Baviaans long weekend

Lekker ride pallies
glad you all got home safe and the water was not too nasty

pity about the bobbejaantjie...Butch probably aimed for it...sies!

nice report!
I saw a bunch of guys on bikes filling up at one of the petrol stations in Knysna, could it have been you guys?
and I agree, the Blouberg Pass is beautiful....if you are ever in this area dont miss this pass

Some of my picsâ?¦

Contrary to popular believe, spring is upon us:

Masehare, tackling the Rooiberg pass head on:

Just4kix got his finger stuck in the Wet Wipe lid. Apparently it hurts.

The crapper at our camp site in the kloof:

And what is the kloof without the water crossings?

Unfortunately, the picture just doesnâ??t do justice to the views:

Again, you have to be there to appreciate some of the climbs:

Gideon, you have competition:

Apparently thereâ??s a Geocache on this corner:

Napier. No comment:

Ama ride ride said:
Butch said:
Kaboef said:
Die arme bobbejaantjie!!!
Butch, jou hartelose bliksem!

Ama, Kaboef - ek is ook bly ek het nie teen 100km/h neergedonner nie. Julle sorg lê my na aan die hart. ;-)

[quote author=Kaboef]Butch, this is your,......uhm...... 4th trip this year?

Yip, amper 18000km in 7 maande, en dit raak net al hoe lekkerder.

mmmmm ::) lyk my daar meer aksie daar met die antvontuur ......dalk moet ek daar trrraaaiiii..... ;D

Waarnatoe volgende?

Kom kuier in Jozi.....Lotsa fun adventure riding around here. Dodging taxis' flying bullets, hi-jackers, taxi moms, potholes, metro KK, etc.....heerlik ;D

Another few pics from my trip, before I joined these guys:

Prince Albert is a really nice place, stayed there for a night before we went into â??die Helâ?

DSC03715.JPG

DSC03723.JPG

DSC03725.JPG

DSC03727.JPG

DSC03750.JPG

DSC03755.JPG

DSC03765.JPG

DSC03766.JPG

DSC03775.JPG

DSC03778.JPG

DSC03792.JPG

DSC03802.JPG

Lekka accommodation in Die Hel
DSC03810.JPG

Lekka drinks in Die Hel
DSC03824.JPG

Lekka home cooked food in Die Hel
DSC03839.JPG

DSC03831.JPG

Two best bikes in the world:
DSC03843.JPG

Some snow on top of the pass, well at least a little bit
DSC03849.JPG

It was cold aswell
DSC03853.JPG

Montagu pass
DSC03868.JPG

Think this is Avontuur pass
DSC03938.JPG

Baviaanskloof
DSC03964.JPG

Our accommodation, well worth it
DSC03976.JPG

Inside the cave
DSC03980.JPG

DSC03986.JPG

DSC04025.JPG

DSC04034.JPG

DSC04043.JPG

Shall we try this one more time:
DSC04048.JPG

DSC04055.JPG

DSC04057.JPG

Hi Yellowfever nice pics can you remember where you did the water crossing and where was the cave you stayed in. Nice report ???

Nice report! I'd also like some info on that cave.

Very nice boys! :thumleft: What happened to the little bobby-jane? Did he vrêk? Butch, you butch thing!  ;)

Kev said:
Very nice boys! :thumleft: What happened to the little bobby-jane? Did he vrêk? Butch, you butch thing!  ;)

Sad to say, but the baboon passed away on the scene of the accident.  :'(  We all stopped, bowed our heads in a moment of silence and the Butch did the honours of picking it up by the arm & legs and gave it a good heave into the bushes. RIP little buddy.

BUT seriously, if the baboon was a few kg's heavier it could have caused a major accident.  :(  Restecp to Christof who kept a cool head.

Baboon-tossing? Nee jong, this I would have like to see! ;D  A new sport for the African Olympics?

Hey Keith,

Most of the water crossings were on the Patensie side of the kloof coming from Cape Town. The crossings were great fun. The accomodation is called BAKKRANS, the details are at the bottem of the board on that one pic I posted. Super nice, they also delivered some nice food that you just need to braai.

YellowFever said:
Hey Keith,
Most of the water crossings were on the Patensie side of the kloof coming from Cape Town. The crossings were great fun. The accomodation is called BAKKRANS, the details are at the bottem of the board on that one pic I posted. Super nice, they also delivered some nice food that you just need to braai.

The last 3 river crossing photos where taken at a place called Smitskraal.(33 deg 39 min 59 sec S ;  24 deg 23 min 03 sec E). The river is the Baviaans River.

• smitskraal.jpg
    smitskraal.jpg
    192.9 KB