Our Story of the Honda Quest 2017

The Marienfluss offers a very different challenge to riders of big cc adventure bikes. Very loose sand and narrow tracks, especially if you and your teammate are riding shoulder to shoulder. We were now heading towards the Orupembe area. I was driving behind the convoy and at some stage I became worried that Kamanya was pulling amps. He was riding next to Philip (Gryph) and it seemed as he was finding it difficult to keep his lines. From the looks of it he was losing concentration and was wandering of the track into the road sidewall and the very thick loose sand next to the road. Knowing Kamanya's skills in the sand I found it strange to see him riding like a normal person would.

Luckily John and Christoffel stopped the group at the infamous pick-up that was destroyed by a landmine for some pics, and I had the opportunity to ask Gryph if he could see whether Kamanya was tired.

"Not at all he answered - He is coaching me on the correct lines on the go. Whenever he feels there is only space for one, he takes the suicide line".

It was good to see this happening in this team, and from that point onwards Gryph became a really good sand rider. - Special stuff.

Grant Pentalow (McSack) was also taking strain and I felt that he was over challenging himself, trying to keep up with Throttle Jockey.
At the next stop I asked Grant if him and I could go out, ahead of the group in order for him to ride at his own pace, to regain his confidence. He agreed and we set of for what I believe was the emancipation of McSack. About five km's after we took of, Hinksding joined in and the two of them rode together as if they have been riding together forever.
Christoffel (Hingsding) does have a special approach with people and it was evident in the way he worked with Grant. For the first time it looked as if Grant was comfortable and as if he was enjoying it.

We stopped at Rooidrom to wait for the group, and they arrived shortly thereafter.
For those of you that does not know of Rooidrom - It is the middle point of the Kaokoland and I know not of one rider that ever attempted this barren landscape, that failed to take a picture next to this famous landmark.

I wanted to get to camp to make sure all is well and ready for the group, so Chantal and myself set of before the group did. We still had to go through the very rocky Rooidrom Pass.
I warned John and Christoffel about the threat of this very long climb before I left.

About 5 km before I drove into Marble Camp, Tau's voice shouted over the radio "Grant went through Rooidrom Pass like a Rock Star (excuse the pun).
I remember that I was immensely happy.

About 30 minutes later I heard John and Christoffel calling me over the radio announcing "we are bringing them in"
It is a sight to behold seeing 22 tired but happy riders crossing the riverbed just below the camp to ride into the camp like Kings..

Keep it coming - enthralling RR and  great additional commentary, Hardy  :thumleft:

1 Very experienced miniature Yorkshire Terrier

Kan nie glo daai kind lewe nog nie!! :eek7: :thumleft:

ChrisL - DUSTRIDERS said:

As Hardy says to comments like this "Jy sal hardloop boeta" !

I am still peeved that the AT was not voted BOTY a year or two ago, makes me doubt the tech ability and comprehension of most journo's lol....... :biggrin:

As testimony bears witness, the DCT is an amazing piece of kit and until you have experienced it you will be sceptical (like I was)........ it is the future imo  :thumleft:

Roxtar said:
I am still peeved that the AT was not voted BOTY a year or two ago, makes me doubt the tech ability and comprehension of most journo's lol....... :biggrin:

As testimony bears witness, the DCT is an amazing piece of kit and until you have experienced it you will be sceptical (like I was)........ it is the future imo  :thumleft:

I 100% agree with you. The DCT really comes into it's own once you take it (proper) off-roading!

Hingsding and a couple of the contestants went to the old Marble mine later that afternoon, as the others all found refuge under the massive Mopane trees, next to the riverbed. It was special seeing the way in which each contestant dealt with the obstacles that came their way that day.

That evening I saw a few beers and more than one bottle of rum changing lanes.
It was also at this camp where EXIT, the local Himba manager gave me Max the Panda's letter and pointed me towards the camp office, where I found the stranded 690, waiting for a lift back to Windhoek.

Fantastic day this was.

Day 6 Van Zyls to Marble Camp

The most daunting day of the trip  arrived. There was a different kind of nervousness at camp that morning. Almost a weird silence.

That all seemed to have disappeared as the engines started up and the dust started to fill the air as we got going.

Even before we got to the actual step on Van Zyls the going was tough and we needed to help each other.  Let’s just say it was harder work than most Monday mornings in the office.

c3c419b7ecbebc8bd1cde67feec46baa.jpg

Nismark and Kamanya was in fine form. By now everyone knows that Kamanya is a very capable bike rider. Well let me confirm something else - so is Nismark. He is one of those guys who quietly goes about his business and let his riding do the talking.

9decc3f527efc4540bbb0cc22c48a58b.jpg

45df6ae89a325870f59210004cfa981e.jpg

All who got down the first section had to go back up to help the rest. All hands on deck. Good practice for what was to follow.

91b7d6f3aabb7822395a502d3afcf3a7.jpg

62b32534e841fad50879f7f88571d8d8.jpg

Just before we got to the lookout with the most spectacular view we stopped to write our names at the first heap of memorial rocks.

ddf3417bdf66f08f8d8a210e719399ac.jpg

And there it was. The lookout. A place where one can easily sit in silence and hear yourself breath. A place where real life is but a distant thought and the views occupy all your being.

08a793a5b0638e6f03e881916cf60aa6.jpg

f92b1f3c7831c9ce229ed16e689061e1.jpg

9aab11729b35d65877e5dceb4dc1d8b6.jpg

5652b2e92bafdf7bfc7009f11a35325c.jpg

cc5393f174925c0381431899c1574b1e.jpg

We grabbed some much needed food and passed the communal bottle of drink-o-pop around while Hardy showed us where we are headed. Including the dreaded step.

40ddffb87845f3f3bf102c8ce29ffe25.jpg

f6447679fbd54073b448889daaad5f48.jpg

bebe7dfbacd7fdd0254dccca2af51264.jpg

Some was clearly more excited than others about what was up ahead.

db61e1be19ab072751d3bd6e65a93e79.jpg

dbc253fa693d1cf21742c383489b0c1f.jpg

And then it was time for action. But more on that and the end to this day later......

THROTTLE JOCKEY said:

I am amazed as that little dog is very very old. :deal:
Besides there is a  :thumleft: behind what I said.

THROTTLE JOCKEY said:

I am amazed as that little dog is very very old. :deal:
Besides there is a  :thumleft: behind what I said.

Ek weet Chris - Ag shame man, hy word nou oud en alles werk nie meer so lekker nie, maar hy is nog by ons, en gaan dus oral saam

ktmkobus said:
Day 6 - Van Zyl camp - Marble camp

I'll do my bit of writing the moment I get some time.  :thumleft:

By now the morning routine was running like a well-oiled machine. The breakfast team was exempt from packing up to take off a bit of pressure time wise. A chair was also becoming a luxury item by the time we got to eat. Tents, stretchers and chairs were packed, ready to load long in advance of the specified time.

This was THE day everyone was looking forward to, but also anxiously nervous of. The news of isiTututu’s broken leg has reached us and this was a reality check on the danger that still lay ahead.

Hardy also sent us the vertical alignment long before the event as fair warning of what to expect.

baeec77f2de80c24614d60ddd5fb8e2a.jpg

7587ebc1c3b7accb587631b7798a0847.jpg

We left Van Zyl’s camp the morning in high spirit and soon found that nothing was going to be easy this specific day. Like KarooKid mentioned, it was not long before we needed each other’s help getting the big bikes down a steep descent. I remember someone still asking at the bottom whether this was Van Zyl’s. [emoji1]

fecaa8feb6a287bbd04eaa81c9bd1384.jpg

The lookout point before Van Zyl’s is really nothing short of spectacular. Even KarooKid’s awesome pictures don’t do justice of what plays off in front of you. This was truly bucket list stuff and it was now getting ticked off on a daily basis. Hardy was talking us through the area that we could see in front of us and soon after we got some drone footage and pics, we were summoned to get going. We still had a long day ahead of us.

5d4db3a82a59a528c8ede53839c1c8f6.jpg

05c0833e2298cf89975afb9ff58aae91.jpg

The riding order was still arranged with us tall guys in the front. Just before Van Zyl’s John pulled us off the road and we walked down to assist the first guys with the descent. The majority of the crew was also there and everyone pitched in to make sure we have no damage to man and machine. Hinksding was the first man down, with very little assistance I have to add. Going down that last drop, hard on the brakes and sharp right my heart skipped a couple of beats on his behalf, but he was down safely.

And so, one after the other, every contestant had his/her turn, every time assisted by one more rider as they joined in after their bikes were parked. We were a rowdy bunch cheering and celebrating with every individual’s success.

8933ca8dc72e398e3b1cb83118bffa11.jpg

14c7c17796eb130b604e6a497f101d99.jpg

db579714cdcfcbb2643c986203b7b839.jpg

83342d535816f0d52f6a432b3a283c1e.jpg

b46c53a675661c01a6276e3412bdae53.jpg

During boot camp one of the exercises we did was to stop on a hill where the rest of the team members had to assist with the pull away and remaining ascent. I remember Hardy clearly telling us to calm the rider down and talk to him. All of a sudden this came back to us, only, this was no exercise, but the real deal.

Once Scalpel was down he assumed the role of tour guide. Everyone had to stop and he started his speech ……… “Wees rustig, ek is jou toergids ………” This was not only entertaining, but really helped the rider relax for a second, catch his breath and re-focus. Before realising it, John told me and Pieter to walk to our bikes, it was our turn. Pieter went in front of me and soon worked his way down. It was my turn. Being part of the assisting crew for the majority of riders, I was relaxed. It is such an awesome experience knowing that >20 people has your back. There is just no way they’re going to let anything happen to you. And all of a sudden you’re down, followed by a really strong feeling of achievement, pure magic!

To watch the vehicles come down that pass was as exciting as watching every rider. The Specialised Adventure crew makes it look so much easier than it is. Janco and Barend in that Iveco had our hearts in our throats! I know very few people that would have done what the two of them did that day!

And then we got going again – only to find that the next section was just as difficult and terrifying. The only difference was that this was not only 30 odd meters long, but a couple of kilometres. Continuous assistance were therefore impossible and everyone had to rely on assistance of the teams directly ahead and behind them. Being tall certainly had it’s advantages in this technical terrain.

Reaching the bottom of the descent we all stopped for a well-deserved rest and making sure we remain hydrated. Everyone of course signed their rock and placed it on the pile, a custom once down Van Zyl’s.

3f1aab42d91f7a4449a064d1e1ca0926.jpg

60660f39e08c44fc0f2a5999f4d03309.jpg

Van Zyl's Pass is the most notorious pass in Namibia. Located between two very steep mountain ranges in Namibia’s Marienfluss, it gets its name from the Dutch explorer who found the way across in the 1920’s with a few hundred Himba and a Model T Ford.

Van Zyl’s Pass, at an elevation of 948m (3,110ft) above the sea level, is found in the far northwest of the country, in Kaokoland. The only way to get there is via the D3703 district road through Okangwati. It’s a a classic extreme road, but not really a road, just a route made over the mountain by travellers over time. The outrageously steep pass itself is a pure adrenaline rush, but the lead-up route is 10-15km of tough driving, dodging its way through boulders, rocks, ravines and badlands. The descent from the top of the pass covers a distance of ten kilometres – but it will take you three to six hours to negotiate. “

Rest of the day to follow .........

e5fd165495e5006a93b629f1ddb48c98.jpg

And so we got going. First the bikes. One at a time with the rest of the participants helping.

Scalpel was doing a huge job in being everybody’s tour guide and helping us down.

53a006acea8f21f35301462b5d36a30b.jpg

And then we watched the support vehicles. Yes sure every crew member is a very capable driver, but Janco is on another level. Hardly breaking a sweat in that Iveco.

Ockie did not do to bad either and ran back up the hill whilst Jaco drove down with the extra AT tied to the back of the Cruiser.

38d0ce23107fabcd5f44c739aa6a8430.jpg

323dd8fe8cd64059e83bf6d5bb4785cf.jpg

3ab331e05a5df768ca565a79bc347bd3.jpg

cc4911365f1b430c9ad78507136458c5.jpg

With everybody safely down we thought the worst was behind us, but as Hardy said the carnage started.

I told Minxy to follow Scalpel’s line down as he is an accomplished mountain biker who should pick the best line and it worked. We got down the next section without incident.

Behind us it was carnage with bikes being dropped more than catches in a Protea Cricket game.

9b2882ca7122b375f53696ef0c28bfb7.jpg

39a4a5d32e36139506b139e28ed14df8.jpg

And there was more to come.......

875d61742a641dac824a59d5e87c5f1a.jpg

7379fa7b15c1340276578dcf64bb452c.jpg

c9efb3b680ac2765e2e2d88455ae2d45.jpg

ab7da510ab7f76845036d33092062853.jpg

We finally made it down the pass and took another breather and Drink-O-Pop.

At the bottom there is another memorial where you can write your name on a rock. It seemed like we weren’t the only ones who had a tough time getting down there

7241d53da2733fd1777c9f98f5468d55.jpg

22f113892918f3b77d081a4cfa7cf4a4.jpg

Kamanya decided to make dreams come true.

6f14026c39ba8f3724b6997c52acb551.jpg

After recovering and rehydrating we got going again. The Marienfluss and it’s fairy circles awaited. This day was far from done.

Andries tried for some good luck. Still not sure whether it helped.

ada3efc3f56c45df7b0e397ef300cdd7.jpg

And off course we took the obligatory picture at the red drum. Ok more than one.

77124deb91ad2a1c4e0dd979805de15a.jpg

b2928d980e85ea204172d467a2320da8.jpg

Hardy told us we still have one big pass/climb left for the day and he estimated it would take the group about 2 hours to reach camp. Say what 2 hours - with only a short distance left?

But before we can get there - another puncture. In the middle of nowhere.

1efc2ae7a6182a4320ad1a5a39957a36.jpg

1093a8e8ba0b64cf5540f2040ee68a3d.jpg

b69c365938225ab507be447281805c15.jpg

What really amazed me about these remote areas is that whenever you stop people just appear out of nowhere. One at a time until there is a small crowd.

9073678e08cef9d6a18187cf3a2c00f0.jpg

9ccf1f484f9d5bb1b1c0a9d87016d382.jpg

And this is where I took the weirdest picture of the trip. The guy on the donkey had a very unique saddle. Well I guess there is different ways to transport and tenderize meat.

49584158f77b2d56a6db45b3064ca2c9.jpg

After repairing the puncture it was time for the last technical climb of the day. I do not think anyone got stuck on that mountain despite it being quite challenging and plenty of tired bodies riding up there. Success!!

cebd6b6e7c6b0c24cdd3fa8febc105e4.jpg

We rode into camp to what for me will he one of the highlights of my life. Each and every single contestant, Tau, Stoffel and the crew congratulated each other. And it was genuine. It felt like one big family and I loved it.

That evening as the sun was setting they had an interview with me and I vividly remember saying - if they allowed me to just keep on riding I would have done so indefinitely. It was one of those days that I wished would never end.

And so did Minxy. One thing became clear. She was totally in love with the DCT and I had no idea how I was going to get her off it.

ffafc00131d41eb29a34ceed5a5e1f5b.jpg

We got rewarded with a beer to share as a team - or well that was the idea. Think I got a sip and went to fuel the bikes.

38a2274fe1a6a69e0f9855b80401d1b8.jpg

e40fa9aad8a4feab91e02a2d87830d1a.jpg

Phil did his final repairs for the day to Puros. Looking back now they were a perfect match with Kamanya also an expert in sewing.

0a7a84bf284a29a78262cc516a2672e8.jpg

And so it was off to bed after a brilliant day of riding. Could it get any better?

KarooKid said:
ktmkobus said:
KarooKid, hakkel jy? :lol8:

Mos gese ek wou nie he die dag moet eindig nie. So ek herhaal hom sommer.
Lyk my jy het meer as een sluk van daai bier gehad :imaposer: :ricky: :pot: :peepwall:
Dankie aan al die wat bydraes gelewer het en die Wd gees en gesindheid het helder geskyn.
Dit is wonderlik om te lees hoe almal saamtrek en mekaar bystaan pleks van in die rug steek.
Hopelik sal my droom om ook daardie wêreld te besoek bewaarheid word.
Weer eens dankie aan almal.
Hardy, my seun is nogsteeds baie gelukkig en beindruk met daai dct boks en wil net hê ons moet kyk na so vinnig moontlik AT dct kry. :thumleft:
Jou bemarking werk

Day 6 van Zyls to Marble Camp

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DaedFKk0iuc

Amazing what a good night’s sleep can do! I was up early, as were a few others

Morning! Room Service

One of the best camps of the trip

I had something on my mind that had to be sorted, but in this camp, it’s all manual. So to flush you need to fill this chap up. What I am doing with a pump in my hand God alone knows? I think I’d lent it to someone?

It was a great way to start the morning, a shower and wonder ablution in the bush

By now, the rhythm was easy. Stuff just disappeared. I think we had got it down to about an 90 minutes for all to pack, pack the vehicles, have breakfast and be ready to roll.

Our turn for Tetris

There was a last minute photo once we’d crossed the river bed.

Then a glorious morning of riding. Phil seemed to be struggling on the manual. He’d had such a ball on the DCT the day before. There was a nasty little uphill with a kink in it that took him a bit of time to work out. We agreed to swap back, his day improved immeasurably after that.

I don’t think it was just the swapping from one system to the other that he found hard, the DCT genuinely makes riding technical a grade easier. It will never stall, it’s always in the right gear and you have two things less to worry about. On the down hills it’s just as impressive and will hold a gear for engine breaking only shifting up once you’re back on the throttle. Combined with the very very good ABS, it really shines here.

This was a little warm up before the main event.

The scenery is epic, stark and iconic. It was heating up too

I think Clinton here was explaining his opinions of the DCT. He wanted to not like it but was also a very big convert

I laid a stone for a dear recently departed old friend here. Go well Patricia.

Glenn had asked me to lay his too.

We both sat in silence for a while. Good thing one has dark glasses at times like these. It was a very special moment for me and clearly for Glenn too.

Then it got touristy

The money shot

I think this one is going up on my wall. Cheers Phil! Thanks.

The drop

If you watch the video I took, (here’s a screenshot) on this section,

you can see a technique that can be used on the DCT bike in seriously steep technical descents. Watch Johannes’s left hand. It looks like a clutch lever but that is the hand brake for the rear wheel. The DCT has to have it because you can’t leave it in gear. Once the engine is off, it will only be in neutral. Johannes is riding the bike like a MTB. Very clever!

A lot has been said about that Iveco and Janco driving. Well, with it being so high and it packed so heavy, all I’ve got to say is, **** That! We had far the safer option!

I had asked Barend just after that stretch if when he’d been sold on this idea by Hardy, “had Hardy specifically mentioned exactly how hard-core the roads were?” He just snorted and turned away laughing.

Biggest balls of the day award and maybe even the whole trip goes to him sitting on the passenger side, “bloed kant”, down that horror show. 

Just after that was a particularly unpleasant little stretch .

Gerrit and I were bringing up the rear. It looked as if a convoy had driven up it sometime previously an chewed up the trail something terrible

Everything was avo sized rocks and all of it was loose. I had a small tip when the front rolled sideways over something whilst I was nearly standing still. Yes, it is that steep!

It was hot and slow

Once down, there was another cairn at the bottom. I left another for my brother.

Smug buggers!

And of course for us

I have a habit of getting kids onto the back for a very short spin. Especially here, were we were in this land of extreme harshness with what must seem like unimaginable wealth to kids who definitely live super tough lives. I know when I was a kid going for a ride on a bike was just about the best thing that could happen – it still is! Well, I’m on a mission to imprint into as many formative minds the joy too.

Once down here, we were to resume our normal order or riders. We’d been moving steadily forward over the days and today, we only had Glenn and Grant ahead.

Of we set into that oven. Then, just like that, it went from extreme rock to hectic sand. On top of the mountain a day or so back, Phil had told me that him and SD had the sum total of 2 times riding in sand! That’s not 2 days, that two times. And, one of them was when it was wet, so that doesn’t really count. We were in deep tweespore with sharp turns every now and then.

This was an easier section

We’d only gone a few k’s or so when we hit a really deep patch with a horrible s bend in it. Once Phil had paddled through, I told him to stop and let his tyres down to 1.4. Whilst I was doing this, many were really struggling. Engines revving everywhere!

I don’t think I was separated by more than 3 meters from Phil with my back turned towards the oncoming bikes, when Angus came flying in-between us. If I’d taken one step back, I know it would have ended badly! He must have been doing 50 or 60. There was a very large expanse of sand yet he chose the line we were on. Gerrit had seen what had happened and stopped to ask if all was well. I couldn’t understand what he’d been doing? At the next stop not a few 100 meters down the track I went over to find out. He’s pretty good in sand, but had got a bit of a fright in the turn and subscribed to the “throttle out when in doubt” way of dealing with things. It was a unintended mistake, it can happen. He was hugely apologetic. No harm no foul, just a big scare for all 3 of us.

It was the biggest scare I had all trip.

Tommy tourist again

The iconic one

Then I got my one and only puncture of the trip. All my riding career, I’ve had the sum total of 6 punctures. 3 of them were done on one puncture – I’d pinched the tire putting it back on… twice! I have a bit of a fear about having to do it. Sorry, I had a bit of a fear. This trip cured me of that. It was now a non-event. I don’t think it took us more than 10 minutes to get going again.

Then it was just beautiful riding with one apparently hectic pass to climb before camp. Hardy was sure it would take the group 2 and half hours and we’d be lucky to be in by dark. I think the lot of us were up in 30 minutes. Not one fall. In the video Minxy had just got to the top and was so excited and in love with her DCT bike, she’d completely missed that apart from being pretty gnarly, there was a 40cm step up halfway up!

Anyway a fine way to end the day.

Only one thing was missing. This was in the middle of nowhere and there was no beer! In-between some admin, like filling up the bikes, somehow Janco found a case of ice cold quarts, so it was one between each team. Clinton had been bragging about a bottle of rum that was to be used for celebration purposes once down van Zyls, so that made an appearance too. Somehow it magically became two…. But there was only 3l of coke. So all 20 of us shared the half a cup each.

I enjoy a good dink from time to time, but this was absolutely right. It was a fabulous day!

Phil had some running repairs he needed to do, whilst I attempted to wash my stuff. I think all I did was spread the smell more evenly.

Under the full moon, there was much banter and good spirits. What an utterly privileged day!

Oh, yes, apparently we were in a competition too!

Kamanya said:
Day 6 van Zyls to Marble Camp

I had something on my mind that had to be sorted, but in this camp, it’s all manual. So to flush you need to fill this chap up. What I am doing with a pump in my hand God alone knows? I think I’d lent it to someone?

Awesome writeup  O0

you had that pump in hand because we just finished prepping for our PRI and we changed the tyre pressure to accommodate the rockier roads to come  :thumleft: