Namibia 2017

LMG

My two weeks of lecturing at the University of Namibia was coming up and, as I have done the last couple of years, it was time to prepare the bike for another Namibian visit.

Since she is good to go at a moment’s notice, it was pretty much a case of replacing the tyres to have Mitas EO7s for the Namibian gravel roads, making sure my insurance is in place and decide on the route.

I have three days from Langebaan to Windhoek, leaving early on the Friday morning to be in Windhoek on Sunday afternoon.

The last two or three years I have done the eastern side of Southern Namibia via Onseepkans or Rietfontein, Karasburg, Aroab, Koës. Gochas, Stampriet, Uhlenhorst and Dordabis.  That was deliberately done to avoid the normal tourist route. And the roads are good!

Thus, for a change, I decided to do the western route.

The plan was to run as quickly as possible to the Border on Friday.  Sleep over at Noordoewer and then to explore from there.

Thus my route for Friday was tar all the way to the border post!

Kissing the family goodbye, I was on the road at around 0900.

Typical West Coast Weather; cool and foggy.

35329449113_7173d84c93_b.jpg

36096431646_436f8f700d_b.jpg

Spectacular views of a perfect day in Velddrif (i.e. Vellerif)

35745554190_6ae5412642_b.jpg

Near Elandsbay I stopped at a guy who was standing next to the road.  He had a blow-out on his rear tyre and not long after that a second flat tyre.  What a way for a weekend to begin!

36003293791_21490896dd_b.jpg

35745526770_46b982aa13_b.jpg

At least, the views were good.

36137601475_09bdab5953_b.jpg

With Elandsbay cover in fog.

36137586995_b37648c8cf_b.jpg

And so is Clanwilliam.

35745502370_b7bf53606b_b.jpg

You might want to, ahem, try a different image host.  :-[

OK Gatvol gesukkel.

Maar nou het ek hom gekry!

westfrogger said:
You might want to, ahem, try a different image host.  :-[

mm.... thats for sure.....look fwd to the rest

At the Klawer Bridge I was stopped in my tracks.  An hour delay whilst they moved and shifted stuff on the bridge.  And as luck would have it, they then allowed the other side of the bridge the honour to move first!

35745472250_3517664877_b.jpg

36137563455_6882ba1a07_b.jpg

36003199481_aeeb76cbff_b.jpg

I had to stop at the Engen Garage@Klawer for fuel and breakfast.  I popped into an old sapper and good friend Col (ret) Koos Nieuwoudt & his family.  Thus, we had breakfast together.  Just people with a positive attitude and a lekker kuier.  Whilst eating breakfast I was called for an interview on CII world radio about an article that I wrote for The Conversation the previous day - https://theconversation.com/money-has-little-to-do-with-why-south-africas-military-is-failing-to-do-its-job-81216.

In the process I forgot to take any photos! 

It was around 13h00 when I, at last, left Klawer.

I had a straight and narrow white line run for Springbok.

Popped into Springbok for something for a hell of a headache at the pharmacy, to draw money as backup cash for fuel in Namibia, and something for both myself and the GSA to drink.

They are in the process of building a moerse mall in Springbok.  I simply do not understand South Africans’ infatuation with malls.  It is amazing.  Not even in the States will you find this kind of thing in a small town like Springbok.

35296495374_390bff5d10_b.jpg

Back on the road and on my way to the borderpost.

35296486864_9be3a85ee8_b.jpg

35329278063_4cb74fd9d3_b.jpg

35967126482_91557b9bdb_b.jpg

As always, the old lady succeeded in drawing the attention of the (German) crowd.

35967113402_a7c75ea7d2_b.jpg

I booked into the nearest guest house and, with the sun setting in the east, I enjoyed my first Windhoek and, later, steak of the trip.  Although on tar, it was a good day of riding.

35329209283_0bde383005_b.jpg

36003098691_cc5c9634a5_b.jpg

One of the things that I noticed from early that morning was the huge number of utility vehicles with bush caravans and all kinds of sleepwaentjies on the N7.  It was the last weekend of the school holidays and most of them were on their way from Namibia.  Arriving at the border post, it was quite obvious that some of them must have spent quite a substantial amount of time at the border post.  The next day it was even worst. Keep in mind, this is only the people from the Western Cape – I wondered how many South Africans visited Namibia over a June/July school break.  It must be thousands. 

Saturday morning saw me leaving Noordoewer quite early. 

35967087712_8549e46cde_b.jpg

My route was initially planned for Assenkehr, Hobas to Seeheim.  After a re-appreciation I decided to run in the direction of Grunau and then with the C12 to Seeheim.

Turning on to the C12 it was time to drop the air pressure in the tyres.  It was a lovely day for riding.

35329143523_2314941a1a_b.jpg

35329123213_9ae504df56_b.jpg

35967044702_eefe8b8f38_b.jpg

36137323825_bcfea9667f_b.jpg

36096112946_b3dc7761ba_b.jpg

Arriving at Seeheim, there was a short run on tar to Goageb.  I reckon that I’ll stop at the Hotel at Seeheim; they must have a place to pump tyres.  I saw a (black) guy at the hotel and, still sitting on my bike, asked him whether there is a place where I’ll be able to pump my tyres.  The next moment tis white guy shouted at me – “Don’t talk to my workers; talk to me”.  I was like – OK, not my style; we are not going to make it.  I just turn around and ride away. It will not be the end of the world if I ride this couple of kms with low tyre pressure.  twatwaffle!

36096091486_7e33a5ebd6_b.jpg

35966987092_b5598f649a_b.jpg

Then on to Bethanie.  I stopped in Bethanie for petrol.  It was Saturday and one of the guys that was awaiting my arrival has been under the prop since early the morning.  So he was telling me that he knows precisely how to receive ‘toeriste in Namibia’. 

I had to go and pay for the petrol inside the little shop with my card.  The shop owner asked me where I’m from.  It turn out that his brother is a good friend of mine staying in the same neighbourhood in Langebaan.  Small world! And I forgot to take a photo!

Back on the road – the C14 to Helmeringhausen. 

35296244174_63465b1ec5_b.jpg

35966952412_c878e80ce4_b.jpg

35296209904_5889f9cd99_b.jpg

Helmeringhausen is a busy place on a Saturday afternoon.  I stopped for an icecream!

35328929473_e2c4d67152_b.jpg

Turning right and staying on the C14 it was a 140 km run to Maltahohe.  Outstanding road, with the exception of the last 20 kms before you reached Maltahohe - from where the C19 turn into the C14.

35328896773_107c38ac89_b.jpg

36096000316_f6d4cc0aa2_b.jpg

I was booked into the Maltahohe hotel for the night.  Another good day of riding!

Lekker!!  As ek die suide se paaie so kyk, word ek sommer weer kriewelrig.

Nice...keep it coming, looking forward to more!

The owner of the Seeheim Hotel struck me as a bit weird, at least in the beginning. We stopped over in May to fill up, he provides petrol from canisters. He was somewhat quite stroppy initially, but then changed after we talked to him for a while and then gave us some pointers where to go etc.  I guess it's not easy staying there permanently and most people just going through, rather then staying over night. Why did you drop the tyre pressure?  :patch:  :pot: :ricky:

Ja I also HATE a mall, especially in towns where it kills off smaller shops and the general atmosphere of the town........... PURE EVIL

#MALLS MUST FALL..... :pot:

King Louis said:
Nice...keep it coming, looking forward to more!

The owner of the Seeheim Hotel struck me as a bit weird, at least in the beginning. We stopped over in May to fill up, he provides petrol from canisters. He was somewhat quite stroppy initially, but then changed after we talked to him for a while and then gave us some pointers where to go etc.  I guess it's not easy staying there permanently and most people just going through, rather then staying over night. Why did you drop the tyre pressure?  :patch:  :pot: :ricky:

The Hotel is under new management.  Really enjoyed the sleepover and the kuier in the hotel.

Tyre pressure - gravel road.  Do I need to say more?

Roxtar said:
Ja I also HATE a mall, especially in towns where it kills off smaller shops and the general atmosphere of the town........... PURE EVIL

#MALLS MUST FALL..... :pot:

Ya, I hate how these kind of monstrosities are destroying the heart of our towns.  Look at the Spar in Clanwilliam as an example of how a building can destroy the heart of a town.