Clarens flyfishing adventure

I eventually got back to the venue at about 1-00pm and set off down the river to do what we had come to do! I was lucky enough top land two (small) trout within a few minutes...the first one was so small, it did not warrant a photo... ;) The scenery along the river is really stunning! After a loooong walk up and down the river I hooked up (scuse the pun) with Cavegirl, Andries, Kykdaar and Blazes at the little dam, where Kykdaar was busy trying to hide an undersized trout that had leapt out of the water and landed at his feet... Sitting whilst fly-fishing Kykdaar???

• Scenery.jpg
    Scenery.jpg
    91.5 KB
  • Cavegirl.jpg
    Cavegirl.jpg
    79.9 KB
  • Papgooier.jpg
    Papgooier.jpg
    100.9 KB
  • My first.jpg
    My first.jpg
    111.3 KB
That evening we all gathered around the fire for some serious discussion and quiet time........Yeah Right!! A HUUUUGE amount of kark was being "praated" with JohnSt being the receiver of a lot of flack 
WRT his scoot......but what a pleasant evening, and even more pleasant company!! We even had a new potential member, inthe shape of Buster, the Hound Dawg!

• JohnSt.jpg
    JohnSt.jpg
    101.8 KB
  • Kark.jpg
    Kark.jpg
    81.2 KB
  • New Dawg.jpg
    New Dawg.jpg
    76.3 KB
The following morning saw me up and early at 5-00am to hit the dam and seek out the BIG ONE. But this was not meant to be...I hooked a decent sized fish, only to lose it again in the reeds.
Blazes, Kykdaar and I then went to Clarens for a quick brekky and then packed up and headed on home through Golden Gate, with a few photie stops along the way....
A big shout out to Kykdaar for arranging and organizing the whole shebang
When's the next one...??????

• patch.jpg
    patch.jpg
    89.2 KB
  • Home.jpg
    Home.jpg
    115 KB
  • photie.jpg
    photie.jpg
    67.8 KB
  • Ggate2.jpg
    Ggate2.jpg
    73.6 KB
  • Ggate.jpg
    Ggate.jpg
    97.1 KB
Beautiful picks Slashback and thanks also for adding a lekker report to it.

It was nice meeting you and I appreciate you taking the time out to take us on on a lekker tour of the mountains in the area before you headed home. That was another highlight of the trip for me.

The One that did not get away. ;D ;Well Kykdaar ! Kykdaar caught a fish. Is it a Trout? or is it a barber. ;D ;D Sorry all Rainbow Trout it is.

• DSC01860.jpg
    DSC01860.jpg
    81.3 KB
  • DSC01858.jpg
    DSC01858.jpg
    128.2 KB
  • DSC01861.jpg
    DSC01861.jpg
    129.3 KB
My Catch. Not easy to take a photo and bring in a fish. ??? But as they say. Without Pictures this thread is worthless. ::) ::)CaveGirl asking What happened to all the Fish ??? ???. Have we caught them all. ;D

• DSC01837.jpg
    DSC01837.jpg
    72.7 KB
  • DSC01851.jpg
    DSC01851.jpg
    153.3 KB
  • DSC01852.jpg
    DSC01852.jpg
    140.4 KB
  • DSC01844.jpg
    DSC01844.jpg
    65.2 KB
  • DSC01838.jpg
    DSC01838.jpg
    125.5 KB
Sunday morning home via Golden Gate and then the backroads home to another week at work. Thank's again Kykdaar and all who came along. Great Week end. Some scenery shots and of course without game it would just not be normal for me. ( Gamespotter. ;D)

• DSC01889.jpg
    DSC01889.jpg
    139.5 KB
  • DSC01891.jpg
    DSC01891.jpg
    109.4 KB
  • DSC01896.jpg
    DSC01896.jpg
    122.2 KB
  • DSC01885.jpg
    DSC01885.jpg
    96.1 KB
  • DSC01898.jpg
    DSC01898.jpg
    101 KB
Gravel Roads and small towns are my best. ;D ;D
Kykdaar and i enjoying the view and scenery ......... ;D Till next time we saddle up and ride to the unknown... ;D

• DSC01903.jpg
    DSC01903.jpg
    114.6 KB
  • DSC01906.jpg
    DSC01906.jpg
    106.1 KB
  • DSC01908.jpg
    DSC01908.jpg
    127.7 KB
  • DSC01913.jpg
    DSC01913.jpg
    77.8 KB
  • DSC01909.jpg
    DSC01909.jpg
    136.2 KB
Ama ride ride said:
I have never been to the Clarens and Goldengate area. On the pics it looks beautiful. Also would love to try fly fishing one day. ;)
You are welcome to Tag along next time AmaR. I have spare equipment to use and can teach you the basics if you like.

Getting really skillful with the camera there Blazes. How did you manage to make that fingerling you caught look so big? >:D

Ama, anyone can learn to flyfish in a few hours,you just have to follow the right basic technique for casting. You must really come along next time.

Kykdaar said:
Getting really skillful with the camera there Blazes. How did you manage to make that fingerling you caught look so big? >:D

Ama, anyone can learn to flyfish in a few hours,you just have to follow the right basic technique for casting. You must really come along next time.
I sat all night with photo shop trying to make your trout look at least presentable. Had to use my extra big zoom lens. ;D ;D ;D Volgende keer ry jy solo boet. Ek gaan vir my n nuwe riding buddy soek. ::) ::). By the way SLASHBACK. What was that noise we heard all night from your bungulow?? Sounded like you had one of your STIHL chain saws running all night. HAPPY to see that you were all right the next day. ;D ;D

Really nice part of the country. Thanks for showing us. :thumleft:

As it's said better late than never.....here is my report, from a bikeless bakkie driving dawg.

Sam and myself were running late and should have met up with Joburg WD's at Villiers, sadly we only reached them at the Lindley / Reitz intersection.
WD-04.jpg

WD-05.jpg

CaveGirl with Andries hanging on for dear life, as it was Sharon's first trip with a back seater. JohnSt and wife, on the very smart KTM.
Later met up with Kykdaar and Pretoria WD's in Bethlehem and then moved off to Clarens, after purchasing some supplies.
Apology to the WD's who thought because I have a GPS, we would find De Molen. I plotted Clarens, instead of the highway outside of Clarens. We drove a circle through Clarens and gave the WD's a couple of gravel roads, in case they were having DS withdrawal symtoms. Damn, they had been on tar roads long enough. Arrive at our final destination.

DeMolen-77.jpg

The closest I got to a trout all weekend.

DeMolen-56.jpg

There was a unknown DS rider with his wife, having there honeymoon, who stayed (take note I did not say "slept" in the Oak Tree Cottage. As we started up our braai and conversations, I am led to understand that someone invited this newly wed couple to our orgy.... sorry meant our braai. If that couple reads this, please note that it was a braai by WildDogs, who love what you love doing. And we are now talking about riding Dual Sport bikes and having a braai, where we laugh and talk a lot of kak.

DeMolen-07.jpg

Sam caught sleeping late on Sunday morning when all the WD's had already left De Molen.

F-10.jpg

The only reason that we were still there until after 12:00 was that someone forgot to wash the dishes. The braai was held outside of the Fisherman's Cottage, away from the main house and our guests from the main house brought all their cutlery and plates to the Fisherman's Cottage.

F-20.jpg

Thanks to our brothers and sisters who left all the extra food and booze in our fridge, Sam and myself, let's say had another party. And in case your feeling guilty, we did not do the dishes, but left a gratuity for the housekeep to do the dishes.
OK..so this my report so, here I am in the canoe, paddling away across the lake, doing some kind of Fish Finder thingy and casting a fly from the canoe. In this way, i was sure not to hook up in all the "darn" bushes so close to the lake.

S4010015.jpg

This is what life was intended for...standing in a beautiful stream of water, which is the Little Caledon River.

S4010024.jpg

After leaving Clarens, in the true style of WildDogs turned off at Reitz, found a gravel route and directed ourselves towards the Vaal Dam, well almost....we did 85km in the Mazda Drifter across the gravel and sand.

If anyone says they hate this country, it's because they have never yet seen the country, the way many of us see it. We crossed the Liebenbergsvlei River bridge.

S4010037.jpg

The single lane bridge crossing the Vaal into Oranjeville.
S4010039.jpg

Later took a brief stop at an old fishing haunt at Deneysville,
S4010041.jpg

The Vaal Dam Wall crossing of towards the Gansters Paradise, we call home. (Johannesburg).
S4010043.jpg

A BIG THANK YOU to Kykdaar, for all the arrangements and a GREAT TO MEET YOU to the WildDogs, who did this trip in style.

Stofsteep....on the trip I saw a sign....Bieliemielie Fees .... why don't you put together a ride for WildDogs, to go meet the Ooms and Tannies.

Reitz Bieliemielie Fees https://www.bieliemielie.co.za/
Die fees-wat-jy-nie-mag-misloop-nie is terug vir 2008!!!
Die hooffees duur hierdie jaar vanaf 14 tot 16 Februarie met die opening in die vorm van die tradisionele braai. Aangebied in die feesterrein beloof dit om weereens 'n partytjie af te skop wat niemand sal vergeet nie.

Go Home, Stofstreep, Go Home

Kykdaar, Blazes and Cono everything goes the scenic views the rides the tracks...buit the fishin...too laid back for this gal... ;D ;D

Looks like a good ride and time had by all especially in the area of Clarens... 8)

Lekker report Cono.

I see the nose of that canoe pointed skyward at an alarming angle.
Must have been all the kit and beer you stashed in the Back >:D