Collective RR - Namibia Tour June 2021 with Specialized Adventures

Rickus said:
Sheepman said:
Thanks to the contributors for this no doubt extraordinary report, which is clearly way more than just a report of a ride through Namibia :thumleft: It is surely a trip which I aspire to undertake sometime - I just need to get a more suitable bike, for starters  ;)

Any one of those 2 bikes in your avatar is PUURRFECT!

Agree, nothing wrong with the bikes at all  :thumleft:....but with this rider in those conditions, I am not so sure  ;D I have seen how you so easily man handle your 950 on the trip and quite honestly, I am nowhere at that level of riding Rickus  :-[

Sheepman said:
Rickus said:
Sheepman said:
Thanks to the contributors for this no doubt extraordinary report, which is clearly way more than just a report of a ride through Namibia :thumleft: It is surely a trip which I aspire to undertake sometime - I just need to get a more suitable bike, for starters  ;)

Agree, nothing wrong with the bikes at all  :thumleft:....but with this rider in those conditions, I am not so sure  ;D I have seen how you so easily man handle your 950 on the trip and quite honestly, I am nowhere at that level of riding Rickus  :-[

Sheepman - If everyone were this honest about their skill level, tours like this would be even more fun.
Rickus would be the first person to recommend smaller bikes for the average rider.
Unfortunately, they have not yet manufactured a smaller bike that would be able to move around this properly dewormed individual, and he is everything but an average rider :thumleft:

Sheepman said:
Rickus said:
Sheepman said:

[member=13465]Sheepman[/member] its great that you are honest with yourself!!!.. this trip will turn into a nightmare if you have to struggle with a heavy bike that your not comfortable going through some of the most technical and sandy terrain you'll find on ANY adventure tour. The scenery and interesting bits will elude you if you have to constantly fight with your bike.
Speak to Hardy or any of the crew or riders that's done this trip before you decide on what bike to get for this trip or even rent one (very good option!!) Hardy will hook you up and assist in either option.

what a brilliant adventure ................................ one day when i learn to ride ................

Took this picture of [member=25253]Nicolas Rossouw[/member] and [member=24583]Adriaan.theron[/member] at the start of the Schlucht. Go on a ride with them and any problem you might encounter will be solved in no time at all.

• WhatsApp Image 2021-06-26 at 13.18.07.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2021-06-26 at 13.18.07.jpeg
    216.7 KB
Some pictures of "roadside" repairs during the trip. Mostly the issues are quick to fix – given that there is a backup bakkie with tools, spares and expertise at your back. Many of these scenarios would mean the end of a solo trip.

• 9A21BFF7-8677-4E20-AC15-062BED68F3AA_1_105_c.jpg
    9A21BFF7-8677-4E20-AC15-062BED68F3AA_1_105_c.jpg
    136.8 KB
  • F6A73B5E-57B3-4990-AB08-02A42B7C2394_1_105_c.jpg
    F6A73B5E-57B3-4990-AB08-02A42B7C2394_1_105_c.jpg
    130.7 KB
  • F6D42447-A2EF-4629-B340-48B8F0770C5A_1_105_c.jpg
    F6D42447-A2EF-4629-B340-48B8F0770C5A_1_105_c.jpg
    97.7 KB
  • 0BB916B4-0B18-4E2A-AA09-A25EE9961626_1_105_c.jpg
    0BB916B4-0B18-4E2A-AA09-A25EE9961626_1_105_c.jpg
    188.8 KB
  • 0BB017CC-DBD9-4D50-AA4F-A87703B3B42B_1_105_c.jpg
    0BB017CC-DBD9-4D50-AA4F-A87703B3B42B_1_105_c.jpg
    133.2 KB
  • 5DCDA83A-83B7-44DD-8BD0-9AFF7D74F104_1_105_c.jpg
    5DCDA83A-83B7-44DD-8BD0-9AFF7D74F104_1_105_c.jpg
    85.7 KB
  • 85CF9B47-66F3-405D-8541-9F6AE28A0DE9_1_105_c.jpg
    85CF9B47-66F3-405D-8541-9F6AE28A0DE9_1_105_c.jpg
    111.1 KB
Jislaaik dai Hondas het ons baie kak gegeee  :pot: :peepwall:  :imaposer:

Rickus said:

Ha!! en oor 2 maande ry jy weer saam met 'n Honda die Richtersveld in... al daai kak weer van voor af... Ai.

Hollywood said:
Rickus said:

Ha!! en oor 2 maande ry jy weer saam met 'n Honda die Richtersveld in... al daai kak weer van voor af... Ai.
should be fine, no water crossings and Andrew not there [emoji108]

Jacques650 said:
Rickus said:
Jy het "min" agter die baie uitgelos! pot

Sent from my XQ-AT51 using Tapatalk

Ek verlang die trip so ek sal hom selfs met n Honda doen

Finally got around to making a video, but could only manage the first 6 days so far. Enjoy!

[youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3uaFDXYMzi4[/youtube]

hugmin42 said:
Finally got around to making a video, but could only manage the first 6 days so far. Enjoy!

Awesome, brings back good memories.

hugmin42 said:

Nice video!

Lekker, verlang al lankal weer terug!
Dankie vir al jou moeite, dit is goed gedoen :thumleft: