The year long All Expenses Paid hooligan ride

'batlift' - nice :D

i wasn't in the contact but drove with his body in the ambulance to Grootfontein . . .

Small world. Me and the loot talked to him as he left the HQ around 4 pm, we chatted for a few minutes, I still recall him smiling as he came walkimg up to where we sat on the steps across the street. So it goes hey.

Whethefakawe said:
Lootch67 - small world, I can remember most of the farms we went to, the loot from the first platoon I was with was a local, a german guy from Otjiwarongo and he knew many of the farmers, we used to go vist his parents in Otjiwarongo. Where exactly was your farm?

"Okaruiput" lat=-20.0602008206, lon=17.1529095543

Plaas.jpg

The name of the farm is Okaruiput (Herero name which means "log with water") - farm 336 on the maps you would've been using. The turnoff from the main road is about 3km north of Platveld Station and then it's a further 17kms east. There is an amethist mine (not ours) on the farm and the terrs sought refuge there from time to time. That's probably what brought you there. Fortunately they were usually half dead by the time they reached us. I can imagine that you'll get tired running from those b@stards on bikes for days on end :D

Awesome stuff ! I still say that XR's are the best offroad tough as nails bikes ever.

Howzit Lootch,
After consulting my "Namibia tourist map" I recognize the white road off the tar road as the one where we laid a big ambush with the Ratels one crack of 3 am - I've got some interesting stories about THAT one believe me. Do you remember the case of oom Dirk and the three cheetahs? From what I see, it looks like your dad's farm may have been the site of one of my misadventures. :D

Best report I've seen!

..kopperaal Raubenheiiiimeeeeeer!!!! .......maak die plante nat, dis so droog soos 'n non se kont!!!!
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Whethefakawe said:
Do you remember the case of oom Dirk and the three cheetahs?

It rings a bell, but pray tell!! Dirk de Bott?

Whethefakawe said:
From what I see, it looks like your dad's farm may have been the site of one of my misadventures. :D

You didn't moer into the "inspeksie gat" with the bike did you? Oh wait a minute, that was my brother.

Whethefakawe said:
Yes boet
XR's rule, to this day.
:D Cheers

Great report, Whethefakawe!

If I'm not mistaken, Armscor made their own 500cc Rotax-powered bike at some stage? Did you guys ever see/use one, or was it always the XR500?

Yes, it was called the "Kriek". A 500cc Rotax engined bike with 19 inch wheels fromt and rear. The frame was designed by Ron Wood, who is a leading figure in flat track racing in the US. We took him out in Hillbrow and taught him about africa!!

We took him out in Hillbrow and taught him about africa!!

You didn't ... .... .... .... :shock: :shock: - Vlakplaas??/ :shock: :D

H

Ps Hozit mate? where have you been?

Thanks for bumping this thread to the top again. Missed it completely until now as I was not very active on the forum in December when it was first posted.

Amazing and excellent stuff. Thank you very much

Fakawe,

Great report - also not active in December, so missed it. I was also based at Berede in Potch for my 2 years - 86/87 - so way after you :lol: But we still had a bike squad, and in particular a bike demo squad, and those guys were also real hooligans - travelling around the country doing displays for the public, and just generally enjoying life for 2 years :lol:

Brettp - when were you there?

Oppad said:
Thanks for bumping this thread to the top again. Missed it completely until now as I was not very active on the forum in December when it was first posted.

Amazing and excellent stuff. Thank you very much

DITTO ...
Brings back awsome memories of 85/86 de brug-Luathla-Ruacana-Oshikati etc

The pic of the hotshots going off into the bushes had me in hysterics. Thanks for starting my day off with a good giggle......

I knew one or two guys who had the same amazing experiences as you and your mates, only they never kept any of the photos, so thanks.
Be great to see more. :D

This is an absolutely great thread well done as one has mentioned before this should be transfered into book form with a title like "War on two wheels" or "the two wheeled posse" with all the pics and info this will make for a "good"seller". This has definitely brought back my past . I was one of the troops worst nightmare I was a P T I but I never had the privilege to enjoy the adventure that I have just read. Great Stuff :) :) :)

Just read the whole thing again. Simply amazing.

This is all new to me as I joined this board after December and missed the army as it was still the ballot system when I was eligible.  A most interesting and well written report, I read it through with rapt fascination.
Only thing I can contribute was my brother-in-law was a prof at Stellenbosch (Industrial Engineering) & he showed me round the place in 71; they had a bike there that they were trying to silence for the army.  He said it was difficult to do.

Man I enjoyed your report and pic's :)

I have many fond memories of the area.

We were posted from Otavi/SWASPES to places such as Eenhana, Ilundu etc.

Great country!!

Any more pic's of the area?