Damn fine Saturday riding... circumnavigating the globe...

TornadoF5

KTM 640 Adventure
Friday after work over a beer and a coke J-Dog and I decided we need a ride. Not sure where we were going, but when I got home plotted a little something on mapsource. Weird thing is I always end up winging it and never following the exact track.
Time left 07:30 Distance 421km

Map of the general route travelled...
SATRide.jpg

Waiting for J-Dog to arrive and after 20 min of waiting under the bridge I get the call to say he was waiting on top for 15 mins.......

Katie all alone waiting for her baby...
Shamwari28082010001.jpg

Finally onto the dirt at Kinklebos which seemed to have taken forever to get to, albeit only 14 mins.... One thing these KTM’s hate tar, they just aren’t happy!

J-Dog in full ATGATT on Katie’s baby.... Man that 690 is da business!
Shamwari28082010003.jpg

J-Dog eating up the dirt
[flash=580,485]https://www.youtube.com/v/jYJUa5Infhs[/flash]

Pulled into this farmers land for a quick photo shot. Really pretty here and just up the road from PE we are so lucky.

J-Dog indicating which bike he really wants.
Shamwari28082010010.jpg

Then off for some more scenery and dirt!
Shamwari28082010012.jpg

The 690 is such a kewl toy can really muck around off the beaten track as J-Dog demonstrates
Shamwari28082010016.jpg

Shamwari28082010017.jpg

Road changes to a tweespoor and just gets prettier
Shamwari28082010031.jpg

With curious onlookers all over ... Clover territory
Shamwari28082010033.jpg

We decide to take a road which says it’s a dead end (I NEED TO SEE WHOSE HIDING WHAT)
Get J-Dog to stick the mandatory TF5 sticker...
Shamwari28082010060.jpg

Shamwari28082010061.jpg

We discover the hidden treasure, beautiful places like this teaming with wildlife. Zebra, giraffe, buck etc. Sorry they were too far away for my muk ‘n druk!
Huge what look to be wild fig trees
Shamwari28082010046.jpg

Shamwari28082010050.jpg

Shamwari28082010055.jpg

Shamwari28082010056.jpg

Gorgeous views
Shamwari28082010058.jpg

Then we’re off
Shamwari28082010063.jpg

and see rolling green hills with spectacular views. Of course we stop and trespass
Shamwari28082010067.jpg

J-Dog giving this day some serious thought
Shamwari28082010069.jpg

We leave & fill up in Alexandria
Have a quick coke at the Padstal
Shamwari28082010036.jpg

The always impressive J-Dog displaying his technical riding skills.....
Shamwari28082010042.jpg

and then off to Karel Landman monument which J-Dog hasn’t seen yet and I make him do all the poses that come with it.......
Shamwari28082010074.jpg

Shamwari28082010075.jpg

J-Dog on how to circumnavigate the globe (a real winner this video!!!)
[flash=580,485]https://www.youtube.com/v/xlin4-Fumto[/flash]

J-Dog ready to proceed on our journey
Shamwari28082010077.jpg

J-Dog catching some hang time
Shamwari28082010080.jpg

No matter how many runs hang time was measured in inches but damn fun nonetheless!!
[flash=580,485]https://www.youtube.com/v/EilSA7hwf9Q[/flash]

Off to Shamwari where we feel right at home......
Shamwari28082010083.jpg

Shamwari28082010087.jpg

Our friendly gate guard
Shamwari28082010089.jpg

Through part of Shmawari they are tarring the road (ag nee man) and we come across a Post Office van which some govt employee fuc’d up......
Shamwari28082010091.jpg

Shamwari28082010098.jpg

Our bikes waiting while we investigate also jamming the traffic..
Shamwari28082010095.jpg

Off we continue. They have these electric gates 2 at a time where you enter the one it closes and only then will the 2nd one open to keep the animals from escaping.
Picture in mention....
Shamwari28082010109.jpg

We drove through Shamwari didn’t see too much only two ram blesbuck sparing and a few warthogs and off we are on our final leg home..
Waiting for J-Dog
Where's Wally????
Shamwari28082010110.jpg

Here he is....
Shamwari28082010112.jpg

Final stop before the boring road home...
Shamwari28082010114.jpg

J-Dog sloggin the final leg home. Excuse the thumb, but rather difficult taking the pick at 135km/h with the wind howling from the side.
Shamwari28082010120.jpg

Thanx J-Dog a great ride with a great mate!

Man you eastern capies have such lekker roads to play with! I'm jealous

navigator said:
Thanks F5!

Gotta do that as well!

Doggieman is looking da bizniz in the regalia!!!! :thumleft:
Shout when u ready any reason to ride!!!

We road all over Shamwari looking for you guys and eventually passed you two after our lunch at Bushnan sands hotel in Alicedale.
I thought J-Dogs hands were frozen to his grips when he went past us. :mwink:
I had Hazzard and two friends kevin and John with us.
Can I add a few photos to your ride report.

DRAZIL said:
We road all over Shamwari looking for you guys and eventually passed you two after our lunch at Bushnan sands hotel in Alicedale.
I remember seeing you guyz & sked J-Dog if he recognized anyone, but in the blur he said doesn't know "maybe".
Yeah kewl Drazzil add pics will be great!

navigator said:
Thanks F5!

Gotta do that as well!

Doggieman is looking da bizniz in the regalia!!!! :thumleft:
Right you are there Navigator he looks the part now especially on the bicycle!!!

Kief riding wif you Tornado! It’s a different dynamic riding alone or with one buddy, compared to a bigger group. And Tornado’s a good oke!

Here are my pics to add:

This is where we began – Algorax factory makes carbon black – dirty, but not smelly as most people think:
w1.jpg

It’s actually this place over the road which makes da stink. The ageing and overloaded sewerage plant:

w2.jpg

After hitting the tar for about 60k’s (zzzz....) we turned off onto the kinkebos road and we were in a different world instantly. Tornado looking very proud of his Katoom monster. It’s got plenty of bling which you’ll see later:

w3.jpg

Pretty roadside trees

w4.jpg

Tornado coming past at circa 160kph looking like...well...a tornado

w5.jpg

Every time we stopped we looked at the bikes in comparative silence. Amazing that we can just stare at our bikes so often – never gets less interesting

w6.jpg

Tornado taught me how to use multishot, with this result. Fail.

w9.jpg

But I did manage to capture him doing his usual fairy dance. He’s never told anyone about it until today.

w11.jpg

This spot was deep into the Addo coastal region of the park, where there were plenty of animals. This spot was perfect for an overnighter and braai.

w21.jpg

The twee-spoor leading up to the thick sand which got Tornado into a spot of bother he he

w24.jpg

(We didn’t take pics of him in the dune sand because he was worried that you kids might try it at home)

On the way to Alex. What a fine machine the baby katoom is

w29.jpg

Another shot of the El Tornado at supersonic speeds

w33.jpg

w34.jpg

w35.jpg

This grass is so lush and green, it was hard to get going again after a rest. Here is El Tornado pointing to the bike HE really wants.

w36.jpg

Happy to be here and thanking Buddha

w40.jpg

The WD’s are in town!

w41.jpg

The rear of the 690 – minimalistic without the crappy standard tail and a missing indicator, plus ultra small plate

w42.jpg

Life is REAL good

w43.jpg

Apart from being a good oke and a Zimbo, he’s mighty strong too

w44.jpg

The only way past this accident was to ride down the bank to the broken car and up the bank on the other side on the baby kat. The 990 was too heavy for that ;-)

w47.jpg

And that’s it my friends. A great day to be riding in the EC.

Awesome roads and tracks. Thanks for sharing.

DRAZIL said:

Sorry to have missed you. At 160 kph on the baby K it's hard to wave  :biggrin: