Nam the Two Dinosaurs and the Twins
The Twins do Namibia together.
So it has come to that time again for me to get the old cob webs off of my “old Boney” and to check her out and to “Gooi” on new tyres and tubes and all of the “Gooites” a Ou must do before a Ou goes on a long trip again.
Now Ian has decided that seeing that my “Boney” is so “Mooi” and strong and all of the other “Gooites” that an Africa Twin is. Like I mean it can “Sommer” stand out in the sun and it doesn't need coffee “vroeg” in the morning to get started and such that he “sommer” went and bought himself the new African Twin. Skim he was “Moerse” Jealous because as we all know, The AT’s is “moerse lekker” bikes.
Now he had to “Gooi” on all of the extra “Gooites” a Ou has to “Gooi” on his “Boney” to go ride the sand monsters out there. (Shame)
Shame I thinks my “Boney” is gonna miss its Pel the “Moerse” strong Yamaha (Super Tenerro) of his, as these two “Boneys” have done some good mileage together and taken us to some interesting places these last couple of years.
So all the Prep is done, our route is planned and we is waiting D Day to come.
Our route.
Leave home on the 7th October and to be back home on the 30th October
Now once again we had to meet up again somewhere so we decided in Sutherland, from there we would “Gooi” a “Draai” down to Klein see up too Port Nolloth up to the Nam Border, cross with the ferry, Cruise to fish river canyon , Ride some major D roads and like ride some “Lekker” remote “Possies all the way up to Brand Berg (White Lady Lodge) and then slowly work our way back down again to Aus and then cross over to Rietfontein Border and do some more “Lekker” riding in the Kalahari, find the all alooooosif (Noonieput) whilst slowly cruising down to Upington whereby we would once again split up and go different routes to get back home.
Now as all of the “Lekker” trips planning is done, and all of these “Lekker” rides a Ou reads about, a “Ou”“Sommer” gets”Lekker lus” to ride “Sommer” right away, but “Nooit” we has to wait for the time to come.
Day 1: Pretoria to Klerksdorp
240km Takes me 3hours to get there.
It’s here 7th of October so I’m off to Klerksdorp to my Daughter and Tappets Possie. Now here the shit starts. On my way down I notice that the clutch has decided to slip a bit in 4th and 5th gear at high revs. I wonder if it could be the oil I “Gooied” in as its Shell 20w50, well I schemes to myself that that is what it must be as my “Boney” was all ok before then.
So I gets to Klerksdorp at the “plaas” of the Rug Rats and “Groet” them and then it’s off to go buy some other “OLIE” 10w40.
Now I drains de Oil and whist having a cold one or two because as you “Ous” no I “Sommer” like my cold ones and any way a “Ou” has to make sure all of the “OLIE” has to drain out.
Now I “Gooies” in the new oil and I take the “Moerse strong Boney” of mine for a ride hoping that it was the oil. 10km out and 10km back so that the “Olie” can like do its job and make the “Boney” feel all better again. I know if I have lotsa cold ones over a period “I also feel “Sommer” lots better”
Shit, nope it’s still slipping, no matter I decide how many cold ones I have it aint gonna make this problem go away.
So I “Gooies” my old AT on its center stand and does proceed to take off the clutch cover to check out why my “Boney” is feeling not so “Lekker”
Now I does find out why. Bloody steel plates are a wee bit bluish, so now I quickly “Goois” a “Draai” at the Honda agents, Now I don’t no if the “Ou” who orders the parts for our “Boneys” is not so “Lekker” or not or if he worked at selling car spares because they only have 2 steel plates and 1 friction plate in stock and he somehow schemes to supply all of us “Ous” with that. (The bike takes 6 steel and 7 friction plates) So any way I tunes the “Mooi Auntie Teressa” to order them for me, whilst I go on a quest to find some second hand ones. The Gods are smiling “Dik Stukke” at me for I find 5 steel plates at Central Bikes for my “Boney” Johaan the co owner of the "Possie "Sommer" gives me a "Moerse Gooii Prys" Dam man now that's " Sommer Moerse Lekker" service. Now just to wait for the others to arrive and then we can continue on our trip.
The parts arrive on the Monday 10th
We is running now a few days late, so we has to change our route.
Now I’m “Sommer” in a “moerse” hurry to get my “Boney” going that I don’t check what I’m doing and manage to F……. up the bloody pressure plates arms which holds the hole clutch together. Yip Honda aint got one in stock.
So now I’m in the “Kak” as nowhere has any one got one in stock and it’s gonna take 3 weeks to get me one from Honda. So I schemes to myself Whilst drowning my sorrows with a cold one that Yip this trip is over before it has started, but just then as the second cold one touches my contemplating thingy in my body I has this brilliant idea and I “Gooies” (Mike) “Super Foxy” a call and strews “Nannies” he can help a fellow biker out with the Pressure Plate.
So as the Gods are once again smiling at me we now just have to make a plan to get it from Cape Town to Klerksdorp. Whilst I’m having another cold one and contemplating this problem. Ian phones me and tunes me that he is in Cape Town with his missus. Now all the bells are ringing in my head as dam man the Gods are now really smiling at me as ”Yip” Ian and Mike will “Gooi” there “Koppe” together and make a plan to get the part to me.
Now who comes to the rescue you ask? Chris from Zebra Flying Brick, who managed to get the part to me in two days (Couriered it to me) Dam love this site. So many good people on it willing to go that extra mile for a “Ou”, and to top it all he phoned me to make sure I got the parcel.
So now I’m a bit “Skikerag” so I have “Sommer” organized with Honda agents “Motos” to “Gooi” all the clutch parts together and to make my beloved ”Boney” all better again.
So now whilst I was like patiently waiting for my parts to come I heard that there was like lotsa Dinosaurs in Klerksdorp, so I took the Rug Rats and went to check them out.
The rug Rats born again.
Riding a Dinosaur.
Pretty cool hey.
And then the bloody thing attacks me without warning.
Lucky for me Peanut was there and told him of.
See all of us “Ous” was there.
Bike all fixed and I’m ready to take to the roads.
Day 1 again: Klerksdorp to Upington 650km away.
Takes me 9 hours to get there.
We have lost a week so far, today is the 13th, so a lot of planning had to be changed, I will meet up with Ian in Upington.
He has left 2days ago.
Stop to draw some cash for along the road.
Peanut is not a happy “Oukie” as he doesn't want me to go as we was having a “Moerse “Lekker” time “jaaging “”kak” on together He he.
Along route “Alles is lekker”, stop to “Gooi” in some petrol.
And then 52km outside of Kuruman a bloody puncture.
A tube blow out. A hole in it that I can put my fingers into. The tube is 6mm thick.
Now I had new tyres fitted and the chap who was working on the bike removed the inner rim tape (rubber) and put “Duct Tape” in its place after I tuned him not too. This came back to haunt me later on in the trip. Had to replace the tube as the spokes had perished it.
Kuruman and it’s getting late, I quickly “Sluk” a cold one and “Vamoos” to Upington.
Bit of petrol in Katoo and take a photo of this monster as I’m having a break.
Reach Upington and meet up with Ian who awaits me with a “Cold One”
Dam what a good buddy.
The Two twins finally meet each other, I can “Sommer” feel some tension in the air between them. He he
We have us a “Lekker Skaap” braai and drink some cold ones and chat about all of the “Kak” I had to get here.
And then it was time to catch up on those Zzzzz’s