The year long All Expenses Paid hooligan ride

[Around May we fetched 60 or 70 brand-new XR's from a transport depot in Grootfontein. My bike had 0.5 km on the clock. As I recall, the highest mileage on any one of them was 4 km.]

Hi whethefakawe

Was this around 1983/84 ?  I was doing time at Grootfontein from July 83 till end of 84 at Movements on the old section of the air base (old control tower, painted in Nissan red, white & blue colours) as a loadmaster.  I remember unloading a flossie freighter (or was that 2) from the 'states' containing about 50+ brand new XR500R's, destined for the bush.  It looked almost as though they had been parked in a line and literally sprayed brown completely, everything was brown, exept the tires, lights and seats!
Some already had thick layers of paint chipping off the plastics in large chunks, from bending of the mudguards and bumping around during loading and offloading of the plane, revealing the brand new red plastic underneath.  A few of us were bikers and litterally drooled over the prospect of riding these things through the bush.....what a blast!  It made me long for my KE175 waiting for me at home in Cape Town.

A few months later we received consolation in the form of a Yammie IT495 2-stroke, which was posted to Grootfontein.  According to the paperwork, it was some officer dude's private bike.  It stood in our freight yard for months and no one ever came to collect it??!!  On weekends we used to siphon fuel from our army issue 'garry' (land rover), 2-stroke oil came from our 'connection' at the military stores and we'd 'steal' the IT for regular spins on the dirt roads around the airfield and messed about on it in the 'as gat' (afrikaans for rubbish dumps).  We even did a few hi-speed drag runs down the runway on weekends with runway clearance from our buddies at the ops room.  What a beast!  I can remember hagging on for dear life when opening the throttle on that monster!  Wouldn't mind having one of those as my toy today.  They don't build them like that anymore........mean, f@%king mean is all I can say!

Thanks for that post, it brought back some good memories of those days.  Those XR's were great bikes too, pity they don't build those anymore.

Hi WTF, only read your story now – absolutely brilliant! I was not with the Bike squad but it brought back a lot of good old memories. I’ve been in Charlie Kompanie in ’80 in Faffaskool, had Killer (HG F@kken Smit) as KSM, remember Asterix as well.

Should you still be looking for material or people that were involved, the SABOV website might be a good medium for just that: https://www.sabwv.co.za/

Thanks for a great read.
Pongo

Howsit WTFAW
I was based at vrp Grooties,those bikes didnt have 4km on we used to disconect the speedos and ride the k%^&k
out of them,it was a little after your time 84 intake but im sure the okes before us done the same thing
So I spose we rode them in for you guys ,great memories  >:D

cheers DR

Thanks for the input guys.

We picked up the new XR's in May 82 - the C and D models,I believe - only thing that changed from 81 to 82 was the front fender, the 82's stuck up higher.

Ja wouldn't surprise me if they'd been ridden before we got them, although to the best of my memory the batch we got were spotless - the tyres still had sharp edges etc. One thing I DO know, is that rifleman Seb Barnard of platoon 11 had the honour of the first crash, leaving the gate. And he did that afer 0,3 k's, I remember my buddy JB who was the platoon sergeant of PL 11 then kakking him out! Poor Seb is dead now,car accident JB tells me.

The 83/84 bikes were for platoons 13 and 14, I am in touch with several of those okes. They were still C and D models,I'm not sure when the  model with the twin carbs,disc brake etc came into use. One more thing to dig up. 

Steve in Dar, I'll make a note thanks, still have my KTM 950in Greece that must come to SA somehow. I'd love to ride through Tanzania, nice country.

Pongo, so you were charlie, eh? Remember ... hak-hak,Charlie is kak......? ha ha some inter-company jealousy competition. .Was Killer Smith your CSM? I vaguely rememer that, but I've forgotten much of that year. I do remember that sgt-maj Steenkamp from HQ coy though. I was Alpha, Asterix was our CSM, hilarious man. My boet was in Charlie in 1982,by that time all the personnel had changed of course.

The kakpraat stories book is being printed as we speak, I'm busy with research for the History - big job, getting documents etc from the SANDF archives, lengthy process and mountains of paper to wade through.

Thanks for the input - every bit of info helps.

No,but should be soon, the FINAL final edit went to John the publisher two weeks ago, he has the layout done already. It will be a low-key affair, on John's website www.justdone.co.za we'll see after that, Kilroy offered to help too will take him up on that.  I'll put a note on here when it's done.

Great report...i't brings back lots of memories...I don't know if this is any help,but i do know of a guy who was part of the bike squad named George Jayes...total mal oke..lots of stories etc.I don't know where he is at the moment but i will find out and let you know...

Hi from kazakhstan
Patrick Devy was my loot in 83 Bike Squad. I left Plt 13 after bike riding and
maitance course for Infantry school still got the t shirt "SWAPO IS OUR TRACTION"
Working in Kaz on construction got a Russian wife and child you think us SA booitjies can party no match for the locals.
Thanks for all the photo`s  lots of memories " Mosieta -Okatopi and the Elgro hotel
cheers
Fakawidan

fakawidan said:
Hi from kazakhstan
Patrick Devy was my loot in 83 Bike Squad. I left Plt 13 after bike riding and
maitance course for Infantry school still got the t shirt "SWAPO IS OUR TRACTION"
Working in Kaz on construction got a Russian wife and child you think us SA booitjies can party no match for the locals.
Thanks for all the photo`s  lots of memories " Mosieta -Okatopi and the Elgro hotel
cheers
Fakawidan

Oooooo windsurfing(langarm) in the Elgro hotel :-[ me too

I was pointed this thread by a mate only now. See it's been running some time.

I too was in the Bike Squad. SWA Spes. July 1984 to July 1985. I completed JL's in SWATF in Okahandja.

I was fortunately at the receiving end of some of the 1984 Honda XR500RE's (front disk brakes and dry sump), brand new, roughly ~50-60 of them when we started. BRAND spanking new, but all sprayed Army brown. After few weeks my bike was almost back to Honda red.

I have lods of photos and will post them when I get back from my business trip and have had  a chance to scan them.

I was in charge of training about 50-60 SWATF local troops, all but one had actually ridden a bicycle  before. Was a real challenge to train these guys,  but after lots of training, most were proficient on the XR50RE's....

We did some border trips from SWA Spes / Otavi.

I met a couple of the guys from Okitoppi bike sqaud (SADF guys) when they were stationed with us for a month or two before they klaared out.

Was keen to know what happened to Aubrey Cavanaugh (~Dec 1984)... anyone know ?

I will post some of the photos... Gimme a few days.

We had an absolute jol riding for more than 12 months day in and out... I remember being able to Wheelie like a deamon. Geez, those were the young and reckless days.

Yes I've got Aubrey k's number, also Tony's - he has been very helpful too.

Fakawidan and animaal,  please pm me some time if you don't mind?  I have a few questions. 

here's the t-shirt

any body remember "plakkies van Rensberg" he had some problem with his feet got a medical letter to wear sanddels dont now wat he and the sister some woman major we doing.
I just remember the OC of the motorcycle wing or(Vleul) was Major J Strobel
but he left to go and work for BMW.

Seen and reading all these story's and foto's bring back memories just had a back flash the palatoon sargent was Icks Ukerman he also left and went to work for Safair met him again on Ondangwa he was the Loadmaster on the Flossie back to the states.

Hi Guys. Great photos Yuri . has brought back many good memories. If my memory serves me correctly ,I think I was one of the trouble makers in your platoon.  :laughing4:
Was good fun. I had my Bike Squad t-shirt stolen . It was one of the black ones with the  "HELL ON WHEELS" emblem. I still have the orange 'BEREDE' t-shirt.  Problem is that it doesn't fit me anymore.

Start to remember more . There was one more BS instructor cant remember his name he left aswell to the USA and become a com diver to work on Rigs.
83 BS Plt was also para jump qualifield as Lt P.Devy first put us threw PT cource and the we went to "jumpschool" civvie at Klerksdorp every wednesday for "sports parade" afk@k we did but there was good times aswell

Hi Guys,

Just found this thread, and boy did it bring back memories.
I was in Groetfontein 86 to 88, and we had a shed full of brand new XR500's, used to take them for "onderhouds route" or maintenance rides - just an excuse to get them out, and take them for a blast.

They all had a 5 ltr header tank, and still had their original tool kits.

Recall getting an "oop vok", for doing dounuts once.  :imaposer: