Gysmanshoek Pas

Kamanya

Andrew to most
Staff member
Global Moderator
I had some work to do in Swellendam.

I go out there quite often, but this was the first time in a while that I went to stay at a camp on the Breede River.

Koosie from Buffelsjacht dam is a freind of mine and has been going on for a while about a pass called Gysmanshoek that gets you over the mountain and then it?s back roads to Barrydale.

Wednesday I set off and arrived at the camp pretty tired from the massive South Easter that battered me the whole way. I had just put a new front on and the chicken strips were only worn on the right hand side from constantly leaning into the wind.

A chap on a GS1200 kept me company from just after Caledon.

My pad for the night

134703066-L.jpg

Chilling

134703119-L.jpg

134703151-L.jpg

I left the camp just after lunch, work had finished.
134703298-L.jpg

Play had started. Getting directions from Koosie, I spied this above his bar.

134703000-L.jpg

Going through Suurbrak, they do things the old way still. I wonder for how long people will see this?

134703582-L.jpg

134703716-L.jpg

134703879-L.jpg

134704047-L.jpg

I putted through the place. Rushing through places seem to me to against the idea of why I bought the bike in the first place. There is so much to see, it would be sacrilege not to do it justice.

134704145-L.jpg

The road from Suurbrak soon becomes dirt. It is in very good condition and very pretty, great for exploring.

134704215-L.jpg

I have a thing for old rusted farm implements. I feel sorry for them.

134704446-L.jpg

I got lost a couple of times and had to back track or ask directions, that was half the experience.

It wouldn't be exploring if you knew the way all the time.

Regter egter Boere folk all the way. You can get to the pass via Heidleberg but from Suurbrak it is way more picturesque going the back roads of gravel.

134704598-L.jpg

134704719-L.jpg

134705156-L.jpg

The turn off for Gysmanspas can easily be missed. The road once you get onto it becomes just a double track but easily doable. It leads you through lush valleys and really is worth the meander.

134705459-L.jpg

134705639-L.jpg

134705788-L.jpg

134705909-L.jpg

135409648-L.jpg

Then unexpectedly you pop over the top of the pass and are greeted with the sprawling Karoo.

135409763-L.jpg

135409852-L.jpg

135409553-L.jpg

There are some of houses that could tell a tale I am sure, but long deserted and falling apart.

135409930-L.jpg

The road to Barrydale is typical Karoo gravel, really good fun.

135410019-L.jpg

135410093-L.jpg

Once in BarrydaleI had to stop for some road snacks.

135410168-L.jpg

135410311-L.jpg

Going through the Montague pass at sunset was beautiful.

The photo's though are taken on the move as getting home before dark was going to be tough.

135410432-L.jpg

135410505-L.jpg

Riding right into the sun created the 27584th use for duct tape

135410610-L.jpg

Once the sun was down it was majestic riding towards Worster and Dutoits Kloof

135410677-L.jpg

Chasing the sun called for some low flying. (edited for our sensitive viewers)

135410790-L.jpg

Through the tunnel and cruise home.

135410760-L.jpg

Close to 500k's for the day.

Very nice! I like the pics of the old houses and stuff! :thumbleft:

However, this one is just the puppies danglys!:

135410311-L.jpg

drool.gif

Great place Suurbraak - one of my favourite places. There are three roads to suurbraak from the N2 - take the middle one - gravel and ends beautifully at the top of the village - well worth the trip 8)

And that VIEW as you go over the top of Gysmans - ah! man!

Now that's just cruel! First you post the lovely pics of your trip and then to add insult to injury you post pics of your dro�«wors and biltong. Eish!! :p

Great pics. Droe wors I can manage but how do you eat biltong while riding? :twisted:

Stephan Posted:

Great pics. Droe wors I can manage but how do you eat biltong while riding?

When you stop for a photo. That's why you need to take lots of photo's... and biltong.

boetie. tell me you were 212 while taking fotos :shock:

such a lekker place to ride...
but for the life of me, i cant find it on my map...

you say it can also be approached from heidelberg? i take it you mean north and all i find there is the tradouw pass :scratch: :dontknow:

Google Earth.... just cut and paste the numbers into the search window and it should take you straight there.

"Suurbrak"
-34.0046829873, 20.6541330602

"First turn"
-34.0266152905, 20.8134795986

"River Crossing"
-33.9904150926, 20.8645344711

"Gysmanspas Turnoff"
-34.0328162667, 20.9568771991

"Top of pass"
-33.9323723531, 21.0722250108

Lito said:

I hope he was doing 212 else i would hate to know what gear gives you 12kph at 8500 revs. :shock: :?

Great pics K. Those are some great looking roads.

X Banana Boy said:
Lito said:

I hope he was doing 212 else i would hate to know what gear gives you 12kph at 8500 revs. :shock: :?

Great pics K. Those are some great looking roads.

2nd gear = 112km maybe?

Nice one there!
Very very pretty pics, very pretty places. Suurbraak is like Rivendell in Lord of the Rings - it just has this mystical quality to it.

Just something I picked up - You said you rode through the Montague Pass. Montague pass is near George.
That would actually be Kogmanskloof , between Montagu and Ashton.
I grew up in Montagu, thats why I picked it up. :p

Very good trip report, I want to have your job. Let me know if there's a vacancy, ok? :D

Eggcellent report! :cheers: Makes me want to go home early and dust off the bike.

out of pure jealousy, i try not to post on these 'the work made me do it' ride reports :D but damn, that is beautiful country!

This report is just another example of the benefits of this forum. I would never have known about this pass had it not been for this report. Any good suggestions for accommodation (camping / backpackers) nearby?