Maiden 3500km ride by a maiden

Well done.  :thumleft:

Now, do you think you can teach Hoofseun some writing tricks?  :peepwall:

Lekker report and even better :thumleft: ride you guys did.
Well done, I thought buying a bigger bike was what I need but you just proved me wrong!

Ryperd said:
Well done.  :thumleft:

Now, do you think you can teach Hoofseun some writing tricks?  :peepwall:

That will not be easy as I are a bit short of memory to keep track of so many things all at once, what did you say again she must do??

Wow! A nice report of nice people doing something very nice together  :thumleft:

Having a daughter myself, I dream of doing something similar one day...

Here goes my little bit to add to the experience …....

Firstly … the mushy stuff …

Hoofseun – YOU are ONE in a million !!!  :thumleft:
Thank you for getting our bikes ride-ready with lekker new tyres & prepping Sammy’s bike for the long ride.  Then for having the guts to take both us girls on an adventure of a lifetime !!! And most importantly ... for being my best friend & hubby :love2:.

Racing Chic – YOU are a daughter any mom (parent) can be proud of !!! :thumright:
Your perseverance & determination far outdid my expectations.  You rode so well & your confidence grew in leaps & bounds.  You took on some pretty hairy “township” riding and when your wheel hit that gravel there was no stopping you. You almost left me behind !!!  Well done, I will do a trip with you again ANYTIME !!!  :3some:

Ok, ok, ok …. that was the mushy stuff, it had to be said …

Now for some creepy stuff...

Picture this … lekker braai with your buddies, tummy full, it’s getting chilly so time to snuggle up into your sleeping bag. Lying on your side you pull your sleeping bag up to your cheek.  Suddenly you get that  “Oh ***”  did something just go into my ear feeling?  :eek:

Oh yeah … I lay there thinking, did something really go in or was it my imagination?  I turned over & shook my head, wiggled my ear & then kinda rubbed it, (like when you are trying to get water out after a swim)  Nothing, so I lay down again & thought it must have been my imagination.  I tried to fall asleep.

About half an hour later I started fiddling with my ear again, then I tried my little fingernail, then I got up & got an ear bud. Aaaagggg … WRONG MOVE ….. that just pushed it in further.  I started to freak out … :blob8: hubby woke up and asked what was wrong.  This thing was now bubbling deep down inside my ear. I didn’t know what it was or what it was trying to do (seen too many creepy horror movies). 

Luckily Johan is level headed & asked me for ear drops …I didn’t have, only eye drops ….Yes, that will do …  I lay down & he drowned my ear … wooooosh …. out came the little beetle …..  Aaaaaggghhhh CREEPY … I didn’t sleep the rest of the night and had a hollow sound in my ear for most of the next day.

Ok lesson learnt … if something climbs into your ear … drown it, don’t try to “dig” it out … :nono:

As for the rest of the trip ... AWESOME, AWESOME, AWESOME .... I am so blessed to have such a wonderful family & friends !

Most excellent RR there!
One to make any envious.  :biggrin:
First one? Well done!  :thumleft:

Lovely RR "Racing chic" I had a good time viewing the pictures and reading it. You certainly going to be a good writer of future ride reports if this is anything to go by! Hope to see more rides in the future!
Up to you all as a family, well done

Luckily we were forced to ride the mud in Transkei ... now it's not so scary anymore ... as Sammy often says "I can do this" ...

Fantastic. Seeing those pics brings back memories for an old Oos Kaaper! I drove many of those roads, but in a cage.

Those muddy roads are on Ecca shales. The clay becomes slick like grease when wet. One time I was in a valley in a 4x4 for work. It started to rain. Even in 4x4 it was impossible to move. you just slide. Had to winch the bakkie up the slope tree by tree, wedging rocks behind the tyres! Just walking up the slope was using all 4s.

What a great family trip. Would love to do it with my kids.

I really enjoyed reading that.
It's great in these times to see a family doing stuff like that together with such obvious affection for each other.

Well done Hoofseun & Puddles & Racing Chick.

great ride, story and pics.

8) 8) 8). . .sooo glad you all enjoyed!!!

it was an amazing experience. will definately do it again  :thumleft: :thumleft:. . .

P.S--you can do anything you put your mind to!!  :p

Very nice to read.  Nice story & photo's.

Thanks for sharing!!

:3some: Definetly a epic journey across the country by a family unit.
Excellent photography and write-up.
Keep those wheels safely spinning.