Carrots and Cocky Gooi Mielies!!

Day 2.......???????????

why are we waiting  >:D

so far so good  :thumleft:

Mark Hardy said:
Day 2.......???????????

why are we waiting  >:D

so far so good  :thumleft:
Throw us a bone Mark, it is hard work to fit in all the places we were and the mad WD's we met, many stories to be told, OH and we like the suspense.

Lekker RR so far......................Next episode please. :thumleft:

Day 2:

Packing and getting ready
IMG-20110423-00035.jpg

IMG-20110423-00036.jpg

We had to get to Jansenville that day so we rode the first 80 clicks on tar to Bethulie for juice.

The now customary morning salute
greet.jpg

On da way
IMG-20110423-00039.jpg

We took some peekchas at the church and there was local sitting next to the side of the road with his blue overall. He only had one eye so we gave him a bit of warra warra why that could be….duidelik was daar drank betrokke. He insisted that it was an accident so we asked him to take a picture of us. This was hilarious……every foto that he took…he only got one of us…..until a local lady drove past in her car and assisted with the photo.
IMG-20110423-00041.jpg

IMG-20110423-00042.jpg

Cocky suggested we have coffee at Ou Vellies….there was a bike standing next the stoep anyway…..the owner’s way of advertising that bikes are welcome….and little did we know that he is also a Wilddog.
IMG-20110423-00043.jpg

Lupo….his forum name welcomed us onto the stoep and after three cups of heart and hands warming coffee…he suggested we try his home made Springbok pastei. Eeeeish………from another planet I tell you.
IMG-20110423-00044.jpg

On the stoep on a small chair…he had this dog….or Doberman Pincher rather. I could see this dog wasn’t lekker…physically and mentally. But busy as hell….on the chair…with stuff. Dog stuff. As we got onto the stoep he jumped….well…..hmmmm…rather…tried to roll off but then moered off almost.
As soon he got to his feet…he started barking at us….barking according to him. There was a noise coming out of his mouth but it sounded weird…and as he “barked”….he donnered over…of his feet. But he wants to bark more…so up again….bark…and moer over.

We also moered over…many times. This didn’t stop…every passer-by would get a dirty look and then a show…because try to bark and moering over…is a show. A good one. Man this was funny…we eventually had to stop looking at him….because our Springbok pastei was getting cold. Turns out this brave “wag” hond had a stroke or something some time ago….now he is by far the best..probably only comedian in town as well. If you go to Bethulie…go visit Lupo…well worth it. R50 for two unbelievable pies, excellent coffee in abundance and tops class entertainment. Bargain of the century.

From Bethulie we went over the longest train bridge in the country and had fun on some awesome gravel roads to Burgersdorp.
IMG-20110423-00046.jpg

IMG-20110423-00045.jpg

025.jpg

Some more
awesome.jpg

IMG-20110423-00047.jpg

From Burgersdorp we took a gravel road as it started to piss down with rain….and it was hectic cold already.
Fun times…or not. My helmet started to gather plenty “ek kan boggerol sien van die binnekant af”…..rain  was pelting down and soon the gravel was snot….sludge…modder.

If Cocky heard all the swear words I was yelling at him from inside my helmet…he probably would have gone home. He was a bit faster than me and waited on a little hill for me. Why does he wait now…I thought…let’s get out of this gemors sooner rather than later. I barely stopped when I got to him…shouted at him as I went past….”what the hell are you waiting for”……I heard him shouting something to the extent of….”now this is adventure riding”

Huh? WTF? This is not adventure riding…this is HELL. But soon… while I was still battling with the conditions I thought about what he said and I immediately stopped feeling sorry for myself. I was in the Army…..and this….is nothing compared to that. So with my attitude changing…I got better on the mud…had a bit more confidence and when we got to tar again….still raining like hell…..I actually had a grin on my face. FANKS COCKSTER!!!
rain.jpg

rain1.jpg

Getting wet with the wrong...or rather...no gloves on....DUMASS!!
rain4.jpg

Kom laat ons ry
rain2.jpg

We stopped for cover in Steynsburg. While Cocky went to look for coffee to put some warmth back in our bodies…I opened the Frencman’s package. Man…..my gutt was right. Killer samies I tell you.

Hmmmmmmmm hmmmmmmmm
IMG-20110423-00053.jpg

IMG-20110423-00052.jpg

Thick home made slices with lots of fresh toppings will make a proper dagwood look like the stuff you get in jail….so I’m told. Now we felt a lot better…the rain was still going but not so hectic anymore.

We had courage now and we hit the road to Hofmeyer.

On the way se saw this little koppie on the left.....you could see a cement jeep track going high up to a cellphone tower...I indicated to Cocky that we must find the way up there.

Asking locals for directions
koppie.jpg

Following directions
mooi.jpg

Stupid speed bumps
berg1.jpg

Gate closed
berg2.jpg

Bribing the guard or whatever with two smokes
berg3.jpg

Up we go....
berg4.jpg

Tricky...steep and technical
berg5.jpg

Cocky admiring the view by the time I got there
IMG-20110423-00050.jpg

The view
IMG-20110423-00051.jpg

From there I wanted to take Cocky to The Valley of Desolation just outside Graaf Reinette but with our long stop in Bethulie and all the mud we had to give it a skip. Pitty though…cause I just love that place. Next time.

We were almost at our sleeping place but we met up with DeonDJ in Graaf Reinette for a quick beer and just to see how he behaves with the locals…..funny stuff…..but he is a local after all.
IMG-20110423-00054.jpg

IMG-20110423-00055.jpg

We said goodbye and hit the road towards Jansenville……in the distance we could see the raining looming again.

Took some awesome peeeekchas before the rain hit us.

In front of us
IMG-20110423-00058.jpg

Behind us
IMG-20110423-00056.jpg

On our right
036.jpg

Chasing to mis the rain
graaf2.jpg

graaf.jpg

We might just make it...
038.jpg

Kom laat ons ry...
plaas2.jpg

Nope...we won't make it
037.jpg

Stofstreep discovered this farm just before Jansenville belonging to Oom Dirk Louw.

Safe and sound
039.jpg

IMG-20110424-00065.jpg

It is actually a hunters camp…zozo huts with a moerse lekker braai area….stunning pool and a friendly host. Once again I arranged for beers upfront and they were cold!! He also made us a potato salad, fresh rolls were provided and a Karoo braai pack each. Nom nom nom!!

Braai Master
IMG-20110423-00059.jpg

Map Master
IMG-20110423-00061.jpg

We had the camp to ourselves and after we had dinner, we killed the lights and sat by the fire having a couple of drinks, reflecting on the tough day, the crazy dog….laughed hysterical again and pondered about how privileged we were to be where we were. With no lights whatsoever…the stars were amazing…..I recall saying to Cocky: “Die melkweg is so mooi…ek skrik sommer my melk weg”

Day 3 - Jansenville to Prins Albert

Waking up in the Karoo after a big storm during the previous afternoon is something. Something very special.
IMG-20110424-00067.jpg

The Springboks grazed very close to the camp.....we packed up and had to wait in Jansenville for the petrol pump attended to arrive for a work with a very bang babelaas!!

Church in Jansenville
IMG-20110424-00068.jpg

Tonight we crash in Prins Albert where my Dad has a house that his in-laws are looking after. That will be our base camp for the next two to three days while we ride the passes and surrounding areas.

We hit the gravel and 30km later we met up with Boer who was on holiday on his in-laws’ farm.

boer2.jpg

boer.jpg

boer6.jpg

The famous: "good morning how are you"
boer3.jpg

He took us on some excellent gravel tracks to Steytlerville where we had a makulu brekka!! Saw some BMW’s with no dust on whatsoever….we both just grinned! *stir stir*
IMG-20110424-00070.jpg

045.jpg

When then said cheers to Boer and headed for Willomore with the last sections the famous single lane cement road. Interesting to say the very least. We got bored and got on the gravel….Cocky on the left and me on the right. Lekker rustige cruising with an inner excitement boiling inside of me……we are getting closer and closer to my favourite part of the country – The Western Cape.
willomore.jpg

I was like a little boy by now struggling to sit still on the bike and itching with the prospect of what is waiting for us. This is why I ride a bike…well….one of the many reasons why!

We had a beer at the famous coffee shop in Willomore and headed for Uniondale.
coffee.jpg

High five for good riding again
highvife.jpg

IMG-20110424-00071.jpg

046.jpg

047.jpg

On the way to Uniondale we both greeted this old Kombi at the same time
greeting.jpg

There we stopped at Swanze Gat gastehuis to confirm our booking in a couple of days’ time but no one was home. I will have to do it over the phone in the next day or two….didn’t get to everything before we left.

We took the back road into De Rust on the gravel…..pure bliss and it was a special ride…..partly because we got chased down with a regte befokte kort klein Boer with a moerse attitude…..and temper. No peeeeeekchas….he was fuming and I wasn’t gonna look for trouble!  :pot: :pot: :pot:

We got lost at a stage and we must have travelled through his farm…..and he is shouting and screaming because we are making noises and scare the baby Ostriches.
I didn’t see one baby ostrich…nevermind a moerse groot een. Anyway….”regtig jammer oom…sal nie weer gebeur nie…watse kant toe is De Rust samblief my Oom”…..did the trick and we were allowed to continue….with no damage done to us…or our scooters. Our ears on the other hand……… :dousing: :lamer:

Hmmmmmm.......
IMG-20110424-00072.jpg

In De Rust there were just bikes…..all kinds, colours and flavours. Once again Beemers with no dust on….he he! Most of the bikes were standing at The Plough Inn Restaurant…but it seems like nobody knows what is happening in the back garden of Nicki’s place in the main road.
051.jpg

050.jpg

The courtyard where we had lunch...
courtyard.jpg

Die Haan relaxing and telling hilarious cape bergie versin jokes......sien djy....
IMG-20110424-00073.jpg
:imaposer: :imaposer: :imaposer:

It was a Sunday…so we opted for the lunch special….leg of lamb with veggies and washed it down with a beer. It was getting late and we had Swartberg Pass to do still into Prins Albert. We bumped into Gareth (Slug), a friend of mine and also a Wilddog who was there for the BMW Bike Fest.

I planned our arrival in the Hell on the day after the Fest finished….I knew that on all the surrounding roads there would be lots of traffic and plenty bikes.....and best we avoid that if possible at all. This was to bite us a bit later.

We took the Oudemuragie gravel track and once again it was spectacular. I know of a little road that deviates from the main road so up the koppie we went and absorbed the view. We joined the main tack again and stopped quickly by the Raubenheimer dam.
oudemuragiejpg.jpg

ondaway.jpg

IMG-20110424-00074.jpg

053.jpg

Friendly Boer giving us lots of space
friendlyfarmer.jpg

I must just say that whenever we encountered cars on the roads...we always waited till they saw us and gave space...and when they didn't give space...well then we had to wait. We also almost thanked them and was very polite...friendly and courteous.....so you see...we are good people....even though we live on the Dark Side *stir stir*  :imaposer:

We wanted to stop at the Cango caves but decided to push on. We hit the bottom of Swartberg pass now in the shade of the mountain with the sun quickly dropping. For months I have been speaking to Cocky about this ride…..I know every corner, switcheback and stone on that pass almost….and finally…it was right in front of me.

Cocky dropped of a bit….he explained at the top that he wanted me to enjoy it alone and focus on the road. I felt good….confident….and gave it some stick. My soft aggressive rear tyre must have thought…this is heaven…and it certainly felt like heaven. Couple of times I had to tell myself to calm down…cause I was going faster and faster and I wanted more. I imagined being Marc fricken Coma for a second! Me and my new white Gaerne’s nogal.

One or two cars on the way but nothing serious.
IMG-20110424-00075.jpg

Right at the top we stopped for photos again and there was three young guys sitting at the bench with their coolbox on the left side and bakkie on the right. Not sure for how long they have been chilling there…but their faces was blink gedrink…very friendly and curious about our bikes and our trip and we found ourselves each with an ice cold beer in our hands within seconds…whether we wanted them or not.

The end was almost there so we gulped it down and got ready to leave. Just as we got onto our bikes….we heard this noise coming from the same side as what we came from. An old twinport beetle with two rasta students. They stopped briefly….asking how far it was to The Hell still. It was almost 17:00 and they haven’t even entered the Gamkaskloof road yet……and that alone takes two hours in a car…..longer with that beetle for sure…and it didn’t have a good beat to it. We wished them well and down we went. That night I thought about them a couple of times….and hoped they had no instances with that beetle in the dark.

It was all fine until we started with the steep decent on the other side and the sharp switchebacks. Here we encountered several big luxury 4x4’s and Hilux bakkies…all with trailers and not willing to give an inch. Couple of close calls with them just stopping wherever and whenever they want.

Bliksems….. I swore at them inside my helmet and I could see from Cocky’s body language that he was fuming. Before we went down I told Cocky to stop at the stream at the bottom for some peekchas but by the time we got there….without even consulting each other we just went straight pass it. There was no way in hell that we were going to allow that hostile and dangerous convoy pass us again.

We rolled into Prins Albert……and the hectic downhill in my mind was long forgotten….big fat grin on my face…man…..this feels like home….I wanna stay here ALL the time……forever.  :3some: :3some: :3some:

We packed off…had a shower and then relaxed on the stoep with Trevor (Honyo) and Tannie Joan. Honyo made a moerse Karoo braai and Joan pulled out all the stops with the rest of the grub. Magie vol….ogies toe….could have been the brannas that added to that puppy feeling as well.
056.jpg

IMG-20110424-00078.jpg

IMG-20110424-00076.jpg

054.jpg

Tomorrow it was to Hell and back. I was there the year before on my solo trip…..big BMW Block of Flats with Anakees on so I was keen to see how the Katoom with the tyres will perform. It was a first for Cocky so we were both looking forward to the trip. Little did we know…that it would literally be Hell!

This is a great report Rooies - well done to Plooies and you :thumleft: :thumleft:

Dis awesome Carrots nie geweet die oubaas kan so mooi storie vertel nie...!
Dit moet ou At se bloed wees  ;D
Sonder jokes ek lees lekker soek nog gooi as jy tyd kry :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft:

Fanks manne.......beats the office any day!!!!  :thumleft:

Ek het gewag vir julle om te kan groet wanneer julle in Jansenville kom, maar dit het effens laat geraak.

Lekker ou Wortel..... Gooi nog, net toe ek nou lekker lees en foties kyk is dit klaar  :thumleft:

Lekker Carrots. Jy het so bietjie diepte ook, sien ek.  :thumleft: :peepwall: :peepwall: