Zim Gravel Travel Tour 2014. Rough, tough and rewarding!

Mark62 said:
Oops....
Just asking can you pay in Rand at the petrol stations and anywhere else ???
Planning to go to Zim asap  :ricky:

Perhaps here or there so not a good option. Get USD in small denominations.  :deal:

Mark are you alright making me worried now ....... Ibola maybe ???? ???

Moet Ibola wees want dit vat nou freeking lank of hy is weer op n ride. :biggrin:

Day 4   “Sorting the men from the boys!”

Some of us were up early to do some tyre changes and maintenance before today’s ride. The ride was to be the most challenging ride for man and machine so preparation was critical. Vosperd had a new tyre delivered overnight to him, his driver drove all night arriving at 5am with the new rubber after the Mitas he had on started disintegrating with only a few 100km on!  Jagsding also had a front puncture to repair.

IMG_2107_zpsd55e237e.jpg

DSC00678_zps57deabfa.jpg

IMG_2125_zps4785418a.jpg

IMG_2108_zpsc0e35fd6.jpg

After breakfast we all gathered for the traditional group photo on the front porch of New Years Gift Guest house. What a great place to stay, the main house is probably over 100 years old with it’s very colonial architecture. It is very amusing to me that Bob and his boys detest England and their colonial ways yet everywhere you go in Zimbabwe colonialism is still unwittingly practiced at all the places we stayed. Maybe it’s a case of sticking to what you know best or maybe it just works!

DSC00681_zps2104f113.jpg

IMG_2155_zps402e7073.jpg

IMG_2117_zps7e6a7008.jpg

Leaving Chipinge behind us we turned onto a goat track through the msasa trees and over a mountain, the track was rutted and rocky and more a path than a road so whilst we thought there wouldn’t be any other vehicles on this track we were wrong, rounding a rough rocky corner we nearly rode into a taxi plodding through the holes and ruts with it’s expressionless passengers bouncing around inside. One thing I have learned about Zim And Swaziland is not to be surprised where you find vehicles travelling in these rural areas, these people can take a Golf GTI up baboons pass!

DSC00682_zps7976f554.jpg

DSC00637_zps76afe22f.jpg

IMG_2157_zps9846838e.jpg

Just outside Chipinge, Padeses had a problem with his rear wheel, we quickly diagnosed the problem to a collapsed wheel bearing. We stripped the bearing out and rode the 20km to Chipinge very worried that this was the end of his ride, what were the chances of this little town having the right bearing!? After being sent from one shop to the next we eventually ended up at a little spares shop that was literally the same size as a toilet cubical! There was only room inside for its helpful owner, whilst we stood at the door peering in he climbed through the masses of spares boxes, fan belts and car parts hanging from the walls and roof took out a vernier, measured the bearing and with in 10 minutes produced the exact bearing! Wow! WTF! $10 later we were on our way back to the bike to fit the bearing!

IMG_2134_zps70fe0364.jpg

DSC00695_zpsa5a27a68.jpg

DSC00696_zpsb159e925.jpg

.......And that they sure did!!!
DSC00699_zpsbc6a0d88.jpg

The Triumph Twins also took the time to do some DIY maintenance!
IMG_2143_zps5beb374d.jpg

IMG_2148_zpsc7876b1f.jpg

Alas, after fitting the bearing we realised that the otherside bearing had also collapsed it was then decided that Pades and Eddie would ride back to Chipinge again to replace the other bearing then ride tar to met us at our overnight stop. The rest of us headed on for what was to be the best ride of the trip. Sorry Eddie and Lee, you missed a good one!

Whilst we were stopped next to the road trying to repair Padeses bike a local farmer in his 2.4D Hilux stops to ask if he can help. Now just to put this into perspective...............in Zim you hardly see a white face, especially where we were travelling, if you see a farmer he is a normally a black man, white farmers are extremely scares! This chap introduces himself as Dawie, from the outset he looks familiar to me, and after chatting to him for a few minutes it hits me! Dawie Joubert! I was at school with him in Umtali Boys High! I last saw him more than 30 years ago! What are the chances!? Great to meet him again after all these years!

DSC00706_zpse41db48e.jpg

We headed through a working Tea Farm towards the Ngorima valley, crossing the Risitu river and following the river along the Mozambique border. The views were stunning, endless views across the valley into Mozambique, steep accents and descents, the road deteriorating to little more than a goat track, the bush here was dense forming a thick low canopy over the road, it felt like we were riding through a tunnel. Every now an again the bush would recede to reveal little rural settlements with traditional huts, children would either run to see the bikes or head for the hills in fright!

IMG_2151_zpsedb8ac33.jpg

DSC00708_zps39123849.jpg

IMG_2186_zps519f1a00.jpg

DSC00710_zpsc622030b.jpg

IMG_2207_zpsc8fedd53.jpg

DSC00718_zps1576a76c.jpg

IMG_2154_zps9f53dcb0.jpg

DSC00726_zps6c219bb7.jpg

DSC00736_zps6a3b1c0c.jpg

Vosperd in all his male glory!!  :imaposer:
IMG_2155_zps17ab9217.jpg

In one of these villages we came to school built precariously on the mountain with children playing in the uneven rocky play ground. We gave out about 100 Bic pens to the excited children who in turn sang us a few English nursery rhymes in their strong Shona accents which was a real treat for the hardy bikers. The headmaster came out to meet us, he was very upset that we hadn’t first come to him to explain our “intentions”. After calming him down and letting him know our intentions were of a charitable nature and that we weren’t a bunch of biker paedophiles, he became very friendly and insisted that we sign the visitor’s book.

DSC00741_zpsaac6e6e2.jpg

DSC00738_zpsd991723e.jpg

IMG_0780_zpsaf49c8f1.jpg

IMG_0789_zpsa2ca2021.jpg

Chuck and the Headmaster.
DSC00742_zps2f3c25e9.jpg

[flash=480,385]https://www.youtube.com/v/Qk4dhSoc6Ag[/flash]

Riding further down into the valley we came to a small town with a bottle store, we stopped for a cold beer then headed out of town, I noticed on the way out some big excavation machinery and the rivers running brown with silt, these were the first sign of the diamond mining operations happening in the area. Bob has got the Russians and Chinese to come and mine for him, there are no environmental impact studies done, just raw open cast mining at any cost! Very sad!

DSC00749_zps7d906849.jpg

DSC00750_zpsa042b791.jpg

DSC00755_zps9f7103c3.jpg

DSC00763_zpsad8994c3.jpg

Just outside town Zulu’s bike rear end collapsed on the harsh road, at first it seemed the rear suspension had collapsed then we realized that the subframe bolts had rattled loose causing the rear subframe to collapse. Retightening the bolts and a little help from a few cable ties and we were good to go. At the same time Vosperd had a rather big off damaging his aftermarket triple clamp, this was to cause an ongoing problem for him as it caused the neck bearings to come loose every few kilometres.

IMG_2183_zpsa5e4aa3b.jpg

IMG_2184_zps09eb3096.jpg

Not a bad place to have a breakdown!
IMG_2193_zpsb9624c43.jpg

Vosperd doing running repairs after a hard fall.
IMG_2196_zps18e32821.jpg

DSC06681_zpseade4304.jpg

Jagsding suddenly got tired!  :imaposer:
DSC00759_zps59caf9f1.jpg

The climb out of the valley brought with it a big challenge that would come with a few wipeouts for Steve and Anthony. It was steep slippery narrow and rocky, the guys had their hands full as the bikes bucked, bounced and spun their way upwards.

IMG_2199_zps16519c98.jpg

IMG_2201_zps4cebf9bd.jpg

Moment of impact! Caught on Camera as Paddy hits a lurker and goes down!
DSC00771_zps34c0593a.jpg

DSC00772_zpsa7abd14f.jpg

[flash=480,385]https://www.youtube.com/v/-TJcoMtVmX0[/flash]

DSC00786_zpsad2a5668.jpg

DSC00792_zps14b7b706.jpg

DSC00795_zps9021c59b.jpg

IMG_2205_zps62aa3bd8.jpg

[flash=480,385]https://www.youtube.com/v/Z8rXElK0Its[/flash]

Anthony lived up to his water crossing reputation by choosing a muddy stream to take a dip in!  :imaposer:
IMG_2206_zps04ef0a3c.jpg

By now we had only covered 80km for the day and it was late afternoon, the last section through to Chimanimani was open dirt, we ‘hit it’ flatout with the promise og cold beers and hot showers at the end.

IMG_2207_zps66fe49df.jpg

IMG_2213_zps087e6c30.jpg

DSC00796_zps9a9744b8.jpg

However there were a few other challenges along the way!
IMG_2215_zps06a9e94b.jpg

I grew up in Melsetter (now called Chimanimani after the magnificent mountains the town is built below), it was good to ride into this familiar beautiful place, memories flooding back of a childhood spent running wild in the surrounding mountains. Tonight I would sleep at ‘home’!

A few photos of the Chimanimani Village.

DSC03886_zps14992d8a.jpg

DSC03892_zps8fe0ce23.jpg

DSC03894_zps1beaf33a.jpg

DSC03897_zpsb3eeea26.jpg

DSC03885_zpsa6b736ed.jpg

DSC03882_zpsba47558c.jpg

DSC03881_zpsadeb928a.jpg

IMG_2307_zps5a37ba39.jpg

Pades (Lee) and Eddie were waiting at the Frog and Fern for us, cold beers in hand. They had had a great tar ride through to the lodge and had explored the town together. The team was back together, the beers were cold, the showers hot..........what more could we ask for? Live music maybe? Nope, we had that too! The owner of the lodge Anne invited 2 local chaps to come and sing to us, they entertained us with their guitars and a few self composed songs. Next!!  :imaposer:

IMG_2229_zpsc4dfd615.jpg

IMG_2255_zpsa411c253.jpg

DSC00800_zpsc32a7f68.jpg

Steve serenading the guys!  ;D
IMG_2223_zps2c790933.jpg

IMG_2221_zpsa0ab2b65.jpg

IMG_0823_zpsbb02ee46.jpg

Pades and Eddie having ridden tar were still fresh and full of energy, they lead us all astray for pretty wild party that lasted late, and we laughed our ***** off, drank, ate and partied till the early hours! A couple of tourists from Denmark who were camping also joined in the festivities but spent most of the time just watching these mad bikers! One of them asked Jagsding, “So where did you guys all meet?” to which he answered with a straight face “In prison.”   :imaposer: :imaposer:

IMG_0824_zps0d79847a.jpg

Rolling Zim style!!
IMG_2236_zps51aca4d0.jpg

Hit it Pades!!!
IMG_2238_zpsb8f7ae54.jpg

Pades and I managed to hand on the pink tie to 2 the deserving Terrible Triumph Twins!

IMG_2235_zps9fd379a2.jpg

Great story,thks.My parents met in Melsetter and named my family home in Bramley after it.great ,memories.paddy was supposed to ride with me today???

cheers

Love it mark roll on 2015  :

Excellent Marck aai that Pades always makes kak especially when he rooks and braai. Enjoying it feels like I was there excellent review cant wait  :drif: