A Fool, Friends and Eastern Cape Passes

Coooool

Good report, just what I was looking for.  We have the same direction in mind for December, so my search for info are seriously improved.  Will mots probably only do some of the roads, but Rhodes and Elliot is still on the map.

Well done!

Hells Bells!!! I sommer want to get on my bike and go ride now.

And so many good pics.

Thanks JM, truly inspirational stuff.

Sprocketbek said:
eyman.

You took on a lot covering that distance on the first day. I find my concentration gets dodgy after a long + extended day......till you get a wake-up like you had, and then I start getting the moer in with myself. Cudo's for carrying on taking pics....... I would have packed the camera away at that point.

I would guess that your bars are not bent but the forks moved in the tripleclamps. One tends to get used to that and if you jump on another bike then that feels skew  ;D

Believe me. I felt the same! :biggrin: But couldn't let the opportunity pass to take the pic at the top of Lundean's. Posers syndrome.  :biggrin:

And thanks for the bit about the forks. Will check it out.  8)

Plothond said:
Good to see you and the Dakkie out

I've become soft. Sunday the last 300 km's my arse was so sore. Standing up from the sitting position whilst riding up was torture. (Even just for that second) Standing and riding was heaven. Trying to sit down again was a mission. Almost like getting the courage to sit down on a toilet in the middle of the winter! Very tenderly searching the correct position and not finding it :imaposer: :redface:

Onwards to Naude's Nek.

Church at Ugie. Also a place where if you look down for as second, you are through the place without noticing.

IMG_0481.jpg

Church at Maclear. Maclear I think is bigger than Elliot and quite a few new building projects on the way.

IMG_0482.jpg

Royal Hotel, Maclear.

IMG_0483.jpg

The menu

IMG_0484.jpg

The setting

IMG_0486.jpg

The clown  :biggrin:

IMG_0487.jpg

The Burger!  :eek:

IMG_0488.jpg

IMG_0490.jpg

The Big eyes!

IMG_0491.jpg

I only finished a third of the burger.  ::) Only 2 finished up.

From Maclear along the Potrivier Pass towards Naudes Nek.

IMG_0494.jpg

IMG_0492.jpg

IMG_0493.jpg

This side of the area certainly is much greener!

IMG_0496.jpg

IMG_0497.jpg

IMG_0498.jpg

IMG_0501.jpg

IMG_0502.jpg

The road ahead and encountered. Zigzagging the whole way through the mountains/hills. I guess for every 1km as the crow flies, one does 4-5 km on the road. Maybe exaggerating a bit but it would be interesting to get that ratio. And this was true on each day and route we did.

IMG_0503.jpg

IMG_0505.jpg

Starting up Naude's. Gradually increasing till such an extent that I got the shivers when looking to the right. No safety edge/rail etc. before the drop-off. Heart in the throat.  :eek:

Just concentrate on the road ahead. This I did and forgot to take any further pictures on the steeper side of the ascent. Only at the viewpoint and then the top. Hopefully the others took pictures of this stretch as well.

IMG_0507.jpg

IMG_0508.jpg

At the viewpoint. Majestic views!

IMG_0509.jpg

IMG_0510.jpg

IMG_0511.jpg

IMG_0517.jpg

IMG_0518.jpg

The route up. Tried the sequence thing but too lazy to try the stitch thing.

IMG_0514.jpg

IMG_0515.jpg

IMG_0516.jpg

The obligatory pic right at the top.

IMG_0520.jpg

Some pics at the top.

IMG_0523.jpg

IMG_0525.jpg

IMG_0526.jpg

Then the descent. Certainly a highlight as well.  :cool: :razz:

Twisting and turning upon itself. I took too little photoâ??s on this stretch. But there were 5 other cameraâ??s as well so I should get some extra photoâ??s of the descent.

IMG_0528.jpg

IMG_0529.jpg

Stopped at the Rhodes Hotel for a quick beer before retracing back to the farm.  :eek:ccasion14:

IMG_0530.jpg

IMG_0531.jpg

IMG_0532.jpg

A very enjoyable, exhilarating and sometimes benoude boude day of riding. 8)

The last day to follow. Retracing Lundeanâ??s Nek and back home. This time in day light though.

Awesome area, did it going and returning from the bash last year.
But at night! hardcore.

ratrap said:
thanks JM lekker story. How are those hamburgers!!! :drif:

Tasteless actually. We had 4 different toppings between us. All concurred. Tasteless.

But have done the novelty now. Will never buy it again if I go there.  :wink:

Thanks once again for the report, pics, and the routes. Spent a large part of my youth in Cala, went to school in Elliot, played rugby against Maclear, Ugie and Barkly East (u.11, barefeet with the water in the taps still frozen). Have threatened to revisit for a long time, almost made it 3 yrs ago but got stuck in Port st. Johns. Definitely on my agenda for 2009.

Sunday - Lundean's Nek and Home

Long days riding ahead, we got going at 06H30.

The Farm

IMG_0540.jpg

Once again. Beautiful, clean and crisp views. 8)

IMG_0541.jpg

IMG_0543.jpg

Steel Bridge

IMG_0544.jpg

IMG_0545.jpg

Enjoying the roads and scenery the first time although it is the second time I rode it.  :biggrin:

IMG_0546.jpg

IMG_0547.jpg

IMG_0548.jpg

IMG_0549.jpg

IMG_0550.jpg

IMG_0551.jpg

IMG_0552.jpg

The artistic attempt. :biggrin:

IMG_0553.jpg

IMG_0554.jpg

The conditions up Lundean's was good. No sign of the muddier conditions I encountered on Thursday night. Loose rocky road going up but nothing hectic. More pebblish.

IMG_0555.jpg

IMG_0556.jpg

IMG_0557.jpg

At the top. Poser's Delight.  :biggrin:

IMG_0558.jpg

Some views.

IMG_0559.jpg

IMG_0560.jpg

IMG_0561.jpg

IMG_0565.jpg

IMG_0567.jpg

Da Bikes.

IMG_0564.jpg

IMG_0562.jpg

Then the descent. Must be the best of all the passes we did ito of scenery.  8)

IMG_0568.jpg

IMG_0569.jpg

IMG_0570.jpg

IMG_0571.jpg

Twisting and turning upon itself the whole time.

IMG_0574.jpg

IMG_0573.jpg

IMG_0572.jpg

IMG_0575.jpg

IMG_0576.jpg

IMG_0577.jpg

The Lower Telle section. Very enjoyable going through the mountains at the bottom.

IMG_0579.jpg

IMG_0581.jpg

IMG_0582.jpg

IMG_0583.jpg

And no more pics after that. Shortest and fastest way home after hitting the tar. Arrived back in Pretoria at about 17H00.

4 Days of amazing riding and friendship. 8)

I think one can stay a week and still not have enough time to do all the raods and tracks in the area! :razz:

The area will see me again! 8)

:thumleft: :thumleft:

Excellent.

Now I have to go visit those roads for myself.

Alla mapstieks, nou jeuk my gat behoorlik.

Thanks JM. Enjoyed that thoroughly.

Hey JM

Just awesome, what a great ride report. Thanks for sharing.

Nice to see you out on the bike again.

PS. Nice Jacket  :biggrin: :biggrin:

funacide said:
PS. Nice Jacket  :biggrin: :biggrin:

Rolls Royce compared to what I had.  8) 8) :thumleft:

And it makes me look more in shape.  :imaposer:

Thanks JM, great RR. You just farked up my inclination to work today.  ;D It a bummer when you can see your bike from your desk.....