Wipeout, Umtombe Bash, Buck, Hospital - Need I say More

Hi Guys, yes as Jacque told the story that’s exactly like it happened. It was about 8 pm and we were on the final stretch of road the R349 after 1260 km from home and 27 km before the bash on a dirt road. Dave and Johan were ahead and I kept a gap in order for the dust to settle a bit. We were 15 km from the tar road by now and I was doing only about 80 kmh. I saw this buck running in the same direction than what I was moving on the left side against the fence. It looked frightened and I think it was scared by the first two bikes, it then made a u turn and ran back to the left of me until it got behind my light in the dark area. The next moment I felt this horrendous pain and an impact to my left leg and as I looked down I saw this buck. It was as if it hit a brick wall as after hitting my leg below the knee I saw his body folding up double and I think his body could have hit the side cover as well as it is broken now. The metal plate next to my boot was bent as well from the impact. My leg immediately felt paralyzed and I could not put the bike in neutral although my boot was still on the foot peg. I then brought the bike slowly to a standstill and pulled in the clutch and then flick the kill switch. I could not get off the bike as my luggage was stacked high behind me. As I am planning a solo round the world bike trip from 25/05/2015 16 months from now I took all my gear along for my world tour as a practice run. Anyway I was sitting there with my right leg holding the bike up and it felt like half an hour. Jacque asked me what happened and I told him I was hit by a buck. Johan in the meantime turned back and he and Jacque picked me up high enough in order for my leg not to touch the saddle and laid me down next to the road. I told them to phone an ambulance as I know that my leg was fractured. Although I had a shirt, a chess protector, my bike jacket and a rain suite jacket I was still shaking from the cold and pain. After two hour the ambulance did not arrive yet and we phoned them to give them the GPS coordinates. It felt like eternity before they arrived. It was a very painful experience to be loaded on to the stretcher and the shaking from there over the 15km dirt road did not help either. Arriving at the St. Dominic hospital in East London just before 12 O clock the drama did not stop. I gave them my Discovery medical aid card and that alone was not good enough as they refuse to treat me or give me any pain killer as they first need a hard copy of my wife’s ID as she is the main member. My wife was back at home a 1000 km away. They requested that she now must drive to a Life hospital (or shall I say a death hospital) at 12 at night to have a copy made of her ID. Now I do not know of any Life hospital in the south of JHB and offered that my wife faxes a copy through but no they do not have a fax machine. By now they threaten to send me to a government hospital. My wife did not know how to scan the ID and then email it to the hospital on my computer system at home. I then phoned her to tell her to phone my son in order for him to explain to her on how to do it. In the mean time I ask the clerk what about the hypocritical oath. A nurse told me that that does not exist anymore. At 1 am (5 hours after the incident) my wife phoned to say that she has managed to e-mail a copy of her ID through as I still laid there on the stretcher untreated and no pain killer yet. After they received the e-mail they started to treat me and cut off my jeans and agatt which I wore under my jeans. I was ex rayed and it was found that the Tibia on the lower leg was fractured as well as some tendons were torn. The treatment was done until 3 am and I was kept in casualty till the next day. The next day a moon boot was fitted which caused even more pain. The specialist then fitted an old fashion plaster caster to the whole leg which held it more stable. I then spent the next 8 days in hospital and was discharged on Saturday and arrived back in JHB after my son fetched me back with my bakkie and my bike on the back. I was not allowed to fly back as it could cause a blood clot through the hart.
I would therefore want to thank my fellow Wilddog friends who waited patiently at the roadside till the ambulance arrived. Thanks to Johan, Jacque and Riana and Dave. Thanks also to Steven who I did not know before. Steven is a shining example of a scholar and a gentleman. He stored my bike, gave my buddies a place to sleep for the first night and visited me in hospital many time and bought me all my requirements and helped to load my bike when we fetched it Saturday. Also thanks to Riana, Dave and Johan who visited me in hospital and bought me munchies. Also thanks to all the sisters and nurses who were very patient with this 63 year old. Also thanks to Dr. Crowther for nursing me back to sanity.
As I read the other members reports on the bash I am so sorry to have missed it as I see so many familiar faces there. Thanks to all Schalk vd Merwe.

• 2013 Bash Ride 001.jpg
    2013 Bash Ride 001.jpg
    178.7 KB
Sorry to hear about your ordeal Schalk.

Hope you recover soonest.

Get well soon Schalk.

I passed you guys on Sunday morning when you were fixing the flat. One of you gave me a thumbs up so i did not stop. As i read this ordeal maybe i should have stopped and offered some sort of service even if it was to just come back with my bike trailer from EL and take the porridge wheel bike back to have the tube sorted!!!

will make it a habit to stop in future.  :-\ :-\

Glad to see you guys still smiling after the mud tumble, and all the other happenings of the weekend!!!

Wow what a story and adventure.
Sorry about the leg Schalk and hope you heal well and soon.

Shoe! what an adventure. Schalk speedy recovering for you. Its an amazing story. Its still hard to believe that it could happen  to  you.

One of the reasons I joined WD was to enjoy the scooter with like minded people, have some fun and adventure...... My first bash. What a blast!!!! The wind, rain, Schalk's 1 hour detour through the mountains lasting about 4! Could not have asked for more. THE SPIRIT  LIVES ON :thumleft:

I agree, even after all that happened we still made the best of every situation thrown our way.

And as you say. to enjoy it with like minded people makes the trip worth it.

I agree with Jacguedup and Bushtrotter whom I only met last Thursday it was all worth it, even the fact that I did not make it to the bash. Life happens and this was just another memory that I will treasure for the rest of my life. To be with like minded people is aw some and I think for the first 2 days we just clicked. I am looking forward to our reunion braai in the near future. Kind regards  to all Schalk.

hi there

was great meeting the night before it all went wrong

your leg my ankle

so we will start riding again soon

get well soon 

Schalk  you "old" bullet. Hope you recover well and soon. Not like you to get help on the road. The last trip we did up Sani you were OK to go with a few cable ties on the bike no pain killer and a bit of Duc Tape on the knee?
Jokes aside - hope all is downhill from here.

paule said:
Schalk  you "old" bullet. Hope you recover well and soon. Not like you to get help on the road. The last trip we did up Sani you were OK to go with a few cable ties on the bike no pain killer and a bit of Duc Tape on the knee?

One tough old Codger  :biggrin:

This was a very lekker ride - I was prepared for almost anything but the wheel washing out on me - on tar nogal - at speed too.

So what damage was done - my right middle finger has a slight scar and a little blue on the nail. My elbow - inner is bruised but already cleared up. Left shoulder still hurs a bit anf my hip was bruised and almost sorted now.

My not so pristine AT anymore came out of this low slide remarkably well. I added some crash protection and the bars and crash protection took the slide in a shower of sparks. The crash bars have a serious case of road rash. My soft luggage handled the skid very well too - with not too much abrasion tears on the side. Handguard broken off and clutch lever bent, flicker light - left front - some abrasion. And side left side of bash plate also has some road rash.

There was no impact - just a slide.

That's it! What a remarkable piece of machinery. 100% ok-save for the little cosmetic damage.

So now we going to give her some tlc and we will be as good as new soon.

I rode with a bunch of exceptional people = great people and I would travel anywhere again with them.

Yes - I am still smiling about this adventure. That's why we ride these machines. To meet great like minded people. :thumleft:

A great RR.....but so much bad luck. Glad you are all home safely. Some nice and different scenery as well.
Well done.
Get better soon Schalk....we missed you at the Kei.

wildside said:
A great RR.....but so much bad luck. Glad you are all home safely. Some nice and different scenery as well.
Well done.
Get better soon Schalk....we missed you at the Kei.

Hi Wildside I missed all the familiar faces, will see you next year maybe I can get a free entry as I paid for everything. Leg is already getting better regards.

jupiter said:
paule said:

One tough old Codger  :biggrin:

Hi Jupiter thanks things are already better, will see you on a ride in the near future.

paule said:

Hi Paule nice to hear from you, things are already going downhill. Will see you on the next ride.

All the best, Schalk.  I know you're a tough one and will bounce right back.

Sounds like proper adventure riding to me!  :thumleft: