Touratech 16 December day ride

Tjops

Puppy
First up, thanks to all who organised the ride and attended. I was nice to meet fellow dogs and riding together.  :thumleft:

Right, this is how I can explain the ride for the day: from the Touratech shop we moered into some backroad plaaspaaie, with lost of mud pools, loose sands, sinkplaat, crevecis and whole atoher nasty stuff. We were making our way to Secunda, but I think I speak for the majority of us that attented, we didn't have clue of where we were, except of course for the organisers!  ;D

Unfortunalty, one of the BMW G 650 X Country riders developed electrical problems, and had to fall out. Furthermore, a poor bloke on 'lewensgevaarlike' bike broke his fork or something, and to rub salt in his wounds he apparatly lost his GPS.  :-\

As for the rest, after some 'lewensgevaarlike' situations on the dirt, we made it to Dros in Secunda, where we enjoyed a well deserved meal. From there, some dogs decided they had had enough - mostly excuses of family obligations etc. and after filling up with juice departed on their merry way. Fortunalty for them, we shan't name and shame them.  :p

Those loyal dogs remaining, we decided to do some more dirt on our way back to Delmas. But woe, when we hit the dirt and things were just becoming lekker, a BMW G 650 X Country's (am I the only one seeing a pattern here?) rear shock absorber pen broke. Now, we could have been basterds and left the poor dog along the road, but we decided to try and help and wait for the rescue veichle to arrive.  :-\

And that's that - rescue vehicle showed up (after getting lost a few times along the way). Bike loaded, and off home we went, riding into the sunset!  :ricky:

Next time we try the whole route!

Some pics that I could manage to take:

To view the whole album:https://s63.photobucket.com/albums/h137/oktanol/16_Dec_Off%20Road%20Trip/

Waiting for some dogs to catch up:
16_Dec_2.jpg

16_Dec_12.jpg

Big Mudpool of Terror:
16_Dec_3.jpg

'Don't worry, it's only this deep.'
16_Dec_8.jpg

'See, I told you it was not deep.'
16_Dec_9.jpg

This is a picture of an excellent bike. Yes, I am biased.
16_Dec_7.jpg

Mudpool crossings!
16_Dec_17.jpg

16_Dec_18.jpg

16_Dec_11.jpg

Relaxing in the shade.
16_Dec_23.jpg

16_Dec_24.jpg

More riding:
16_Dec_25.jpg

We made it!
16_Dec_27.jpg

16_Dec_28.jpg

BMW breakdown.
16_Dec_29.jpg

Can you fix it?
16_Dec_33.jpg

I am sure that thingamajick doesn't go there:
16_Dec_34.jpg

'Sigh, so I couldn't fix the Beemer. Does that make me a bad person?'
16_Dec_393.jpg

Rescue!
16_Dec_39.jpg

Oo Ryperd!  Organizers - thanks for an awesome LEGENDARY trip! Thanks Touratech and Mr. Ryperd... :biggrin: Well planned and executed with all the right elements of... everything!  Think the 200mm of rain in the area turned it into a more technical trip but hey...  mud is soft :biggrin:  Thanks for sticking around to the end, baking ballas in the sun, talking k@k about Beemers and the ods that 3 broke on one trip... ;)  Mr. Touratech, thanks for waiting for us smaller, slower bunch and bringing us back to Kempton in one piece!  :thumleft:  It was my first and had an absolute blast!  Even though the Beemers led to us being out on the road for 11 hours! :pot:  Hey I cant do that...  I ride one myself.... ???

Come on Dawgs where are ya?  I'm sure there are many different versions and stories to be heard... :mwink:

Ok ok, it was my red LG that gave trouble!  :confused2:

While trying to keep the 990/950 pack :glasses2: in sight (no, I couldn't keep up - combination of skill and suspension  :mwink: ), I hit one obstacle too many (the cement edge over the bridge) and it popped the left fork seal and the Oregon went flying - neither of which I noticed immediately, I was waiting for the front tyre to go flat after that hit, which fortunately didn't happen.  When I eventually noticed the oil all over the brakes and my boots, only then did I see the Garmin was gone.  So much for my trust in the RAM mount.

Went back, found all the parts of the Oregon after 30 minutes of searching - landed on other side of river/bridge! - stuck it together and it worked!  Then limped back home...  In hindsight not too big an issue, the oil mess clouds one's judgement.

As for the ride, tx Ryperd and Aldo - great route, lots of fun, lekker muffins and coffee.  Love the shop, hope it does well.  The Touratech brand is strong and you know what you get.  Great to have competitive options in SA - our choice will always be poorer without Touratech.  I met Aldo at Country Trax in 2008, he is still the professional gentleman and helpful guy I saw since day 1.  Give him a chance, I am sure he will cement the brand support in SA if he can bridge the recession - and I'm convinced he will.

BTW, very impressed with the KTMs at speed.  Have decided the WP suspension outweighs the poor fuel consumption and lack of heated grips!  Just the lack of dealer support that still stops me from exploring the grey side...  if the next 990 comes with stronger rims and tubeliss, maybe I might even put up with that as well...

All said, still love the 800, just need that fork to change!  No tankslap problems, just too soft and basic...

Ja nee kan net se fark daai manne kan ry...  En daai bikes kan die punch vat...

Ja moerse Dankie Touratech and Ryperd!!!
As ek nie geval het nie het ek gelag so ja dit was perfek gewees.
Ek hoop Tank Girl baklei met BMW vandag!!

Dankie vir die fotos !

Hi WD's
Thank you all for spending your public holiday with us yesterday. Maybe we could have attached the “gelofte dag” angle to it. I think we had as much fun and scary moments as the “Boere” had some couple of moons ago.  To Ryperd, (Dankie Tjoma) thanks for the route “great” the part we did do and the part I rode after having to catch-up.

To the guys with the cameras, do you think when coming around the corner facing 15 okes, one heck of a mud hole, all shouting and pointing what line to take one should go OK thanks… some of you did not look that clean… :mwink:
Thank you MR Jeep for showing me a better line!!

To Dakardrix and CaptainJ , thank you. I will do my best to revive the Touratech name in SA

Watch the space, there will be more coming in twentyTEN!

Thanx to all.  It was AWESOME yesterday.  Great to see ladies joining in as well.  My first time with my Dakar on off-road.  This bike was the best gift ever from the wife!!!!!  (sorry guys, she is already taken by me....).

The tar on the way back was boaring, and I regret that I didn't join the "off the beaten track" back home.  It was great to take part without worrying about skill level. O0

Can someone maybe help... I had absolutely no freaking idea where we rode yesterday... all that I can remember is that it was AWESOME!!!! Thanx Ryperd & Aldo ;D

Sorry cannot do attachments :p.  Got the route and can send it to someone that can attach it.

Dakar2006 – go to the New member introductions and introduce yourself before you get struck by Wild Dog sarcasm.

Just wanted to say a big thanks to the guys who organised and partook in yesterdays ride. Despite a bit of flu I really enjoyed the day - glad I went. Also my first WD event. Hey Tank Girl, bad luck, anyone's bike could have broken. Shit happens sometimes. Thanks again folks.

Fortunately Runner was open for the day and committed to help me fit new tyres for the trip ahead so unfortunately I could only do the first railroad section ending at the Delmas road, looked like fun...

Some photos:

Waiting at the start of the first dirt road section.
PC163413.jpg

Jaymoer with the train in the background passing by, we were waiting to take pictures at a mudhole but the crowd gathered at the previous crossing.
PC163414.jpg

Some photos at the one water/mud crossing just before I had to leave:

PC163416.jpg

PC163417.jpg

PC163419.jpg

PC163420.jpg

PC163421.jpg

PC163422.jpg

PC163423.jpg

PC163424.jpg

PC163426.jpg

PC163427.jpg

O ja, this was a Jeep not a bike
PC163428.jpg

PC163425.jpg

And then I had to go…

Thanks guys & girls, was a great ride & lots of fun. Nice meeting you & will definitely join again.

+1000

Hi all ,

First a big thanks you to Ryperd and Aldo for a great ride. :thumleft:

Hoofseun, sorry you had to leave the ride so early , but it was good to meet you

Little Fire, keep on riding  :ricky:, you are doing very well and will be up to speed in no time . sorry that your bike broke down (BMW) :pot: the rest of the ride would done you good. Remeber no sub for time in the saddle. and remeber to have fun , relax and enjoy. :biggrin: :thumleft:

Tank Girl, thank you for the +/- 2 hours on the side of a dirt road . it realy gave me time to meet and talk kak to all the dog's like Ryperd, Adv boy, Tjops, Aldo and of cousre you. I hope your are giving BMW hell regarding your bike (BMW) :pot:

Sorry for not posting some pic's (have a problem posting them ?????) Not very  good with computors.

til the next time

O0

To all who came out to play - thank you!

What can I add?  It was a fun day, pity about the Beemers breaking down  :peepwall:

We will do this again, this ride is not finished!!  :thumleft: :thumleft:

helloooooo!!

thanks to aldo and ryperd for organising a lovely ride, what a great route!
AND I LOVE MY TKC's! ;D

my bike is currently with bmw in pta. i phoned them just to find out a price for the part then they actually offered to do a warranty claim for me so now we're holding thumbs for approval but the part has been ordered already. 8)

you guys rock, thanks for sticking with me out there in the hot, mosquito country!
beers are on me next time, and yes, i'll be on the next one again for sure! :D

Hi guys!
Thanx to Ryperd and Aldo for organizing a great ride.
Jaymoer, thanx a million for your encouragement when I was scared,
and for riding with me through all the tricky, muddy bits.
I felt 10 feet tall after getting through that, still upright.

Unfortunately, my battery just DIED without warning, and it took us 4 hours to get home, eventually.
Thanx to Aldo for helping us swop the batteries, and for towing Bertrand so that I could ride out.

Bertrand took some pictures and  video footage  (including his spectacular mud dive),
the will post when he gets back from the Swaziland trip.

Thanx again guys, the Dogs are the BEST!