BuRP came to visit, with his 500.

JonW

Staff member
Global Moderator
Boss Hoss (all models)
So BuRP aka Bart came to visit us this weekend to do some riding with ianb and me.

The weekend started at XWays pub in Hilton on Friday afternoon when Part agreed to pull off the N3 on his way down to Pmb and join ianb and me for a few drinks. Was great to put a face to the name and the voice who I have been interacting with on the forum for the past 10 odd years.

Saturday morning we met up at the Karkloof Club, where we would leave the vehicles for the day while we were out riding. The plan was to ride through the Karkloof, then on to Muden. From there to Imbabala Lodge and then through Darkest Africa to Zingela for lunch.

Ian and Bart at the Karkloof Club

• 20211211_075049.jpg
    20211211_075049.jpg
    256.4 KB
Our favourite biking whore…… Bart will travel anywhere, anytime to join a lekker ride.

Beny jou Bart!

Noneking said:
Our favourite biking whore…… Bart will travel anywhere, anytime to join a lekker ride.

Guilty djou honnor!  ;)
My Mom would turn in her grave if she knew I was called a whore these days..... but yeah, honesty rules, can't deny it I guess.
But hey, at least I pay for them - so that's better than being called a bike thief I reckon!
;)

This weekend was an avatar-changing one - nogals ne?
And before anyone makes another joke: Yes indeed, correct, I'm still not dry behind the ears!  :p

Jon and Ian, thank you for a genuine awesome riding weekend!  :thumleft:
I now know that the little Jon posts is just that, little, but go join them and see the magnificent vistas unfold for yourself!
I'm the worst photographer and the last one who thinks of actually getting the phone out to snap something, and of course I did same this time - but, no wait BUT, I have another smoesie now: these gents ride and ride and ride and simply do not stop, so poor old smoking me had no chance to take a pic first of all, and secondly, when they eventually come to a halt I light one first (of course, duh!  :p ) ... so even less time for the shy snapper in me!  ;)

Kidding a bit, but if ever you go ride with Jon realize that this man does not tire at all, he's relentless in this respect.
No idea what the W stands for but it must be wrong I'm sure, it must be an I - from Indefatigable!
Anyway gents, thanks (really, not kidding at all!) for the ride from 8h00 to 17h30 on Saturday, was awesome indeed!
It caused my derriere to surrender - but I only found this out this morning, when Jon & me went for a morning ride.... my my, Seat Concepts better brace themselves for a plush order of the tender kind  :lol8:

I'll post some pics tomorrow, too knacked now (drove home in the afternoon, just got home).

• image4.jpeg
    image4.jpeg
    105.2 KB
JonW said:
So BuRP aka Bart came to visit us this weekend to do some riding with ianb and me.

The weekend started at XWays pub in Hilton on Friday afternoon when Part agreed to pull off the N3 on his way down to Pmb and join ianb and me for a few drinks. Was great to put a face to the name and the voice who I have been interacting with on the forum for the past 10 odd years.

Saturday morning we met up at the Karkloof Club, where we would leave the vehicles for the day while we were out riding. The plan was to ride through the Karkloof, then on to Muden. From there to Imbabala Lodge and then through Darkest Africa to Zingela for lunch.

Fugly Uckers  both of you!!! Im soooo jealous. :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft:

ETS said:
JonW said:

Fugly Uckers  both of you!!! Im soooo jealous. :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft:

Don't be jealous ETS, just give me a weekend that you are free to come riding in KZN and we can set it up. Bart is already talking about his next trip down here  :thumleft:

So easy ride through the Karkloof, then some nice tracks down to Muden and into Darkest Africa where we explored some nice riverbeds

• 20211211_100013.jpg
    20211211_100013.jpg
    489.3 KB
  • 20211211_100219.jpg
    20211211_100219.jpg
    554 KB
Noneking said:
LONG BOB said:
Famous picture that , no cigarette in his hand [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
He was reaching for one in his pocket…

What was that about no cigarette?

:biggrin: :biggrin:

• 20211211_1003291111111.jpg
    20211211_1003291111111.jpg
    924 KB
  • 20211211_100553.jpg
    20211211_100553.jpg
    583.4 KB
I'd never met Jon or Ian but had had some forum/phone interaction with them, so when they recently posted some pics of their latest ride (here: https://wilddog.net.za/forum/index.php?topic=263862.0 ) I was sommer lus to join them on their next.
As I have plenty friends in Pietermaritzburg this was arranged soon also, so East I drove.
In Hilton we met for a quick acquainting beer, and we agreed where we'd meet Saturday morning.
Ian then drove home, and it turned out he's practically a neighbour of the buddy I was staying at  :thumleft:

Saturday Ian picked me up, we drove to some rural Polo club's venue and we rode off.
Look, no idea where exactly we've been to, but the furthest (I think!) point was Weenen - which if you look on the map (I just did) is quite some distance away!
More than my 12L tank's fuel worth was used so I reckon we did over 200 km's this day, and trust me I started to notice this toward the end.
34+C & humid too, but the general speed was decent with only a few stops, so it wasn't too bad.

Somewhere we dove into a gravelly riverbed set in Bushveld surrounds (it reminded me a bit of De Wildt actually), and the nice surprise was it had rocky ledges/steps in it - awesome! One could make good speed on the the open patches too so the inherent hooligan came out  :p
Also some old - and disused - jeeptracks of varying quality were in the mix, ditto rocky and loose bouldery stuff (Ian's favourite when going down especially 8) ), and it was easy to see Jon had strung a great route together for us!

Very few river crossings though, and at the first one some local kids showed us that it wasn't deep at all - rocky yes but not that deep, and to my surprise the two Natalians were planning to walk their bikes through, mutually aided nogals! Gents, a kind warning for when Noneking or Amsterdam comes to you, they'll hammer their bikes through there causing a wash of note!  >:D
Anyway, I rode through and they followed, only some wet feet were had.

Near Weenen we had well deserved lunch at a resort set on the Tugela, very nice place. Finally a beer too - hey, it was really HOT, hydration was crucial  ;)
A set menu had me properly pigging in, some awesome bread, cold meats and salads vanished there.
This place is set in a game area, and when leaving we saw some giraffe somewhere quite close to the lodge itself.

I lost all track of time, and on our return leg Jon had some interesting however time consuming detour in mind. Fatigue was setting in for Ian & me so we suggested we perhaps take some quicker and less strenuous route. We did, and good that we did too - when we got back I found out it wasn't 3-ish but past 4 already then, we'd been home past 7 if we would have!  :p
I told you Jon doesn't tire, he's fit as a fiddle due to his VERY regular riding!  :thumleft:

My pics below only tell part of this trip, I hope Jon & Ian will add to them.

Oh, Amsterdam: better bet your bottom Gulden that I'll join you when you also make the trip up there for some rides!  :thumleft:
And Noneking, this day's ride is doable with your 890, it'll just wear you out more.

• image14.jpeg
    image14.jpeg
    145.9 KB
  • image10.jpeg
    image10.jpeg
    161.4 KB
  • image13.jpeg
    image13.jpeg
    169.8 KB
  • image11.jpeg
    image11.jpeg
    205.1 KB
  • image8.jpeg
    image8.jpeg
    156.3 KB
  • image7.jpeg
    image7.jpeg
    262.6 KB
  • image9.jpeg
    image9.jpeg
    138.8 KB
ETS said:
Fugly Uckers  both of you!!! Im soooo jealous.

Ja jou Handsome, better get your bike there and let me know when!
Jon is just eager to go ride anytime (his boss is quite accomodating in this respect I heard  O0 ), and Ian's not far behind here so make a plan  :thumleft:
Oh, ja, I can too then  :lol8:

Some riverbed pics

• 20211211_101401.jpg
    20211211_101401.jpg
    549.5 KB
  • 20211211_102004.jpg
    20211211_102004.jpg
    604.5 KB
  • 20211211_101959.jpg
    20211211_101959.jpg
    525.9 KB
  • 20211211_100624.jpg
    20211211_100624.jpg
    556 KB
Somewhere during Saturday's ride Ian got a call from his wife: she proved to have Covid!
Both of them vaccinated so she only had some sore throat and a a runny nose or why, all good.
So, **** happens... I (vaxed yes) had been in close-enough contact with Ian, but I was staying at multiple family friends - also all vaccinated yeah but I would absolutely hate being the cause of  someone close to me getting Covid thanks to me.
Now this is what friends are for: they relocated me into a cottage they have (lucky us) and we adhered to 3+ meter distancing!
The poolside braai was still the same that eve, but instead of staying over on Sunday after the ride I decided rather drive home then, this **** disease is not to be risked spreading, least of all into one's friend's circle...  :(

Ian opted to stay home on Sunday so only Jon & me went on a ride.
In wholly different terrain, magnificent!  :thumleft:
Some roads to get to the hills, then it was up into the grass and inbetween boulders, just look & leap  ;D
This is where a 500 shines, steep, high and a little tricky at times, and of course we both fell here & there, nothing serious.
Because I was still clean Jon thought it necessary to roost me absolutely full with cowshitty mud when he got stuck in a wet stream when I tried to pass him there....  :lol8:
Tried yes, I also got stuck - hey, what are friends for otherwise eh?

A warm day again so we visited a local beer outlet somewhere for a quick one  ;)
Anyway, I discovered that the long Saturday ride had destroyed my behind on that narrow seat completely, I was sore as hell.
Geez, sitting here now typing I still feel rather tender there, and I told Jon that it was a good idea not to take the long way home  :-[
Reluctantly he did, and so we got back just before noon - sorry Jon, and yes, you may tell everyone I can get painfully cheeky  >:D

Again only a few pics of me, by all means add more.

Thank you both Gents, and yes, I'll do an Arnie with pleasure anytime  :thumleft: :thumleft:

• image3.jpeg
    image3.jpeg
    147.1 KB
  • image1.jpeg
    image1.jpeg
    139.9 KB
  • image0.jpeg
    image0.jpeg
    209.3 KB
  • image2.jpeg
    image2.jpeg
    128.7 KB
Darkest Africa

• 20211211_112019.jpg
    20211211_112019.jpg
    553.6 KB
  • 20211211_112327.jpg
    20211211_112327.jpg
    499.1 KB
Ianb crossing the river getting into Zingela

• 20211211_115308.jpg
    20211211_115308.jpg
    356.9 KB
  • 20211211_115312.jpg
    20211211_115312.jpg
    345.2 KB
Leaving Zingela and helping the local kids stay cool in the mid 30 heat of the valley

• 20211211_142048.jpg
    20211211_142048.jpg
    266.2 KB
  • 20211211_142055.jpg
    20211211_142055.jpg
    311.2 KB
  • 20211211_142100.jpg
    20211211_142100.jpg
    278.9 KB
BuRP said:
Very few river crossings though, and at the first one some local kids showed us that it wasn't deep at all - rocky yes but not that deep, and to my surprise the two Natalians were planning to walk their bikes through, mutually aided nogals! Gents, a kind warning for when Noneking or Amsterdam comes to you, they'll hammer their bikes through there causing a wash of note!  >:D
Anyway, I rode through and they followed, only some wet feet were had.

I wish I was the hero Bart implies but as the photo below, of my ride last week, shows I am getting more cautious/less stupid as I get older.

• WhatsApp Image 2021-12-07 at 4.59.13 PM.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2021-12-07 at 4.59.13 PM.jpeg
    263.5 KB
Nice Jon need to come for a ride in the new year  ;D ;D ;D :) :) :)

Thanks chaps for the company. And RR. I tested negative. Gut have a saw throat and head cold. So now isolating. Bart it was great to meet and ride with you. Jon I have known for many years and a great tour guide.