To Gaansbaai with a heap of sand and a Brakenjan

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kamanya

Andrew to most
Staff member
Global Moderator
Reaction score
Bike
KTM 990 Adventure
Ahh, the joys of being on Holiday.

Dawid of Brakenjan fame was also on holiday in Onrus and Pm’d me to say that he was keen to be shown around and preferably a bit of sand. Well, I have been coming to this part of the world for many years and have found a few lekker places to ride and as I have always been on my own here was an opportunity to spread the fun.

We met at the Sandbaai Engen, But I’d already had a fall as I had stalled on the front lawn on full lock and down she went. So the score was Andrew 1 Dawid 0 before we had even met.

The normal, “hello, nice day for a ride” conversation and the eerie experience of a virgin meatspace meeting but we’ve-met-before-per-forum experience.

And we’re off. The plan was to go to Stanford and do some of the tracks in that part of the world. His legend 650R is not a tar mile muncher, 120 is about it.

But tar was something that was not much on the menu so before too long we were into some of the better trails and soon at the end of one... I’d like to say that I did a neat dismount but it was a proper fall right over the front for me Andrew 2 Dawid 0.

Fortunately he clawed one back obviously thinking it was the done thing, 2 -1

Pretty hey?

We stayed off the beach.

That track you see is what we came in on, a stunning little sandy thing with just the right amount of sand to start the day.

This part of the world does strange things to people.

But places to go... so doubling back we did a quick loop of a favourite little stretch before heading through the fynbos towards Gansbaai. We stopped a few times to chew the fat at opportune times. This track is one that I had not done before but knew where it must come out, it was a sweaty little thing at times.