Wilddog Hogs

The camp is on the Breede River, a place calle Round the Bend. 28k's from the N2.

Code:
Added the rest of the story for Kamanya as he is having problems posting it... (funacide)

I sold all but 5 of the hogs; 2 broke and three were donated to the bar. For all I know they now reside there. Didn't break even but got close so all was good.

The sheep and pig spit was done in a way that I thought was a great idea. Kind of like a huge outdoor oven steamer thing. Hats off to Briv who had a hand in it.

220510309-M.jpg

Here's the place where we all met. About 20 or so guys elected to sleep in the BnB's or self catering places that are scattered around. I envied them for the warmth but was glad I didn't have to ride anywhere else.

220519188-L.jpg

A short video of the same

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hXdLVn1Pp3k#

Lots of kuk was spoken to and by all.

220510700-M.jpg

220510643-M.jpg

220511011-M.jpg

220511333-M.jpg

I was in a deep discussion when supper was announced. The discussion was abruptly terminated to join the fast growing queue.

Lets just say that for the three hundred bucks or so for the whole weekend the food had no right to be that good! A big thanks to Michnus for suggesting and organising the venue.

220510980-M.jpg

220511106-M.jpg

220931796-M.jpg

220932154-M.jpg

220931984-M.jpg

It was then the official part of the bash, all the thank you's to all and then the lucky draw with 75 of us getting something. A few walked off with some coveted items, comms systems, bags, subscriptions, spotlights, mugs, shirts and stuff. There was an auction for a few collectables to help the forum coffers.

220511476-M.jpg

"I'm gonna make you a starrrrrrr whoaaaaa yeeaaaaah!" Or something like that, you'll have to ask Jan Troffel, er... John Travolta

220511746-M.jpg

220511588-M.jpg

Some awards were the strafdop kind, A few visited the dirt riding to or during the event.

220931606-M.jpg

I am sorry to say my party battery was pretty pap and I was going to have a long day on the ride home so I started to make my plans for bed. I couldn't find that Labrador and asked the owner if I could borrow a blanket.

Lets just say I was the happiest camper that night. The phantom KLR did the rounds again apparently.

It's not highly fashionable but scores a 10 on fuctionality.

220511909-M.jpg

Morning was coming and it looked like it might be cold and clear. I got up to set the camera on an interval of 10 minutes and went back to bed to warm up.

220434323-M.jpg

220434444-M.jpg

220434576-M.jpg

220503835-M.jpg

220503794-M.jpg

220503947-M.jpg

220503770-M.jpg

220434190-M.jpg

Big Morning Sky

220517295-XL.jpg

It wasn't long before I took a perverse pleasure in firing up the 950 and giving it a bit rise and shine to all the campers whilst leaving at 5.45am.

I was planning to get to Oudtshorn and then do the Rooiberg pass again before then getting to Barrydale and home.

It was very cold but really clear and great to begin. I kept it below max cruise to save the tyres that were looking a little tired from the fun from the previous two days. I made it to Somerset East and whilst packing breakfast on the back that I was going  to enjoy at some lay bye, the sky darkened, the ground shook, mothers hid their children and the rumbling sound of Terminator 2 of Rat or rather Rod pulled up.

This is a later shot of what I saw.

220933421-M.jpg

I told him of my plan and route, he said he'd stay with me till Oudtsthorn and then we could go our separate ways. Great. He had been averaging 160-170, I had been doing 150-160. No probs lets go.

220512377-M.jpg

220512488-M.jpg

We stopped at a nondescript fuel station in Graaf Reinet at 8.40am and decided we were better off eating what I had bought. It was ham and cheese rolls. Had a good chat and away we went into the big Karoo.

220512116-M.jpg

220512344-M.jpg

It was great to ride in formation for the 500k's or so to Oudsthorn. Rod had two scares, we were travelling side by side me in the oncoming lane, I had seen a small buck in the road and hauled on the anchors, he hadn't seen it and was looking at me in his mirrors wondering what I was up to before he saw the buck. Varadero's stop pretty good. He might have needed a change in underwear then but carried on anyway. His second was some doos in a bakkie who pulled onto the road without looking. Varadero's swerve pretty well too. If he hadn't had dirty rods before he certainly must have had them now.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1yfM_hoBdMM#

Oudtshorn came and we filled up and said goodbye's. the first section of dirt to the pass was terrible the back end was gone. I had no knobblies left and just didn't feel like taking the chance so I made my way back to the tar and aimed for home. That's what a 950 will do to a tire in less than 2000k's if you have too much fun.

220506720-M.jpg

At the top of the Huis River pass before Ladysmith the headwind started. It just got worse and worse the closer to Cape Town. It was a shitty way to end a great ride. I didn't spare the horses and just gunned it. Sorry if any of you reading this and own a green Range Rover and got a fright going up Du Toits, I really didn't mean it and you shouldn't use that kind of sign language.

Home and stinky but safe.

220512782-M.jpg

Boy did I sleep well!

Thanks all who made it a great event.

Oh yes, what does a Wilddog Hog look like you ask?

220511990-XL.jpg

If you have one, remember they are very rare and from a special time

ja jou bliksem

waking the campers at 5.45 was just plain mean!!!!

thnaks for the company  - great as usual!!!

oh -I have two of those 'rare' wild dog hogs - the one you left behind at ur tent site made it home safely with only 3 legs, but he has company -great idea you had!! and the last 3 you left behind was snatched up by another WD who had this huge smile on his face. What luck he thought...........

;D, I brought one home with me, the one I left, if you look on the series of photo's of me packing while its getting lighter, the last photo, I puposely left it there.

Kamanya,

Why has the video of Jose changing the tyre been removed? I wanna see it!

nice report K,
I knew I was going to be sorry for not buying a hog ::)
well done for supporting the locals ;)

I also bought one of those hogs.

Was on the loo when you left on sunday morning, man it was loud, it almost cracked the white telephone. No wonder theres nothing left of that tire.

Lekka ride report.

Super report... Thanks for putting in the effort..
If I wasn't jealous before, I am now

Kamanya said:
"I'm gonna make you a starrrrrrr whoaaaaa yeeaaaaah!" Or something like that, you'll have to ask Jan Troffel, er... John Travolta

220511746-M.jpg

If my old friend takes the microphone and start doing the kareoke thing, you should know that the party is going well....... ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Kamanya, thank you. What a great report 8) I can see you had a fab time. I'm green with envy. Thanks for sharing.

PS. Like so many others on this forum, you have a unique writing style that I dig. I class you as favourites with MetalJockey, Freakonaleash, Whethefakrwe, etc. Even the Zanzibar hooligans :eek: Class act 8) 8)

A fine piece of work Kamanya, you really know how to express yourself and your pictures are just tops.  :thumleft:

Somewhere-els said Katberg was'nt that difficult, it's the fitness that got her to look like that ;D

Thanks, it was great riding with you.

Thanks for thed ride home and the underware was just fine! Pity we didn't hook up again on the last leg as I stoped in at Barrydale for lunch and we must have just missed each other. Great pics and enjoyed the video.