Namibia Again!!!

Chrisl

Teelhond
WD Vendor
For weeks now I have this itch to get on my bike and ride and ride  until its time to head home again. To be alone on the road and speak to people when I feel like it. I thought if I do this RR the itch would be less. What a fool I was!! I NEED TO RIDE!!
P1000498.jpg

Packed and ready to leave.
P1000499.jpg

Snow at Worcester. If the snow looks like this....
P1000500.jpg

The Clanwilliamdam looks like this. And if the dam looks like this downstream looks like this!!!
Winefarms at Lutzville my first stop.
P1000503.jpg

P1000504.jpg

P1000505.jpg

The next day I just rode to the border as fast I could. Have done it so many times by bike and truck but its never boring. I was lucky. The flowers were good.
P1000507.jpg

P1000510.jpg

More Orange than that you wont get!! You wont even spot a KTM in that field!!
P1000511.jpg

The bordercrossing at Vioolsdrift was fast as allways. Turned of the tar to have a look at Warmbad. Not much Im afraid.
P1000512.jpg

P1000513.jpg

P1000514.jpg

Kept going to Karasburg. No campingsite! Stayed over at the schoolprincipals rooms in his backyard. Really nice for R150.00.

To be continued.....

Augustus 2007. Ja ek weet dis n ou trip. Hier is soveel fotos en ek het nou eers uitgevind hoe om n RR te doen. Ek en die rekenaar is nie beste vriende!

Dis lekke om so trug te kyk na wat mens gedoen het in die lewe al.  :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft: Jy kan maar al jou RR's nou doen!!

Thanks  :thumleft:

Cool stuff.

I love Namibia trip reports! It is DS riding heaven.

Post away, I'll go grab a few beers and get comfortable.

That 2nd drowned vineyard pic in Lutzville:

About 20 years ago I swam/ waded from that exact spot about 100m into the vineyards to rescue a cat stuck there on a pole.
Poor thing was so distraught - that day I witnessed how a cat can run on water!

P1000517.jpg

Next morning I woke up to a pictureperfect day. Not a breath of wind. Filled up and took the C11 to Aroab. Turned of left on the D259. Have allways wanted to see the Karasberg area. It was a good choice. Small quiet road. A few gates with 2 or 3 sandy rivercrossings. Very few farms.
P1000518.jpg

P1000519.jpg

P1000520.jpg

P1000522.jpg

P1000530.jpg

P1000531.jpg

P1000532.jpg

P1000524.jpg

When seeing old farmhouses like these I allways try and imagine how life must have
been in those early days. No bakkies, long distances from towns with horse and cart.
They must have been tougher that us.
P1000533.jpg

Joined with the another road that also goes to Aroab. My map says just go strait on,
but there is nothing strait on. So I turned right because left goes to tar. Twelve kms
later the D611 turns left!! At that point someone ordered the Easterly wind to be switched
on! A mother of a wind. I battled with it all the way to Koes. It would blow you out of the track
over the "middelmannetjie" ( is there a english word for this someone?) into the next spoor.
All day long. Camped behind the hotel at Koes. The next morning at 5 the wind woke me
up. With a heavy heart I took the road to Shirley, Witbooisvlei and Mariental. Wind was even
worse on tar to Windhoek. Must have worn through my tyres on the righthandside.
P1000534.jpg

Finally at Arrebusch lodge. Spent the next day going around all the bikedealers in town.
Handing out brochures and talking about our accessories.
Also seeing all the bikes arriving for the biggest rally in Namibia. Met some nice people all
the way from the Vrystaat who rode through Botswana to attend. Saturdaymorning woken
up by the screaming of one or other 4 sil roadbike. Jip rally is in town!!!
P1000548.jpg

P1000554.jpg

Mass ride ended at the racetrack. Man these Namibians love speed!! Dragraces were done
the rest of the afternoon. Sadly very few DS bikes. Its all about straitline speed.
P1000545.jpg

Had to go and eat meat at Joes Beerhouse. Couple on the right on two 1200GSes all the way from
Bloem. A year later I heard that he had died while riding.It was a good evening with good company
and food.
P1000560.jpg

Builders Warehouse ala Windhoek style.
P1000561.jpg

Met Michael at the rally. We decided to ride together to Otjiwarongo were he
lives. Stunning morning up to Okahandja and then the oke on duty with the
Easterly wind switch were up to his tricks again! We were punished all the wat to OT.
P1000562.jpg

Michael and his wife Gabi. To Germans that had enough of Germany. Bought the little
farm outside OT. They have a onestop painshop on a farm. How cool is that! He makes
teeth and she is a dentist. Yes they have a dentistery in the bush.
P1000571.jpg

Late afternoon I left for Outjo. Campsite just outside town.
P1000570.jpg

My company for the evening. Not because of my sparkling personallity.
I had biltong and droewors. He slept in my tent the whole night!!

To be continued. I think Ill go ride a bit now. I have an itch!!

Mooi so Chris , keep em coming!ps... Daai heated grips het soos 'n droom gewerk die naweek in die karoo!

P1000575.jpg

Early morning and Im on my way to Kamanjab. Fill and then to Opuwo.
P1000577.jpg

This road is so white it hurts the eyes. Lot of roadworks. Busy tarring all the
way to Opuwo.
P1000579.jpg

Frenchmans campsite in town. My second time here. Nothing has changed.
Got here early but decided to stay for the night.
P1000581.jpg

On the way to Epupa Falls.
P1000583.jpg

I think they only bury important people like this.
P1000586.jpg

P1000592.jpg

The campsite at Epupa Falls. All you hear the whole time is the thunder of the falls.
I only stayed one night. One has to explore on foot. Lots of trails along the river.
Walking not my strong point so I took pics closeby. Took lots of pics here and just
sat and watched. Will just add a few pics.
P1000598.jpg

P1000601.jpg

P1000624.jpg

P1000634.jpg

P1000608.jpg

P1000610.jpg

P1000604.jpg

P1000639.jpg

This is how close I was to the water.
P1000625.jpg

P1000629.jpg

P1000644.jpg

P1000645.jpg

Next morning on the way out I rode up to the viewpoint. Sat there for a while.
P1000647.jpg

It was dry in August like it allways is.
P1000648.jpg

It is a hard live living here.
P1000588.jpg

Went back to Opuwo and took D3704 to Sesfontein.
P1000653.jpg

They tarred this little section of the road because of the steep gradient up and down.
P1000655.jpg

This is why they call  this area the White Desert.
P1000663.jpg

Like all bikers before me I had to take a pic infront of the Sesfontein Fort.

Will finish tomorrow.

stunning  ride and pics  :thumleft: I am dying to do Namibia  :)
thanks for sharing...

Very nice!!! :thumleft: I will get there one day too... :)