Of Forests and Fast Cars.

Carnivore

BMW F800GS
“Say, Babe…” I said, tentatively.., “How about nipping up into the Longmore Forest tomorrow to watch some of the stages.. the Algoa Rally..?)

Bated breath… “Ok… as long as it’s not foul weather..” says my Honey.

(Now, contrary to popular belief, I cannot control the weather..!) But I said that it seemed like good weather for the weekend…

So, 7am Saturday the 11th July, and we mount up, with a small pack containing two rainsuits (just in case…!) two flasks of coffee (one milky, and one not) and some sarmies and harboylex inna tinfoil.
P7110002.jpg

And so, with the help of some waypoints courtesy of the EP Herald newspaper supplement, and my friend Google Earth, a track was duly loaded last night in readiness. We were up on top the berg at 8:20 am, waiting for the first car through at 9:02..and we were not disappointed. I am not an avid motorsport fan, but do love the adventure of me and mommy getting out in to the countryside, and especially on the Horse. As you might know by now, I am   s…l…o…w…l…y… training my wifey in the ways of bike touring. (Don’t say a word…OK?)

Settling down for a cuppa…
P7110003.jpg

And an egg…
P7110004.jpg

Good crowd turnout. The VW pro crews handed out green caps and green umbrellas… while stocks last. (We got some!)
P7110006.jpg

P7110007.jpg

Hendrik Verwoerd of SABS TV fame was the voice behind the PA. His usual professional style – he really is good
P7110008.jpg

Some action shots, with a point-and-shoot Olympus. It’s tricky to get the shot right, because of the delay between pressing the button and the image getting captured.
P7110010.jpg

Soooryy… but I can not laaik to know whose who in these shots..! All I can say is, the front runners are fast… VERY fast. The ripping, snarling of those motors, echoing off the hills, as two and three cars are all in ear shot, is brilliant to hear.
P7110011.jpg

P7110012.jpg

P7110013.jpg

P7110014.jpg

P7110015.jpg

P7110016.jpg

P7110018.jpg

P7110021.jpg

P7110022.jpg

P7110023.jpg

P7110025.jpg

So, after a time at point F we backtracked to point E, where we could see stage 9 from that side…. And the end of the stage from the other side. Brilliant vantage point…

Well, “all good things…” as they say in the classics.. and we were on our way home. We took a scenic ride down the old Van Stadens Pass (the flood damage and upgrade is now complete) and had a friendly chap take a pitcher of us. That bridge still amazes us.. a truly brilliant engineering feat.
P7110027.jpg

Popped in to Falcon Rock for lunch. Usually, I look at the menu, and end up with a steak anyway… but today, I had a Moroccan Lamb Shank… good grief! What a succulent tender tasty lump of fall-off-the-bone vleis… Really, PE dawgs… you gotta try it!
P7110028.jpg

Sorry, no pic of the meal… I polished it off very fast!

>Edit.. see reply #21<

This is us!
P7110031.jpg

P7110033.jpg

And so, on to say a quick “Hi, howzit” to my Mom and Dad, we were off to Kings Beach parking area for the last stage. Some drivers really battled to keep it fluid, some were brilliant at keeping it tight and fast, and others were really ragged!
P7110035.jpg

P7110038.jpg

P7110040.jpg

P7110043.jpg

P7110048.jpg

P7110051.jpg

P7110055.jpg

P7110057.jpg

Horse enjoyed a few admiring glances from passers-by, as he chatted about his latest exploits with some other admirers of a lesser ilk. (I could see that they were pretty chuffed at the opportunity to share some tarmac with the wily old warhorse!)
P7110039.jpg

And, so, another Saturday in my life, gone, never to be repaeated.. and I had an amazing time! Thanks, Babe, for joining me.

Bye..!

Great pics.... thanks for sharing

I can see you really love riding with your wife... :thumleft:

Oh ja and i've had the lamb shank..... fantastic...  :drif:

Lekker :thumleft: Thanks for sharing :)

Seriaaas headlights you got there :eek: Must work a treat ;D

Carnivore, thanx for the RR. It brings back a lot of memories, good and bad unfortunately :) . I did four Rallies in PE and three of those through Longmore. The year we did not go through Longmore, it was considered to be to dry and therefor a huge fire risk.

I actually had a chat to Bakkies at the EC bash about the accessability of those forest stages. It was and probably still is, the best rally stages in the country.

Good to see that VW took the top 3 spots!

I also made a turn

• IMG_2201.jpg
    IMG_2201.jpg
    62.7 KB
  • IMG_2205.jpg
    IMG_2205.jpg
    63 KB
  • IMG_2208.jpg
    IMG_2208.jpg
    61.8 KB
Some Battle scars in one of the stages

• IMG_2202.jpg
    IMG_2202.jpg
    104.6 KB
  • IMG_2203.jpg
    IMG_2203.jpg
    102.7 KB
Time for coffee

• IMG_2215.jpg
    IMG_2215.jpg
    98.5 KB
This was the last stage in the Forest and was extremely fast

• IMG_2216.jpg
    IMG_2216.jpg
    55.2 KB
  • IMG_2218.jpg
    IMG_2218.jpg
    79.4 KB
That was interesting.

Hey Michnus, did you see the 2 photos of Citi Golfs doing this rally?

great pics thanks.  I remember watching Sarel driving his Golf around Durban.  Eish he was fast.