Day 7.
Planned route: Rest day.
Actual route: Katse dam to Hobhouse via Maseru 290km.
Schedule: Behind 2 days.
Get me out of farking London. (Ewan Mcgregor – Long Way Round)
Today was the 22rd of December and we were supposed to be in the Eastern Cape by now. We were two days behind schedule and it would probably take us another day or two to get out of Lesotho. We only had three days left till Christmas so we had a lot of catching up to do.
Since late yesterday we had some sunshine and we were able to dry out our clothes and kit. The sun was still shining this morning but the clouds were already moving in over the mountains. Up here the weather changes very quickly.
Before we could leave we first had to go and thank Roy and his team at Katse lodge for their help and assistance. Without their help we would probably been stuck there for a little while longer. The service we received from your team was excellent and Katse lodge will defiantly see me again in the future.
You guys ROCK. :thumleft:
I had to do the customary stop at the dam wall for a pic. This is one place with huge potential. I can see myself floating around on this dam in a house boat but only in summer time. Winter would be just a little too cold.
At Katse dam we could not find any petrol so we put our hope on finding petrol in Thaba Tseka. Reading trough a lot of ride report on the forum before our departure I know that petrol in Thaba Tseka is available if you are lucky. So far on the trip we had no luck at all just lots of fun so that would have to do.
Arriving in Thaba Tseka we run into the law for the second time so far on our trip. It was just a routine road block so paperwork was checked and a few questions were answered. I asked the madam in charge to the availability of fuel in town. She said that there was none but we could probably find some from street vendors.
So far we were still heading for Tele bridge border post via Qachas neck so finding petrol was crucial. I could only do another 50km before running out. We asked around at a couple of places but nobody could help us but was informed that someone has gone to the next town to buy petrol in containers and he would be back at 15h00. I always thought that the Chinese would see and opportunity in the fuel market here but even they could not help us. Jaun did find some more oil for his bike and we could at least add another 500mil to the bike.
We attracted a lot of attention from the locals and some of them came over for a chat. Here a funny thing happened that we would still have a laugh over days after. A 4WD stopped next to us and young women jumps out. Let’s call her Lekker. From Lekkers accent we could see that she was not from SA and that English was not here first language as well. As she came over all I could say was
fark nice fish some nice eyes too. She wanted to know if the route to Mokhotlong was open. We know that the bridge could be under water but no one in town could give us a definite answer. As we were on bikes we could make alternative arrangement to cross the river if we could only find petrol. She was in a 4WD so she could not. So we could not give her a definite answer but told her maybe she must go down to the river and check it out for herself. By now I was praying for petrol. Hell I would gladly spend another night in Lesotho to help her across the river. Well with our bad luck and still no petrol to be seen we had to say our good buys. Nice meeting you Lekker and damn you Petrol.
It was already 12h00 and we had to make a decision. Either wait until 15h00 or we must head towards Maseru and petrol. I could only do 50km and the next town is 45km away and there could probably be petrol. I emptied the 500mil from my stoves fuel bottle into the tank and we set of on the A3 towards Mantsonyane. It was a nice tar road at least for 20km of the way. The tar road made way for the shittiest gravel road of the whole trip. Some fool has built a road out of rocks and I was deeply concerned about my tires. If we lose a tire now we would be in big trouble again.
Going up and down mountain passes did not help my fuel consumption at all. I finally came to a stop out 4km before Mantsonyane. Jaun took an empty container and headed off to see if he could find some fuel. As I am sitting there waiting for him to return I once again attracted a lot of attention. Most of the passersby were on foot and most of our conversation was in hand signatures. As I am also a farm boytjie the little herders that came past interest me a lot. I asked them questions about what kind of sheep they have to how many and what would happen if one goes missing. It took some time to get the message across. I still can’t believe how young these kids are and already have to fend for themselves.
Juan returned a little while later and we ride into town to fill up our bikes. It was already getting late and we did not know if the route to Qachas neck was passable so we made the decision to get out of Lesotho via Maseru and then meet up with our route again in Rhodes. One day we would be back again to complete our route as planned. Two days is just not enough to ride through Lesotho at all.
From Mantsonyane to Maseru its tar road all the way. The road is one constant mountain pass and after a while 120km of twisties can get to you. We also had to get back into our rain clothes once again and had to pass through our first hail storm of the trip. Before heading down into the plains a last rest stop was called so that we can admire the beauty of this place for the last time.
Before Maseru we packed away our rain gear and made our way to the border post. Border formalities were relatively quick and the plan was to see if we can still get to Zastron before the sun goes down.
A few kilometers after the border post I had enough of tar for the day and made a left on to a dirt road that I hoped would take me all along the border to Zastron. These eastern Free State dirt roads are some serious DS heaven.
We were just flying along when my eye could a young man stuck in a sunflower field with his motor bike. He was in quite a predicament from the looks of it and we stopped and jumped over the fence to lend some assistance. It was a plastic scrambler completely covered in mud and literally buried up until its belly. He would not get this bike out by himself. We pushed the bike over and pulled it to a harder spot. Now it could be picked up and pushed out of the sunflower field. For us this was some practice for what was to come in the days ahead but we did not know this yet.
Conversation went something like this:
Me. Wat soek jy in die land jong?
Laaitie. Ek wou net kyk of die land nat is oom.
Jaun. Magtig man ons kon dan sien die land is nat vanaf die draad. Kon jy nie?
Just then ‘n bakkie came to stop next to the fence.
Laaitie. O held dus my pa, hy is baie kwaai en gaan my seker nou bliksem.
Well his father did not bliksem him right there in front of us maybe later at home when they were alone. He had to push the bike all the way back home and it was getting late for both of us. We were now heading for Hobhouse and a late afternoon thunder shower was heading straight for us. I stopped to take a picture of this old farm house and wondered what history this old building could have. How many generations had been living here before modernization had caught up with their way of living? Now it was standing empty and nature is slowly taking it back.
I spent one week of my life in Hobhouse back in primary school. It was the norm that once a year the STD 5 class would attend a one week outdoor adventure type of school. In Afrikaans it is called a buitelug skool. Hobhouse had a permanent establishment in place that catered for this purpose. After 1994 it closed down as our new government did not see a purpose for such a place anymore. I wanted to stop here and see if I can recognize some of the places that I been at that week in STD 5. Just before Hobhouse the rain caught up with us again but been so close to town we pushed trough and reached the local Chinese grocer stoep completely drenched.
After asking around we managed to find a place to stay in Hobhouse called The Emily Guesthouse. It was the old Hobhouse hotel but its new owner is now busy with restoration work to get the old building back to what it once was. It’s also here that we met Dust Rat and Twister after their Riding the Brown Snake day trip. We joined them at the nearby pub and had something to eat. It was nice to be able to put faces to forum names. Over a couple of beers we discussed our trip so far and received a lot of pointers on how to ride the Mud monster and what routes to take as we went farther south. The Free State dogs are a lekker bunch so maybe I must come through for a weekend to join them for a ride.
We only had 14days of riding planed into our trip and today were day number 7 and we still had 2/3rd in distance of our trip in front of us. However we were back in South Africa now and things were looking up for us again.