BOTSWANA 28/3 TO 1/4,,,,mgadipans and tuli block

iep_kruger

Honda XRV 750 Africa Twin
the  original idea trip was  blazes and mine and he should start the report but seeing we did split up halfway i decided to make my own report ...

so hereforth follows my report,,,blazes report is  separate and will follow asap

so here goes,,,,,,,

so the day finally arrived,,,lotsa to and fro of dates and people but eventually it was splash, hastalavista, ktmer, blazes and myself,,,ktmer's pal couldnt  get his bike papers in time so we were 5

i met up with the crowd at pienaarsriver,,,ktmer had to drive all the way from pmb and had already a thousand k's under the belt,,,,the rest are all gauteng and left together with blazes,,,we sit down at wimpy bela bela and exchange ice nrs and cell numbers,,,, I notice that hasta's new number plate is being eaten away by his new nobbie back tyre and we leave to the northwest on route to botswana,,al ground roads and somma decide to throw in renckens pass for those who handnt seen it yet and those of us that wanted to see it again,,,,instantly you are greeted by wonderfull landscapes, lovely roads and teeming with animals and  birds,,,sure sign that some rain had fallen the week before,,,,we're excited and packed and this kinda refreshers us and prepare us for the rest of the road ahead,,,we dont chase and everybody does his own pace,,,mostly blazes in front , then ktmer, myself, hasta and splash being the rear gunner,,,we go over renkin pass and imeediately we turn right onto the first dirt road towards ellisras(lepehale),,,we ride along a game reserve fence and there i see the elephant,,,amazing beast, very grumpy,,,we decide its in musk and enjoy his trumpeting,,,its ktmer and myself taking pics and nobody else is arriving,,,so we turn back and only 100 meteres behind the turn is hasta and his fallen bike,,,the sand/mud monster had tackled him and thrown him badly,,,he broke his arm very badly and his bike is n bit skeef,,,we manage to phone a friend who refers us to someone close by ,,,i make the calls and soon  a Chris Barnard from Vliegpoort drankwinkel is sending us his bakkie for the bike and the fallen comrade,,,in the mean time someone else stopped and we managed to load the bike and hasta in and we carry on alll feeling very aware how easily life will  change your plans,,,we miss our buddie and feel sorrie that we are now only 4 left

pics
at the wimpy bela bela
a baboon bleeding in the road,,,nooooo, EV it wasnt us???
pacyderm my first one and were still in rsa
more elephant,,,very very grumpy,,,trumpetting to us while we're loading hasta and his bike

• botsw 002.jpg
    botsw 002.jpg
    82.9 KB
  • botsw 001.jpg
    botsw 001.jpg
    37.7 KB
  • botsw 005.jpg
    botsw 005.jpg
    59.1 KB
  • botsw 003.jpg
    botsw 003.jpg
    53.9 KB
feeling rather shaken we carry on and its the plan to reach stokpoort before dark but we are a few hours behind,,,,so we ride and ride and slowly edge our way along dirt roads  to ellisras, just dodging onto tar for fuel,,,,,seeing very beaurtifull country and places where time stands still,,,typical blazes ride,,,,well done again dude,,,you are the master of routes,,,king of the road

at one stage we get to decide wether we race on tar to be in time  for the border closing or do we attempt the last offroad route and stand a chance we miss our deadline,,,,,we all decide the hell with deadlines and we ride about 100 kms of the most amazing dirt road i've ever had the priveledge to ride,,,what a ride,,,one day soon i wanna go there again and bring more people,,,its absolutely mystically magnificent with great sprints and washed away culverts and heaps of river stones enough to fill all the garden in faerie glen,,,and then it rains softly and the steam wiffs up adding to the magic

pics

ktmer on his katoom crossing the river
blazes on the dakar
splash on mighty katoom
the start of the mystic road to the border

• botsw 006.jpg
    botsw 006.jpg
    68.4 KB
  • botsw 007.jpg
    botsw 007.jpg
    72.3 KB
  • botsw 008.jpg
    botsw 008.jpg
    74.1 KB
  • botsw 009.jpg
    botsw 009.jpg
    62.3 KB
we end up not being in time for the border cut off but who cares,,,we allow the gps to find us accomodation but to no avail as most are closed or the gates are closed,,,so we decide to push for ellisras,,,have a mdecent meal, guaff several beers (my idea) and then sleep somewhere in town,,,we do and on friday nite about 9 ish four hairy bikers ride into ellisras and park at the spur,,,,we oder and start phoning for accomodation which we get easily,,,,,we eat, we drink and we sleep like babies

next morning its breakfast and the "oom en tannie voer ons dik virri trip vorentoe",,,but botswana awaits and soon we're through the border, over the mighty limpopo and booking in at botswana border post,,,,we do a very dusty road full of expectations of seeing wild animals but alas the place is littered with beef and donkeys???? everywhere you go its donkeys and cattle,,,,we have fun and we stop regualarly for juice,,,,its hot dusty and we are full of testosterone awaiting our adventure,,,,the people are remarkably very easy going, very intelligent and are very very polite, the wave and smile easily and they have a sense of humour and always surround us with questions about bikes, our routes and are amazed about us wanting to cros mkgadigadi pans etc

pics
this is the most amazing route ive ever ridden,,,what a beauty,,,at one stage it rained slowly and the steam came up,,,the road ahead

the road behind over my shoulder,,,check those eyes and that sunburn

throwing in petrol attracts the whole town and they bombard us with question and everybody wants to see how fast our bikes are marked

• botsw 010.jpg
    botsw 010.jpg
    48.9 KB
  • botsw 011.jpg
    botsw 011.jpg
    67 KB
  • botsw 012.jpg
    botsw 012.jpg
    68.2 KB
we reach a hot letlakane and im looking forward to my first site of the pans,,,,this is where we differ and we decide to split as i and ktmer wanted to sleep on the pans,,blazes and splash stay behind and we dont see them again for the rest of the trip, always staying ahead of the 3 hours

but we set off and within 40 kms its dark and we persist with our quest for reaching at least half of the pan,,,we aim for lekubu island which is about halfway,,,lots of sand monster,,,lots of trees and mopanie shrubs slapping you on the shoulders as you corner around them,,,,we dont see anyone and its like riding blindl,,,all the time roads are darting off and we kinda stick to the road most travelled which implies the ones with the most sand as well,,,,sometimes we dart of on different roads only to meet again a km or further,,,its a magic nite,,,,its pitch pitch dark and theres nobody,,,the uncertainty of not always knowing if you going in the right direction and wondering if we didnt over react on splitting up gnaws on your consience all the time while on the outside you are desperately steering away from the sand ruts or at least staying in the bottom of the ruts always dodging and avoid mopanie, thorn and trees slapping you on the side as we round the corners,,,,,not a light,,,nobody in sight,,,its dark dark,,,,

at one stage ktmer and i are riding side by side in the two trail sand road when we overshoots his rut and crashes into mine,,,i managed to avoid him but he goes through that left ,right, left ,right swooping near crashes and eventually does crash into yje road,,,,his leg is pinned by the pannier bars and we managed to pick up the bike,,,his rib is very sore as he suspects he fell on his cellphone in his pocket,,,the next day we see the leg and rib damages only,,,,

anyway we continue,,,sometimes its just grass savanag fields and then its bush country,,,no signs of a pan yet,,,,sometimes we ride through a fine black dust and still we dont see anyone or any signs of we're on the right rode,,,our gps show us that the pans are ahead,,,,we carry on regardless,,,,,we decided already we will sleep on the pans and the hell with all those wild animals and urban legend stories

at one stage we get to a fence and an old man comes with a lantern to open the gate,,,our first veterinary gate and thank goodness they are manned 24 hours,,,the old man reassures us we're on the right road and that we are in fact not to far from lekubu island,,,we sit down in the road and he shows us with drawing in the roads under the bike lights 2 routes,,,one only 7.5 kms away but could be flooded,,,the other option is to ride very very far until we get to the next cattle kraal station where the next veterinary fence awaits us,,,its just a jump to the right and we will ride slapbang into the island,,,easy as falling of a kawa (sorrie hasta)

so fulfilled with hope and dreams yet again we set off for our 7.5 km ride expecting our shortcut ,,,we reach it and same time someone in a bakkie comes from the front and assures us the road is good,,,,its not long and we see in the bike lights the watery short cut and we start riding through the 6 inches high  savanah under water,,,later its get deeper and deeper and at some stage the honda is up to its axles in water,,,water water everywhere,,,next thing ahead in the bike lights we see eyes and little heads swimming towards us,,,,,thinking its snakes/alligators??? or legeui9ns we eventually find ourselves surrounded by hundreds of terrapins,,,what a site,,,what a relief,,,i really thought it was snakes,,,ja ja,,,u should have been there,,,anyway we decide to turn around which in itsself is a major effort,,,remember we are in road ruts and to power out doesnt work,,,we literrally have to drag the africa twin and ktm a full 180 degrees and then ride out,,,we are succesfull and we backtrack realising the short cut is unpassable and we start looking for the tracks to the long way to home ???

we find it and i start looking at spots where we can set up camp,,,only looking for trees where we can get firewood,m,,but our gps assure us  the camp exists,,,,ktmer suggest we keep goin on and we do,,,,now we start seeing signs of the pans,,,we quickly learn that white pan floors are rideable and that the black ones are wet and we get stuck in them,,,the pans at that stage are a combination of the actual pans, some cross overs of graslands and strips of island covered in trees,,,,after what seemed a eternity we hit the kraal posts and we veer off along the road to our resting place for the nite,,,,again its a mad rush through the ever present mopanie bushes, sweeping and swercing to stay on the road,,,i pick up animals in the veld with the bike head lights,,,the ktm headlight is faint and we end up riding with me behind the ktmer with my full head lights on,,,i eat lots of dust and often miss the road, hitting rocks and sticks at random

and then we're there,,,we ride to the first campsite and ask about if one cant book into a tent or something,,,the send us to the staff camp where we are informed they have no spare tents ,,,,,so we go to the first campsite, pull up lkike gringos next the campfire where 5 families are enjoying a braai,,,we dismount and obviously must be quite a sight to see we ask if we can sleep like dogs around there camp fire tonite,,,everybody welcomes us,,,alll afrikaners and in typically fashion the next thing we have is a tent and a beer in each hand,,,we tell the people our story and one guys is a 1200gs adventure rider and he really "smaaks us stukkend",,,they make us feel at home,,,we dont intrude and we eat our tin of chilly pilchards and brown bread (de wildt special) and we drink it down with zamaleks,,,,what i havent mentioned yet was the following

the mosquito's,,,,,,whatever amount of mosquito you can imagine is t5oo much you should see those pans,,,they are like bees swarming in their thousand around you and the constant whining in your ears are deafining,,,,ive never seen or imagined some mant mossies all over you,,,its appears coils, repellent doesnt help and we pitch our tent and creep in thus avoiding the hungry millions of blood sucking mozzies,,,,once inside the tent we kill what we find inside and smear ourselves with tabbard all over,,,i wear all my clothes and pull a buff over my head to avoid the mozzies,,,we find out the ground is full of those three pronged thorns and seeing we sleeping straight on the ground its unbearable,,,so we pack out our clothes and lie on top of them and by 11 two dogs are snoring,,,more is nogga dag???

pics

in the middle of deepest darkest africa deciding where to now???

brainstorming our next move somewhere in the dark

early morning at our foster camp site,,,ktmer

me and the early morning rise????

• botsw 016.jpg
    botsw 016.jpg
    80.3 KB
  • botsw 015.jpg
    botsw 015.jpg
    52.4 KB
  • botsw 014.jpg
    botsw 014.jpg
    27.1 KB
  • botsw 013.jpg
    botsw 013.jpg
    20.7 KB
as we leave the island two other 4x4 ride with us and we stop and brainstorm to hear they are also going to gweta as we are,,,,they become our backup and in case we need fuel they will provide,,,,,we ride for a while and then we speed towards the veterinary gate and the roads sweeps to the left along the fence,,,,its actually a double fence and in between the fences one finds ostriches,,,we race a couple and its till miles of savanahs and then next thing we start hitting small pans,,,,some are blkack but the spoor over them by previous 4x4's allow us to ride with ease on them,,,its morning and our emotions are high, we loving every metre of this and all the time the scenery changes,,,we see ostriches, some buck far far away and a herd of wild stallions,,,,we learn that the pan is two colours,,,,white like ash means its dry and rideable and black means it has water underneath and the kinobbies churn out the snotterige mud underneath,,,we avoid the black  and love the white patches starting to do wild woo hooo turns on evey pan,,,then its onto a piece of savanah and then its trees and bushy,,,what amazing sites,,,,,our spirits are high and we both decide the pans makes you humble,,,one cant explain and pics doing its majestic grandeur injustice,,,one has to see it,,,its there,,,,go see it,,,go hear the sounds of silence,,,listen to the wind,,,nothing else???

pics

the road from the savanah and our first pan, albeit small

we leave our thukubu island and land on our pan

wild stallions in the mist???

ktmer in front,,,the road ahead???

• botsw 017.jpg
    botsw 017.jpg
    48.7 KB
  • botsw 018.jpg
    botsw 018.jpg
    57.6 KB
  • botsw 019.jpg
    botsw 019.jpg
    51.5 KB
  • botsw 020.jpg
    botsw 020.jpg
    60.5 KB
its heaven and im on the biggest part of the 200km pan,,,,,what an amazing site,,,what a feeling, what exurberance,,,,,to think that this is the overflow of the swamps and at some stage all this is under water,,,what a site,,,anyway we park in the middle and we hi 5 each other and think all that kak fro last nite was well worth it,,,to us this is the reason we came,,,we came we saw we conquered

so indulge me with lotsa pics

pics

the legend and the road behind us

wooo hoooo,,,honey im home???

god i love this

look ma,,,no attgatt, no hands??

• botsw 021.jpg
    botsw 021.jpg
    45.6 KB
  • botsw 022.jpg
    botsw 022.jpg
    48.6 KB
  • botsw 023.jpg
    botsw 023.jpg
    32.5 KB
  • botsw 024.jpg
    botsw 024.jpg
    41.1 KB
its an amazing feeling and you sorrie you cant bring everybody,,,u make promises to come again,,,my idea was to sleep on that part of the pan,,,nobody for miles,,,not a site or hinker of poeople,,,just flat flat flat land,,,and the silence,,,its deafening,,,i shall go there again and take firewood and  a camp chair and just enjoy the nite,,,what a amazing place,,,sorrie if its boring but heres more pics

pics

jipeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

now we're playing on the dark edge of the pan  and the stories are reef that the crust breaks and swallows your bike

now its ktmer's turn,,,,,wooo hoooo,,,wheelspin on the wet side of the pan

lekkerrrrrr, ktmer getting his nuts off???

we stayed probably an hour just playing,,,gweta is only 34 kms away and we arent even yet on reserve,,,our 4x4 baxckup buddies come past and we thank them and greet them,,,out of the mist comes another landdrover with two japanese tourist and they take photos of us

more pics

ktmer havin  fun

ditto as above

lekkerrrrrrrrr

as far as the eye can see is sand and not a drop to drink

• botsw 029.jpg
    botsw 029.jpg
    44.5 KB
  • botsw 030.jpg
    botsw 030.jpg
    34.7 KB
  • botsw 031.jpg
    botsw 031.jpg
    41.3 KB
  • botsw 032.jpg
    botsw 032.jpg
    37.8 KB
we leave the pans,,,,,,we need to get to gweta,,,its 34 kms away they say,,,we've done 200 kms so far,,,,,last glimpses of the pans,,,

last pics,,,(of the pans)

we leave the pan only to land on yet another one,,,this one bigger and beter than the previous one

some savanah,,,my fav place and drink,,,damm im thristy

more pans and this time all white and hard from the salt

our 4x4 friends and backup pass us and carry on ahead

• botsw 033.jpg
    botsw 033.jpg
    69.3 KB
  • botsw 034.jpg
    botsw 034.jpg
    53.4 KB
  • botsw 035.jpg
    botsw 035.jpg
    66.4 KB
  • botsw 036.jpg
    botsw 036.jpg
    51.3 KB
we leave the pans with sadness and no sooner had we left it we run into our 4x4 friends,,,,,they cant cross as the mudmonsters are waiting,,,,we help them by trying to find alternative for them as well as for ourselves,,,at one stage i try and also fall leaving my reputation in shredds and my ego lower than kitty pooh

but we find a safe track and soon all of us are across,,,,good deed done for the day,,,so its a bit of savanah and soon its back to mopanie shrubs and there lies several sand monsters,,,,,i didnt really take any picture as its impossible and also stupid to stop whilst among these 2 foot deep sand spoortjies,,,also again the road winds through the bush and you constantly have to make a turn around a thorn bush of mopanie and either you leave your spoor or you get bliksemed by the thorns,,,i was gonna wear my tshirt but thank goodness my jacket takes the beating of all thos e bushess and heaps of thorns branches,,,,we start seeing the cellphone towers which btw here is called "orange",,,,gweta is only kms away and yet the sand monsters grabs you,,,,i fall again much to my dismay,,,,,sweating, pounding away i manage to pick up my bike,,,,ktmer has his own troubles,,,at some stages i have the 4x4 on my backside as if i havent gotten enough stress already on my plate,,,and then whammmooooo,,,its all gone,,,your on tar and yet again you made it,,,

we hi 5 in the road and pull in at a garage for petrol and me my first taste of botswana beer,,,,,several in fact,,,,actually i have 5,,,,,thank goodness they only have "st louis" beer and its a lite beer,,,ktmer goes for water,,,we try and make contact with blazes and splash but they are also on the pan,,,we realise we sent them sms but because we didnt  add the +27 to their numbers they never got our sms'es,,,so now we are a day ahead of them and we wont have contact with them until tonite,,,we are nearly up to shcedule and we decide to make a spring to nata, the next town,,,which we do

pics

mudmonster has a victim,,,the legend is on its side,,we're trying to help the 4x4's with an way to crossover this wet pan,,,we do,,,but not here

we are getting close,,,me starting to take photos while riding,,,ktmer ahead

hows this for artistic,,,,,actually i had to hurry as i could hear an angry 4x4 coming from the back

sandmonsters ahead ,,,and big ones,,,how come the first and the last part of a great ride is always the real tester,,,i loose the bike a second time but know gettinh used to it and thank goodness nobody saw me

• botsw 041.jpg
    botsw 041.jpg
    134.3 KB
  • botsw 042.jpg
    botsw 042.jpg
    83.8 KB
  • botsw 040.jpg
    botsw 040.jpg
    71.2 KB
  • botsw 037.jpg
    botsw 037.jpg
    78.1 KB
so realising we lost our friends and feeling quite guilty we decide to carry on with the original plan,,,but they are 5 hours behind us now,,,so we amber towards nata the next town,,,its the top of the pans and actually the tar roads is built over a pan,,,,its also the bottom of the swamps (i think???) and we see mopanies standing ankle deep in water,,,,now theres water water everywhere,,,we've left new sms with our friends with our plans and move along,,,,,slip streaming each other and doing all kinds of manouveures on our bikes,,,our backside are sore and its hot and sweaty

pics

the road to nata,,,top of the pans and bottom of the swamps/???

mopani forests standing in ankle hi water this time
\
im getting good at taking photos over my shoulder while moving

da other side of the road,,,,

• botsw 045.jpg
    botsw 045.jpg
    56.1 KB
  • botsw 046.jpg
    botsw 046.jpg
    82.2 KB
  • botsw 047.jpg
    botsw 047.jpg
    63.2 KB
  • botsw 048.jpg
    botsw 048.jpg
    52.6 KB
we hit nata,,,,very dissapointed at it and we refuel,,,leaving again deciding a steak in francdistown wil ends our day better,,,its sunday and we're tired and need a bath and change of clothing after staying two days in the same clothes,,,,we opt to find a hotel and steak house in francistown and get cleaned up,,,the smell of sweat and chilly pilchards mixed with tabbard is evil,,,,,so we sms our plans to our friends and we go to francis town,,,we book in at the town lodge, have luxurious showers and change our clothing and after feeling refreshed we hit the local spur and guaff several draughts and spiced gold and cokes down

we order crumbed mushrooms and then steak and salads,,,,so lekkerrrrrrr,,,our tjommies sms they have decided to sleep at nata,,,so we watch some tv and sleep like logs,,,,,we get up early and in the mean time ktmer has a change of plans as he has to go straight back home,,,his wifes going to hospital,,,we decide we'll turn into the tuli block and he will go right and ride the bottom portion and duck through martinsdrift and i will go up the tuli block aiming to cross at pontdrift,,,nor realising it hasnt got a bridge,,,neither has platjan or zansibar,,,but wil keep that for later

pics,,,

somewhere between nata and francistown

ktmer burning the tar

• botsw 049.jpg
    botsw 049.jpg
    47.5 KB
  • botsw 050.jpg
    botsw 050.jpg
    41.8 KB
we leave nata,,,our friends are still 3 hours behind,,,we opot to make a draai through the tuli block as ktmer has to skip or last days ride because of sickess at home,,,,we leave sms and early morning we hit da road and have a road side breakfast at selebi pikwe,,,,sammosas, boerewors,,,ja ja i know(chippo gurs looming) and sour milk,,,,ktmer stays with his marie biscuits and energades,,,we get to the road thats stays along the border and we greet each other as here ktmer goes south to martinsdrift and me going north to pontdrift,,,,ktmer has to go to pmb and so he wants to maybe sleepover at witbank,,,,i am still aiming to stay at my parents as per the original schedule

so here follows my storie when im alone,,,,,firstly this is beautifull country and quickly one realises your in  wild country,,,there are no fences , only some gates but immediately you are aware that theres game here for africa,,,you just love watching impala and kudus  running acroos the road and then it dawns on you that the landscape has dramatically changed,,,,your in elephant country

you look at the road and you realise you cant avoid these pacyderms by riding into the bush,,,also the road is rather sandy and deep and one realises this isnt the time to fall by the sand monster,,,should an elephant cross your road and you need to make a hasty u-turn it could be disasterous as the turn is too wide,,,so you think out some kinda plan in case your confronted by elephants,,,we havent even discussed lions yet,,,,but you stand on your footpegs hoping youd see the elephants before they see you,,,you wish your aftermarket essshorst wasnt so loud,,,your skin tingles and evey metre of the bush you scan ,,,u remember the sargeant in the army saying dont look at the bush,,,look through the bush,,,,you stay alert,,,woooo hooooo,,,hier kom n ding,,,,at one stage a little steenbok jumps up out of the bush right next to me and i somma nearly shit myself right there,,,i keep saying relax, relax,,,,

i stop when i get to a vet gate and ask the ranger if there are elephants,,,,yes he says,,,lots and lots and lots,,,,in fact he says only 3 kms away i'll see them,,,i ask what might their action be towards bikes,,,no doesnt know,,,nobodys has done this yet,,,i feel proud but also stupid

anyway i see herds of impala, kudus, widebeest and even had a jackal running alongside of me and constantly you see elephant dung and when spots where they have pissed in the road,,,the trees are wrecked and branches lying in the road,,,you stand on your pegs and you scan that bush with eagle eyes,,,,oh yes i see vultures as well

and then from under a tree right against the road a elephant bulls staggers back with his huge ears flapping , his trunk rearing up,,,i dont know about him but i shit myself,,,,a thousand stuff go through my mind and i silently scream in my helmet,,,i watch the road not trying to fall ,,,,i watch my rear mirror and see nothing,,,my heart pounds so much i have to clench my chest to bring it back to normal,,,,nothing but nothing can prepare you about the size of that bull,,,they are de4fnitely much bigger than on postcards and national geographics,,,,,im thinking i should go slowly back and take a photo to prove to the WD i actually did get one,,,,i think for a second and decide the hyell with you guys,,,im not trying my luck again a second time,,,,i leave but now im getting scared,,,knowint theres elephant behind me and maybe in front of me scares the hell outa me,,,,,but gallantly  i carry on, hoping that they will one day find my mangle body in the bush

pics

selebi pikwe,,our breakfast stop

me and ktmer has split and this is my road ahead going about 200 kms up the tuli block

my first elephant signs,,,im already shitting myself

somewhere in that tree next to the road is a mutha of a elephant loner bull,,,sorrie i did consider getting a photo of the beast but opted to do it some otherday when im in a 4x4 of something bigger

• botsw 051.jpg
    botsw 051.jpg
    64.5 KB
  • botsw 052.jpg
    botsw 052.jpg
    50.5 KB
  • botsw 053.jpg
    botsw 053.jpg
    101.1 KB
  • botsw 054.jpg
    botsw 054.jpg
    51.8 KB
will continue tommorrow,,,,,

lots still coming,,,more great roads,,,more river crossings, some dry and some in flood,,,and the first bike ever to cross the limpopo in a cable car???

watch this space