The Traveling Tortoise - Full Time Living On The Road!!

Part 3 - Sabie - Lone Creek Falls

View attachment V24B0223.jpg
Cissy having her morning tea.

A
fter enjoying our morning coffee and tea we packed up our campsite and packed the bikes. Today again is not going to be a very long distance ride but we have a plan for the day.

Leaving MacMac Adventures we where faced with our first challenge, that steep rocky uphill we came in we now had to go down. The rocks on this little down hill section is extremely loose and we both had a little bit of a wiggle and waggle and a slide here and there. Nothing serious but as we are still getting used to the loaded bikes it was an extra shot of espresso to start the day.
From where we camped to Sabie, our destination for the day, is only 16km. At least it is more than what Cissy's bike came with! This road is still part of the Panorama Route and we enjoyed the scenery towards Sabie. We have risen this road many times but once again it felt like a whole new road as we are on our adventure. Coming into Sabie we made our way to our BnB for the night, Hettie se Plekkie, where we met Hettie. A lovely lady who also was very kind to let us book in earlier than what you normally can.

But now we had a place to drop the bags and drop the weight, we dressed a little cooler and in clothes that we can walk in. Our next stop would be Lone Creek Waterfall where we want to spend the day hiking and relaxing. But first we had to get some fuel for "Mouse" - Cissy's 390 Adventure. We are still figuring this bikes fuel gauge out, when it says almost empty she can still do about 200km. Well either the bike is extremely light on fuel or that reserve tank is massive! But anyway, we made our way to the fuel station and found ourselves with a constant pain everybody in South Africa has to live with, Loadshedding! Now to those that are wondering what load shedding is, we have in South Africa rolling power blackouts. Depending on what stage we are in we can have up to 12 hours of no electricity a day. Wonderful!
So back at the fuel station and faced with load shedding the fuel pumps where powered down and we could not get fuel for Cissy at that moment. They do have a diesel generator to power the pumps during load shedding but they where having issues with it. But hey we did manage to get some sandwiches and cool drinks, so all good!

We decided to forget about the fuel and just go and hope for the best. Lone Creek Falls was not far out of town. Cant let little things like not getting fuel get in the way of a good day! So off we went towards the falls, riding out of Sabie we came across one of the worst potholed invested roads we have come across so far! I mean you try and dodge one pothole and end up hitting 5 others! But it was not that bad, the bikes are made to handle much worst things than this. The ride there was actually pretty nice and we laughed at all the potholes, as we came to the entrance gate, we payed for entry and head towards the waterfall. Cissy singing in my ears and enjoying the amazing landscape we came around a bend in the road and got our first glimpse of Lone Creek Falls! WOW! it is beautiful! Waterfalls is scattered all over this are, you can spend a whole day riding from one to the other and still not even come close to seeing all of them.

IMG_8400 2.JPG

Lone Creek Falls

We parked our bikes at the start of the hiking trail that leads to the falls. Well, hiking trail is a bit of an over statement, if you are able to walk to the kitchen and back you can make this walk. It is a lovely little walk under the trees and it gave us some cover from the sun and cooled us down. Once we reached the falls we made our way down to the rocky "beach" if you want to call it that and enjoyed the beauty of the place. We had our lunch there and spend some time just relaxing and chatting away. It was quite busy but not to over crowded and we really enjoyed it there.

IMG_8395 2.jpg

Cissy having lunch at Lone Creek Falls

Lone Creek Falls is 68meter high and has also been declared a national monument. There are quite good facilities at the parking lot and also some vendors selling stuff like hats, art, etc etc normal tourist trap you get all over South Africa at places like this. But it is worth going and seeing this place, take a picnic basket and spend some time there. Truly beautiful and good for the soul.

IMG_8356 3.JPG

Cissy in front of Lone Creek Falls

We intended to not travel a long distance to accommodation that day, as we wanted to go and explore more waterfalls but as we could not find fuel for Mouse we just spend the time at Lone Creek. I think it was better as we could just relax and slow our minds down, we are still getting into this lifestyle and our minds are processing everything that has happened and what is happening now. So slowing it all down and stopping to smell the flowers or well looking at a waterfall is what we needed.

After our lovely couple of hours we spend at the waterfall we made our way back to Sabie over the patchy road, made a quick stop at the supermarket to get some food for the evenings dinner and went to our BnB. We would spend 3 nights here. But that is for the next part of the story.

If you want to watch the video of this day, here it is.

More stories to come! Stay Tuned the Adventure has only begun!

Part 4 - Visiting KTM Nelspruit
(Sorry for the lack of photos in this part but forgot to take photos had to much fun riding.)

After a good nights rest in Sabie at Hettie se Plekkie and a good cup of coffee we where ready for the day. And what will today hold in for us? Well we will have light bikes and amazing mountain passes to ride.
We where heading to Nelspruit to visit the KTM dealership, little "Mouse" needed its 1000KM flash of the system. When Cissy bought the 390 Adventure it already had 12km on the clock as we mentioned before. But because the bike has been standing for a year (Previous owner) we had Alfie Cox KTM Racing do the 1000km service before it got delivered. Now the only thing to do was to flush the system at 1000km and that is what we where off to do.

But let's talk the road! We head out of the town of Sabie and jumped on the R37 towards Nelspruit. This is one stunning road, surface is perfect and the twists and scenic views are just amazing! It is not a long ride about 60km one way. But man is this a fun and beautiful road to ride! We twist our way trough the mountains and the forestries, all a bit funny now and then as sometimes it does not feel like we are in South Africa but rather somewhere in Europe or North America with the forestries surrounding us as we twist and turn. The road climbs and drops and climbs and drops and you really just have an awesome blast riding on this road.

With the bikes light and no luggage we could really enjoy this piece of heaven.

After a lot of fun on the road we made our way into Nelspruit, and towards KTM. Very easy to find and we quickly pulled up to the Orange House. I also was waiting for a package to arrive and KTM was so friendly to let me get it delivered at their shop. And true as bob it was there when I entered the shop.

But first things first, little "Mouse" got pulled around to the back where the workshop sits and they quickly sorted the flush out (Free of charge) thank you KTM Nelspruit.

While Cissy was in the workshop with the guys looking at "Mouse", I got time to open my package. I ordered the Perun Luggage Rack for "Buddy" and I share was happy with it. Build quality was awesome and looked really nice. Thanks to LocoMoto for getting it to KTM Nelspruit without any issues. The Mac at the workshop was so kind to quickly instal the rack for me also free of charge and I was extremely happy. I did donate the OEM rack to them if somebody needed one or broke one they could give that one to them.

So with "Mouse" brain all happy again and "Buddy" with a new sexy behind. We set off to play on the mountain pass again back to Sabie!

When we got back to Sabie we decided it was time to stop at Loggers Pub, (If you ever ride trough Sabie go and stop at Loggers, great food and they love bikers!) So after some food, coffee and all the good stuff we made our way back to Hettie se Plekkie.

It was a fun day, a good day! Good roads, good service and good food! And we had a blast!

----------------------

If you want to see how the day went and this awesome road we rode here is the video.

Part 5 - Magic of Wild Horses in Kaapsehoop

So after getting back to Sabie from KTM Nelspruit, we realised our laptop has seen better days and decided to have an early retirement. Now this was a headache for us for a couple of reasons 1. unforeseen costs 2. we need a laptop to edit our videos for YouTube 3. we need our laptop for editing photos, emails, work etc etc. So we quickly realised we will have to replace this laptop asap, and jumped back on the bikes to head to Nelspruit. Lucky we where still in the area and as Nelspruit is a big city we will be able to source a new laptop.

IMG_8425.JPG

On our way to Nelspruit.

We once again enjoyed the ride to Nelspruit, this time bikes fully packed. But the road was still extremely enjoyable. Once we reached Nelspruit it was a little bit of a scram to get a new laptop and look what will fit in our budget but still do the job.
So with this in mind we just stopped at the Road Lodge in town and unpacked, Cissy went on sorting admin out and I went in search for the little pain.

IMG_8428.JPG

Cissy not very happy about the broken laptop.

But success was there for the day and everything got sorted quickly, something we did not expect was that the shops closed early that day. We still wondering why.... but anyway so we had to order food and had a good laugh watching the ubur driver drive in circles around the Road Lodge on the gps. I then had to walk out into the street to stop the man after he's 3de time around. But hey at least he did not give up, we all mis an entrance now and then... maybe not 3 times but it gave us a laugh.

IMG_8433.JPG

Bikes parked infant of the Road Lodge - Nelspruit.

The following morning with everything sorted we packed the bikes and hit the road, today we where very excited for where we were heading. Kaapsehoop! For those that has been there knows the magic I am talking about, it is a small little town in the mountains, surrounded by beautiful nature and home to wild horses roaming the dusty streets of this little paradise.

The road from Nelspruit to Kaapsehoop is a beautiful winding mountain road "tar" but the scenery was amazing and we enjoyed every bit of the road. Well the wind did pick up a bit close to the top of the mountain and we where still very nervous riding in wind. But we put our heads down and rode the wind all the way to the town.

Getting into town we had a little drive trough to have a look and then watched the wild horses sleep under a tree infant of one of the buildings. We then had a little wonder in one of the old second hand shops and was wondering where some of these old stuff came from. Think there is some interesting stories to tell about those pieces in the shop.

But it was time to arrange a place to sleep, we wanted to go sleep in one of the camp sites we saw online but as it was the people where not there so we had to make other plans. We phoned the Horse Trails, they told us they do not have an official camp site but we are welcome to come pitch out tent in their yard. So with our budget in mind "we could not afford indoor acc after the new laptop and sleeping in the hotel" we jumped at this and rode our bikes to the horse trails.

The road to the trails are stunning, winding trough the forestry and past the old train, that if I am correct you can also sleep in and is used by many hikers to start or end their hiking trail.

When we arrived at the Kaapsehoop Horse Trails we where warmly welcomed and showed where we can pitch our tent. Man! This was a beautiful place and their yard is better than most camp sites so we where extremely happy!

IMG_8491 2.JPG

Campsite at The Kaapsehoop Horse Trails

We pitched our tent and then had something to eat, the outside kitchen very quickly became a very chatty place between us and everybody there. Super nice and friendly people, they also told us that they do have two guest houses that can sleep quite a number of people and bikers are very welcome. If anybody goes that direction, go make a turn there, the reasurant is also extremely nice with amazing food and the owner is also a biker. So great stories and inside info on where to ride in the area can be shared there.

We went for a walk down to the mountain edge and watched the sunset over the mountains, knowing that everything works out the way it should. Let the road take you where it needs to take you.

It was a magical day and we ended up staying here for a couple of nights.

Here is the video of that day.

Good morning everybody!

Just a quick woooo haaaa for you all! We are in Cape Town atm and doing a talk on Wednesday evening 03 May 2023 from 18:00 - 19:00.
At KTM Cape Town, if any of you are in the area and want to join in for a good laugh!

Hope to see some of you there!

Kind regards,
Werner & Cissy

86A1826C-97D9-4385-9DBF-7F0E630BBDF9.jpeg

Awesome bud! Hope you two enjoy every second. Will be following!

Give me a shout if you pass Mosselbay and need a place to sleep or shower! (Braai included of course)
Fibre and work space available if you need to do some "Admin" ;)

Last edited:
Thank you for sharing. I'm following you on YouTube.

Safe travels and looking forward to your journey.

I'm glad I'm not the only one that battles in soft sand! :D

More Werner en Cissy:D

Bly om te sien julle geniet dit.Kyk elke episode sedert Nieu-Bethesda.
Sterkte met die pad vorentoe ,ons volg julle (y)