, when the weather wasn’t playing ball, the wind was howling and neither of us really felt like leaving Napier. Thank God we were on MacDonalds, as he really has the ability to turn an poor day on the bike into something rather enjoyable.

Towards Betty’s bay the weather really did close in however and when we got to our destination, cold and damp, a drink in the bar was a really welcoming suggestion from ‘B’ the owner. It should be gazetted that all backpackers have to serve their beer in Quarts, plain and simple. It just makes drinking a beer so …Lekker!

Off to dinner down the road and then back for another couple of toots and early to bed, tomorrow Cape Town beckons.

• 221.JPG
    221.JPG
    129.5 KB
  • 218.JPG
    218.JPG
    160.5 KB
  • 250.JPG
    250.JPG
    198.8 KB
  • 256.JPG
    256.JPG
    76.2 KB
  • 266.JPG
    266.JPG
    93.8 KB
Some more...

• 273.JPG
    273.JPG
    100.9 KB
  • 315.JPG
    315.JPG
    147.8 KB
  • 313.JPG
    313.JPG
    80.5 KB
  • 294.JPG
    294.JPG
    75.6 KB
  • 296.JPG
    296.JPG
    59.9 KB
DAY 13

Well the weather really didn’t play ball when we were in Betty’s and so leaving in the rain we stopped immediately at a little gem called Café Jack for breakfast .Really lekker chow and coffee that tastes like coffee should.

Pushing off with warm tummy’s and drizzle on our necks we had a solid day of tar to contend with, but the beauty of the ride would certainly make up for the lack of dirt. As we bypassed Pringle bay on the R44 we rose up into the clouds and dropped back down the other side into the brightest sunshine that we had seen in what felt like , forever.

Skirting the ocean along an amazingly windy road in this warm sunshine we started to dry out and regain our sense of humour as we approached Gordon’s bay. The reality of just how spectacular the Cape is truly hit us during this journey. We South Africans are very fortunate indeed.

Visiting Penny’s cousin in Kalk bay was a real treat, as she had recently taken delivery of a real Italian Pannetone, via airfreight. It was borne by a greasy bugger who whisked her daughter away to Italy in return, but hey, That was a really great cake!

Off via Simon’s town and past the Cape Point gate which was teaming with tourists, so we decided to skip that and push on. Now I must admit to being slightly turned around at this point and neither of us new exactly where we were going. The destination was Camps bay via Chappy’s but I couldn’t find Chapman’s peak.

Thankfully the weather was holding out and the scenery was breathtaking so we just rolled along, content in being on the bike and experiencing life. What getting muddled did show us was a truly fantastic road called Red hill Road. Very, very cool. Again Video to follow…

Once we got our bearings it was over the pass to Noordhoek, past that spectacular beach and onto Chappy’s. That road is still a masterpiece and was chock a block with slow moving cars and tourists, which was perfect as we were in no hurry at all.

Paying our toll, which was half of what the cars pay, we ambled through Hout bay and over the hill towards Llundudno and Camps bay. The azure waters of that ocean splashing against the 12 Apostles is something which I think I will never truly get used too, it’s just so bloody blue!

Cresting the Kloof Nek we wound our way through town and out to Table view to our friends house in Sunset beach. When we arrived the party was in full swing but our camera was in full death mode due to battery failure so no photos.

We made a lekker potjie and played Dino’s drum kit until late that night, much to the neighbours disgust I’m sure, but hey, we had a blast!

• 332.JPG
    332.JPG
    92.8 KB
  • 330.JPG
    330.JPG
    90.5 KB
  • 358.JPG
    358.JPG
    108.4 KB
  • 360.JPG
    360.JPG
    122 KB
  • 376.JPG
    376.JPG
    66.2 KB
DAY 14

Early on Thursday the 30th I jumped up and shot down to Paarden Eiland and KTM Cape Town in order to have a professional look at the chain guard problem and see if they could remedy my front wheel balancing bugger up. Introduced to Kevin, explained the issues and we diagnosed the chain guide as the source of the problem… definitely.

From there on the service just became incredible. He dropped what he was doing, asked Wade? To help remove the front wheel and within a couple of minutes they - found the same problem as the Guys in PE. Extra thick tubes, TKC-80’s and they said that the Excel rim that I had fitted, has a heavy spot due to the weld. Sounds a bit weird but hey, they know these things better than me.

Many weights later and it was as good as we could get it, which wasn’t great but at least I was satisfied that work had been done ‘cos I saw it happen. I bought MacDonald’s a orange headlight cover and drooled over the 990 SuperDuke R, before attempting an atrociously feeble wheelie away from the shop.

During lunch at the Fat Cactus on Kloof st, we got a meal and a show. Signal Hill ‘in sy moer in!’ This was very sad watching it burn like that but it was really cool when the helicopters and later aeroplanes, started bombing the inferno with water. The wind was howling which made it kak difficult for the choppers to fly around with their big empty bags dragging in the wind but they did a hell of a job and hat’s off to those Guy’s for their patience and determination.

And yes, at The Fat Cactus, we drank far too many jugs of Margarita's and got quite silly! :laughing4:

• 418.JPG
    418.JPG
    104.3 KB
  • 422.JPG
    422.JPG
    110.5 KB
  • 424.JPG
    424.JPG
    92.3 KB
  • 443.JPG
    443.JPG
    110.6 KB
Day 15

Riding out of Cape town on a beautiful morning, we climbed Sir Lowry’s pass out of Somerset West and upon cresting the top the weather turned dull again. I tell you, those Cape town people really have awesome summer weather, protected from the rest of the world by that big bloody range of mountains.

We stopped for brekkie just before Grabouw at the corner Farm shop and then rolled towards Villiersdorp on the R312. I had never ridden this road and if you have a moment, do it. Very lekker indeed. It has a fantastic mountain pass, some quaint little dorpie’s, scenery that is beyond belief and a moer of a big dam called Theewaterskloof. Thee, not Three… Ok!

Turning South at Villiersdorp we followed the eastern side of the dam until we came to a left turn and a lekker dirt road to Genadendal and Greyton. Penny was in her element, Mooing at sheep and Baaaa-ing at cow’s??? She even swore at a couple of birds flying alongside. Still drunk from the margarita’s maybe? Oh well, I gotta love her!

When we got to Greyton though, she became a lot more serious. Now that seems to be a place that we could go and settle quite happily. Every corner seemed had a coffee shop and on that particular day, they were all full. Really pretty town but apparently really expensive!

Dropping due south, we exited Greyton via the servants entrance and landed on the dirt again. We had a brilliant ride through the Dwarskloof pas, over the N2, via Krige and through the somewhat abandoned shed of Jongensklip.

That road from the N2 to Jongensklip reminded me a lot of Namibian highways, only much narrower with red sand instead of white. What I’m trying to say is that it sucked me in nicely, big speed, great surface and then all of a sudden, deep marbled surface that had us swaying from side to side like we were on an episode of ‘So, you think you can dance?’

We think there might have been a meteorite impact or a very large explosive impact on the side of the hill just after that, as a lone and very strange (for the scenery) looking crater exists in the side of one of the hills. Anyone know?

Unfortunately we had to get back onto the tar at Oukraal in order to shoot through to Napier again on the R316. The depression did not last too long as this road has fantastic corners and is a joy to ride. It did start to rain 10km’s out of Napier and so by the time we arrived at my Sisters, we were quite damp.

The Sun touched inn, for the last 4 years, has hosted the annual New years party in the Overberg region and as word spreads, this party becomes bigger and better year upon year. The decorations are over the top, the music is funky and the people who come from a far a field as Cape town and Robertson all have the time of their lives.

So after all the preparation was finished, it was into our cowboy get-up and the party began. YeeHa!

Wild Wild West- Napier Style!

• 458.JPG
    458.JPG
    85.9 KB
  • 464.JPG
    464.JPG
    119.3 KB
  • 467.JPG
    467.JPG
    76.8 KB
  • 475.JPG