The year long All Expenses Paid hooligan ride

More #2:
Pic #12: Radio on back with R4 Rifle and Wheeling once again... man was this a jol.... I remember Kapt Wim van Niekerk was not impressed at some point in the bike squad trip into border area
Pic #13: at SWAPES base on parade ground, RSM (J.C. Jnr) was not impressed with us messing around on parade ground. Remember a few guys falling their moer off including Sgt Heinrich ? that fell and concussed himself and went into epileptic fit at one point.
Pic #14:  Wheeling with fellow bike squaders (SWATF biek squad meets RSA bike squaders). Myself on right and middle was Jeff van Pletzen (very good rider from Natal) and on left was a Corp from SA Bike Squad.

• SWATF-SWAPES-ArmyBikeSquad.small (12).jpg
    SWATF-SWAPES-ArmyBikeSquad.small (12).jpg
    120 KB
  • SWATF-SWAPES-ArmyBikeSquad.small (13).jpg
    SWATF-SWAPES-ArmyBikeSquad.small (13).jpg
    134.5 KB
  • SWATF-SWAPES-ArmyBikeSquad.small (14).jpg
    SWATF-SWAPES-ArmyBikeSquad.small (14).jpg
    105.7 KB
I was in Bike Squad in 81/82,

I was with Mark Flemington, Erick Birkner, Anton Coetzee and my platoon Sarge was "Snor" Aka Sgt Scheepers if I can recall. I was supposed to stay back in the demo team, but gave up my space for Gary Keiser. I remmember one opps bringing back a suspected terrorist on the back of my xr,he was blindfolded, his hands tied together and sitting the wrong way around holding on to the rack at the back ( so he couldn't get to my R4). I was flat out on the xr in the shona when Huffnagel (who always had to race) came pass me. The fence which was laying flat after the buffels had ridden over them stood straight up in front of me and caught the bike. As I tried in vain to hold on, I ended up flat over the handle bars on the bike and my back acted as a launch pad for the poor bugger on the back. I had already fallen and was getting up when I saw him hit the ground 20 metres in front of me in a puff of dust.  His blindfold had come of the one eye and he was covered in scratches, and his hands was still tied together. He came running to me and probably convinced that I was trying to kill him, tried to show his cooperation by picking up my xr for me . Unfortunately he chose the cherry red twin exhausts headers which burnted of all the skin on the palms of his hands. When I handed him over to the intelligence guys, the captain took one look at the ,scratched,bleeding and burnt bugger and wanted to kla me on, on the spot because he was convinced that i had taken matters into my own hands and tortured him on the way. It was only after much explaining that I was let off.

Was in the new fangled SAW after the withdraw in 89.  SWATF combined into on unit in the SAW, 12 SAI based in Potch.  Although I was a Doggie I did a course on the bikes (and guess what, XR's  ;D ).  Good days.

The D'Abreu you guys are talking about, was he from the Vaal?

wreckit said:
I was in Bike Squad in 81/82,

I was with Mark Flemington, Erick Birkner, Anton Coetzee and my platoon Sarge was "Snor" Aka Sgt Scheepers if I can recall. I was supposed to stay back in the demo team, but gave up my space for Gary Keiser. I remmember one opps bringing back a suspected terrorist on the back of my xr,he was blindfolded, his hands tied together and sitting the wrong way around holding on to the rack at the back ( so he couldn't get to my R4). I was flat out on the xr in the shona when Huffnagel (who always had to race) came pass me. The fence which was laying flat after the buffels had ridden over them stood straight up in front of me and caught the bike. As I tried in vain to hold on, I ended up flat over the handle bars on the bike and my back acted as a launch pad for the poor bugger on the back. I had already fallen and was getting up when I saw him hit the ground 20 metres in front of me in a puff of dust.  His blindfold had come of the one eye and he was covered in scratches, and his hands was still tied together. He came running to me and probably convinced that I was trying to kill him, tried to show his cooperation by picking up my xr for me . Unfortunately he chose the cherry red twin exhausts headers which burnted of all the skin on the palms of his hands. When I handed him over to the intelligence guys, the captain took one look at the ,scratched,bleeding and burnt bugger and wanted to kla me on, on the spot because he was convinced that i had taken matters into my own hands and tortured him on the way. It was only after much explaining that I was let off.

I wasyour pl sgt first half ofthe year when we did ops yahoo, remember?

pls pm me! Im in Abu Dhabi airport so may take a dayor 2 to getback.

Ivegot many photos of you okes, remember Birkner very well-good oke. Also remember Huffnagel, Franken, Lewarne, Verster, Russell, Kruger, and others. I just made contact with Herbert Schubert too, heis on faeboo SWASPES page

cheers

I really enjoyed reading everything and the photo's have brought back so many memories . Herewith my take (written for another forum ) on a similar experience .

I was in the SADF July 1980 to July 1982 . My Bike Squad /SADF experience is not very flattering to the old SADF nor will it rate very highly as far as “ grensvegter” or " biker" stories go , but that is the way it was . I think it is necessary put things into perspective . Joining the army was something I did in order to ride bikes and of course avoid prison . I have always been a mediocre rider but I love it . Basics at 6 SAI Grahamstown was fairly uneventful with the exception of very crap weather , and getting to know and understand Afrikaners for the first time in my life . My objective was to put up with what ever shit came my way as long as I ended up in Bike Squad . ( My older brother had told me many stories of the fun he had had as part of Bike Squad Demo unit in Heidelberg in 1975) .

Towards the end of basics we were advised that unless we wanted to be foot soldiers we had to apply for transfer to other units . I immediately selected Bike Squad as my first choice with Parrabats as second choice  ( very romantic and totally clueless ). To my shock and horror we were asked to pass a fitness test as well as a one or two hour written test on our bike handling and mechanical abilities . At this stage my bike experience was limited to a Honda 50  cc Monkey bike from age 9 to 12 and a few trail rides on a 1979 Suzuki PE 250 I had bought on HP the year before . This totally un roadworthy bike was also my only means of transport . ( I still have many of the fines to prove it ) . As luck would have it I befriended two fairly good riders who were not lacking in technical experience . I sat next to these guys during the written exam and passed with flying colors . I cant remember what the fitness test was all about except that we had to be able to run the 2.4 in under 10 minutes . I think 12 minutes was the normal acceptable requirement to be considered 60% fit for the infantry . I was elated when they announced the successful applicants and my name was on the list .

We were put on a milk train to what we thought was Bike Squad in Potch . Sometime during the tedious trip we realized that we were heading in the wrong direction . The powers that be continued the lie by informing us that Bike Squad had been moved to Upington . I have vivid memories of the excitement that prevailed in the back of the Bedford truck as we arrived at 8 SAI . We were all crowded around the back opening of the covered truck trying to get our first view of the Bikes . ( It would be another 6 or 7 months before we saw our first bike).

We were told that we were part of a new experimental unit which was the brainchild of Lieutenant General Geldenhuys . We were soon transferred to Riemvasmaak which was fairly close to the Namibian border .( The Riemvasmaak Community of about 700 families had been forcibly relocated to Namibia in the mid 70's to make way for the SADF )

Some of us were housed in tents whilst others had there beds packed like sardines on the wrap around stoep of a very old  Missionary house . What followed was a few months of intense afkack training including courses in  tracking , sharp shooter , infiltration , escape and evasion and a few others I cant remember .The whole process involved more afkack than I thought I was capable of handling . We ended up with two highly trained and disciplined Platoons and were told we were now qualified " Junior Recces " . Because the unit was new they had not even designed the unit logo yet.

We were than transferred to Bike Squad at Potch Equestrian Centre for the final phase of our training . We were brimming with pride and enthusiasm because our achievements. Things began to fall apart almost immediately . We were issued with Honda 350 xl,s and Suzuki 370 SP's . The bikes were in a shocking condition with minimal spares available . We were advised that our bikes would not be replaced until they were all totally buggered  , and besides the replacement bikes (XR 500R Pro-link) had not been delivered by Midmacor yet . There were many rumors of officers ( not Bike Squad ) all over the region riding around on our new bikes . I had contacts at Midmacor and soon discovered that Midmacor had delivered the Bikes a few months before . Captain Stroebel  could be resourceful when he wanted to . I think the unofficial order came from him but I am not sure . Collectors of those old relics would be heart broken, but we were instructed to destroy our bikes . We spent the following day doing exactly that , crashing the bikes and generally having fun . We were issued with brand new Pro-Links . The bike training was nothing to write home about , although I did learn a few tricks , like dropping a bike at high speed in order to use it as cover . Most of all I recall the fun we had racing our privately owned bikes at the track behind the camp . It was very competitive as many of the guys had ridden competitively in MX or enduro's prior to national service . Being a mediocre but competitive rider I often came off second best and spent a week in hospital prior to leaving for the border . Occasionally the nearby Fourteenth Field Artillery would mistakenly land a few misplaced shells close to the horse stables and we were sent out on bikes to locate the horses who had escaped in fear . Bike  training at potch was pretty uneventful as most of the guys already had sufficient riding skills and the instructors were on the same learning curve . Just before we finished the course a stock take was done in the stores . It was discovered that over a million rands worth of stock was missing . Many of the guys had a few pairs of army issue RG MX boots .( so did the Berede guys ) . Some of the guys had privately owned Pro-links and probably rarely payed for spares again. I recall once seeing a queue of about 30 people lining up outside stores at midnight . We refueled our bikes at the end of every day, only to find the the tank empty the next day. My platoon was sent to the border and the other platoon stayed behind as demo squad .

We were exited to go up to the border ( SWASPES in Otavi ) and some actually looked forward to some "action"  . What followed was a travesty for the South African Tax Payer . We had a holiday second to none . One of the fundamental problems was the fact that none of the Rank had completed all of the courses with us.There was no predetermined plan on how best to utilize our skills and more importantly how to manage us . Due to a constant shortage of bikes and spares we were normally only able to put together enough bikes for one section to operate effectively . We took turns at doing patrols which by and large and due to poor leadership were just an excuse for a trail ride or enduro race complete with pit stops at the kuka shops . More than once guys returned from a "patrol" slightly pissed. It is a miracle that our intake never suffered any casualties and I don't mean as a result of a conflict situation. More often than not we lazed about or were used to escort Teff for the hoses to where ever they were being utilized . When the bikes were functional we played allot. Our discipline was atrocious and being bored we drank allot . The food prepared by the chef at Swaspes was brilliant and would not be out of place in any up market hotel .It makes you wonder why, with same budget, the food was generally not edible elsewhere.

The platoon was then sent to Tsumeb , probably because there were not enough bikes to go around . Although we did the occasional Kap line patrol and guarded the odd farm , there was no plan for us . The commanding officer was a very religious man and a soft touch . He allowed us to phone home and arrange for civvies to be sent up . Many days were spent lounging around the pool with civilians at the Tsumeb hotel . Waiters served the drinks at the pool ( Tough life on the grens ) . Being a soft touch , the Captain often gave Bike Squad members compassionate leave to return to South Africa . All that was needed was a phone call with a sob story about a grand mother on her death bed. Being very religious he requested that the least we could do was wake up in the morning for parade and a prayer . Most did not bother . Discipline was non existent . One of guys from Natal even grew dagga plants in a neat garden around the tent . The same guy was given a weeks leave to attend a civilian court case back home . I will never forget his return . He drove his private vehicle ( a Mini ) , goofed , all the way from Durban to Tsumeb ending up with a doughnut spin on the parade ground . I think his punishment was to work in the Captains garden for a few hours.

A few of us were klaad aan for drunk and disorderly behavior or what ever, whilst on escort duty. Our Ratel broke down and we were forced to sleep over at 61 Bat. We were invited to the officers mess for drinks and expected to spend the night . Just after midnight and thoroughly pissed , we were advised that the vehicle had been repaired and we were to continue with our escort duty immediately . To make matters worse our new friends gave us each a six pack for the road . To cut a long story short ,we were advised that when everyone else returned to Potch to Kla out of the Army we would have to remain behind at SWASPES for a court martial . We ignored the order , arranged forged travel orders and returned to Potch . I will for ever be grateful to Captain Stroebel who although being aware of our pending court martial allowed us to Kla out .

Although my bike squad experience was a total waste of tax payers money ,it was a lot of fun and the life lessons learnt from the whole SADF experience proved to be invaluable . I did a few camps thereafter, which involved Soweto patrols in bakkie's . The experience was a wake up call . By this time I was mature enough to realize the devastation that Apartheid had inflicted on so many South Africans . For the first time I was ashamed to have been part of the SADF . I also realized just how little the average white South African knew about life in the townships and just how much effort the National Party had put into molding our thoughts and hiding the truth . The tragedy for white South Africa and our descendants is that it will take many generations before we are trusted , if ever .

the closest i got to the bereedes was a cousin who in the unit.

What happened to the book???

BUMP BUMP_

Whethefakawe said:
Thanks boet, good info. I remember Jan Truter as Sersant ROOIMOER. There were 2 or them, twins, it got confusing at times -  :laughing4:
The one I knew went to Formative Course and became an officer and a doos. Whaaa-haaa.

I believe he is dead now.

Your post confirms the end of BS around 1987 - 10-12 years total time.

Please email of you feel like it

Both Truter Brothers are alive, living at the west coast!!  :thumleft:

Despite my previous remarks - some good okes back then turned into dooses and many ex-dooses turned into good okes

When you're an Infantry Corporal - one step lower than GOD - any sergeant (or Staff or Sarmajor) who makes YOU run to the tree on the horizon to fetch a leaf is a doos  :imaposer:

If both Truters are still well that's excellent  :biggrin:

This thread just gets better and better. How is it going with the book?

I need to make contact with some of my intake bike squadders, to sort out my memory. For instance, at one stage we did quite a bit of fuel tanker escorting from Swaspes base at the Owambo gate to Ondagwa and Oshakati. At one stage we did a series of night escorts for the mine sweeping guys, to check for mines in the tar road previously mentioned. We would go from Oshaks to Ondangs 2 to 3 a night, and one evening travelling south from Oshakati to Ondangwa, our sweeper Buffel hit a landmine in the tar road. It was a rainy evening and up to about a kilo or two, I was tailgating this vehicle to avoid the downpour, but backed off due to obvious danger of tailgating. Minutes later it hit the mine and I remember this incredibly bright flash in which I saw the Buffel suspended in mid-air at a 45degree angle. We went down to protect the Buffel immediately in case there is an accompanying ambush to the mine. I cannot remember where the Buffel guys were from, and their Buffel cammander got his arms broken if I remember correctly. I also remember extreme bravery, in that this commander who was sitting upright in six inches of water, still shouted at his men to spread out in case of a ambush. This is why I would love a get-together of my intake, to brainstorm, or rather memory-storm these events, to get clarity. It sometimes feel even more distant than the 30 odd years that lies in between us and them.
Those 21 months of bike squad was perhaps the best years of my life, and I do not say this lightly. Obviously helped along by a sick perversive obsession over motorcycles.

Thanks Pete, I am not on Facebook, but will ask my wife to worm me in :imaposer:
I would really like to meet some guys to put memory into perspective.

Jeez Pete that's a bit harsh boet  But it's getting there.....

Dan - which intake were you again? Pardon my dumb question - just got home from the pub  :biggrin:

I offered to set up a SWASPES website if someone will administer it - I don't know enough, or have the time, to do so.

The problem with Facebook is, anything you put on there they consider THEIR property.  Fuck 'em. I proposed a private, CLOSED SWASPES site where okes can put their stories and photos and KEEP THE INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY RIGHTS, and the response was very loud and positive.  No Hardly-Ableson wankers, Dutch activists or yank know-it-all right wing gun nuts - just okes who actually served in the unit.  

I personally have almost 200 photos and 60 stories I refuse to post on FB because of mentioned privacy issues.

I'm also withdrawing completely from FB - only went there to look at Spes page anyways, but it's getting too generic for me.

Hi , here on the south coast lives a Flippy Barnard, was a L/Corp in 1980/81 if any one interested i have his contact details