Patatsvlei Souffl'e

Suzuki DR650
:3some:
PATATSVLEI WILDDOG RIDE
Link to video added

COMBINE six riders, six passes and add 560km, plus a pinch of wild flower colour and bake at 26 degrees and the end result is a top class recipe for an excellent Patatsvlei Souffl’e.
Saturday at 6.30am saw five Wilddog riders meet at the N1 Engen One Stop waiting for the sixth rider who was having sparkplug problems with his bike.
While Andy, Jason, Henry, Murray and Robin enjoyed hot coffee and breakfast Calle battled on stripping his tank off his bike to clean up faulty plugs.
But all began well when by 7.30am Calle had his problems sorted and the six headed for Bains Kloof pass ready for the 560km ride planned earlier in the week with the route taking in Ceres, Theronsberg pass, R355 and then onto the Sutherland road and again off onto the Matjiesfontein road and finally on arriving at Patatsriver farm another right to Touws River, across the Ouberg Pass to Montagu and then home via Saggy Stone, Villiersdorp and Franschhoek.
Our first challenge was riding Bains Kloof Pass as the roads department has managed to sprinkle the corners with fine stone.
A quick stop in Ceres to top up the tanks and then it was up and over Theronsberg pass and onto the R355.
On arrival at the Sutherland turnoff with the weather heating up to a warm 26 degrees and the usually stark Karoo now ablaze with colour especially the magenta bushes, we were peering into a Pandoras box of colour and great roads.
First stop to admire and photograph the flowers was at the Matjiesfontein turnoff headed for Patats River.
A further 20 minutes of riding roads rutted by trucks and bakkies , which during the heavy rains had created a myriad of railway like points where you just let the front wheel follow rather than battle the ruts.
From Patats River the road becomes far more interesting as it twists and turns through Karoo terrain with the surface changing continuosly plus the opening and closing of gates.
Thirty nine km later we all reached Touws River for a quick fill up and a refreshing drink. The weather had by now really warmed up.
The 70 odd km up and over the Ouberg Pass to Montagu was ridden fast with one stop as Andy had spotted a huge puffadder sunning itself in the road.
Unfortunately the rest missed it as it decided noisy bikes were not for it and headed back into the scrub.
Lunch was welcome plus cold beers at the Montagu Country Hotel and then the decision was taken to go beer tasting at Saggy Stone a micro brewery between Roberston and Nuy on the Vinkrivier road.
Well hydrated we headed on to Villiersdorp for another quick top up of fuel and then up and over Franschhoek pass and home.
Cape Town was reached with the sun still high in the sky.
It was a great day along with great companions and the chance to create a fine recipe offering a tasty treat for any offroader.

https://youtu.be/9phxHSnycCk

Thanks for an awesome ride guys.. it was a blast, great okes, great roads and awesome weather..  :thumleft:

Looks like a lekker ride, especially the bit from the 355 down to Touws River.  :thumleft:

Thanks for a great day out guys :thumleft:

Awesome video Robin. Thanks for posting.

It was a long day in the saddle but a lot of fun. Where are your pics Jamber?? ;D

Many thanks to Robin for a great route and to the riders ,thanks for making it a most enjoyable ride!
Here are some of Jambers pics .

DSC_0574.jpg

DSC_0600.jpg

DSC_0597.jpg

Not a good start for me in the morning.

Turned out to be very good ride with great people and lots of laughs.

Die twee "ooms" het my beindruk met hulle riding skills :peepwall:

What bribes do I need to pay in order to see more pictures.

Ek het nog 'n paar. Sal post. Weet nie of Fuzzy ook fotos geneem het nie.

Hey chaps, we rode right past one another on Saturday.  I was at the Wimpy when you pulled out of Ceres.  I took Madelein and the kids to look at the flowers in the Karoo.

Beautiful pics ,nice ride  :thumleft: